Go Back   Australian Ford Forums > Club and Speciality Forums > Ford Car Clubs > FPV & XR Owners Club of Victoria > FPV & XR Club of Victoria Discussions

FPV & XR Club of Victoria Discussions FPV & XR Club of Victoria Discussions

Old 27-12-2007, 03:22 AM   #1
XRNIL8

Default I have a new toy

G'day all, hope everyone has had a great Xmas ....... I know I did ;)

I got a racer project .... lmao

A 1980 TF Ford Cortina ... 250 Xflow, 4 speed manual, globe mags, with 300,000 plus kms on the dial (but it don't work properly .... doing 110kph according to the GPS, dial tells me 70kph .... lmao ... sorry Officer, mine read a lot lower than that

Body is relatively straight with only 2 small sections for rust repair ....

I have already started to strip it of all unneccesary rubish, like back seat, rear door trims, rear parcel shelf, spare tyre etc. etc.

I plan to have it at a suitable stage for the Fun Day at Winton Raceway on January the 27th ....... gives me a first hand opportunity to drive on the track :

Over the coming year, I plan on having a LOT of work done from cage to seats and an engine rebuild. I will be sticking with the 6 cylinders for a while, at least until I am somewhere near capable of driving in a race :

The best part is, I can now have a toy to go out and play with you guys on the track .....

anyway, here are a couple of pics. :

Now I drove it over 300km home on a permit of course ..... and had NO issues at all .... drove really well for a car that cost me a whole ................... drum roll ....................... $560! Tada!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

can also be found at

www.CVMotorsport.com
The new home of Motorsport in Central Victoria
XRNIL8 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 27-12-2007, 07:54 AM   #2
is now there

Come on down - LOL You're hooked now

Hope Ann appreciates all the money you are going to spend - LOL

Looks good, looking forward to seeing it in the flesh, don't forget good old Grant for the suspension mods.
Old 27-12-2007, 09:46 AM   #3
Grasshoppr
GTI ist ehrfürchtig

WOW congrates.

You are certainly getting a collection of toys!! Cant wait to see another member out on the track in 2008!!!

Our Events cater for all types of people.
Grasshoppr is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 27-12-2007, 11:01 AM   #4
Go baby Go
Like no other..........

Congratulations!!!!!!
Mine won't be ready by then, but not too far away.....

Let the work begin..... hope there were no pressies left by the fat man in the red suit that need assembly... I think they have been relegated... _2:

P.S. i thought BLKPhoon might have started this one with his new toy......

A recent study found the average Australian walks about 900 miles a year.
Another study found Australians drink, on average, 22 gallons of alcohol a year.
That means, on average, Australians get about 41 miles to the gallon.

Kind of makes you proud to be an aussie.
Go baby Go is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 27-12-2007, 12:08 PM   #5
XRNIL8

Originally Posted by Big_Trev
Come on down - LOL You're hooked now

Hope Ann appreciates all the money you are going to spend - LOL

Looks good, looking forward to seeing it in the flesh, don't forget good old Grant for the suspension mods.
Dropped in there and saw Mick, Tim and Brad before I went and collected it mate ;) Will be making several more visits to Pedders in Bendigo to get work done :

Thanks BLKPhoon and GBG ..... am so looking forward to being able to do this, it is one of the major reasons why we left Queensland where there are bugger all opportunities to get this involved :togo: Bring on 2008 I say ... hehehehehehe!

can also be found at

www.CVMotorsport.com
Old 27-12-2007, 05:10 PM   #6

Great pick up, and with that body/engine combo you are looking at a whole lot of fun!
Whoosha has a thread in the project section with his cortina. Would be good to see them lined up at Heathcote too.
Have fun.
Pinkbits is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 27-12-2007, 05:45 PM   #7
XRNIL8

awesome, .... might just shoot across to his thread and check it out ;) Heathcote would be great, especially as it is a whole 15 minutes or so away from me ..... lmao

can also be found at

www.CVMotorsport.com
Old 29-12-2007, 10:34 AM   #8
GRNKPR
DPC PERFORMANCE Race prep

is that an XD that was left out in the rain ??????? Great pick up

FPV & XR Owners Club of Victoria FPV & XR Owners Club of Victoria FPV & XR Owners Club of Victoria FPV & XR Owners Club of Victoria

Ford Performance Car ClubFord Performance Car ClubFord Performance Car ClubFord Performance Car Club
GRNKPR is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 29-12-2007, 03:08 PM   #9
XRNIL8

Hahahahaaaa!!!!!!!! yeah, it was then thrown in the tumble dryer and ofcourse .... it shrunk ...... heheheheheheeee!!!!

Thanks mate

can also be found at

www.CVMotorsport.com
Old 30-12-2007, 08:16 AM   #10
is now there

Originally Posted by GRNKPR
is that an XD that was left out in the rain ??????? Great pick up
You leave one of Englands finest alone
Old 30-12-2007, 08:56 AM   #11
GRNKPR

Originally Posted by Big_Trev
You leave one of Englands finest alone

yeah as they didnt have that many !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

FPV & XR Owners Club of Victoria FPV & XR Owners Club of Victoria FPV & XR Owners Club of Victoria FPV & XR Owners Club of Victoria

Ford Performance Car ClubFord Performance Car ClubFord Performance Car ClubFord Performance Car Club
Old 13-02-2008, 05:44 PM   #12
XRNIL8

G'day all,

sorry, not much has changed really ..... I have stripped out the back seat and hood lining etc ... bought some sheet metal and cut out a piece for where the back seat used to be, just need to do the same for the parcel shelf then seal it all up and paint. Repaired some small bits of rust with old mate bog .... ;)

I scored a second hand set of 14in semi slicks with about 40 to 50% tread .... cost was a massive $120 ........

Heater box is next to come out ........ and the hole left will then need to be covered too.

Got a few other things I wanna chase up and am going to post up in the Cortina section to get some ideas and info ......

Didn't make it to the fun day at winton ... mix of dollars and not able to get a trailer (at a reasonable cost) ..... there was only one left in town and they wanted $174 for 2 nights ...... funny thing .... it never got used by anyone ;) hahahaha!

I am taking it to heathcote on March 8 ....... just to see how it goes with a bit of a kick ..... anyway ..... I know I will need to upgrade brakes and all soon, so more dollars to come.

Something I am keen to know ........ with doing club events ... do I need an in date harness? As I have been offered a 2nd hand set which ran out at the start of this year (5 years old) and have not been involved in any accidents for $100 including all eye bolts for the floor etc.

Obviously i want to do things safely ... but I haven't got the money just yet to be forking out for a new set .........

Daryl.

can also be found at

www.CVMotorsport.com
Old 13-02-2008, 07:07 PM   #13
GRNKPR

on the off day you are down here drop int revolution race gear as they normally have harness deals and arnt to bad on price .At the Hsv day on sunday they were checking dates on harness and fire extings makes sense as safety should be no 1 priority.
leave heater box and fan in as if it rains or you get wet it helps clear the screen very handy if its there

Old 13-02-2008, 08:18 PM   #14
XRNIL8

Bugger ...... oh well, looks like it is time to save for a new harness then .....

The heater box is going ............... I have all but one nut undone and the hoses are all stuffed ..... extra weight that I can live without ...... can always leave a back window down a bit to reduce fogging ....... I hope :

Might have to go and check Revolution Racegear online ... see if there are some prices to compare with. Don't suppose they provide discount to members ?

can also be found at

www.CVMotorsport.com
Old 13-02-2008, 11:52 PM   #15
Go baby Go
Like no other..........

G'Day,

GRNKPR is correct- it's now a requirement that harnesses and extinguishers are all date driven. It is a safety issue, and well worth it.

A recent study found the average Australian walks about 900 miles a year.
Another study found Australians drink, on average, 22 gallons of alcohol a year.
That means, on average, Australians get about 41 miles to the gallon.

Kind of makes you proud to be an aussie.
Go baby Go is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 05-03-2008, 12:21 AM   #16
XRNIL8

Here is a couple of updated pics from today ...... is a slow process ... but am getting there. Got semi slicks fitted today and scored another second hand set with 50% left on them for free this time.

I got the second hand harness, basically the stock belts were frayed and I wanted something in there to be safe ..... when I have got some spare cash, I will go buy a new one ... but for now, I am probably going to spend all my race time at Winton only.

Once I have a few more issues sorted, I should be right to play all over the state with FPV and XR boys n girls .....

can also be found at

www.CVMotorsport.com
Old 05-03-2008, 08:49 PM   #17
AUXRVIII

Me thinks someone made a purchase of some Pedders products. :P
AUXRVIII is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 05-03-2008, 09:00 PM   #18

I remember seeing that car around before somewhere, did someone that works at Pedders own it and used to race it at the sale yard's?????, been in the easter parade maybe????, I've seen it before somewhere???.
Old 06-03-2008, 09:52 AM   #19
XRNIL8

I think someone has noticed the pedders springs and shocks on the rear .... ;)

Ummm Galaxy, I picked this car up in Woodonga the day before xmas.

This is what it looked like then .....................

yesterday arvo before I went and did night shift at StJOG ..... I finished off a few bits so as of now, it looks like this ....

Thisarvo, after I have had a bit of a sleep I am going to attack the towbar .... *&#$&( thing has 2 bolts that refuse to be undone ...... so Angle Grinder it is! out:

can also be found at

www.CVMotorsport.com
Old 06-03-2008, 10:27 AM   #20
is now there

I have ordered the shed, finally!!!!
Old 06-03-2008, 10:29 AM   #21
XRNIL8

Cool ... I will bring the Corty over and put it in your shed once it is up ;)

can also be found at

www.CVMotorsport.com
Old 06-03-2008, 10:31 AM   #22
is now there

11 metre x 6 metre, and Hazel picked the colour, and she has kindly conceded 2 trees and 2 bushes.
Old 06-03-2008, 10:39 AM   #23
XRNIL8

perfect size to fit your beast and my baby side by side ..... they sort of match too ... hehehe

can also be found at

www.CVMotorsport.com
Old 06-03-2008, 09:37 PM   #24

I must be thinking off another one then, I'm sure there is one similar to this in the Bendigo car club, it has been in motorkahana'a and out at the sale yards before.
Old 06-03-2008, 10:02 PM   #25
XRNIL8

I might have to check out their next event .... see if it is still around .... and what extras I can get for mine ;)

can also be found at

www.CVMotorsport.com
Old 06-03-2008, 10:16 PM   #26

I'm talking a few yrs back, as I havn't been recently but you never know,
Old 06-03-2008, 10:57 PM   #27
XRNIL8

oh well ... any excuse to go and see more motorsports .... is all I need ;)

can also be found at

www.CVMotorsport.com
Old 06-03-2008, 10:59 PM   #28

You need an excuse???????.
I seen your vehicle done at the GAFD, well I think it was your's, parked in the corner near the tent's.
Old 06-03-2008, 11:04 PM   #29
XRNIL8

yeah mate ... that was mine .........

you will see it parked around StJOG and around your workplace a bit now ... since I have had all the nursing registration stuff resolved and am free to work again ... :togo:

can also be found at

www.CVMotorsport.com
Old 07-03-2008, 11:30 AM   #30

Ok, I will keep an eye out for it, did you get a job in A&E, if so, say hello to Jase from me, lol, watch out though, he is a wild man, stay on the good side of him,lol.