Welcome to the Australian Ford Forums forum. You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and inserts advertising. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members, respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features without post based advertising banners. Registration is simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today! If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us. Please Note: All new registrations go through a manual approval queue to keep spammers out. This is checked twice each day so there will be a delay before your registration is activated. |
05-03-2006, 01:57 PM | #1 | ||
I have always wondered about this, although I am sixty odd and this forum is mostly younger people I would like to ask what you favourite stock standard ford would be, to start off mine would be a 1948 ford mercury, and then maybe a 32 coupe.................ken
05-03-2006, 01:59 PM | #2 | ||
yeah, i dont really know much about the older fords, but i like the look of the EL xr6's/8s
05-03-2006, 02:00 PM | #3 | ||
BF GT or XY GT in Electric Blue. Or the new GT (40) if you include limited number runs.
05-03-2006, 02:01 PM | #4 | ||
Mandy Moore FTW!
EB GT hands down.
Pics for proof. Last edited by GTS_300_Coupe; 05-03-2006 at 02:07 PM. |
05-03-2006, 02:04 PM | #5 | ||
if you happened to run into a tree in the mercury you need a crow bar to get you back on the road ....not a tow truck
05-03-2006, 02:11 PM | #6 | ||
why dont you boys type into google the 48 mercury 34 coupe 36 coupe 32 coupe, 12 cylinder zypher lincon coupe and have a look.......ken
05-03-2006, 02:15 PM | #7 | ||
I build your wish list...
32 HighBoy
3 window willo coupe |
05-03-2006, 02:20 PM | #8 | ||
it makes me think if i had all the fords i have owned i would be a half a million dollar man today.........to many to count.............ken
05-03-2006, 02:23 PM | #9 | ||
trick xd.............GOOD............ken
05-03-2006, 02:34 PM | #10 | ||
yeah mate definately showing your age there.
This discussion will get no where for a few reasons: 1) back in the anything pre 60's cars where made with style, art if you will 2) modern cars have to worry about aerodynamics etc etc, 3) alot of people wont know anything about the older cars 4) what do you call stock? A GT...or isn't that just a falcon? The EF Gli gets my vote for "stock" and in the modern era.
Last edited by Polyal; 05-03-2006 at 02:43 PM. |
05-03-2006, 02:41 PM | #11 | ||
Formerly au^ute
I REALLY like the BF Tornado's! :
05-03-2006, 02:41 PM | #12 | ||
1940 ford coupe... cant go past that beauty. Ill own one someday, when the boss gives me more pocket money hehe
05-03-2006, 02:58 PM | #13 | ||
Favorite standard 68 GT500 mustang
Favorite very standard XT Falcon Favorite modifed is a coupe XA,B,C but not as standard. Not designed for hubcaped wheels and pizza cutters | [/url] |
'73 Landau - 10.82 @ 131mph '11 FG GT335 - 12.43 @ 116mph '95 XG ute - 3 minutes, 21.14 @ 64mph 101,436 MEMBERS ......... 101,436 OPINIONS ..... What could possibly go wrong! Clevo Mafia [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC] |
05-03-2006, 03:09 PM | #14 | ||
hello polyal, if i got one reply i would be quite happy, maby you should research fords instead of just getting a mental block in your head or is it a spark plug you have got in there,,i only asked to get different opions and mayby to get the younger members to research the old ford which they have not seen.......and yes me present car 97 el wagon...get off your high horse and back into your car........i have seen a few of your replies and yes that is your actual picture......if you do not want to add something positive your best bet is do not reply...........................ken
05-03-2006, 03:12 PM | #15 | ||
New for Ford (USA) GT Supercar, they did an awesome job of bringing a legend back to life or the new Mustang.
05-03-2006, 03:14 PM | #16 | ||
lol...ok
I know plenty about older fords...same goes with 99.9% of the other "younger" people on the forum as cars are their passion, or they wouldn't be here. You dont have to be old to know a bit about history _2:
05-03-2006, 03:22 PM | #17 | ||
ED sprint
05-03-2006, 03:23 PM | #18 | |||
As for the much older Fords, they don't light my fire in stock form, however the Mercury in the move Cobra (stallone) is one of my favourites, but it's no where near stock. |
05-03-2006, 03:24 PM | #19 | ||
also polyal this old man can tell you more about fords than you would ever know,,until you reach 60 odd...........ken
05-03-2006, 03:28 PM | #20 | ||
mate I really dont care what you know and dont.
I was merely pointing out that comparing a 30's car to a 90's for is impossible. Back then they had coachbuilders etc etc doing bodies, I wish I lived in the 1920's, some amazing cars that were just as much art as they were transportation. And dont be so quick to judge on what someone knows, great thing about the internet is that you will really never know the person behind the name.
05-03-2006, 03:33 PM | #21 | ||
also polyal.........i have driven them have you, or do you just look at pics...ken
05-03-2006, 03:35 PM | #22 | ||
V8 Powaah
'65 Ford Galaxie
as for more modern vehicles, probably a NC Fairlane the EB I or II Gli e EF Gli wasnt bad either (from a pure clean styling stand point)
05-03-2006, 03:37 PM | #23 | ||
ah isn't that what you wanted people to do???..look at pics:
Ford didn't really have great stuff in the 30's...stuff like this as alot nicer IMO.
05-03-2006, 03:40 PM | #24 | |||
The BF GT tuff but heaps of style & class
FGX XR6 Lightning Strike Sedan BA XR6 Mk II Shockwave Sedan - Now Sold - gone but not forgotten mods: 20% under drive, Pacemaker Comps 4495' (ceramic coated) , 3' Metal Cat, XR6T exhaust - twin 3' tips, F6 CAI, K&N panel filter, PWR trans cooler, customed tuned by Heinrich Performance Tuning HPT 183.7rwkw. Quote:
05-03-2006, 03:41 PM | #25 | ||
i will surely agree on your last sentance............. ken, i would like to get together with you sometome and have a good talk about the oldies, but i live in sydney, it is nice to see a dissagrement to can come to good relationships......ken
05-03-2006, 03:41 PM | #26 | ||
or you could get your 32 coupe as you suggested above...
i think ill stick with the 1929 duesenberg model j dual cowl phaeton..but thats just me
05-03-2006, 03:43 PM | #27 | ||
lol comparing a Duesenberg to a Ford? That's like comparing an Kia to a Rolls Royce.
Last edited by Psycho Chicken; 05-03-2006 at 03:49 PM. |
05-03-2006, 03:44 PM | #28 | ||
eskie freek
all ford are good just the old 1's are better lookin cant wait til dad gets the 32 roadstar on the road
05-03-2006, 03:45 PM | #29 | |||
I just finished reading a really good book called "American Cars - past to present" writtern by Matt Deloernzo, very informative and has alot of good pics.
05-03-2006, 03:50 PM | #30 | ||
i hope you have never owned a ford prefect as i have