Old 25-11-2017, 02:07 PM   #1
Tui2
Coyote ugly

Default Re: Depression, Anxiety

Originally Posted by BLUEYBA View Post
Hi

Been a major struggle for the last few months. I don't know whats happening with me. Got a couple of appointments tomorrow. I think the medication is giving me some side effects
Yes I've decided against medication.. at least until i get my share of mu parents estate and pay to stay at this one certain health retreat that has psychiatric and clinical psychology 'professionals' that truly make it a caring and comfortable atmosphere a long with all the activities that begin to give one a sense of self. ( only ever stayed a week once before and couldn't get what was needed for a recovery plan.)
Old 19-12-2017, 06:43 PM   #2
Syndrome
Ford screwed the Falcon

My cars

Current ride
2016 FG X XR6 - 6 speed manual

Previous rides
2009 FG XR6 - 6 speed auto
2006 BF MkII XT ESP - 6 speed auto
2003 BA XT V8 - 5 speed manual
1999 AU Forte - 5 speed manual
1997 EL Fairmont - 4 speed auto
1990 EAII Fairmont Ghia - 4 speed auto
Syndrome is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 19-12-2017, 07:18 PM   #3
au350hp

Originally Posted by Syndrome View Post
Great video with an excellent message. Remember our dogs & cats need us to look after them. Please consider a rescue pet before buying a pet. Don't support backyard breeding & dob in any neglectful act you see or know of.
au350hp is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 19-12-2017, 07:46 PM   #4
Syndrome
Ford screwed the Falcon

Originally Posted by Roostercam View Post
Great video with an excellent message. Remember our dogs & cats need us to look after them. Please consider a rescue pet before buying a pet. Don't support backyard breeding & dob in any neglectful act you see or know of.
I purchased a kitten from the Australian Animal Protection Society which is an animal shelter run by volunteers. A pet is a great companion.

My cars

Current ride

Previous rides
Old 06-01-2018, 10:03 AM   #5
Syndrome
Ford screwed the Falcon

This month marks 12 years since my anxiety disorder percolated to the surface. It is still present but I have learnt that everybody will have a cross to bear in life and this is my cross.

My cars

Current ride

Previous rides
Old 06-01-2018, 11:06 AM   #6
Tui2
Coyote ugly

This month marks 12 years since my anxiety disorder percolated to the surface. It is still present but I have learnt that everybody will have a cross to bear in life and this is my cross.
12 years in January for me too.. first week back from their xmas holidays and
Representative for Centrelink human resources or this new psychological science person??. Councillor... any way apparently i had been performing erratically since.. forever.. which was apparently affecting my work and therefore thode employers/employees from the last 10 jobs. Now centrelink gets calls frim ne askinh nme fo some.. sorry guyd eyses atrec meds jeel welk
Old 07-01-2018, 11:57 PM   #7
AndrewR_AUII

Originally Posted by Tui2
12 years in January for me too.. first week back from their xmas holidays and
Representative for Centrelink human resources or this new psychological science person??. Councillor... any way apparently i had been performing erratically since.. forever.. which was apparently affecting my work and therefore thode employers/employees from the last 10 jobs. Now centrelink gets calls frim ne askinh nme fo some.. sorry guyd eyses atrec meds jeel welk
Which makes you both survivors.
AndrewR_AUII is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 09-01-2018, 09:51 AM   #8
danzvtil

Just checking in guys......2017 for me was an ok year career and family wise, towards the end I was physically and mentally knackered from missing a break earlier.
In November I was grumpy and snapping at everyone and would flip out at any small challenge to come my way, so reading the signs, I took 2 weeks off and drove to Uluru.
I'm the type of guy to like being in control, this trip I took my 14yo Magna, my anxiety about it stranding me I thought "feck it", what ever will be will be.
It took me 2 days of driving to come down from my grumpiness, got to Uluru and felt amazing, like I was in the right place at the right time.
All up, I did 4500km, it didn't strand me, and I returned refreshed, ready to push on for another day ��

2019 LDV G10
2009 Mitsubishi Express-GONE
2011 Honda Jazz
Old 13-01-2018, 03:39 AM   #9
Tui2
Coyote ugly

yeah we do survive. but no thanks yet.. to the government in educating the ignorant and emotionless that got it made.
Old 13-01-2018, 03:07 PM   #10
solarite_guy

Technical Contributor: For members who share their technical expertise. - Issue reason: He continually offers Technical Advice that is based on years of experience and knowledge he has gained along the way. The advice has ranged from replies to questions across the various Threads to seeking information from OP and taking that away to undert 

This young 14 yr old who committed suicide really has me bothered. I am just beside myself ****ed off.

Whenever something like this happens, there is always a lot of activity in in the news about how bullying is going to be addressed.

No, NOTHING IS EVER DONE. NOTHING.

Decades passed it happened at school, or on the way to school or on the way home. You could at least fight. You can't fight now.

If a kid fights back now, they are held to a higher level of responsibility than the thugs(s). Then it follows kids where ever they go. In internet, texting, everywhere.

"Oh, things are going to change now". No they are not. Nothing will change.
solarite_guy is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 13-01-2018, 03:51 PM   #11
Trump
bitch lasagne

Originally Posted by solarite_guy View Post
This young 14 yr old who committed suicide really has me bothered. I am just beside myself ****ed off.

Whenever something like this happens, there is always a lot of activity in in the news about how bullying is going to be addressed.

No, NOTHING IS EVER DONE. NOTHING.

Decades passed it happened at school, or on the way to school or on the way home. You could at least fight. You can't fight now.

If a kid fights back now, they are held to a higher level of responsibility than the thugs(s). Then it follows kids where ever they go. In internet, texting, everywhere.

"Oh, things are going to change now". No they are not. Nothing will change.
There is one way of fixing this modern version of bullying:

DELETE YOUR BLOODY SOCIAL MEDIA ACCOUNTS!!!

Scaled Business Solutions
For Your Small Business IT Needs
Trump is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 13-01-2018, 04:23 PM   #12
solarite_guy

Technical Contributor: For members who share their technical expertise. - Issue reason: He continually offers Technical Advice that is based on years of experience and knowledge he has gained along the way. The advice has ranged from replies to questions across the various Threads to seeking information from OP and taking that away to undert 

Originally Posted by Trump View Post

DELETE YOUR BLOODY SOCIAL MEDIA ACCOUNTS!!!
Never had one. Neither did my daughter.
solarite_guy is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 14-01-2018, 11:52 AM   #13
Tui2
Coyote ugly

i too wish i could see and retaliate on behalf of all oppressed by those who are simply more misguided than their parents were and so on and so on.. educate the meat heads and bootcamp the brainiacs and punish those who give up on parental responsibilities that give every child a fighting chNce to be themselves and excell in whatever theur art may be.
Old 17-05-2018, 09:27 AM   #14
BLUEYBA

Im just over it
1995 EF Fairmont - Tickford Enhanced
1980 ZL Fairlane in Brambles red
BLUEYBA is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 17-05-2018, 08:15 PM   #15
danzvtil

Im just over it
What’s happened since November,bud? Sounds like you were having meds issues.

2019 LDV G10
2009 Mitsubishi Express-GONE
2011 Honda Jazz
Old 18-05-2018, 02:38 PM   #16
BLUEYBA

Originally Posted by danzvtil View Post
What’s happened since November,bud? Sounds like you were having meds issues.
Everything has gone downhill from around January and keeps going down. I'm in a huge rut

Last edited by BLUEYBA; 18-05-2018 at 02:44 PM. Reason: added more
Old 18-05-2018, 05:29 PM   #17
Fordman1

Everything has gone downhill from around January and keeps going down. I'm in a huge rut
Bluey I’ve been been reading your posts today in this thread.

There are some amazing people out there that help.

Call “Beyond Blue” and have a chat to them.

They are awesome on 1300 22 4636

You’re important, good people will get you back on track.
Fordman1 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 18-05-2018, 08:09 PM   #18
BLUEYBA

Originally Posted by Fordman1 View Post
Bluey I’ve been been reading your posts today in this thread.

There are some amazing people out there that help.

Call “Beyond Blue” and have a chat to them.

They are awesome on 1300 22 4636

You’re important, good people will get you back on track.

thanks heaps. been calling the different lines and seeing a psychologist.
Old 05-06-2018, 05:42 PM   #19
au350hp

Im not far from you mate. Send me a pm if you like & we can catch up for a chat. Getting things off your chest is always a relief and helps you gain perspective.
Old 07-06-2018, 11:22 AM   #20
BLUEYBA

Originally Posted by Roostercam View Post
Im not far from you mate. Send me a pm if you like & we can catch up for a chat. Getting things off your chest is always a relief and helps you gain perspective.
Yeah sounds like a great idea
Old 24-05-2018, 10:59 PM   #21
blackf6
R51 Pathy, 91 Jayco Swan

I thought anxiety and depression was all a load of crap. How wrong am I. Have been off work now for a month on stress leave. Have to go back in another 5 days. I can now say. Anxiety is real, and it is not a joke.
blackf6 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 04-06-2018, 09:38 AM   #22
BLUEYBA

Hi

Starting to feel a little better. I think the medication is only doing 80% of the job it should.
Old 12-06-2018, 10:42 AM   #23
RHR

"When you have depression it’s like it snows every day.

Some days it’s only a couple of inches. It’s a pain in the a**, but you still make it to work, the grocery store. Sure, maybe you skip the gym or your friend’s birthday party, but it IS still snowing and who knows how bad it might get tonight. Probably better to just head home.

Your friend notices, but probably just thinks you are flaky now, or kind of an a**hole.

Some days it snows a foot. You spend an hour shovelling out your driveway and are late to work. Your back and hands hurt from shovelling. You leave early because it’s really coming down out there. Your boss notices.

Some days it snows four feet. You shovel all morning but your street never gets ploughed.

You are not making it to work, or anywhere else for that matter. You are so sore and tired you just get back in the bed. By the time you wake up, all your shovelling has filled back in with snow. Looks like your phone rang; people are wondering where you are.

You don’t feel like calling them back, too tired from all the shovelling. Plus they don’t get this much snow at their house so they don’t understand why you’re still stuck at home. They just think you’re lazy or weak, although they rarely come out and say it.

Some weeks it’s a full-blown blizzard. When you open your door, it’s to a wall of snow. The power flickers, then goes out. It’s too cold to sit in the living room anymore, so you get back into bed with all your clothes on. The stove and microwave won’t work so you eat a cold Pop Tart and call that dinner. You haven’t taken a shower in three days, but how could you at this point? You’re too cold to do anything except sleep.

Sometimes people get snowed in for the winter. The cold seeps in. No communication in or out. The food runs out. What can you even do, tunnel out of a forty foot snow bank with your hands? How far away is help? Can you even get there in a blizzard? If you do, can they even help you at this point? Maybe it’s death to stay here, but it’s death to go out there too.

The thing is, when it snows all the time, you get worn all the way down. You get tired of being cold. You get tired of hurting all the time from shovelling, but if you don’t shovel on the light days, it builds up to something unmanageable on the heavy days. You resent the hell out of the snow, but it doesn’t care, it’s just a blind chemistry, an act of nature. It carries on regardless, unconcerned and unaware if it buries you or the whole world.

Also, the snow builds up in other areas, places you can’t shovel, sometimes places you can’t even see. Maybe it’s on the roof. Maybe it’s on the mountain behind the house. Sometimes, there’s an avalanche that blows the house right off its foundation and takes you with it. A veritable Act of God, nothing can be done. The neighbours say it’s a shame and they can’t understand it; he was doing so well with his shovelling."
BA 5.4L Fairmont goone
LW MKII Focus ST gone

Y62 Series 5 Patrol TI
FG MKII XR6T
FGX XR8
RHR is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 19-06-2018, 04:01 AM   #24
au350hp

GP's have no place in prescribing any medication related to mood. They are not trained sufficiently in human behaviour or how to recognise the many mood disorders humans present with. Nearly 30 years ago, I went to a GP who had a good reputation for helping with depression. After one 15 min consultation, I commenced taking the antidepressant, Prozac. After about two weeks passed, my moods began to really plummet and I was feeling very low. I made an appointment and he told me to double my dose and everything will be ok. I doubled the dose and 5 days later I was suicidal. So many people have the same stories and many are much worse than mine. Since that time, there has been some different products on the market that work in a different way, avoiding that 'dip' in mood associated with starting these types of drugs. This article describes them.
https://www.verywellmind.com/snris-and-ssnris-380183
Old 19-06-2018, 12:54 PM   #25

Meds haven't worked for my missus in 20 years. She is off them now and trying something different. Interesting times ahead.............
Old 20-06-2018, 08:50 PM   #26
au350hp

We must understand this in order to realise we are perfect to begin with and our inner critic is other peoples bs. Here is a good description.
https://www.healthyplace.com/blogs/b...ur-self-esteem
Old 18-07-2018, 09:31 AM   #27

Originally Posted by buggerlugs View Post
Meds haven't worked for my missus in 20 years. She is off them now and trying something different. Interesting times ahead.............
Update. She is going really well off the meds. She is on "Happy Hormones" which are natural. They help some and some they don't. It just seemed so easy for Doctors and Psychs to keep changing meds and be basically a test guinea pig.............
Old 18-07-2018, 11:39 AM   #28
slowsnake

Originally Posted by buggerlugs View Post
Update. She is going really well off the meds. She is on "Happy Hormones" which are natural. They help some and some they don't. It just seemed so easy for Doctors and Psychs to keep changing meds and be basically a test guinea pig.............
Hello,
I feel sorry for you, 20 years of not knowing if every word you utter is right or wrong, I stepped on eggshells around my missus for 13 years, best thing I did was confront her head doctor, she's telling me one thing and I believed her.
I believed her because I wanted to, and I was not right myself,I was thinking for two people, not me but I had to think for both of us.

I was forever worried about her welfare and my son, not myself,big mistake that,when we split in 1993 she took a court order on me, this was so she had 2 weeks to move away, she did not turn up in court and I went back home, the house was empty,

What was left was my work toolbox, in the garage,all my clothes cut to ribbons in the backyard,in a now dead fire, and in a cupboard I found 13 years of unopened medicine bottles,all 156 of them, it was Lithium Carbonate, a very heavy duty anti psychotic, nothing to do with depression.

It had her head doctors name and phone number, I told him who I was when I phoned him, he said when I asked about his prognosis of her that I was the problem,I told him to go back to India and drown himself in the Ganges!
I told him his diagnosis of depression was wrong,his answer was he never treated her for depression?.. apparently she was a stage 4 manic depressive, I got that from her father, now I asked this dog of a thing many times if Susan had mental issues before I met her, he lied and said no?

I met her and she was 22 and I was 25, she and her twin had been on psychotic meds since aged 13, another set of older twin girls were the same, but they took their meds, I met both of them and their families and they were fine, because they took their meds.

It did my head in for a long long time,I had 13 yrs of believing I was the problem,and her ******** family let it happen, if I knew I could of at least made sure she took her medication, but no,nothing was said to me, zero, zilch.

My son is 38 yrs old in September, I haven't seen or heard from either since 1993!

Do not talk to me about depression, not unless you have really lived through ****, crap and all the unimaginable garbage and lies that accompany it.

On Sunday I read all the posts from start of thread until the end, maybe 840+ posts, nothing has changed in 3 years, same folk with the same issues?...has anybody here got better besides me!..hasn't anyone worked it out for yourselves that its a state of mind?..its an anomaly in your thought processes, and its fixable, it really is a fixable thing.

Regards Billy.
slowsnake is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 18-07-2018, 07:14 PM   #29

Originally Posted by slowsnake View Post
On Sunday I read all the posts from start of thread until the end, maybe 840+ posts, nothing has changed in 3 years, same folk with the same issues?...has anybody here got better besides me!..hasn't anyone worked it out for yourselves that its a state of mind?..its an anomaly in your thought processes, and its fixable, it really is a fixable thing.

Regards Billy.
Yep, 2 years ago all i wanted to do was fall off the face of the earth but the last thing i wanted to do was leave those who i cherished the most with the pieces to pick up so i took myself to the Doctor instead.
2 months ago i removed myself from the drugs and have never felt better, sure there are days when i feel a little hopelessness but i now realise that the drugs didnt change a lifetime of negative thoughts, they just allowed me to process things with a clarity i'd never experienced before and catagorize into what was important and what was an overreaction.

Having said that, i wouldn't dare suggest that everyone is like me, has/had my issues or that what worked for me will work for them and so i share my experiences, listen a lot and say a little and never judge anyone.
Old 18-07-2018, 07:43 PM   #30

On a brighter note, has anyone tried one of those detox programmes?

I've just finished 15 days on the Caruso's quick detox kit.
I was a bit sceptical at first but i thought i'd give it a crack and see how i went.

Well, i'll set the scene, unfortunately i had let myself go over the past 2 years and combined with the meds i was on had blown out at one stage to 136.2kg.
I'd joined Weight Watchers in May last year and shed 17.7kg in 5 months and then fell off the wagon so by May this year i'd reached 130kg again.

I applied for a job in early June which required that i be below a maximum of 120kg due to the nature of the job.
I passed the medical with flying colours but unfortunately i tipped the scales at 130kg so the employer told me he'd hold my application open for 6 months for me to shed some weight, i must have made a good impression..lol

Anywho, i looked into that new fandangled Phat diet that everyone is raving about and after a bit of research i realised that it was simply an overpriced detox followed by 6 weeks of starving yourself on 500 calories a day.
So i looked around and stumbled across the Caruso's kit.
I bought a 7 day kit to start with which only set me back $50 as compared to the $290 for the above mentioned diet and away i went.
7 days later i had shed 4.05kg and felt amazing, i had so much energy and felt an inner wellness that i'd never experienced before and the crap that came out of me, well apart from what spills from my keyboard, is best left undescribed..lol
So i went for another 7 day kit and my Wife jumped onboard too.
The second week i lost 2.35kg and the Wife lost 2kg and we both feel so healthy, im now down to 121.1kg.

You can get kits for up to 30 days and they recommend a 6 week break between detox's but if you're feeling flat and havent considered your inner health before as a possible reason, talk to your Doctor and perhaps give one a crack.