Old 10-07-2005, 07:11 PM   #1
xdc351
X-Series Club Moderator

Default First impressions of single life (a short rant).

Well, after one month by myself I just felt the urge to rant a little bit and hopefully get a few replies that might make me laugh a bit!

The nightclub scene is dead set the BIGGEST waste of time EVER. I'd forgotten how pathetic the whole thing was! Last night a mate got punched in the head by some meathead martial arts type bloke 5 times his size because he was trying to stop him snapping this little 18yo dude in half, reason? He didn't like the way he walked past. Security stood and watched the weak pricks. Luckily I was in another room and didn't see it happenen because I would have jumped in out of sheer stupidity and would have wound up with my mate in the hospital. This is just another night out. Great fun.

The chicks that go to these places must be insane too. I mean, the first hint their drunk and 35 slease bags are all over them. My ex went to a nightclub 2 weeks ago and got groped on the dancefloor. A couple of my female friends got bailed up in a corner by a few blokes too. Thats if their not complete bimbo's that can't get over how fantastic they are to even flirt. Safe to say I'm off nightclubs.

Tried the internet dating sites for about 20 seconds.... *I don't think so*. Found one good site but its harder to pickup than, say, a nightclub and 10x more guys pretending to be something they aint there too. Does anyone know where intelligent, beautiful ladies go out to? I swear I'm missing something here.

Well, that'll do me for the moment... what do you other single blokes reckon?

xdc351 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 10-07-2005, 07:14 PM   #2
sbutler
335 kw of goodness

Gee I never thought Id say this!! But im glad Im married.. py:
OH!! did I really say that :

2012 GTP 213 black what was I thinking? NOW FOR SALE>>
http://www.fordforums.com.au/showthread.php?t=11439680
sbutler is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 10-07-2005, 07:23 PM   #3
parawolf
beep beep

want to know where the semi professional ladies go, that isn't a direct pick up environment? TAFE/Uni night courses.

Try doing a CAE short course to meet new people.... www.cae.edu.au
Old 10-07-2005, 07:25 PM   #4
xdc351
X-Series Club Moderator

Interesting concept there parawolf. I can't because I'm on a 24x7 rotating roster, but its a good idea!
Old 10-07-2005, 07:28 PM   #5
parawolf
beep beep

Originally Posted by xdc351
Interesting concept there parawolf. I can't because I'm on a 24x7 rotating roster, but its a good idea!
How long is a rotation? for instance, how long would you spend doing your day shift, and then how many weeks is your night shift rotation? you just need 2 - 6 weeks to do some of the 'short' courses... hell you can do weekend courses as well, or even just one day courses like "Coffee Appreciation"
Old 10-07-2005, 07:30 PM   #6

Have you thought about checking out uni bars, or events. Some of the post-grads might be the kinda thing you're looking for.
Blueprint, manual, 4490's, Redback 2.5" dual exhaust, BA Typhoon rims, tint, fog light covers, BF tailights, blue illuminated window switches, Ghia bootlid carpet, lower grille, FPV door spears, steering wheel & interior bits, XR6T + F6 intake, K&N filter, Typhoon spoiler, tuned, sway bars, custom angel eyes & plates..YUM!

Old 10-07-2005, 07:36 PM   #7
xdc351
X-Series Club Moderator

Parawolf, I'll have a good look at that then. Thanks again.

Feathers, I'll try any place once just need to convince my mates to come along as well.
Old 10-07-2005, 07:55 PM   #8
Donut Queen
Back Seat Driver

Try volunteering. Its a field that's packed with women and not many men. You can chose the type of thing you want to do, anything from teaching computer skills to taking disabled kids bowling. Normally you can choose what times and how often you want to help out.
Great advice from Dogbreath_48 about selling a car: "umm..maybe edit your post a little bit. Leave out the bit about running over over your dog, remove the word 'sic', as well as the aformentioned washing/tidying!"
Donut Queen is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 10-07-2005, 08:17 PM   #9
Au2falcons
Winter all year round

xdc351 your not alone on this one, i'm in the same boat as you. Definately not into clubbing scene. I'm turning 23 and it seems the only places i can find to meet ladies invloves people & large amounts of alcohol. I'm a sensible guy who thinks more like someone in their late 20's & i run my own professional business, so yeah fitting in with people my own age ain't easy. I too am interested in any suggestions.

Recommend trading with Mechan1k, Offyaguts, EDMONTY, PhantomXR8, HOTC2R, Partie & JC
Au2falcons is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 10-07-2005, 08:23 PM   #10

Yeah nightclubs arent that good definately overrated. Try bars were you can sort of hear yourself talk. Chat em up and have a few drinks. Half the chicks at nightclubs are drugged out or taken by other dudes. Too much sausage there aswell ive found. Theyre good if you just want to hit it and get the hell out but if you want to keep em you got your work cut out for ya.

Ive been single for 2yrs now and had been close to one chick but yeah thats a long story so wont bore anyone with it. Its definately hard but i can say if you do some sort of course you will meet chicks. Ive just all bout given up as every chick i get involved with screws me over.

I just take it as it is. If it happens then it does. Im happy with my life being single but admit i could be happier.
Old 10-07-2005, 08:27 PM   #11
AdzT3-146

what nightclub you go to last night xdc351? i normally go to clubs on saturday nights, seen a few fights, but nothing as bad as what you described.
T3 TE50 #146

Id rather date a goat with syphilous then drive a maloo.
AdzT3-146 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 10-07-2005, 08:32 PM   #12
bindi
Redhead extraordinaire...

Originally Posted by xdc351
Does anyone know where intelligent, beautiful ladies go out to?
FF.AU Sydney cruises :voldar02: Not that I'm advertising... can't do that, being married and all!

I think a course is a good idea, there you will find smart and funny women who want to do more and be more.

My single sister in law is a Melbournite, smart and funny too. I shall ask where her and her friends hang out. She's not the type to go to a scummy pickup joint so she may have some ideas for you.

Originally Posted by big_waity
Oh, and another surefire symptom will be the Falcon badge at the back.
bindi is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 10-07-2005, 08:38 PM   #13
klawsterfobik
Bad Music and Litre Bikes

well.. i have come to the conclusion that all the beautiful, intelligent women, are with... other beautiful women and arent interested in guys :(
Anyway. Enough reality, back to the topic.
klawsterfobik is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 10-07-2005, 08:41 PM   #14

Originally Posted by klawsterfobik
well.. i have come to the conclusion that all the beautiful, intelligent women, are with... other beautiful women and arent interested in guys :(
Lol. Yeah picking up just a root is easy its finding a chick thats smart and doesnt live an erratic lifestyle thats hard. Where are all the normal chicks. Also i hate it when guys have good chicks and treat em like sh*t.
Old 10-07-2005, 08:49 PM   #15
trick_xd
I build your wish list...

M8 start looking in places other then melbourne . Im 30 now and i lived there and geelong for 4 years my m8s still in melb and he is saying the same thing as you are . NO GOOD CHICKS
i moved to where i am now its way smaller but there is a uni here and chicks every where. But Most of them are from Melb allready just hang out and you will find a better relation ship with a chick if you diddnt hook up at a pub ..
(Thats what i think anyway.you make up your own mind)
lol I meet my missers at Maccers . and thanks to my EX its all her fault my ex did not ever want to cook and keept getting me to take her to maccers and thats where i meet my G/F 4 years ago.
So a big thanks to my EX
trick_xd is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 10-07-2005, 08:50 PM   #16

Valued Contributor: For members whose non technical contributions are worthy of recognition. - Issue reason: Brings a wealth of knowledge to the forums and is frequently giving helpful advice. Technical Contributor: For members who share their technical expertise. - Issue reason: Always willing to help out with technical information. 

I tried the nightclub scene for ages .... it definitely not the place for picking up at all.
I actually found my "currently fiancee" other half at a party I turned up to for a friend ... was a great night (yes it definitely was) ... and more relaxed than being a a club.

I found just it was easier to be myself in a casual environment.

Go to a classier bar somewhere ... a little bit more upmarket than what you'd normally frequent (but then you might come across the stuck-up ones who think their doesn't smell as well).

What I found is that when I wasn't bothered about finding someone ... they found me ... but when i tried to find someone ... it never happened.
Old 10-07-2005, 08:54 PM   #17
Au2falcons
Winter all year round

Originally Posted by MITCHAY
Lol. Yeah picking up just a root is easy its finding a chick thats smart and doesnt live an erratic lifestyle thats hard. Where are all the normal chicks. Also i hate it when guys have good chicks and treat em like sh*t.
Mitchay i'll second that

Recommend trading with Mechan1k, Offyaguts, EDMONTY, PhantomXR8, HOTC2R, Partie & JC
Old 10-07-2005, 08:56 PM   #18
Shonky
my other ride is the bus.

Go Backpacking... : : : : :sm_headba ing_sm

If you can't pick up while backbacking, you don't have a pulse.

+ Lots of Land Rovers

Originally Posted by Sourbastard
Edelbrock.... not Peter Brock. Theres a world of difference. For a start my heads have much less gum tree in them.
Shonky is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 10-07-2005, 09:01 PM   #19

Valued Contributor: For members whose non technical contributions are worthy of recognition. - Issue reason: Brings a wealth of knowledge to the forums and is frequently giving helpful advice. Technical Contributor: For members who share their technical expertise. - Issue reason: Always willing to help out with technical information. 

^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^
Ahahahaha ... so true that.
Backpacking in Europe would be the best place to go
Old 10-07-2005, 09:02 PM   #20

Tried a gay bar? The whole bar is up for it, not just half of em!

lol I'm just trying to be a funny bastard, I meet my missus at school, I think there's no good advice to offer from me.
Old 10-07-2005, 09:16 PM   #21
Yummy Mummy

I know you were after a guys opinion, so I hope you don't mind a womans?

I empathise with you, being recently single. But it's just as hard for women to find intelligent, beautiful men who aren't after one thing. I forgot how nightclubs were nothing more than a meat market. A couple of drinks, and men think they can take the liberty of groping any part of your body, in front of anyone who dares to watch.

Try socialising with friends who are already in couples. Dinner, quiet upmarket bars etc, and have them introduce you to any single friends that they may have. Work collegues usually have friends they could introduce you to. As your work peers are usually in the acquaintance bucket instead of being close friends, it is a sure bet that you wouldn't have met all of their friends before.

Sometimes, the most beautiful intelligent person you have been looking for has been right under your nose the whole time....you just need to open your eyes closer to home. Or, on the flip side, don't consciously go out searching for it. It's usually when your not looking or don't want it, when the most amazing person comes into your life.

Either way, good luck.
Yummy Mummy is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 10-07-2005, 09:18 PM   #22

Just be yourself,go to places/do courses that you want to do.
As was said before, if you chase it you never find it,do things for yourself and the rest will happen eventually.

Old 10-07-2005, 09:21 PM   #23
LuvinmyEB
Beware of mood swings!

It's only been a month xdc351, give it a bit of time.

Like I say to both my male and female friends, don't go looking for a relationship because it will never happen. When you least expect it, you'll meet the right person.
Old 10-07-2005, 09:31 PM   #24
Au2falcons
Winter all year round

I'll agree, I went looking for a relationship, eventually met a lady over the net. We were together for nine months, then went our seperate ways. I haven't been looking for someone since though there's always pressure from those around me which makes me want to start looking again. I think i'll take things as they come.

Old 10-07-2005, 09:35 PM   #25
XR8GRL