You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and inserts advertising. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members, respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features without post based advertising banners. Registration is simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

Old 23-11-2006, 02:29 PM   #1
OZFORDAU

Default Help........

I need help with putting a brake pad on the rear right handside of my car as it's metal to metal, i hate S1 brakes.......Can someone please help me do this!

Also i need to fit the wipers/indicator switch to the sterring wheel but to do that u need to take of the sterring wheel!

Could anyone please help me out with this?

Simon

OZFORDAU is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 23-11-2006, 02:56 PM   #2

So to translate for everyone:

Whoosha? Are you busy on Sunday?

Old 23-11-2006, 06:33 PM   #3
janek
Ripping it up

Come to brissy and i'll do it for you
janek is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 23-11-2006, 06:33 PM   #4

Originally Posted by Casper

Yes he will be. He is coming over to see my new baby! :eclipsee_ :
Pinkbits is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 23-11-2006, 07:20 PM   #5
OZFORDAU

Ohhh lol, im not traverling to Brisvegas lol! Nah but could anyone lend a hand at all?

Simon
Old 23-11-2006, 07:29 PM   #6

I'm closer (Canberra) and more than willing to help if you're willing to travel. I have the right tools to do both jobs.

Old 23-11-2006, 07:34 PM   #7
stiddy

LOL it takes all of 5 mins to change the pads on the rear of a S1 AU..

Jack rear off ground
Removed rear tyre
Undo top calliper bolt and pull in a clockwise motion
(You dont need to remove the whole calliper, undo top bolt and move it like a hinge)
Pull out old pads
Put in new pads
Close calliper and put bolt back in
Put wheel on
Lower car and go bed them in.
stiddy is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 23-11-2006, 07:53 PM   #8
poolkeeper
Its Resonating!

^ And if the new pads wont go over the rotor, you need to use a f or g clamp to compress the piston back in...
poolkeeper is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 23-11-2006, 07:56 PM   #9
87xfairmont87

yes but b carefull you dont blow the seal off the piston

I LIVE MY LIFE ONE HEAD GAZKIT AT A TIME!!!!
87xfairmont87 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 23-11-2006, 08:05 PM   #10
stiddy

Op's forgot that bit, but yeah a G Glamp to push the piston back in if need be.
stiddy is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 23-11-2006, 08:35 PM   #11
mattsAU1

Originally Posted by 87xfairmont87
yes but b carefull you dont blow the seal off the piston
might help to take the cap off the brake fluid resorvoir and get someone to watch the level as you compress the caliper piston, i did it on my own once and the reservoir overflowed and we all know how good brake fluid is for your paint job
Old 23-11-2006, 09:11 PM   #12
AU-Hog

Simon,

I'm in Upwey and I may be able to help you, but I'm not sure when...
PM me if you still need assistance.

Andrew
Old 23-11-2006, 09:22 PM   #13
AU2PWR
Spin 'em Habib !

lol Nice one Casper Whoosha Free on Sundays lol

AU2PWR is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 23-11-2006, 09:32 PM   #14
GK
Walking with God

I'd help you if you wanted Simon!

You are on the other side of town though, so the Eastern connections should be explored first. If that fails, I'll make some time to help you out!

GK

2015 Kia Sorento Platinum - Snow White Pearl

2001 Ducati Monster 900Sie - Red

Now gone!
1999 AU1 Futura Wagon - Sparkling Burgundy
On LPG

Want a Full Life? John 10:10
GK is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 24-11-2006, 02:08 PM   #15
superroo
You can't stop the signal

Tech Writer: Recognition for the technical writers of AFF - Issue reason: Has done quite a few excellent write ups for au .com 

Hey simon, if you still stuck by saturday arvo with the brake pads, i'm gonna be near your side of town(rowville) i might be able to lend a hand.
HOWEVER changing brake pads is by far one of the easiest task to do to a car(usually), you should be able to do them your self.

superroo is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 24-11-2006, 03:19 PM   #16
OZFORDAU

Ok, i've been quoted $40 for one 2nd hand rotor from FTG Autosalvage and $40 for a pair of brake pads from Autobahn!

What we think?

Can we do any better?

Simon
Old 24-11-2006, 03:25 PM   #17

Originally Posted by OZFORDAU
Ok, i've been quoted $40 for one 2nd hand rotor from FTG Autosalvage and $40 for a pair of brake pads from Autobahn!

What we think?

Can we do any better?

Simon
Yes, have a look on ebay. I think rear rotors are about $30 new each for RDA's (not slotted)

Old 24-11-2006, 03:41 PM   #18

If you're going to replace one, you might as well do the other.

Old 24-11-2006, 04:31 PM   #19
janek
Ripping it up

yup, i can do you one better...

You can do what i did on my go-cart (Home made with disc brakes)

Machine the rotors on yourt handy home lathe (We all have those ).

Get the old pads and a grinder, grind off all of the brake material, get some shoe heel rubber, cut to fit shape of brake pad metal. groove the rubber into the metal, glue it in (tarzan's grip)...

Total of about 6 bucks

Somebody stop me!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

dodgy as, BUT it worked well! :P
janek is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 24-11-2006, 05:34 PM   #20
poolkeeper
Its Resonating!

Originally Posted by janek
yup, i can do you one better...

You can do what i did on my go-cart (Home made with disc brakes)

Machine the rotors on yourt handy home lathe (We all have those ).

Get the old pads and a grinder, grind off all of the brake material, get some shoe heel rubber, cut to fit shape of brake pad metal. groove the rubber into the metal, glue it in (tarzan's grip)...

Total of about 6 bucks

Somebody stop me!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

dodgy as, BUT it worked well! :P
Hmmm, I better try this next time I need brakes lol : lol
poolkeeper is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 24-11-2006, 06:34 PM   #21
FRDGAL
GT-P #0336

Originally Posted by OZFORDAU
Also i need to fit the wipers/indicator switch to the sterring wheel but to do that u need to take of the sterring wheel!

Could anyone please help me out with this?

Simon
Your mate that broke it should be fixing it :yeees:

Originally Posted by REDXR8BLOKE
Yes he will be. He is coming over to see my new baby!
Please explain!
2003 FULLY OPTIONED MERCURY SILVER BA GT-P BUILD #336
REVERSE CAMERA - SAT NAV - PIONEER SUB & AMP - SUNROOF - DVD PLAYER - CUSTOM DUAL EXHAUST
~Tuned By Bluepower Racing~
FRDGAL is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 25-11-2006, 01:01 PM   #22
AU2PWR
Spin 'em Habib !

Santa Bought a New Car

Old 26-11-2006, 01:06 AM   #23

Originally Posted by FRDGAL_AU6
Your mate that broke it should be fixing it :yeees:

Please explain!
Stay tuned, all will be revealed.
Pinkbits is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 26-11-2006, 01:29 AM   #24
RspecAU
BA GT-P Owner

Have u fixed this yet? If not call me u have my mobile number.

Cheers Mark
ON MAXXIS MAV1's 275/45/17 13.27 @ 106mph
RspecAU is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 26-11-2006, 09:01 AM   #25
Whoosha
AU DIE HARD

Valued Contributor: For members whose non technical contributions are worthy of recognition. - Issue reason: For all the things you do behind the scenes. Tech Writer: Recognition for the technical writers of AFF - Issue reason: Writing tech articles 

Originally Posted by Casper

:Reverend:

Sorry Simon not a hope this sunday .. need rest after my hard week :nutsycuck ;
And yes I have to go and wet the head of Marks bounceynew shiney pink baby thing :lookedat:

........Age and treachery will ALWAYS overcome youth and skill.......

CORTINA 250 2V POWER soon to be AUXR8 Windsor pwrd

.............WINDSOR WARLORD WHO CARRIES THE CLEVO MAFIA AND BROKEN BOSSES...

Originally Posted by Riksta
Quote of the weekend: "The quarter mile wasn't as long as I expected it to be".
Whoosha is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 26-11-2006, 09:07 AM   #26
AU2PWR
Spin 'em Habib !

lol ,

Old 26-11-2006, 05:21 PM   #27
FRDGAL
GT-P #0336

Originally Posted by Whoosha
I have to go and wet the head of Marks bouncey new shiney pink baby thing
Think about what you just said Whoosh :
REVERSE CAMERA - SAT NAV - PIONEER SUB & AMP - SUNROOF - DVD PLAYER - CUSTOM DUAL EXHAUST
Old 26-11-2006, 06:26 PM   #28
GK
Walking with God

Sounds very dodgy, but my better side tells me it's a baby's christening, baptism or dedicaton!

I sure hope that's what it's about! LOL!

Tell me it's true!

GK

2015 Kia Sorento Platinum - Snow White Pearl

2001 Ducati Monster 900Sie - Red

Now gone!
1999 AU1 Futura Wagon - Sparkling Burgundy
On LPG

Want a Full Life? John 10:10
GK is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 26-11-2006, 08:36 PM   #29
Whoosha
AU DIE HARD

Valued Contributor: For members whose non technical contributions are worthy of recognition. - Issue reason: For all the things you do behind the scenes. Tech Writer: Recognition for the technical writers of AFF - Issue reason: Writing tech articles 

Gees FROOGALSPEC even with your failing eye sight ya knows what ah means :the_finge
look here for the blokes pink bouncey bit :1syellow1 http://www.fordforums.com.au/showthread.php?t=75541

........Age and treachery will ALWAYS overcome youth and skill.......

CORTINA 250 2V POWER soon to be AUXR8 Windsor pwrd

.............WINDSOR WARLORD WHO CARRIES THE CLEVO MAFIA AND BROKEN BOSSES...

Originally Posted by Riksta
Quote of the weekend: "The quarter mile wasn't as long as I expected it to be".
Whoosha is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 26-11-2006, 09:21 PM   #30
FRDGAL
GT-P #0336

Brakes have been all fixed took Rspec about and hour to fit new pads and rotors atleast now this AU will stop :