You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and inserts advertising. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members, respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features without post based advertising banners. Registration is simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

Old 05-11-2006, 10:39 PM   #1
DJR David

Default $200,000 Ute available

http://cgi.ebay.com.au/Ford-Falcon-X...QQcmdZViewItem

Here is a Falcon I had never heard of. Is this genuine? It appears to be according to the magazine reports

David

As they say "Tell him he's dreaming"

Last edited by DJR David; 05-11-2006 at 10:58 PM.
Old 05-11-2006, 10:54 PM   #2
nugget378
Weezland

Technical Contributor: For members who share their technical expertise. - Issue reason: Always willing to impart knowledge in the technical areas. 

200k pfffft!
Old 05-11-2006, 10:56 PM   #3
XR8-260

Something tells me that i can buy an RS4 for cheap... :yeees:
Old 05-11-2006, 10:57 PM   #4
bob 351
MIGHTY MAGPIES 2010

Location: yarram se vic in the shed listening to pinkfloyd and rubbing panels

200k nice car but i think he's got his hand on something
Old 05-11-2006, 10:58 PM   #5
MRAH33
BoostedUTE

Is he serious? 200k! man...
Old 05-11-2006, 11:18 PM   #6
Yaw
Ford Fanatic

Originally Posted by DJR David
http://cgi.ebay.com.au/Ford-Falcon-X...QQcmdZViewItem

Here is a Falcon I had never heard of. Is this genuine? It appears to be according to the magazine reports

David

As they say "Tell him he's dreaming"

Don't know about the price tag but yeah they were genuine.
I used to have a book that was put out when the EA was released doing the falcon history up till the EA (when that was big).
It had photos and a brief bit about the Suferoo and yes Orange is the original colour too.
As a matter of fact it also had how the Ford Hardtop cobra came about, There was 400 hardtops that needed to be cleared, it was that simple, They also realeased a Cobra Transit van for the same reason, with the distictive blue stripes on white.
Old 05-11-2006, 11:25 PM   #7
StookEB

i've got a question it says "built to GT spec" i didn't think they had 302's, or was it the early model with the 302's

if it was the 4X4 version then it would really be a Surferoo.
Old 06-11-2006, 12:11 AM   #8
Sorted

Community Builder: In recognition of those who have helped build the AFF community. - Issue reason: For all the contributions you make to the AFF community. 

That car was even before the 70's lol

Man thats totally wild...................

Tuned by DYNOMOTIVE

200BUX - AFF Drag Nats 2019 EF Wagon
Originally Posted by rednose View Post
Common knowledge that the more weight you take out of the car the less power you need to run the time.
Old 06-11-2006, 12:20 AM   #9
[Tonko]

Originally Posted by Yaw
They also realeased a Cobra Transit van for the same reason, with the distictive blue stripes on white.
and an F100, that matched :

EF XR8 - Koni's - Cam and Headwork -3.9s - Ex VIC TMU -

1982 Nissan Patrol - 460 ci Big Block soon - Semi Gloss Black - Dark Tint - 4x 6" Infinity Kappa Perfect Splits - 5" Kappa 2 ways - Kappa 6x9's - 2x12" Kappa perfect subs - 2x4 Channel and 2x Mono Kappa amps-

Old 06-11-2006, 12:27 AM   #10
Allen
You win again, gravity!!!

It says that it was built by ford to GT specs... what a load of crap!!

I read the resto story of this car in unique cars years ago... It left the factory in GS spec, and the owner decided to spice it up with GT bits, as he had no intention of selling it.

The fibreglass tub isn't original either... apparently after the car was retired from the show scene, a tradie bought it, and hacked the wings off with a saw.

Yeah, its a rare car, but it has been bastardised and isn't worth anywhere near what he wants...

SOON TO BE A TRACK CAR
Old 06-11-2006, 01:22 AM   #11
1970galaxie
Fat 460

I remember seeing a couple of these in the early '70s.
Certainly rare, but not worth 200k.....but really unique.
2003 BA XR8 Ute. Blood Orange. 5.4/5 speed.
2006 Territory Turbo. Silhouette. 4.0/6 speed auto.
Old 06-11-2006, 03:40 AM   #12
BZINGA
Powered by Ford

Originally Posted by 1970galaxie
I remember seeing a couple of these in the early '70s.
Certainly rare, but not worth 200k.....but really unique.

According to this guy, there was only 1 made?
Old 06-11-2006, 04:33 AM   #13
BeStRaFe
lpg = big boom!

that there be a concept car.....
verry nice.... would want a better engine in there though
Old 06-11-2006, 06:36 AM   #14
Falcon_Phill
1967 XR Falcon

mmm seems a bit much just to put your surfboard somewhere.
Old 06-11-2006, 09:53 PM   #15
16wantsI6
iRegular crossmember

that would be even better than a panelvan lol.
so funkadelic.

5 spd manual
2 1/2" manta S/S exhaust
After market alpine/soundstream stereo

18" tyhpoons
superlows waiting to go in....
spoilerless
Old 06-11-2006, 09:59 PM   #16

Chairman's Award: Chairman's Award - Issue reason: The exceptional contribution made to AFF over an extended period of time. Valued Contributor: For members whose non technical contributions are worthy of recognition. - Issue reason: Your tireless efforts behind the scenes in keeping AFF the place it is. 

The price must include beach front property with which to surf.
Old 06-11-2006, 10:03 PM   #17
Longreach

Originally Posted by Falcon Coupe
Thats golds..

I have to saw, my personal opinion on the looks of the car is not a whole heap. Doesn't do a whole lot for me.
Old 06-11-2006, 10:07 PM   #18
pecker73
Falcon Addict

Originally Posted by Falcon Coupe

Hell Yeah !!

$200k

DAILY-2006 BF Falcon XR6 Turbo Sedan. 6 Speed Auto.

1/4 Mile......13.84sec/103.38Mph BF XR6T with an official 211.0 rwkw :
Old 06-11-2006, 10:17 PM   #19
R0BD0G

but what a car
Old 06-11-2006, 10:24 PM   #20
XRLightening

Wasn't the XW GT originally released with the 351 Windsor before the 351 Cleveland was introduced in mid 1970??

The ad states a 302 Windsor (but then its a prototype)

We just know him as THE MANTIS

-------------

FPV & XR Owners Club of Victoria
Daily Drive:
2005 GU IV Patrol, 4.8l Petrol, Manual, Steel Bullbar, Towbar, Electronic Brakes and Cargo Barrier.
Toy Drive:
1968 XT Falcon Ute - Dead Stock, Original and ALWAYS Garaged
Old 06-11-2006, 10:32 PM   #21
Shonky
my other ride is the bus.

*EDITED*

I cant read - shutup its been a long day.

+ Lots of Land Rovers

Originally Posted by Sourbastard
Edelbrock.... not Peter Brock. Theres a world of difference. For a start my heads have much less gum tree in them.
Old 06-11-2006, 10:52 PM   #22
1970galaxie
Fat 460

Originally Posted by TRIK67
According to this guy, there was only 1 made?
I think the bloke is only saying that to justify the price!

I even knew a person who owned one many years ago.
Something very unique about them was the way the tarp fitted to the car.
They covered the back as normal, but around the wing, but it continued right up onto the sail panels and up to the top of the roof. A plastic screen was inserted into the tarp, so that the driver could see through the rear window.
2003 BA XR8 Ute. Blood Orange. 5.4/5 speed.
2006 Territory Turbo. Silhouette. 4.0/6 speed auto.
Old 06-11-2006, 11:39 PM   #23
HOON69

its real but def not worth the price his after thats for sure
Old 07-11-2006, 01:26 AM   #24
ozrunner

Originally Posted by fairlane_ghia
It says that it was built by ford to GT specs... what a load of crap!! ......
Correct, they were released in GS specs only and more than just 0ne were sold !!!
Old 07-11-2006, 02:31 PM   #25
JG3282
Awake after dark

Wayne Draper, former Ford Mo Co designer just told me it is the genuine article

His Car: XE Fairmont Ghia - For Sale Here

Her Car: ED Fairmont - Lowered, Pioneer stereo, Sony XPlod speakers, Big Exhaust & more
Old 07-11-2006, 03:53 PM   #26
BAFalconXT
Sold...

$50,000 starting price isnt that bad. Who would go to the trouble to make a fake one? Dont know why he would sell it on eBay, why wouldnt he get Shannons the sell it if it was that good and original. His statement about pulling it apart for parts if it doesnt sell seems a bit strange if it is an original.
Old 07-11-2006, 03:59 PM   #27
cupic
Nikon

Strange things have happened before you just never know
Old 07-11-2006, 05:49 PM   #28

Chairman's Award: Chairman's Award - Issue reason: The exceptional contribution made to AFF events and sponsorship. Valued Contributor: For members whose non technical contributions are worthy of recognition. - Issue reason: Everything you do to help this place run smoothly! Technical Contributor: For members who share their technical expertise. - Issue reason: The awesome Technical and Service how to's in the FPV /XR6 /G6ET turbo threads..  and his own build threads that inspire people to have a go... enabling people to save money and realise the dream of working on their own cars as well. 

I am starting to wonder how genuine this guy and his Ute sale are.
I asked him how does one value a Ute like this considering it’s a one off and how much does his insurance company value it at….. here is his reply.

''Hi, it is not insured as I have had it so long. This auction will show what it is worth hopefully.If it does not sell we will wreck it and sell the parts on ebay''.

Old 07-11-2006, 06:04 PM   #29

For $200k you'd reckon he would finish the resto!
Old 07-11-2006, 06:37 PM   #30
EL_futuraistic

ok that is very dodgey.

If its truly genuine, and truly Rare and truly worth $200k.

why would u wreck it if it doesnt sell??? surely there is better places to sell like to a private collector or something.