You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and inserts advertising. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members, respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features without post based advertising banners. Registration is simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

Old 08-11-2020, 07:59 AM   #91
Tassie f100

Default Re: New Tow Tug ,What to Buy?

Originally Posted by prydey View Post
GCM is 6t, so with a kerb weight of 2281 and 3500 van, it leaves 219kg for driver, fuel and whatever else you might want to carry.

GCM is the sticking point for most car based (not truck) vehicles.
So the tricked up VW actually has only about a 3t towing capacity when you have a driver,adult passenger,a couple of bigger kids and all the necessary bits and pieces,like fuel clothing food etc,The 2281 wouldn’t include the towbar and (the thing that most caravan towers reckon they need,
a bull bar and driving lights,even though they never travel at night),maybe an extra spare wheel.

Last edited by Tassie f100; 08-11-2020 at 08:14 AM.
Tassie f100 is online now   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 08-11-2020, 10:37 AM   #92
wodahs

have you thought about getting the 4X4 you want and having the GCM changed ?
but by adding a second rear axle and turing it in to a 4X6
https://6x6australia.com.au/
Since 1984 we have been constantly improving our systems to the point where now we offer GVM’s up to 8,000 kg’s and currently are working on the gap between 8,000 and 15,000 kg’s niche market.
https://www.bossaluminium.com.au/pro...x6-conversion/

rebuilding the zh fairlane with a clevo 400m 4v heads injected whipple blown with aode 4 speed trans to a 9" ....... we'll get there eventually

just remember don't be afraid to try something new.
Remember, amateurs built the Ark...Professionals built the Titanic!

I have taken up meditation... at least it's better than sitting around doing nothing !!
wodahs is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 08-11-2020, 11:09 AM   #93

Originally Posted by wodahs View Post
Since 1984 we have been constantly improving our systems to the point where now we offer GVM’s up to 8,000 kg’s and currently are working on the gap between 8,000 and 15,000 kg’s niche market.

Keep coming across this WB ute which has a second rear axle doing the rounds around Melbourne's northern suburbs
Old 08-11-2020, 11:40 AM   #94
Swordie

There is a secondhand 6x2 Mazda BT50 on Gumtree for $25,999 with 100,000kms in Victoria. You would have to check its weight certification. I'm guessing over time there will be more variety in 6 wheelers such as 6x6.

Last edited by Swordie; 08-11-2020 at 11:45 AM.
Swordie is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 08-11-2020, 12:21 PM   #95
hayseed

Originally Posted by Tassie f100 View Post
So the tricked up VW actually has only about a 3t towing capacity

That's with the Upgraded GVM. At Factory GVM It's only 2770Kg.

Yet both have are rated to tow 3500kg
hayseed is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 08-11-2020, 12:22 PM   #96
hayseed

Originally Posted by Franco Cozzo View Post
Keep coming across this WB ute which has a second rear axle doing the rounds around Melbourne's northern suburbs
They were Quite common as Tow Trucks back in the Day..
Old 08-11-2020, 12:46 PM   #97

The way we keep spending 351LTD's money, he's going to be up to 150K before he even has a caravan sorted.

Old 08-11-2020, 01:39 PM   #98
hayseed

Originally Posted by roKWiz View Post
The way we keep spending 351LTD's money, he's going to be up to 150K before he even has a caravan sorted.
Spending Other Peoples Money is Great....
Old 08-11-2020, 01:40 PM   #99

Originally Posted by hayseed View Post
Spending Other Peoples Money is Great....
I can see that, with the RAM 2500 post.

Old 08-11-2020, 01:52 PM   #100

Might as well go the whole hog.

Old 08-11-2020, 01:59 PM   #101
Tassie f100

That yours Rok???
Old 08-11-2020, 02:05 PM   #102

That yours Rok???
One day.

Old 08-11-2020, 02:17 PM   #103
prktkljokr
praek tih kl jo kr

Unfortunately this set up is not legal in Australia, I had looked at this set up before.
Apart from being more than a modest house in the Perth suburbs, the truck is 2.6mtr wide, which is ok in the states as they had a width increase in the 70's, the Smart car on the back being a W451 is 2.6mtrs long and I would say the 5th wheel would also take advantage of the width regulations , we are still limited to 2.5mtrs

Plus there are all the other problems like where are you going to park it and what caravan parks will allow you to come in

I had a similar idea, with a tail lift on the back of the canter, as the Smart only weighs in at 700kg, also the W450 (1st Gen) I have is 2.5mtr and a smidge, my W451 (2nd Gen) like the one in the picture is 2.6mtr so I cant use it .
With the slide on camper I could carry around the Smart car on the tail lift as a run around .
prktkljokr is online now   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 08-11-2020, 02:25 PM   #104

Originally Posted by prktkljokr View Post
Unfortunately this set up is not legal in Australia, I had looked at this set up before.
Apart from being more than a modest house in the Perth suburbs, the truck is 2.6mtr wide, which is ok in the states as they had a width increase in the 70's, the Smart car on the back being a W451 is 2.6mtrs long and I would say the 5th wheel would also take advantage of the width regulations , we are still limited to 2.5mtrs

Plus there are all the other problems like where are you going to park it and what caravan parks will allow you to come in

I had a similar idea, with a tail lift on the back of the canter, as the Smart only weighs in at 700kg, also the W450 (1st Gen) I have is 2.5mtr and a smidge, my W451 (2nd Gen) like the one in the picture is 2.6mtr so I cant use it .
With the slide on camper I could carry around the Smart car on the tail lift as a run around .
Yes, I was referring to a 2.5mtr wide set up. the single drive isn't over 2.5mtr wide only the trailer is and yes your right the first gen smart are shorter. as for caravan parks, I don't use them much anymore.

Old 08-11-2020, 02:36 PM   #105
hayseed

https://www.truckinwithkermie.com/blog/because-you-can
Old 08-11-2020, 02:55 PM   #106

Originally Posted by hayseed View Post
Taken a few pics of that one at Clarendon nice conversion.

seed, you might like this site........https://www.truckconversion.net/forums/

Old 08-11-2020, 03:04 PM   #107

before he even has a caravan sorted.
I believe the caravan is already sorted, hence the need for a capable tow vehicle.
Old 08-11-2020, 03:06 PM   #108
wodahs

Hmmm $28.5k and i know its a roughy
https://www.gumtree.com.au/s-ad/fren...991/1257527619
unfortunately like most modified vehicles (and a certain ltd) second hand they dont usually keep there value , just maybe another avenue if looking round and manage to find the right combination/situation/timing

rebuilding the zh fairlane with a clevo 400m 4v heads injected whipple blown with aode 4 speed trans to a 9" ....... we'll get there eventually

I have taken up meditation... at least it's better than sitting around doing nothing !!

Last edited by wodahs; 08-11-2020 at 03:18 PM.
Old 08-11-2020, 03:17 PM   #109

Nice cheap, Unimog locally to me for sale atm.

Old 08-11-2020, 03:19 PM   #110
wodahs

can never have too many options to choose from
some thing may tickle his goat

Old 08-11-2020, 03:38 PM   #111

can never have too many options to choose from
some thing may tickle his goat
Problem with the whole RV situation atm is everyone wants them. I don't see the tow car or caravan /motorhome being plentiful anytime soon.
Same thing happened after 911 attacks everyone stopped travelling OS and started buying RV's until they saw some of the places they were forced to stay at.

Old 08-11-2020, 04:53 PM   #112
Tassie f100

Hmmm $28.5k and i know its a roughy
https://www.gumtree.com.au/s-ad/fren...991/1257527619
unfortunately like most modified vehicles (and a certain ltd) second hand they dont usually keep there value , just maybe another avenue if looking round and manage to find the right combination/situation/timing
Trouble with those Land rovers is that they wouldn’t pul the skin off custard,far less a 3 tonne windsock
Old 08-11-2020, 07:17 PM   #113

Originally Posted by prktkljokr View Post

How would they get the Smart car off the back of the truck I wonder?

Ramps attached to the side??

The second generation smart was a smidge under 2.7m long.

Sent from my SM-G973F using Tapatalk

Old 08-11-2020, 07:55 PM   #114
wodahs

Trouble with those Land rovers is that they wouldn’t pul the skin off custard,far less a 3 tonne windsock
that may be so didnt say it had to be a land rover or that one but pointing in this direction opens more areas to look in
and then throwing up aw they are too expensive or that wont do Sh!t
that was just the first i came across doing a quick search to throw an idea like you guys had
he may find a cheap XXX 2x6/4x6/6x6 second hand looking round or may find a cheap vehicle thats worth the conversion and may still fall in to costs , its just more ideas out side the box
the main point was there are other ways to get the GCM upgraded

Last edited by wodahs; 08-11-2020 at 08:02 PM.
Old 08-11-2020, 08:24 PM   #115
Tonz

Ive driven (in drivers seat) a series 11 LWB for over 1000 k in one day, mind you it also had a nice V8 holden dock and 6 speed auto box all reg and SA road worthy. that was pulling more than skin off a rice pudding
Old 08-11-2020, 09:22 PM   #116
Swordie

Here's a 6x6 1990 Land Rover 110 with 4cyl Isuzu 3.9L TD currently up for auction. Just another example of what's around.

https://www.graysonline.com/lot/0023...-army?spr=true

An article on 6 wheelers below. If you get into one of these check if a standard car licence will cover you for the weight planned to be towed around.

https://www.carsguide.com.au/tradies...versions-80445
Swordie is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 08-11-2020, 10:01 PM   #117
351LTD

That 6x6 conversion in the ad said pricing starts at $50k and that did not include the tray or anything else a bit rich for me ,hopefully can get away from work sometime and go and check out a awd isuzu,spoke to the dealer who got me a bit worried about the awd apparently only works when the rear wheels lose traction so not sure how that would work in sand,getting some pricing on a 4x4 option as well and the cost to get them to ride ok as well(super singles etc ) but gets up there real quick.The other option I am looking at is the pre 06 7.3l f250 but mostly high Kms and $s to match but at least it's got 8 cylinders and a ford badge .The Certain ltd is going to be parted out if it does sell shortly .
351LTD is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 08-11-2020, 10:03 PM   #118
prktkljokr
praek tih kl jo kr

Originally Posted by Yellow_Festiva View Post
How would they get the Smart car off the back of the truck I wonder?

Ramps attached to the side??

The second generation smart was a smidge under 2.7m long.

Sent from my SM-G973F using Tapatalk
Yeah they have folding ramps https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PequDTl6KEw

On the internet they list the 451 as 2.69 mtr, but with a tape measure I get 2.6 on the nose ( car could have been shortened against something at some stage? ), the 450 listed on the net as 2.5mtr, but again with a tape measure I get 2.53mtr, I dont think I would get pulled for 15mm a side with the 450, but I dont think I should push it with the 50mm a side in the 451, might get stuck with having to unload it in the middle of nowhere and get it back home .

Last edited by prktkljokr; 08-11-2020 at 10:12 PM.
prktkljokr is online now   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 08-11-2020, 10:22 PM   #119
wodahs

Originally Posted by 351LTD View Post
awd isuzu,spoke to the dealer who got me a bit worried about the awd apparently only works when the rear wheels lose traction so not sure how that would work in sand
the way an AWD in this fashion works is the rear wheels spin a little faster than the fronts
picture a cork screw for easy explanation then (there can be both electronic lock and mechanical lock set ups for this)
rears spin and fronts dont the cork screw can screw in and engage the front rotating it
rears drive and push the vehicle forwards keeping the fronts rotating faster than the cork screw so it cant wind in to engage
can be utilised for some of road work but not so suitable for sand
more useful on road or hard track where you cant bog but can slip so fronts start pulling whist rear slip a bit

Old 08-11-2020, 10:29 PM   #120
351LTD

Just want to go down the beach for a fish so thought it may be ok for that but not so sure now ,will price up a 4x4 one and see !
351LTD is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post