Old 09-04-2006, 04:44 AM   #1
trimmaster
Ford Trim Specialist

Default valet parker wrecked my 18" TS50 rim

As much as I hate other people driving my car I had no choice at this 5star hotel in Melb CBD. First thing I noticed when the car is brought out the next day is my Front left rim has been completely gutter scraped, I noticed as it was unmarked. ( also suspect they scraped the bumper??)
They tried to tell me I must have done it without knowing, I told them a few things and anyway they told me to get a quote for a new wheel and they'll cover it with their insurance. ( $1145 from FORD for 1 wheel ).
They are now not in any hurry to talk to me and I get the feeling they hope I go away, how can I ensure these stupids Fks don't get away with this?

trimmaster is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 09-04-2006, 05:16 AM   #2
owl

Originally Posted by trimmaster
As much as I hate other people driving my car I had no choice at this 5star hotel in Melb CBD. First thing I noticed when the car is brought out the next day is my Front left rim has been completely gutter scraped, I noticed as it was unmarked. ( also suspect they scraped the bumper??)
They tried to tell me I must have done it without knowing, I told them a few things and anyway they told me to get a quote for a new wheel and they'll cover it with their insurance. ( $1145 from FORD for 1 wheel ).
They are now not in any hurry to talk to me and I get the feeling they hope I go away, how can I ensure these stupids Fks don't get away with this?
make a diary entry as to the events and the conversation you had regarding there agreement to pay for the damage .write it up properly and accuratly and show the manager to let him know your no fool and dont swear when confronting these people as its always an easy out for them once the manager sees you have bothered to diarise the event it is more likley he will believe you good luck
owl is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 09-04-2006, 05:16 AM   #3
Zed7fiddy
Temporary Australian

mate, i work for a hotel and they are pussys when it comes to the crunch

just act like a crazy mofo, hassle them like crazy, you may feel like a ***** when doing so but talk yourself up, make out that you influence alot of people and that youll give them a bad rep, trust me, no Duty manager wants that!!!

it is actually quite embarrasing how quickly resort managment crumbles to guests.

the managment at my work paid for a guys car to be resprayed coz HE was dumb enough to park on the lawn and have his car sprayed with recylced water (which "apparently" damages the paint)

Mick
Zed7fiddy is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 09-04-2006, 09:14 AM   #4
bundy bruiser

bad luck mate...
as suggested write out all conversations, dates, times etc and do it accurately.
Make sure you remain calm but persistant, write a letter and get it copied too. Take some photos and send copies too.
Seeing as you noticed it soon after it happened you will should be right.
bundy bruiser is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 09-04-2006, 09:29 AM   #5
MNM96
LIFELONG DJR SUPPORTER

Write out all they have said, and pass it to your insurance company! Make sure you include the blokes name who said they would cover it!
Don't fret about even talking to them. Your insurance company will be more than happy to chase up a "Not at Fault Claim"! This is what you pay them for!!!
MNM96 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 09-04-2006, 09:47 AM   #6
jonbays
TL40 Wagon?

It's a hard one but if you hassle enough something might happen.

As a rep in Sydney this is an issue I face a lot. With my old fairmont wagon its not such a big deal honestly but I still care for the car so I ask to park it myself or I ask to see their drivers licence and write the name address and licence no on my parking ticket.

Trust me they ИИИИ themselves when you ask and won't do it.

I just tell them its a company car and I thats what I have been told to do.

If there is a queue behind you by now they generally ask you to park it somewhere really handy yourself just to get rid of you.
jonbays is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 09-04-2006, 10:00 AM   #7
Noddy
Mercury Silver T3

Wheel King-$495each

2017 Magnetic Mustang

What to hear a tuff T3?
Click here
http://s7.photobucket.com/albums/y30...ent=Movie2.mp4
Noddy is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 09-04-2006, 11:31 AM   #8
trimmaster
Ford Trim Specialist

Thanks guys, the convo went something like this;
"whether I am driving a 7 series BMW or a hire car, should there be any difference in the care you take when driving someone's car"? (in my case it's "only" a TS50! )
reply was no.
Then I said "so I don't expect I have to come here and tell your people how to do their job ( park cars? ), and I also don't expect to get the rough end of the pineapple treatment either, I am a business man and this is seriously wasting my time".

So I'll keep you updated on any developments.
Old 09-04-2006, 11:49 AM   #9

Nice tips jonbays, I remember going into a city hotel a few years ago (work visit not staying) and hearing wheelspin coming from the ramp up to the carpark. I retrieved the car myself though & had to do a 47 million point turn (in a space roughly half a metre longer than the car) to get out again.
outback_ute is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 09-04-2006, 11:58 AM   #10
CAMS290
trying to get a leg over

Sorry to hear about the damage mate.
There is a place in Melb that repairs gutter scrapes and minor damage to alloy wheels, even if you get a new one out of the hotel, fixing your old one for a spare may be a good idea.

Wheel Fix It - 0418 343482
Old 30-04-2006, 05:35 PM   #11
trimmaster
Ford Trim Specialist

So finally after nearly 4 weeks, maybe some good news.
I get an email from the hotel's insurer asking;
" to what address would you like your cheque sent to?"

Could this be a win?
Anyway, until that cheque is cashed I'm still in doubt.
Will let you all know the outcome.
Old 30-04-2006, 05:39 PM   #12
agony
BLOWN 383 CHEV OWNER

well yes mate its the good old ITS IN THE MAIL trick hey, good luck to you and hope it all turns out for the best.
agony is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 30-04-2006, 07:13 PM   #13
Jet-Star

Id be sending a letter to them ever 3-4 days reminding them that your cheque hasn't turned up until it does, don't let them pull the wool over your eyes.
Jet-Star is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 30-04-2006, 08:11 PM   #14

Yer love those valet parkers, just the other weekend my wife and I stayed at a 5star in Sydney, I pull up get the gear out, look at the valet and smile so he returns the same, take a pic of him with the phone, then I say matey notice not 1 mark on my rims ! He's goes no worries !
Works everytime lol...my wife is already at the reception while this is going on thinking "what a tosser my hubby is" lol..........
Old 30-04-2006, 08:49 PM   #15
XITED_6
Was It Something I Said!

I work @ Cr*wn T*w*rs, Melbourne.
We had a complaint not so along ago with the same incident.
Valet Parking...wheel was scraped against gutter.
I recomend you get a hold of the Hotel Duty Manager or Hotel Service Manager & speak to them about it.
Hope you have taken details of managers & photos of your wheel.
Cr*wn is generally pretty good with things like & dont mind getting the "cheque book" when they really have too.
$1k plus is very expensive for a TS50 wheel btw anyway
Good luck with your claim.
Old 30-04-2006, 09:31 PM   #16

Originally Posted by Bluedriver
Works everytime lol...my wife is already at the reception while this is going on thinking "what a tosser my hubby is" lol..........
LOL!!

Old 30-04-2006, 10:30 PM   #17
conordec

hotels have insurance aswelll for this purpose, i suggest speaking to the General manager, if he hasn't been told about it yet and you tell him first, they'll all get crucified and he'll be writing a cheque before you leave.

go to the top, thats how it works in my hotel.

good luck.
conordec is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 30-04-2006, 10:55 PM   #18
Doogstar
B-Series Moderator

Originally Posted by CAMS290
Sorry to hear about the damage mate.
There is a place in Melb that repairs gutter scrapes and minor damage to alloy wheels, even if you get a new one out of the hotel, fixing your old one for a spare may be a good idea.

Wheel Fix It - 0418 343482
Hey there Cams290,

How did you hear about these guys?
Have they repaired your rims? Did they do a good job?
Where abouts in Melbourne are they located?
How much did it cost?

Sorry for the questions but I have a scrape on my rim I wouldn't mind getting fixed.

380rwkw - 11.68 @ 120.94mph 60ft=1.97
Custom Tune, Exhaust. injectors.1.2K Plazmaman 1.2K Plenum kit

Now with bigger turbo and 426rwkw.
Doogstar is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 01-05-2006, 03:54 AM   #19
trimmaster
Ford Trim Specialist

Originally Posted by conordec
hotels have insurance aswelll for this purpose, i suggest speaking to the General manager, if he hasn't been told about it yet and you tell him first, they'll all get crucified and he'll be writing a cheque before you leave.

go to the top, thats how it works in my hotel.

good luck.
Don't worry, started with the concierge and went up from there!
Got names, numbers and business cards with emails etc & made them take digi pics of the wheel before I was going anywhere.
I had to hassle them with a few emails to get the pics ( that they had so eagerly promised to email me right away ).
What I would like to get hold of is the security camera footage that they first said they would show me to prove it could have been me, basically that I must have taken the car out while sleep walking or something?
Anyway that footage has never sufaced and it wont.
The damage is just an inconvenience thats all but the bulls**t that you have to go through to prove you know the condition of your car is the real pain!
Old 01-05-2006, 06:48 AM   #20
AUIII XR8 MAN
DJR TM#54

Location: on my p.c now with internet! ok i'll still use works internet too.

It's a shame that they can BS you around like that, it can really make your stay go bad. Lets hope you can get your money for a new wheel & never stay there again.
Old 01-05-2006, 06:22 PM   #21
trimmaster
Ford Trim Specialist

So, here it is, a win for the common man.
The cheque arrived today, finally there is some justice!!
Old 01-05-2006, 06:34 PM   #22
superpursuit83
KITTY Crew Member

Good stuff mate, all good now eh ? Did you get the full amount?

BAII Super Pursuit 0083

Awsome power by XTREME FORD TUNING 500rwkw New ALLOY Block

Awesome exhaust by THE EXHAUST CENTRE MIDLAND

Awesome Kenne Bell Supercharger setup by AGRO! and Bluepower Racing Developments

Now with full DOT approval and Permitted for road use
superpursuit83 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 01-05-2006, 06:38 PM   #23
trimmaster
Ford Trim Specialist

Yes, full price as per quote from Ford spares + the cost of strip, fit and balance tyre!!

See there is hope, but I'm still upset that this happened. Now I have to stuff around to get the wheel, book it in at the tyre shop etc etc etc...
Old 01-05-2006, 06:44 PM   #24
rapidxr6
AS IT SAYS.....

Feels good dosn't it!! : Well done!!
I felt the same when i got a claim cheque from powercor, for loosing 2 freezers full of meat during a power black-out. 1/2 side of beast, 1 pig, 1 big lamb, all cut up and ready for the plate. I laughed myself stupid when it arrived, i wasn't expecting a cent from them.
rapidxr6 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 01-05-2006, 06:44 PM   #25
superpursuit83
KITTY Crew Member

Like ya said before mate, it probably would not be a drama for you if they did not muck you around in the first place. I have never even thought about when I will need a valet park next. I will be taking Bluedriver's advise and taking a pic of driver, all wheels, and getting a voice recording when they agree it is in top condition.
(scary isn,t it).

Maybe I will just park myself and let them ride shotgun>

BAII Super Pursuit 0083

Awsome power by XTREME FORD TUNING 500rwkw New ALLOY Block

Awesome exhaust by THE EXHAUST CENTRE MIDLAND

Awesome Kenne Bell Supercharger setup by AGRO! and Bluepower Racing Developments

Now with full DOT approval and Permitted for road use
superpursuit83 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 01-05-2006, 06:50 PM   #26
Brute6
Lurvin' my Ute!!!

Glad to hear things worked out in your favour!! Up until yesterday I had been wondering how you had gone with this, but now, the process is complete. I had a mate, that was in the same boat but basically got pushed away when he made the complaint....

HERS: SZ Territory TS, Havana

Proud Member "FPV & XR Owners Club of Vic"

Brute6 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 01-05-2006, 07:10 PM   #27
trimmaster
Ford Trim Specialist

I'd prefer to park it myself, but they wont let you " go down there "!
I was at another Melb hotel with valet parking last week ( was only driving the 96 fairlane with 17" Speedline FBT wheels, pimp style, it's the wifes car so I wasn't too worried but still checked it all over!!)
anyway I wanted to get a jacket from the car and they made a big song and dance about if they could get it as people are not allowed to "go down there"!

That sort of comment conjures up thoughts that they have something like an indoor go kart track set up?, or 1/8th mile? or is it they don't want you to see all the skid marks??
Old 01-05-2006, 07:16 PM   #28
Magical_ED
FORDISMâ„¢

Thats a bastard, at least you got your money mate, thats the main thing.
Yeah there are many theorys as to why they dont let people down there.
I reckon its a combo, of how closly the cars are parked together (like touching each other/ up against walls etc) and there are lots of burnout/skid marks.
Old 01-05-2006, 08:59 PM   #29
J.C.

Originally Posted by trimmaster
It's a shame. You actually pay big money for some inconsiderate, jealous snot nosed ***** to screw your pride and joy. I too own a TS (T3) and it is bad enough when tyre fitters damage the rims. My advice is either slum it at a cheaper hotel where you park it yourself or insist on parking it. I have made the "boys" sit in the passenger seat and tell me where to park it. If I haven't been comfortable with the spot, I ask them to pick another one.
J.C. is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 01-05-2006, 09:19 PM   #30
trimmaster
Ford Trim Specialist

Tyre fitters, don't get me started , thats another thread!!
Way back in 96 I bought a new set of the Tickford 16" mags from a Ford dealer, anyway they came with the wrong tyres.
So they said get the tyres taken off, send em back and we'll send the right tyres.
I go to the local Beaurepairs ( never again ) and explain what they had to do and how these were brand spankin' and never been on a car etc etc.

I go back at the end of the day and 3 of the 4 mags have chips around the edges, you know where the gutter usually scrapes!.
FK me, why can't people have any brains.
Anyway, I was much younger then and didn't have the smarts I do now, so I had to wear it.
I still have the mags and whenever I think of it it makes me want to go and burn down that tyre shop!!

Well thats my 2 cents worth, hope I havn't scared anyone, but I'm sure you guys understand.