You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and inserts advertising. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members, respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features without post based advertising banners. Registration is simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

Go Back   Australian Ford Forums > MotorSport > Drag Racing

Drag Racing Discuss Drag Racing here be it dirt or tarmac. Sponsored by Sydney Dragway.

Old 22-09-2006, 08:07 PM   #1
foxtrot
Blood, sweat & tears

Default This ran a 15.3?

http://cgi.ebay.com.au/Ford-Falcon-5...QQcmdZViewItem

Just seeing if anyone beleives this thing could genuinely run a 15.3 (With "bald" 14 Inch tyres???)

Sounds a bit crazy to me as I doubt my old AU XR6 5 speed would run a 15.3...
and i have a 5 speed EA Ghia MPFI sitting on my yard lol

Momo Gear Knob
Schmick Pioneer Headunit w/ Dolphinvision :
4 Channel Kicker Amp to decent speakers;
Alpine Monoblock to Pioneer Subwoofer;
Tuned to perfect clarity-

Outside:

Pure Sexy Falcon w/18" BA XR8 Factory Option Mags
Clear Side Indicators

Coming soon:
Pedders lowered Sports Ryders all 'round
Extractors/Exhaust/Hi-Flo Cat
foxtrot is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 22-09-2006, 08:10 PM   #2

Yeh, why not. The EA is light, so depending what mods it has, it could be made to movbe quick. 15s are not that remarkable - now the claim of a 14 is something else - I doubt it.

Old 22-09-2006, 08:16 PM   #3
dogbreath_48

IIRC (which i often don't) the ea spak ran a flat 16 second quarter, stock.

Not sure if an exhaust, pod and seat covers will knock .6s off though :S Is a 3.23 diff standard for an s-pack?
dogbreath_48 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 22-09-2006, 08:47 PM   #4
oneredED
need more boost

I know the owner of this car, he is a member here. This car absolutely hammers mine (mine does 15.6, which is stock bar exhaust, and alot heavier). I am extremely confident it will pull a 14, it did a 15.3@93mph, and I witnessed it (there was an e-series drag night at calder a month or so ago). The diff is a single spinner, and the tyres were bald at Calder when he ran it. With the same tires on the street it will bag up in 3rd gear just under acceleration (I own the tires it was running on, they're crap). If it got traction, maybe a 'spool + some 225's, it'd definately do a 14. It is just a freak car :S
Stops due to: bendix, DBA
Shifter connected to: T5 manual
Power from: ???
Interior: velour and woodgrain
Cost: stuff all :P
oneredED is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 22-09-2006, 08:59 PM   #5
T_Terror
The Guy You Love To Hate

Damn youve got me!

Last edited by T_Terror; 22-09-2006 at 09:12 PM.
T_Terror is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 22-09-2006, 09:45 PM   #6

Originally Posted by dogbreath_48
IIRC (which i often don't) the ea spak ran a flat 16 second quarter, stock.

Not sure if an exhaust, pod and seat covers will knock .6s off though :S Is a 3.23 diff standard for an s-pack?
Stock EA Spac 5speed with 2.92:1 diff ran 15.5sec

Old 22-09-2006, 10:40 PM   #7
foxtrot
Blood, sweat & tears

Holy *****!! dudes... I got an AU cos they had the "best bottom end" and "revved out the hardest" but if i dont think the old AU XR6 5 speed i had with 2.5inch lukey exhaust couldn't run a 15 or 14 wat the hell am i doing!!

I should awaken the 5 speed EA MFPI on my lawn!!

thats crazy!!

ps: sorry for the quality of this poist, i've had half al bottle of vodka in shot form grrr writing off my xr6 sucks i get stuck at home, cant wait till i get my new 01 series 2 AU XR 5 speed
Momo Gear Knob

Outside:

Clear Side Indicators

Coming soon:
Old 22-09-2006, 11:09 PM   #8

Originally Posted by foxtrot
ps: sorry for the quality of this poist, i've had half al bottle of vodka in shot form
dude, noone cares.

i wonder what my old ED would have run :( could have been potentially quicker than my AU :
Old 22-09-2006, 11:20 PM   #9
GTP-814
love the quad cams

i doubt anyone could remove 1.4 seconds...do the math, it doesnt add up
GTP-814 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 22-09-2006, 11:24 PM   #10
foxtrot
Blood, sweat & tears

dudes as far as my drunk *** is converendd rite now there is now way that EA could beat my AU

and my new SR 2001 AU series 2 5speed]

get ****e
d u wont great it@
Momo Gear Knob

Outside:

Clear Side Indicators

Coming soon:
Old 22-09-2006, 11:27 PM   #11

guys, seriously, id put money on it a clapped out EA 5 speed MPFi will beat your AU. Its ALOT lighter for starters.

Theres nothing wrong with that either, plenty of good EA's getting around, fit a good cam and exhaust and they are a beast.
Old 22-09-2006, 11:29 PM   #12

guys, seriously, id put money on it a clapped out EA 5 speed MPFi will beat your AU. Its ALOT lighter for starters.

Theres nothing wrong with that either, plenty of good EA's getting around, fit a good cam and exhaust and they are a beast.
exactly...

15.3 isnt overly fast anyway..... sheesh...nothing to get worked up over!
Old 22-09-2006, 11:30 PM   #13
RavenLS1

Originally Posted by foxtrot

get ****e
d u wont great it@
yes...
Old 22-09-2006, 11:52 PM   #14
S3SR

all the EA needed is a proper radiator and thermos and it EATS my AU!!!!!

2002 Ford Falcon AU S3 SR
2006 BF MKI Falcon XR6
2008 Mazda BT50 SDX
2004 BA XR8 ute
2006 AUDI A4 B7
2013 FG II XR6 Ute
2006 Ford Territory TX
2003 Ford Falcon XR8
2009 Territory Turbo Ghia

Current: 2012 Audi A4 B8 2.0T Quattro
S3SR is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 22-09-2006, 11:59 PM   #15
ReVd_uP

i agree, there are some freak cars out there, my mates got an ED I6 auto that seemed to hammer, our thoughts were confirmed when it ran a 14.8@calder, this was when it was new and bog stock, hes still got it, wouldnt go anywhere near that time now
ReVd_uP is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 23-09-2006, 12:04 AM   #16
XR8-260

No way that that EA could run a 15.3 - perphaps with extensive mods it could be possible. Stock EA's make only 120kw at flywheel and weigh a substantial 1450kg. My BA can only do about 15.6 (estimate) quarter
XR8-260 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 23-09-2006, 12:05 AM   #17
XR8-260

Originally Posted by 30487256
No way that that EA could run a 15.3 - perphaps with extensive mods it could be possible. Stock EA's make only 120kw at flywheel and weigh a substantial 1450kg. My BA can only do about 15.6 (estimate) quarter
Do the EA's make 139kw or 120kw?
XR8-260 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 23-09-2006, 12:10 AM   #18
Fairlane
V8 Powaah

A MPFI 3.9 make 139 kw (CFI 120kw and 3.2 like 100) and like 340nm of torque, there is no reason why a EA 2 Spack MPFI Manual for example couldnt pull a 15 sec or so quarter stock, if it was in immaculate condition.

The guys claim is certainly possible

XF S pack Sedan- AU 302 Windsor, T5, 2.77 LSD, Many Mods
Fairlane is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 23-09-2006, 12:23 AM   #19
T_Terror
The Guy You Love To Hate

Hehe i couldnt resist letting the controversy roll in...

Yes thats my car, and i ran a 15.3 in it with the Eseries Calder Park drag night organised off this forum!!!

Theres nothing unbelievable about it, its a light car, manual with plenty of torque.

I didnt get a single run with a perfect launch becuase of wheelspin, and i was using oneredEDs burnout wheels which were noname tyres on 14inch stockies. Not to mention its single spinner which sucks the hardest!

Mods are as listed in the auction: a pod filter and half an exhaust...

14s impressive, low 15s are meh...

Ive got the slip that went with it. My tip is that maybe some of the guys out there should start rowing harder rather than spending money on big name mods straight up hehe.
Old 23-09-2006, 10:30 AM   #20
oneredED
need more boost

No way that that EA could run a 15.3 - perphaps with extensive mods it could be possible.... ....My BA can only do about 15.6 (estimate) quarter
LOL, your 15.6 is an estimate, and this 15.3 is proven on the quarter.... says something doesn't it? In all honesty I was dissappointed with only a 15.3 from this car, watching it struggle for traction all the way through first and second, 15.3 is far from it's best possible time.
Originally Posted by E-series 1/4 mile thread
14.607 @ 96.96mph ED GHIA --------------- John_xr6
14.706 @ 93.36mph EL Fairmont Ghia -------- EL Ghia
14.786@95.07mph EBGT Mockup-----------Grechie
14.801 @ 91.2 mph ED gli -------------------EED-250
14.833 @ 97.22mph EB gli --------------------NApower
14.878 @ 91.81mph EB Wagon ---------------- Neb
14.966 @ 90.86mph EB Wagon -------------- Yobboford
14.97@94.26mph ED Futura ----------------BI6TIM
15.151@91.64mph XH XR6 ute----------------xhxrsix
15.16 @ 90.63 mph EF Fairmont 4.0 -------- The Jackal
15.19 @ 90.53 EF XR6 ---------------------Damo
15.21 @ 94.9mph NL Fairlane ----------------- UNR8D
15.265 @ 92.19mph ED XR6(stock Cam) -------TIKFD6
15.29 @ 90mph EA Fairmont ---------------SileNceR
15.353 @ 90.13 mph EA 3.9 --------------- TWiZTiD
15.3 @ 91.89mph EF ---------------------- Heckaz
15.449 @ 89.7mph EL Fairmont ------------ Walkinshaw
15.466 @ 91.74 mph el sapphire-----------heljas
15.474 @93.07mph XH Falcon Ute------------Madxh96
15.49@ 91.3 mph EA BROCKYB8 ------------BROCKYB8
15.60 @ 88.3mph ED GLi --------------------oneredED
15.85 @ 87.79mph eb 4.0 fairmont-----------BAKES_EB
15.94 @ 88mph EF 4.0 LPG ------------------ EFFalcon
Going on the times + MPH listed in the e-series section, there is a good chance this car would do a high 14 with the mph achieved.
Stops due to: bendix, DBA
Shifter connected to: T5 manual
Power from: ???
Interior: velour and woodgrain
Cost: stuff all :P
oneredED is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 23-09-2006, 10:47 AM   #21
Ghiadude
FORMERLY TX3DUDE

didnt shakira say " my slips dont lie" ... LOL

i think its possible.
Ghiadude is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 23-09-2006, 10:54 AM   #22

i think some people need to get the "every ea is a slow dud of a car" thoughts out of their head.........

come along to one of our drag days and you'll see plenty of low 15 / high 14 passes these days...plus a few quick suprises (EABATurbo's 10sec EA for example)

EDIT
anyone thats interested you can see the database oneredED took that extract from here
http://www.fordforums.com.au/showpos...&postcount=328

Last edited by LUXO_8; 23-09-2006 at 11:04 AM.
Old 23-09-2006, 05:04 PM   #23
Bluehoon
Hoon On The Rise

anything is possible.

FGX-XR8 Manual, BFII E-Gas, '11 GSXR 1000 - Love 'em!
FPV Tickford Club of NSW - www.fpvclub.com
Bluehoon is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 28-09-2006, 10:40 PM   #24
Gammaboy
Grinder+Welder = Race car

Originally Posted by 30487256
As opposed to the substantial 1700ish your BA weighs?
Sorry BA/AU guys....
Old 30-09-2006, 12:38 AM   #25
foxtrot
Blood, sweat & tears

Ha well that solves that, I shouldn't come near a PC when drinking apologies for above posts.

forgot this thread existed just found it in favorites :P
Momo Gear Knob

Outside:

Clear Side Indicators

Coming soon:
Old 30-09-2006, 01:13 AM   #26

its the EF console including cupholders that did it i reckon
Old 02-10-2006, 03:13 PM   #27

Originally Posted by MADNC_8
15.3 isnt overly fast anyway..... sheesh...nothing to get worked up over!
It's not bad though. I've seen plenty of AU V8s struggling to beat 15.5 :

It's suave, more subtle, and yet no less stirring. In fact, the boosted Ford is more polished than any big sedan Australia has ever produced. It's just so damn good, it makes the SS feel crude... Ignore the WRX. Forget the E49. Falcon XR6 Turbo is king.
Old 02-10-2006, 09:56 PM   #28
T_Terror
The Guy You Love To Hate

underdog cars FTW :king: :

You guys are tempting me to keep it just to run a 14.9 on "ghetto spec"
Old 02-10-2006, 10:31 PM   #29
OED666

its very believeable... QuickCorty ran a 14.7 in a manual EA, 2.92:1 open centre, wade cam and extractors and exhaust...

believe it or not, the car below ran a 13.822, as seen