30-04-2006, 09:09 PM | #1 | ||
My New Car
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------- Im new to the Forum and my name is Tim im 17y.o from Victoria ok so ive been looking for a V8 for the past month so i finally found something in my price range the i couldnt go wrong with it has: 1996 5 speed manual dual fuel 130,000 kms the heavest clutch i have ever driven i think its a coushied brass button something coz it is so friggin hard to get in i have to stomp it pacemaker tri Y headers 2.5 inch exhaust system with a chrome dump tip power window etc no sunroof but you cant have it all alloy wheels lowered and other stuff i cant remember. YES its a ford xr8 and it was a bargin no i didnt pay what it says on the windscreen ehither very very sideways happy and thats all i wanted so tell me what you think btw im 17y.o and this is my 3rd car |
30-04-2006, 09:16 PM | #2 | ||
It all counts
nice EF. Should go well being a 5spd. looks clean. 17 and 3 cars, i hope they were crud and not due to poor driving.
30-04-2006, 09:16 PM | #3 | ||
OLD SKOOL BABY
Welcome : : to the Ford Forums BlueXr8 and may you have great time too, nice ride you have got yourelf for a 17 y.o, so who drives it or are you waiting till you get youre license?.
Mick
XB Sedan - Trick Mansweto built 351 3V Alloy Headed Cleveland,Demon Carby ontop of CHI Hi Rise Manifold - 600HP 83 F100 XLT - 351 Cleveland C6 Auto wrapped in Black snake skin vinyl, daily tow rig.1976 XB GS COUPE (waiting to start the rebuild)
30-04-2006, 09:16 PM | #4 | ||
Formerly Black EX-R6
Welcome to the forum Tim. Nice car. My first Ford was an EF xr6. Wish I didnt sell it now.
Just a Q. Being 17 you would be on your P's or L's I guess. Isnt there power to weight restrictions on cars for L or P platers in vic? Is this car ok?
30-04-2006, 09:18 PM | #5 | ||
Oh my thats a bloody bargin even if you did pay 10.5 for an XR8 with dual fuel and low k's....Nice car mate.
30-04-2006, 09:21 PM | #6 | ||
yes its leagal and no i just got over all my other cars sick a turbos cars and i paid 9.5 all on road costs and i drive it only 5 months till im 18
30-04-2006, 09:22 PM | #7 | |||
as for weather anyone will insure it in his name...well thats another thing.. |
30-04-2006, 09:23 PM | #8 | ||
Formerly Black EX-R6
Nah, im sure they will. Its just a matter of money really.
I reckon give aami or that pesnioner joint a call just for a laugh.
30-04-2006, 09:24 PM | #9 | |||
Formerly Black EX-R6
30-04-2006, 09:25 PM | #10 | |||
RACV maybe - but theres the whole XR8 stigma which automatically means its a v8 supercar i'd be trying either justcar / shannons |
30-04-2006, 09:28 PM | #11 | ||
XRR83D
Nice XR8 there.....making me a bit jealous! Welcome to the forums
30-04-2006, 09:33 PM | #12 | |||
Formerly Black EX-R6
30-04-2006, 09:37 PM | #13 | ||
Just try RACV, they always insured my V8's when I was on my P's. Never charged the earth either.
30-04-2006, 09:55 PM | #14 | |||
XB in parts...
This can cause difficulty with changing gears and make the car feel like you're not engaging the clutch. Just something to look out for. I have a heavy duty clutch in mine and whilst it is heavy, it's something you get used to pretty quick.
30-04-2006, 10:16 PM | #15 | ||
V8 Powaah
Manual, V8, LPG, XR8 im jealous and only 130,000k, thats a bargain.
30-04-2006, 10:35 PM | #16 | ||
I would hate to know what your insurance is.
30-04-2006, 10:48 PM | #17 | ||
nice car there mate. good to see another nice clean e-series on the road. welcome mate!
01-05-2006, 12:37 PM | #18 | ||
I see you....
I went with RACV when I had an old BMW when I was under 25 **Ringo thinks wistfully back to his pre 25 year old days...
They charged me a small fortune but it worth it for peace of mind and the pleasure that car gave me.... Hey BlueXR8 ! - Don't add to the statistics, Lease that to Commydore drivers. Drive smart and safe and go to a track to put the car through its paces. You will see things posted about drive days at tracks on FF pretty regularly. PS I'm jealous.....my first car was a Laser (the amazer!) |
01-05-2006, 12:56 PM | #19 | ||
Yes .. very nice EF. Personally I love the "grille-less" look of the EF's .. about the most handsome E-series. V8, manual, LPG .. yes, very nice!!
BTW: My FIRST car was a '61 Studebaker Lark .. the EF is MUCH (much!) better looking!! Rod. |
01-05-2006, 01:08 PM | #20 | ||
Nice mate im also 17 and have had 3 cars, all sold in better condition then when i got them no smashes for me...
great pick up! |
01-05-2006, 01:13 PM | #21 | ||
mate nice car, great buy. ive got a V8 and im insured with RACV, there pretty good, just have it in ur parents name, and have u as a second driver.
01-05-2006, 05:20 PM | #22 | ||
Very nice car dude, im sure you'll love it!!
01-05-2006, 06:04 PM | #23 | |||
...fairly odd
awesome buy, love ef/el xr's. i was after one aswell but decided to hang onto the EB for just a lil bit longer. |
01-05-2006, 06:50 PM | #24 | |||
01-05-2006, 11:27 PM | #25 | ||
Rocket Fuel Anyone?
Awesome car mate, manual V8's are heaps of fun.
01-05-2006, 11:38 PM | #26 | ||
Great EF XR8
Nice pick up mate, personally don't like LPG unless its dedicated, but either way its a nice pick up. I have an EF XR8 manual of my own i just got for 10k which has 150,000. But i paid a bit more because it was previously owned from new by my uncle. Enjoy, they are a sweet ride, even if the insurance is high, just don't kill yourself.