You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and inserts advertising. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members, respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features without post based advertising banners. Registration is simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

View Poll Results: which exotic
FERRARI 360 9 13.85%
MASERATI Granturismo 4 6.15%
ASTON MARTIN DB9 42 64.62%
PORSCHE 911 (996) TURBO 10 15.38%
Voters: 65. You may not vote on this poll

Old 14-11-2010, 08:59 PM   #1
Cheese3
The BEST Falcon is the AU

Default exotic cars from the UK!

Well i have been planning a trip to europe and i am looking at staying a minimal 6months over there. When im there i was going to buy a little buzz box to get around, i was looking at UK used car market to see how much money something small and simple was. I should of stopped searching after i found the price for a small car but i decided to look at prices of exotic cars. I just can't beleive how cheap they are, so it got me think of maybe extending my holidays to a year and trying to bring one across so i don't have to pay import tax. i would like you guys opinion on which cars are the nicest and to direct me the right direction on the rules and conditions on bringing a car back.

I'm just flirting with these ideas right now, but the more i read/search and look into it there would be nothing cooler than 24yr old crusing in a exotic.

I understand insurance would ream me, car services would kill me but i doubt ill have another chance like this to own a car of this quality! And at the end of the day if i sell it i should make money on it which would be nice also!

So which one of these cars do people prefer and any other suggestions! 40,000pounds is roughly my limit on a exotic thats if the dollar is still good when i travel.

Edit: the DB9 is so dreamy

Last edited by Cheese3; 14-11-2010 at 09:06 PM.
Cheese3 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 14-11-2010, 09:10 PM   #2

I voted for the Aston for the simple fact its the best looking by far!
Old 14-11-2010, 09:13 PM   #3

Valued Contributor: For members whose non technical contributions are worthy of recognition. - Issue reason: vztrt is one of the most consistent and respected contributors to AFF, I have found his contributions are most useful to discussion as well as answering members queries. 

DB9...why? Cause its a DB9!! lol
Old 14-11-2010, 09:35 PM   #4
rancidpunx
FPV GTR

Technical Contributor: For members who share their technical expertise. - Issue reason: For technical contribution to all things car-care related. And helping/advising forum members with the best possible information. 

Its got to be the Aston. No Contest.

I would get one just so One evening I can book a restaurant and then say to the missus, "darling? Shall we take the Aston?"
- Veridian Green PJ Ranger XLT -
The Work Truck

rancidpunx is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 14-11-2010, 09:36 PM   #5
kenz
BOSS Pilot

DB9

Blue SY Territory Ghia

Originally Posted by CAT600
No matter how good the F6 is (and it is damn good), its missing two cylinders.
kenz is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 14-11-2010, 09:39 PM   #6

DB9
SteveJH is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 14-11-2010, 10:22 PM   #7
aquahead2001

DB9 If its not the most beautiful car ever, its the most beautiful one being made now. It'd be in my top three, Muira, Ford GT (nee 40) and the DB9.
Old 14-11-2010, 10:26 PM   #8

porsche will be easiest to offload down the track

also has bulletproof reliability

unlike the Aston.....
gcg2503 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 14-11-2010, 10:26 PM   #9
Archilino

911 turbo, it should be law that everyone has one in their lifetime.
Archilino is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 14-11-2010, 10:42 PM   #10

Pick me up a mint condish BMW 8 series while you are at it. You can get them over there for about 16k AUD.

Over here you are looking at no less then 40 probably over 50K for a minty!
Old 14-11-2010, 10:45 PM   #11

Porsche 911. Sure, other guys will wiggle their little finger and call you pretentious, but you'll be in a porsche 911 and they are just so cool..Aston is too, but as far as reliability goes, the porsche kills it.

Old 14-11-2010, 10:46 PM   #12
SS Eater

Aston for sure......nicest looking car on the planet.
SS Eater is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 14-11-2010, 11:54 PM   #13
irpacaus

Cheese 3,

A DB9 will set you back somewhere between £40 to 50k. You might get one just under £40k but it will have over 70kmiles on it.

I live here in the UK and have done for about 7 years. Your big issue will be insurance especially if you have not had UK driving licence for a certain period of time (although if you change you aussie licence for a UK one you should be fine). I am 36 and have had quotes which range form £750 to £2500 to insure the DB9 I was looking at buying. The cheapest was through the Aston Martin Owners Club by a long way. I would suggest you join and get insurance with them. Road tax will set you back about £400 as well (high C02 rating).

I have worked the numbers on bring a DB9 back to oz when I come and based on a DB9 worth £50k you need to set aside another £20 to 25k to get it back to oz, import duties, GST, Luxury car tax, transport, and compliance when back in Oz. Even as a personal import there are still a number of items that need to be changes and the child seat anchor points fitted.

When you bring it back you need to prove that you have owned and driven it for a continous period of 12months. The Aus government will want a copy of your passport to prove that you just did not buy it and store it in a garage while you then travelled around Europe. Also you will need to show you used it. So they will want to see the mileage that you put on it etc. This can be done with MOTs (RWC) that you get each years as this is recorded on the MOT.

Also at the end of the day you might be able to sell it for as much as you think in OZ but if you intend to keep it for ever and a day when you move back home then that will not be a problem.

Not to put a downer on it but make sure you have done your homework as it might cost you more than you think.

Drop me a line if you want ot chat further as I have looked into this quite a bit as I nearly but a 2006 DB9 manual 3 weeks ago.

David
irpacaus is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 15-11-2010, 12:08 AM   #14

Good advice, irpacaus although I dont think his intention was to bring it back to Oz

I too was in the UK for 6 yrs and the maths doesnt stack up to import it back

Here is a spreadsheet for importation that i prepared when i was looking at doing the same

EDIT: Actually, with teh devaluation of the GBP (strengthening AUD) the argument is MUCH more compelling

Basically going long on the value of the luxury car you are bringing in
Attached Files
File Type: xls AUST CAR IMPORT.xls (25.5 KB, 49 views)
gcg2503 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 15-11-2010, 12:25 AM   #15

My heart is divided between the DB9 and the 360 - but day to day the 911 !
Old 15-11-2010, 06:21 AM   #16

Bugger the DB9. all Aston Martins look the same, like munted Jaguars.
All the others are cool.
MethodX is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 15-11-2010, 08:13 AM   #17
Corzza

Id go the Ferrari.

Race 2 Clipsal 500 2014

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8NOZvWBp4Eo

"I plucked her into first, gave it some jandal and F@#$ Yeah!" - Scott McLaughlin
Corzza is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 15-11-2010, 08:21 AM   #18
Cheese3

thanks irpacaus & gcg2503 these are the posts im looking for, something to point me in the right direction. i had a limit of about $90k aus to spend thats including everything! and another half of that for the holiday and part time work!

Originally Posted by irpacaus
When you bring it back you need to prove that you have owned and driven it for a continous period of 12months. The Aus government will want a copy of your passport to prove that you just did not buy it and store it in a garage while you then travelled around Europe. Also you will need to show you used it. So they will want to see the mileage that you put on it etc. This can be done with MOTs (RWC) that you get each years as this is recorded on the MOT.
Putting the miles on and showing that i have drivin it will be easy but the hardest part is I am going to base myself in germany mostly and abit in the UK for most of trip! but in germany driver is on wrong side of road and saying i bought a RHD car for germany doesn't add up. So thats where i would get unstucked i think!
Old 15-11-2010, 08:24 AM   #19
tex
Broken

Valued Contributor: For members whose non technical contributions are worthy of recognition. - Issue reason: With the exception of maybe HSE2, nobody writes a review like Texy. 

Fazza - nah, too much Tossing valus. Same with the Porker.

Go the Aston.

Not sure 40k pound will get you a seat though?

11.4 @ 128, 1.88 60ft.
tex is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 15-11-2010, 08:28 AM   #20
Cheese3

http://www.autotrader.co.uk/classifi...10ad?logcode=p

with 40k pounds with 45k miles
Old 15-11-2010, 08:44 AM   #21
tex
Broken

Valued Contributor: For members whose non technical contributions are worthy of recognition. - Issue reason: With the exception of maybe HSE2, nobody writes a review like Texy. 

Is a tough Audi, Merc, Beemer out of the question?

ie RS4, AMG C63, M3 etc....?

Too boring?

How much would a V8 Vantage be worth. Not hugely fast, but the sound....and the looks..... drool.

11.4 @ 128, 1.88 60ft.
tex is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 15-11-2010, 09:10 AM   #22
UKXR8

Basing yourself in Germany shouldn't be a problem, your passport doesn't tend to get stamped when you travel around the EU, especially when you are driving..
So long as you get it stamped when you arrive I don't see what the problem is.

2003 AU3 XR8 MANUAL

1998 EL XR6
UKXR8 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 15-11-2010, 09:56 AM   #23
RAREV8
Previously ScottishXC

Aston= class and folk will let you merge in traffic
Ferrari= toss value, driven by self- indulgent weiners to the best part (yup, got several friends with them!) Never let into traffic either
Porsche- not as bad as the Ferrari but nothing like as good as the Aston either.....polls are fun but if you are going to spend this amount of cash, I believe you must already know which as they are three very diverse cars?!

importing is an issue- bloody expensive and yes, you need to provide proof of use and ownership for no less than 12 months. i have been looking at bringing over a TVR Cerbera Red Rose but local excise is a joke.

Good luck and have fun if you get any one of the 3 cars- all pretty special!

Gilesie
XAGTCoupe
Pilch
Aussie_afroman
Donut King
Bad Boy Benny
BAWITHLOT
Greenmachine
CUZ351
OhioXB
Falconunbelievable
4VXC
Uncleraggy

FG G6 Ego, tech pack, Tropic gold 1973 Landau, Cosmic blue 1975 P5 LTD....long term project
Im just bored of the single/narrow minded...
RAREV8 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 15-11-2010, 10:03 AM   #24

I'd go the Maserati. That exhaust note is incredible. I'm not saying it's better than the others, just the GranTurismo is just awesome. It's also Italian which is a bonus
Old 15-11-2010, 11:09 AM   #25
Tucool

DB9 all the way

AU II XR8 Daily driver.

BF XR8 ute (Red the only true Modification) My Toy.

The boy,

XT Ute 393 cleveland.

Genuine XB GT.
Tucool is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 15-11-2010, 11:19 AM   #26
Jimmyd

No contest, has to be the DB9 - it even has Tickford Wings....

Jimmyd is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 15-11-2010, 11:39 AM   #27
Grippy
Racing improves the breed

DB9! Its got the looks and makes all the right sounds

1964 Mini Cooper S Historic Group Nb Touring car

Victorian Hill Climb Championship
Grippy is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 15-11-2010, 11:52 AM   #28
T3rminator

On your list, I'd go with the Aston for the looks. Having said that, you will see more of the Astons and Porsches on the streets here than the other 2.

I'm also thinking about doing this (Either 335i or RS4), so not in your price range.

Check out this site regarding importing cars back to Oz.

http://www.moving-to-melbourne.co.uk...-to-australia/

It has a spreasheet covering ALL the costs involved.

The luxury car tax is the killer. I swear, aussies get effen ripped off when it comes to cars!

My mate is looking to bring one back to NZ and he tells me all they have to pay is the transport, insurance, compliance and rego cost. There is no tax associated with the import.

Rides (past and present)
Current: 2004 Ford Falcon 5.4L 3v Barra 220, Manual
Past: Mitsubishi Sigma (m), Toyota Seca (m), Toyota Seca SX (m), Toyota Vienta V6 (m), Toyota Soarer 4L v8 (a), BA XR8 ute (m), T3 TE50 (m), BMW Z4 (m)

AFF motto - If contrary views trigger, please use ignore button.
T3rminator is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 15-11-2010, 01:26 PM   #29
smoo

I'd go for the AM Vanquish, more exclusive than the others and is easily one of the best looking cars ever, probably the nicest thing penned in the last few decades.
smoo is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 15-11-2010, 02:36 PM   #30

Points to consider:

How much extra will it cost to stay there for the extra time?

How much to get the car back and on the road here?

When you do have it here remember it is a private import so it will be worth significantly less that one sold new here.

e.g.

Lexus vs Soarer
200SX vs Sylvia
etc.

Last and most important point, these cars are exotic in this country and you can't buy parts at repco and have them fitted at ultratune. Check with your local Ferarri/Aston/Porsche specialist mechanics how much it will cost to work on them and even if they are interested in working on them. The last thing you need is a broken car that no one wants to touch or buy because no one wants to work on it.

Look at carsales & ebay and offer cash. There are a lot of people hurting right now and you can save a fortune.