You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and inserts advertising. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members, respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features without post based advertising banners. Registration is simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

Old 05-09-2020, 12:16 PM   #3301
.:4:.
Kicking back

Default Re: Geez! I hate that!

Originally Posted by Mr_G6ET View Post
Samsung I assume ? I don't use Apple but I note they are better at facial recognition.
I still use a S8+, not so good at biometrics.
You hit the nail on the head. S8+. Facial recognition works ok, but it annoys me because it unlocks the phone when all i want to do half the time is check the time.
.:4:. is online now   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 05-09-2020, 12:19 PM   #3302

Originally Posted by .:4:. View Post
You hit the nail on the head. S8+. Facial recognition works ok, but it annoys me because it unlocks the phone when all i want to do half the time is check the time.
I have the same problem with my fingerprints being worn down by granite fortunately I don't use one of these phones.

Old 05-09-2020, 12:25 PM   #3303

Ahhhh, first world problems. It sucks when you burn the finger prints off the 2 fingers that are registered with your phones fingerprint scanner then you have to use the passcode. The only reason i use fingerprint is to stop pocket dialing. My kid even has his fingers recognized on my phone, so its a convenience thing, not a security thing. But pocket dialing is worse. Especially when you get called back saying you rang. From experience, atleast fingerprints grow back.
You need a little App called 'Call Confirm'.
Old 05-09-2020, 12:35 PM   #3304
Kicking back

Originally Posted by GasoLane View Post
You need a little App called 'Call Confirm'.
Id prefer it if i could delete the phone calling ability all together. I hate speaking to people on the phone. But for whatever reason you cant delete that part on the phone.
Old 05-09-2020, 12:42 PM   #3305

Id prefer it if i could delete the phone calling ability all together. I hate speaking to people on the phone. But for whatever reason you cant delete that part on the phone.
That kind've defeats the purpose of having a phone.
Old 05-09-2020, 01:21 PM   #3306

Originally Posted by GasoLane View Post
That kind've defeats the purpose of having a phone.
Nah, I'm with .:4:., get a bit sick of phone interruptions at work so ignore them now.
Jobs wise, In person, txt or email is how I like to do business these days.

Old 05-09-2020, 01:32 PM   #3307
Kicking back

I used to have a work phone along with my personal phone. I would like to say i could turn the work one off when not at work, but being on call 24/7, whilst it was rare and theres money in it, nobody likes the random 2am call, and the real struggle to put pants on.
Old 05-09-2020, 01:32 PM   #3308
X-AHH
The good, bad and fugly

I just use carrier pigeons.

They can send and receive messages, photos, small items and they don't rely on technology.
Old 05-09-2020, 04:14 PM   #3309
marty351
Shenanigans..............

Silent function 24/7..

Works a treat.
marty351 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 05-09-2020, 05:15 PM   #3310

Originally Posted by xahh View Post
I just use carrier pigeons.

They can send and receive messages, photos, small items and they don't rely on technology.
Tried to use one but kept getting blur blur.....blur blur.....blur blur.
Must have been dialing the wrong number. God knows where the memory card slot is.

Old 08-09-2020, 01:07 PM   #3311
sneaky

Vet bills...

My dog did herself a mischief last night, this is going to be expensive..

I'm not an expert but I've heard the term 'cruciate ligament' thrown around for sports people and it doesn't sound good...
Old 08-09-2020, 01:57 PM   #3312
peaterj

Originally Posted by sneaky View Post
Vet bills...

My dog did herself a mischief last night, this is going to be expensive..

I'm not an expert but I've heard the term 'cruciate ligament' thrown around for sports people and it doesn't sound good...
One of mine did her's 3 years ago cost me nearly 3K and that was one of the cheaper quotes.
peaterj is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 08-09-2020, 03:09 PM   #3313
Mr_G6ET
Ford G6ET FG MkII

Vet bills...

My dog did herself a mischief last night, this is going to be expensive....
Hard to keep them still too, ouch.
We have two pugs, $4000 for eye surgery, week or two back, $5700 for the other dog a few months back; and then there's after care.

Good planning has us claim 80% of that so no stress, now both are
Mr_G6ET is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 08-09-2020, 05:59 PM   #3314
sneaky

Confirmed cruciate ligament. She is booked for surgical consult later this week.

I have stopped toying with the idea of updating my car any time soon.

I used to have pet insurance but it was one of the expenses that didn’t make it through the home budget cutbacks. Pretty sure the month to month saving over the years will cover this bill. At least I will tell myself that to feel better
Old 08-09-2020, 09:06 PM   #3315
Mr_G6ET
Ford G6ET FG MkII

I used to have pet insurance
I think it depends on the dog breed, some are generally healthy. Mixed breeds especially !
Pugs are a hurt magnet, eye lids, big eyes but otherwise body. Bump off walls and keep rock and roll
Old 13-09-2020, 04:23 PM   #3316
Kicking back

This is the annoying thing my mum does. She annoys me. We went for lunch today, that bits fine, but whenever i go to the bar she asks for a half glass of wine. They still charge for a full glass, so a full glass she gets. I always say you dont have to drink the whole thing. But mum would rather drink 6 half glasses and still claim she hasnt had a glass of wine. Thats why i now buy her picolos and get the bar staff to leave the lid. And it turns into a case of you can take the rest home. 3 half glasses later, she never takes the rest home, there is no rest, but still claims to never have had a glass.
Old 27-09-2020, 12:51 AM   #3317
Kicking back

Not going to get into the sob story of why i dont have the exhaust on my car, and why its in the boot, well, the non stock one is in the boot. But due to unforseen circumstances i needed to daily my car. It was a driveway ornimant so not having the rear muffler and exhaust section on wasnt an issue at the time. Reason being only due to not being able to get a breaker bar in to attack the seized bolts on the front of the mid section of stock exhaust to fit the one i have for the car. So todays job was a pain in the hole. So i have been driving the thing for months with no rear muffler, it wasnt obnoxious or loud, the center muffler is about the same size as the 315L hot water unit at my house. Anyhow, being rego time, put the stock rear section back on, just going to pay the mechanics to put the new exhaust on, but taking things off is so much easier then putting things back on. And a stock exhaust on a bf sounds like a poofters fart. I only have to live with that for the weekend i suppose, and ive been careful, but scrapped 3 times in 1 trip having a rear muffler on the car. And the hangers are good. I think i just hate cars. Well, putting things back on them atleast.
Old 02-10-2020, 06:54 PM   #3318
DFB FGXR6

Valued Contributor: For members whose non technical contributions are worthy of recognition. - Issue reason: For the excellent car-care guide 

Anyone who has worked in retail will know that some days it feels like every air head in the universe comes through the door.

Today was one of those days, with customers making simple situations difficult, asking stupid questions, requesting the impossible and despite logical guidance couldn't make up their minds.

I don't drink, but days like these, I kinda wish I did.
Mustang GT

T3 TS50 - gone but not forgotten
DFB FGXR6 is online now   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 02-10-2020, 07:13 PM   #3319
Tonz

free punnets of poison ivy would be a nice touch.
Old 02-10-2020, 07:17 PM   #3320

I washed the vacuum filter and then realised I forgot to do the bedroom windows
MITCHAY is online now   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 04-10-2020, 06:42 PM   #3321
Kicking back

I really hate when my mum offers my sevices to people. I went for lunch at her boyfriends today. It was supposed to just be lunch. He had asked a while back to borrow my chainsaw for a few things, so i took that with me. The idea was take your time and drop it to mum when your done sort of thing. He is retired so has the time. But mum said i would do it. That wasnt too bad, it was just trimming a stack off a paperbark tree.
Then mum drags out a few flat packs and things then again offers me up to build them. To be fair flat pack stuff is a nightmare if you rely on the crappy spanner thing they come with, and i have my tools in the car. So it was tea and bickies for them, and constructing ill fitting stuff for me. And then there was cutting up a 300mm pvc section of stormwater into 3 for a gardening project. All i had on me was a hacksaw with blades for metal. So it was a great idea this morning to wear a black shirt. Well it was at the time, but i was expecting to spend my time inside, not slaving away in the sun. And there was no shady spot to park my car, so on a 32 degree day, those black leather seats were a real treat to jump back in for the drive home.
But atleast my mums boyfriend, my son and i share 1 thing in common. And that is the mutual feeling of embarrassment my mum insites at times.
Old 04-10-2020, 09:05 PM   #3322

Chairman's Award: Chairman's Award - Issue reason: Your outstanding contributions to this community have not gone unnoticed. IN my view you are a worthy recipient of the (rarely used) Chairman's Award. 

Originally Posted by DFB FGXR6 View Post
Today was one of those days, with customers making simple situations difficult, asking stupid questions, requesting the impossible and despite logical guidance couldn't make up their minds.
I used to refer to wet Wednesdays as that sort of danger zone.

Chat to the paint counter staff at Bunnies, how they survive without murdering people baffles me at times.
Citroënbender is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 04-10-2020, 10:20 PM   #3323
Tassie f100

I used to have a work phone along with my personal phone. I would like to say i could turn the work one off when not at work, but being on call 24/7, whilst it was rare and theres money in it, nobody likes the random 2am call, and the real struggle to put pants on.
If you don’t like phone calls WHY would you put yourself on 24/7 callouts.Seems part of the job in my opinion.
Tassie f100 is online now   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 04-10-2020, 11:01 PM   #3324
Mr_G6ET
Ford G6ET FG MkII

Originally Posted by MITCHAY View Post
I washed the vacuum filter and then realised I forgot to do the bedroom windows
or nearly finished and the battery drops out..
Old 04-10-2020, 11:56 PM   #3325
Kicking back

Originally Posted by Tassie f100 View Post
If you don’t like phone calls WHY would you put yourself on 24/7 callouts.Seems part of the job in my opinion.
You do it for the money, sell your soul to a degree, but get paid for it.
Old 05-10-2020, 12:32 AM   #3326
marty351
Shenanigans..............

You do it for the money, sell your soul to a degree, but get paid for it.
And there's some tradie mob advertising no extra $ on an after hours call out.
The only reason I did any after hours work was 50/50 labour on the inflated after hours price.
marty351 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 11-10-2020, 10:24 AM   #3327
Lunch
Wait, what?

Double post
Lunch is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 11-10-2020, 10:24 AM   #3328
Lunch
Wait, what?

We aren't as concerned as some with where we park but we always at least try to park with the least risk but when there are oxygen thieves like this around, what chance is there.

For the record it was a middle aged white male
Lunch is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 11-10-2020, 11:32 AM   #3329
Mr_G6ET
Ford G6ET FG MkII

Originally Posted by Lunch View Post
We aren't as concerned as some with where we park but we always at least try to park with the least risk but when there are oxygen thieves like this around, what chance is there.

For the record it was a middle aged white male
Number plate 'white privilege ****er'
Old 11-10-2020, 06:03 PM   #3330

I am so tired of living in a world designed for stupid people.

Have you see the ads, advertising some tablet or something, saying "haven't you always wished your computer was more like a phone?"
Yes, just like I have always wished my nose was more like a haemorrhoid.
Why the heck would you want your computer to be like a phone?

And its like everything now is more intelligent, but designed for morons. So if you try to do a search, anywhere, on google, on ebay, even on SCA, rather than simply searching for what you ask, the system assume you're a complete and total ****wit, and tries to figure out what you really want from random sources.

I am trying to buy a battery. Not being a complete and total ****wit, I KNOW the damn model I want, and if they don't have that then I want to look at anything they have in a DIN65.
So their system is smart enough to figure out that I'm looking at batteries, but instead of showing me a handful of batteries in that size, it assumes I don't know wtf I'm doing and so shows me everything ****ing battery they sell.
Worse yet, it leads off, not with what I asked for, but with small batteries to fit a Pulsar, because at some time in the past I was looking for parts for that car.

They have a decent special on some batteries at the moment, but fmd they make it hard. I'm tempted just to back to my local shop.