Old 26-12-2005, 06:45 PM   #1
fasty

Exclamation My new son's name!!

Well after many months of debating I have finally won the battle with my wife to name our new baby boy who is due in May ...... Ford!!!!! Ford Elliott Donald Farnsworth. Now what do you gus think??? How much will he be teased and is it worth it??? It's gotta be a pretty cool name if you have seen the movie Ford Fairlane. Not to mention how cool the cars are!!! :monkes:

Old 26-12-2005, 06:47 PM   #2
XLS99 Ute man
Who Loves Mountain Women

Hahaha thats tops!
ive never meet someone named "Ford"

XLS Falcon Ute
Full Sick 2.5 Inch -> To Double 3 Inch Tips Exhaust Sports System
18 Inch Bling Bling Rims
Altezza Tail Bling Bling Lights
Kenwood Head Deck + Amps + Bling Bling Sub
Bright Orange BLING BLING Fordforums.com Sticker

OOoooohh Yeah! Bling Bling
XLS99 Ute man is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 26-12-2005, 06:49 PM   #3

Ford ED Farnsworth.. hmm, sounds like a special addition!

Old 26-12-2005, 06:51 PM   #4
fasty

Very COOL!!!! He is aVery Special one off addition!!!!! How can I get AU in there???
Old 26-12-2005, 06:55 PM   #5
gmhdriver

If you want my personal opinion, I think naming a child 'Ford' because it is your favourite brand of car is going to extremes. Think of all the crap he will cop during his school years, and if you think he won't you're kidding yourself.
gmhdriver is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 26-12-2005, 06:58 PM   #6
fasty

Fair is fair. There are much wierder names but I do thank you fot your input. At least it isn't Rainbow or Porshe.
Old 26-12-2005, 07:09 PM   #7

Originally Posted by gmhdriver
If you want my personal opinion, I think naming a child 'Ford' because it is your favourite brand of car is going to extremes. Think of all the crap he will cop during his school years, and if you think he won't you're kidding yourself.
I tend to agree with this. I hope the kid has a thick skin.

It's suave, more subtle, and yet no less stirring. In fact, the boosted Ford is more polished than any big sedan Australia has ever produced. It's just so damn good, it makes the SS feel crude... Ignore the WRX. Forget the E49. Falcon XR6 Turbo is king.
Old 26-12-2005, 07:11 PM   #8
Biggoggs
Rider on the storm

Hasn't he got enough names already? And what if he becomes a Holden/Import man? :P
Biggoggs is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 26-12-2005, 07:11 PM   #9

not a bad name mate . it sounds good.
Old 26-12-2005, 07:16 PM   #10

yeah i agree ... im not "that" much of a ford fan...

maybe as a middle name but not his given name.. - at least give him a chance to not use it if he doesnt want to
Old 26-12-2005, 07:27 PM   #11
fasty

Keep 'em coming. I like the input I am getting. I have put all of your thoughts into place already. We have started to refer to the baby as Ford and after a few weeks it doesn't really sound that bad. It does grow on you after you use it as a childs name. I will admitt Henry Ford is a legend and it WAS his LAST name he used but I kinda like it. If he is as thick skinned as his mum and dad he will be fine!!
Old 26-12-2005, 07:53 PM   #12

ITS BETTER THAN harley . hamish . tyrone, some of the names my wife wanted to name my son.
Old 26-12-2005, 08:14 PM   #13

that is why all the jews live at vaucluse !!!!!!! thankyou henry or was that ford.
Old 26-12-2005, 08:20 PM   #14
fasty

Better than having a daughter called Harley so half the country rides her!!!!! But I'd never let my Ford ride a Harley!!!! Beside everyone put 9 inch Ford parts in their Holden's. My Boys are going to keep up that reputation.
Old 26-12-2005, 08:27 PM   #15

now i'd be more worried if you were going to name him . DODGE. OR LEYLAND OR CAPRICE OR MERCEDEZ. AUSTIN .
Old 26-12-2005, 08:31 PM   #16
fasty

That be a bloody good point!!! See how many other bad names are out there!!! Just think about the different names appearing nowadays. Do you think it will be a problem in 10 years??
Old 26-12-2005, 08:33 PM   #17

Originally Posted by fasty
That be a bloody good point!!! See how many other bad names are out there!!! Just think about the different names appearing nowadays. Do you think it will be a problem in 10 years??
i wouldn't worry mate i think it is a good name myself . but some will hate it . thats what makes us all differant.
Old 26-12-2005, 08:34 PM   #18

Well, I have 2 sons. 1 named Karl (gee, he could be confused with Karl Marx and called a communist) and one named Dayton (yes, after the place where the Wright brothers built the first plane to fly under its own power in a controlled flight). Theres a lot worse names out there than Ford.

Old 26-12-2005, 08:41 PM   #19
fasty

Thanx and I agree entirely!!! I am someone who likes to stand out from the crowd, so my kids are the same. Nothing wrong with being different. It's all good. Those who don't like the name don't have to. So keep the opinions coming in. Not a bad topic of discussion if you ask me.
Old 26-12-2005, 08:51 PM   #20
chief
FTF Club Moderator

Well at least its not something daft like Apple (Gwinith Paltrow's child) or CoCo (some other celebrities child name). Ford isn't a bad name. I am thinking of changing my name to add my nickname as a second middle name. There are true mates that I have known for years that dont know my real name.

Falcon Tickford FPV (FTF) Car Club of NSW

Fords in the Park 2010

I use and recommend Stingray Car Security.
http://www.stingraycar.com.au/
chief is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 26-12-2005, 09:04 PM   #21
red_hotxr6

Look if you and your wife decide on this name then good luck to you all, and every one else should respect the decision made.
red_hotxr6 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 26-12-2005, 09:09 PM   #22
fasty

Talking

Thanx buddy but it's water off a ducks back to me!!!! We love our son and he will be well loved, isn't that what matters??!! Ford he will be and he will deal with it. Hell my name is Adam, do you know how many times I've been asked where Eve is??LOL :
Old 26-12-2005, 09:34 PM   #23

Thread Cleaned., lets keep it Civil
Laminge is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 26-12-2005, 09:52 PM   #24
HOON69

ford in any name has to be good doesnt it?

good luck with it all

i woulda went with a middle name ford but afterall its your choice so yeah..
HOON69 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 26-12-2005, 10:00 PM   #25

too bad if he likes Holdens.
Old 26-12-2005, 10:03 PM   #26
fasty

HOPE he doesn't!!!! No lose if he does. I will just get him a good one like an A9X or SLR5000 or Monaro, any HSV or Walkinshaw!!!
Old 26-12-2005, 10:07 PM   #27
Focused

I've been a lurker for a while but I had to respond to this.
Originally Posted by gmhdriver
I agree, it's down right cruel.
Sure there's worse names out there but that's no justification. What if the kid's class are all Holden fans? Even if your son couldn't care less about cars he's going to cop it. Yes, 10 year old boys base their friendships on something like that.
It's all well and good for us to laugh about it now...
Focused is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 26-12-2005, 10:08 PM   #28
Rapid260

Mate a names a name, the only time he is going to cop any flack is from the ages of about 6 to 16, & that is the time it hurts a kid most, he will either come out the other side of it with a complex or thick skin, but in saying that, doesnt every kid at that age cop s**t about there name, i know i did & i gave it just as much.

If he doesn't like being called Ford then he can use one of his other name's, it's a tuff call mate, i dont think i would be calling my son Ford, but thats me, good luck with it all.

Kev
Rapid260 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 26-12-2005, 10:11 PM   #29
fasty

Yep cool. Thanx. If he doesn't like it he can use his other names or his nickname. I have had friends for 10 years that only know me as Fasty.
Old 26-12-2005, 10:13 PM   #30

Well I personally wouldn't inflict it on any son of mine, but if he decides he doesn't like it when he grows up he can just go by one of his middle names.
My Father's name is Thomas Richard, but everyone calles him Richard.
Probably because his father was Tom.

I don't particularly like my name - Gerardine, all that much, but it really gives me the poos when I get called Geraldine.
I normally refuse to answer to it. It used to really annoy subsitiute teachers at school. They'd try to give me detention for being insolent, but they really couldn't do anything about it.
Blueprint, manual, 4490's, Redback 2.5" dual exhaust, BA Typhoon rims, tint, fog light covers, BF tailights, blue illuminated window switches, Ghia bootlid carpet, lower grille, FPV door spears, steering wheel & interior bits, XR6T + F6 intake, K&N filter, Typhoon spoiler, tuned, sway bars, custom angel eyes & plates..YUM!