Old 10-11-2011, 10:17 PM   #1
mistermxer

Default Car engine bay FIRE !

so, was driving home from a 10 hour shift at work...

...come over a crest and down the other side, it occurred to me that my car had lost ALL power (engine power, not electrical power) THEN something in the rear view caught my eye, was horrified at what a i saw...

...what appeared to be smoke from the tailpipe POURING out behind me, so i instantly shifted to neutral and shut her down, the second i stopped...

...smoke was coming from all directions from under the bonnet...

...so i jumped out lift bonnet WOOSHCA !! flame all over the place darted to grab the extinguisher and dumped the whole canister of Dry-Chem. on it and another guy pulled up (heading the other direction) and grabbed his and dumped his on it (although i was pretty much out by then)...

Take a look-see...

mistermxer is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 10-11-2011, 10:30 PM   #2
creative
I am Batman

Default Re: Car engine bay FIRE !

Wow! Unlucky but lucky!

An idea what it was?
creative is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 10-11-2011, 10:45 PM   #3
Pepscobra
Call me dirt... Joe Dirt

that sucks mate, sorry to hear of this.
Bet you're bloody glad you installed that fire extinguisher in your car.
Now where is mine, the one I've been meaning to install for a while now....
2007 BFII FPV Cobra Ute|Boss 302|6M|#23/100
Mods so far:
Billet Products Shifter|X-Force Exhaust|Herrod Oil Breathers|Whiteline Sway Bar|Tein SuperStreets|Kings FOR-303SL Rear Springs|Melling Oil Pump|Mace Manifold Spacers|Powerbond Underdrives|Pacemaker Headers|Ballistic Cats|XFT Custom Tune @ 308.3rwkw|DBA T3 Rotors|Ferodo Pads|Goodridge Braided Lines
Mods to come:
4.11 Diff Gears|Chromoly Tailshaft
I use & recommend:
Castrol|Motorcraft|Mainlube|Penrite

Check Out My Build Thread
Pepscobra is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 10-11-2011, 10:45 PM   #4

Is that an AU engine?

Could it have been a wiring issue?

How long ago was the conversion done?
SteveJH is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 10-11-2011, 10:45 PM   #5
Streets

Good that you got it under control. Once a fire starts in a car it can be very hard to put out with just hand-held extinguishers. Hope the rest of the car is OK!
Streets is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 10-11-2011, 10:50 PM   #6
mistermxer

Originally Posted by SteveJH
Is that an AU engine?

Could it have been a wiring issue?

How long ago was the conversion done?
stock standard mate, nothing changed from new, expect head gaskets...

pretty sure an oil line let go and doused the exhaust manifold in oil and up she went..

yea, that fire wouldn't have been ragging for more then 45 seconds... and yea.

Old 10-11-2011, 10:56 PM   #7

Ouch, lots of damage in not much time.

Only reason I was wondering is that the rocker cover looks like the AU one rather then the EL one......

And I would have assumed the same engine/rocker cover (with the exception of coil/dizzy) would have been used right through e-series.
SteveJH is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 10-11-2011, 10:59 PM   #8
351@GT

cover is the same as ed/xh ones too...

had a 200tonne haul truck go up in flames yesterday arvo at work... i think a turbo has spat it and it went up in flames big time.

is it worth trying to replace everything? or off to the grave yard? - just looked at sig.
351@GT is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 10-11-2011, 11:01 PM   #9
Joshmcmillan

The AU rocker covers say "4.0L Intech" insetad of "4.0L OHC".

I think I may have to invest in a fire extinguisher after seeing this!

How severe is the damage? New engine I assume?

FG XR6 Turbo, 6 Speed Manual, Silhouette .

12/78 XC Ford Fairmont Project Car. (351, 5spd)
Build Thread: http://www.fordforums.com.au/showthread.php?t=11444473

1968 Ford F350 LWB Dually. 300 Six, 4 speed. Beavertail project.

Joshmcmillan is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 10-11-2011, 11:03 PM   #10
Pedro

Originally Posted by mistermxer
stock standard mate, nothing changed from new, expect head gaskets... pretty sure an oil line let go and doused the exhaust manifold in oil and up she went..

yea, that fire wouldn't have been ragging for more then 45 seconds... and yea.

Shame ... looks like a nice car. Sorry for your loss.
Those exhaust headers aren't standard are they?
Pedro is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 10-11-2011, 11:12 PM   #11
4vdean

when i saw first pic i thought you were going to say you didn't have an extinguisher with the extent of the damage, lucky you had one could have been far worse. fire takes hold at a rapid rate. all the best mate..............................
Old 10-11-2011, 11:18 PM   #12
mistermxer

Originally Posted by SteveJH
Ouch, lots of damage in not much time.

Only reason I was wondering is that the rocker cover looks like the AU one rather then the EL one......

And I would have assumed the same engine/rocker cover (with the exception of coil/dizzy) would have been used right through e-series.
It's an EA ...

Old 10-11-2011, 11:19 PM   #13
mistermxer

Originally Posted by Pedro
Shame ... looks like a nice car. Sorry for your loss.
Those exhaust headers aren't standard are they?
standard exhaust manifold. same ones that were on the car when it was manufactured

Old 10-11-2011, 11:20 PM   #14
mistermxer

Originally Posted by 351@GT
cover is the same as ed/xh ones too...

had a 200tonne haul truck go up in flames yesterday arvo at work... i think a turbo has spat it and it went up in flames big time.

is it worth trying to replace everything? or off to the grave yard? - just looked at sig.
going to get another EA (that i can drive) for now and down the track will track down a write off, gut mine and rebuild it (maybe...)

Old 10-11-2011, 11:22 PM   #15
Pepscobra
Call me dirt... Joe Dirt

Would she be a write-off?
2007 BFII FPV Cobra Ute|Boss 302|6M|#23/100
Mods so far:
Billet Products Shifter|X-Force Exhaust|Herrod Oil Breathers|Whiteline Sway Bar|Tein SuperStreets|Kings FOR-303SL Rear Springs|Melling Oil Pump|Mace Manifold Spacers|Powerbond Underdrives|Pacemaker Headers|Ballistic Cats|XFT Custom Tune @ 308.3rwkw|DBA T3 Rotors|Ferodo Pads|Goodridge Braided Lines
Mods to come:
4.11 Diff Gears|Chromoly Tailshaft
I use & recommend:
Castrol|Motorcraft|Mainlube|Penrite

Check Out My Build Thread
Pepscobra is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 10-11-2011, 11:34 PM   #16

Originally Posted by mistermxer
so, was driving home from a 10 hour shift at work...

...come over a crest and down the other side, it occurred to me that my car had lost ALL power (engine power, not electrical power) THEN something in the rear view caught my eye, was horrified at what a i saw...

...what appeared to be smoke from the tailpipe POURING out behind me, so i instantly shifted to neutral and shut her down, the second i stopped...

...smoke was coming from all directions from under the bonnet...

...so i jumped out lift bonnet WOOSHCA !! flame all over the place darted to grab the extinguisher and dumped the whole canister of Dry-Chem. on it and another guy pulled up (heading the other direction) and grabbed his and dumped his on it (although i was pretty much out by then)...

Ones natural reaction is to open the bonnent, but that is the worst thing you can do as you wouldve seen. Once you lift the bonnet you add more oxygen to the fire and it gets worse very quickly.

In the case of an engine bay fire just pop the bonnet open a bit and then spray the contents of the extinguisher through the open gap of the bonnent, then close it. Eventually the fire will starve for air...

Old 10-11-2011, 11:42 PM   #17

Just seen this on facebook. Would of been scarey. Didn't know you were on the forums as well.

Old 10-11-2011, 11:55 PM   #18
mistermxer

@tankclare... pm me.. curious as to whom you are

Old 11-11-2011, 12:01 AM   #19

pm'ed you on facebook

Old 11-11-2011, 12:07 AM   #20
Goosegamer

Very clean looking EA mate, sorry for your loss
Old 11-11-2011, 12:15 AM   #21

Don't turn the key on !!!!
Old 11-11-2011, 12:21 AM   #22

damn.... that would have spoilt your day.
Old 11-11-2011, 12:28 AM   #23

.i'm glad you put it out , but think it was a stupid thing to do , i'd of exited and let the thing burn . its only a car . only way i'd attempt to put a car fire out is if occupants were in it . not having a go at you at all . just warning others your safety comes before the cars .
Old 11-11-2011, 09:41 AM   #24

We had under bonnet fire in the work vehicle last week (holden commodore).

Last edited by aussie muscle; 11-11-2011 at 09:49 AM.
aussie muscle is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 11-11-2011, 10:37 AM   #25
gassa

But thats a holden they need to burn to the ground lol
gassa is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 11-11-2011, 10:54 AM   #26
macman

That looked like it was one damn nice looking EA Spack! I really hope it's going to be repaired.
macman is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 11-11-2011, 11:10 AM   #27

That's a real shame mate, looked like a tidy car. Still, doesn't look too bad, you could easily buy a donor car and replace all that stuff quite easily.
Old 11-11-2011, 11:42 AM   #28

Not the first time I've heard of this with a well maintained and looked after EA...
Old 11-11-2011, 12:04 PM   #29

looks like the battery caused that..
Old 11-11-2011, 12:10 PM   #30

one thing we all absolutely dread.. car fires suck....
pottery beige is online now   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post