30-04-2006, 10:56 AM | #1 | |||
Where in Melbourne (pref. Outer eastern or inner western) or Ballarat does chroming? I just want to get my new intake pipe chromed up and looking nice and shiny. Also any idea on how much this would cost me?
30-04-2006, 11:14 AM | #2 | ||
mate I would like to know the same thing..I want my rims done...
I got my hopes up with this company, but the slackers went bust or something...not impressed! http://www.geelongchromefx.com/ They do/did other cool stuff to that I wanted for my interior, looks like I need to find someone else though. no reply from emails, went there and their gone, called and number no longer exists.
30-04-2006, 11:16 AM | #3 | ||
Can't get enough of this.
Location: Standing on the driveway sobbing because I don't have a PINK ute anymore :0(
Wow - Am I the only one that thought this was going to be about a completely different subject? :monkes:
By the way, sorry I can't help you.
30-04-2006, 11:21 AM | #4 | |||
Member 178
30-04-2006, 11:22 AM | #5 | |||
I know, I know. It got your attention though didn't it.
30-04-2006, 11:24 AM | #6 | ||||
FGX XR6 Lightning Strike Sedan BA XR6 Mk II Shockwave Sedan - Now Sold - gone but not forgotten mods: 20% under drive, Pacemaker Comps 4495' (ceramic coated) , 3' Metal Cat, XR6T exhaust - twin 3' tips, F6 CAI, K&N panel filter, PWR trans cooler, customed tuned by Heinrich Performance Tuning HPT 183.7rwkw. Quote:
Last edited by MoreHPformyXR6; 30-04-2006 at 11:40 AM. |
30-04-2006, 11:29 AM | #7 | ||
Try www.whitepages.com.au and look under Chrome platers.
30-04-2006, 11:36 AM | #8 | ||
What about HPC coating, they look nice and help with rust/heat dispersion.
http://www.hpcoatings.com.au/pages/index.htm |
30-04-2006, 11:40 AM | #9 | ||
AS IT SAYS.....
[HTML]http://www.allchromeshop.com.au/company.htm[/HTML]
south west sydney. [HTML]http://www.enware.com.au/chromefactory/default.htm[/HTML] Caringbah NSW [HTML]http://www.aclassmetal.com.au/rest_pricing.htm[/HTML] Lonsdale S.A I've been hunting for chroming services myself for a while.. Good luck finding one in Vic. |
30-04-2006, 11:41 AM | #10 | ||
Is HPC suitable for alloy rims?
30-04-2006, 11:44 AM | #11 | |||
Hmmm...HPC looks very appealing.
30-04-2006, 11:52 AM | #12 | ||
hpc wouldnt be any good for plastic, which is probably what will be needed....
i know poly wanted to have the centers of his rims plated / chromed and they're plastic.... |
30-04-2006, 11:55 AM | #13 | ||
Need go fast bit's
I think there is a place in Sebastopol that do chroming
30-04-2006, 11:56 AM | #14 | ||||
30-04-2006, 11:56 AM | #15 | ||||
30-04-2006, 12:09 PM | #16 | |||
30-04-2006, 12:11 PM | #17 | ||||
30-04-2006, 12:12 PM | #18 | ||
hmm I evenually want to do my rocker cover, extractors and intake piping with HPC....
But like Madnc8 said, anyone know what I can do to match some plastic center caps to a alloy rim that I will chrome aswell?
Last edited by Polyal; 30-04-2006 at 12:24 PM. |
30-04-2006, 12:21 PM | #19 | ||
F.D. Carroll & Co Electroplating 295 Victoria St. Brunswick (ph 9388 0620)
Especially good on alluminium & plastic chroming
Current vehicles.. Yamaha Rhino UTV, SWB 4L TJ Jeep, and boring Lhd RAV4 Bionic BF F6... UPDATE: Replaced by Shiro White 370z 7A Roadster. SOLD Workhack: FG Silhouette XR50 Turbo ute (11.63@127.44mph) SOLD 2 wheels.. 2015 103ci HD Wideglide.. SOLD SOLD THE LOT, Voted with our feet and relocated to COSTA RICA for some Pura Vida! (Ex Blood Orange #023 FPV Pursuit owner : ) |
30-04-2006, 12:23 PM | #20 | |||
Ill call them tomorrow!
30-04-2006, 12:25 PM | #21 | ||
Just picked up all the chrome bits for the engine. Did a good job and reasonalbe price.
http://www.yellowpages.com.au/online...de34a83a&st=cs | [/url] |
'73 Landau - 10.82 @ 131mph '11 FG GT335 - 12.43 @ 116mph '95 XG ute - 3 minutes, 21.14 @ 64mph 101,436 MEMBERS ......... 101,436 OPINIONS ..... What could possibly go wrong! Clevo Mafia [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC] |
30-04-2006, 01:12 PM | #22 | ||
Need go fast bit's
CLASSIC CHROME
shed 1 56 Breverin st Sebastopol |
30-04-2006, 01:13 PM | #23 | |||
Might go have a chat to them tomorrow. Cheers for that.
30-04-2006, 01:27 PM | #24 | ||
BLOWN 383 CHEV OWNER
Nunawading chrome platers are very good guys to deal with, had heaps of work done by them and always happy, now I get it done through my polisher ( sponser )
30-04-2006, 02:53 PM | #25 | ||
Hi, most people think that chrome plating, or electroplating is just a cover of chrome, if Mods allow me I will go through the steps to explain the procedure to give you a better idea as to what is involved and why the cost is so high, firstly your job is highly polished not to make it shiny but to give it the smooth finnish you are after like a wall mirror, this could take up to three stages using three different grades of polishing mops, I will leave the cleaning process out here and go straight to the electroplating.
The next stage is to nickle plate your job it usually stays in this tank for fifteen minutes this is your under coat, you cannot chrome plate straight onto any metal before the nickle plating. After coming out of the nickle tank your job goes into the chrome tank for a period of about two to three minutes and is then put through three different tanks of water which is constantly being refreashed, the last of three is very hot to dry the job off quickly. That is just the basics but if you want a super finnish they repolish your job after the first chroming and re chrome them a second time but this is usually only on something like wheels. If you are getting something made of steel or iron chrome plated I would ask to have the job "copper flashed" first as this can stop rust from appearing for many many years longer then just chrome plating especially steel rims, you can also ask to have your job to be copper finnished, this means they re polish it once again after copper flashing. I hope I have given you a better understanding of what is involved in chrome plating, I have tried to make myself easy to follow as much as I could but sometimes it is hard for me. Oh alloys rims do not need copper flashing as they are much softer than steel so they do not need it. |
30-04-2006, 02:57 PM | #26 | |||
Thanks for that, very handy info indeed. At least now i'll know what i'm paying for.
30-04-2006, 03:04 PM | #27 | ||
As an after thought you could also have any bits that you wanted copper plated, but not if they are hard to get at, after you get them back polish and spray them with a clear coat, heat resistant.