Old 20-10-2011, 04:41 PM   #1
93EB_SXR6
I totalled my XR6

Default Regretted selling a car? Bought it back later?

Hey guys, I recently sold my mint EBII S-XR6 and got myself a Toyota Camry wagon (bad decision) and I've regretted it ever since.

Long story short, I contacted the guy I sold the XR6 to last week...
I didn't have high hopes that he'd sell it back to me but after he heard my story and how much I missed the car he agreed that he will sell it back to me for a very reasonable price - less than he paid in fact.
He hadn't anticipated how much it loves a drink

I have spent many hours working on the old beast and it's a very heavily modified car.
I think I just got sick and tired of all the little problems it had, so in my moment of madness I sold it.

Anyone else here sold a car and bought it back later?
Stories would be nice
I'm currently getting some money together to buy the car back, I count myself as lucky. This Camry has been nothing but repairs.

I don't want to feel like the only mad person on here.

Mods, if this is the wrong section, please move it to the correct one.

Old 20-10-2011, 04:45 PM   #2
ten[A]cio[U]s

Default Re: Regretted selling a car? Bought it back later?

I have always regretted selling my old NA Fairlane.

I have no idea why I loved it so much.. It had a crappy 3.9 with a blown head gasket, a 3 speed auto, and a single spinner I punished! I put it down to first car syndrome!

I missed my chance to buy it back a few months ago, and it appears to have left the town.. So I have two the regrets for one car now..

I don't think its mad buying a car back you love, not one bit!

Future fun: 1968 Ford Galaxie 500

ten[A]cio[U]s is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 20-10-2011, 04:47 PM   #3

i'm yet to sell a car that i've actually used as a daily/project :P

10 years so far.
Old 20-10-2011, 04:52 PM   #4

I regret selling my XC GS Fairmont. It was mint, I converted it to V8, It was reliable, rust free and was just a cool cruiser. Sold it thinking I was doing the right thing and getting something more modern, but found I was just like everyone else. The XC used to get comments and looks all the time. Now with my AU, nothing. And now the X-series of that year and earlier are getting more expensive to buy it just makes me sad.

Never had the courage or money to buy back cars I used to own, I felt that it was part of my life back then and I am better off leaving it the past in the past. But it's hard not to think of the good times and wish I could relive them despite the heartaches and so called issues I thought I had.

Old 20-10-2011, 04:52 PM   #5
ieatsports_cars
proud member of the MFCC

I sort of regretted to sell my Bf mk2 xr6 and i traded it in for a GT GT-P iam missing on how cheap the xr6 is to run compared to the GT-P i will be buying a house in a couple of years time although i had the gt for 4 months now
ieatsports_cars is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 20-10-2011, 04:52 PM   #6
93EB_SXR6
I totalled my XR6

Originally Posted by crazy-au
I have always regretted selling my old NA Fairlane.

I have no idea why I loved it so much.. It had a crappy 3.9 with a blown head gasket, a 3 speed auto, and a single spinner I punished! I put it down to first car syndrome!

I missed my chance to buy it back a few months ago, and it appears to have left the town.. So I have two the regrets for one car now..

I don't think its mad buying a car back you love, not one bit!
I see any EA-ED falcon around and it makes me think of the XR6, it's like the new Toyota Hilux ad where the bloke has his fall off the cliff...
The bloke I sold it to is a learner so apparently he's only done 50kms in it since he bought it.

I regret selling my first car too, 1987 Ford Telstar - it had throttle lag, the rear two windows couldn't be rolled down without pulling down the rubbers with them, it was ugly as hell and only cost $750 but it never let me down.
The guy I sold it to was a mate of mine, he thrashed it then sent it to the wreckers because the radiator blew :(
Old 20-10-2011, 04:53 PM   #7
GhiaEB
2004 TX Territory

I miss my EB, sadly I doubt I'll ever see it again, been 5 years now. If I could I would buy it in a heartbeat.

Now a AWD TX Territory Daily
P6 Silver Monarch Weekender

And on 2 Wheels,
ZZR 250

Can do mixer shaft replacement on BA-BF Falcon and SX-SY, fix your heater Today. PM For more details

For sale: Heaps of Territory bits and bobs including front brembo doglegs, NOS I-design territory body kit painted offshore, also FPV 290 engine bits. FS thread here http://www.fordforums.com.au/showthread.php?t=11397826 Pm for more details.
GhiaEB is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 20-10-2011, 05:04 PM   #8
MR.BA.GT.332
Now in the quad cam zone

Valued Contributor: For members whose non technical contributions are worthy of recognition. - Issue reason: For all his work in the project section. Awesome effort. 

my black eb xr8 manual..... had all the usual E series issues (cracked firewall, clutch pedal bent, central locking issues) and the list went on, i sold it out of anger as was planning to fix it when my sister went overseas, but when the box went a week before she left i just cracked it, sold it to a mate who fixed it all and did a ton of work and gave it to his mrs who loved it and he then sold it (his mrs was NOT happy), then after a while the next owner was selling as he ran outta money, i wanted to buy it back but money didnt allow (was hoping to sell my house in time and use a little play money to get it back), now ive heard it got sold and stripped for a hot rod project :( im so gutted.... i loved that car more than any other EB ive had.....

my other regret was selling my genuine XB GT coupe, was an onyx black, sunroof, 351, toploader, 9in, A/C car..... sold it for 3 grand back in 03 i think (was a rolling shell mind you, needed a ton of work) but im still kicking myself as it had all the GT goodies like tramp rods, 16:1 steering etc that i sold with the car

i could go on, had a mint EL XR6 manual back in '01 i think it was, only had like 15,000km on it when i brought it, was immaculate, beautiful to drive and went like a scalded cat....

im tossing up now weather to sell my mitsi challenger, but i just love it, the mrs does too and its so bloody reliable and tough, its never let me down.... it might like a drink of juice but for versatility in a vehicle it ticks all our boxes and i own it so i really feel if i did sell it, id regret it, so i prob wont due to gut instinct, unless someone has a E series XR8 manual they wanna swap hehe.... i could be tempted.

so long story short, ive had a few cars i regret selling and some i should have kept....live and learn i guess

"BARNEY" 2003 BA GT #332, Phantom, Boss 290, FR20 Simmons. XYZ Brakes - 355mm Rotors - 8piston Front Calipers & 4piston Rear More Mods soon!!
MR.BA.GT.332 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 20-10-2011, 05:16 PM   #9
dimka100

Ages ago I sold a nicely modified Soarer to some dude in uni … a few months later I seen my old car with some stupid wing and on it and a large for sale sticker … I was so so tempted to buy it back, still can’t get over the fun I had in it back in the late 90s … what a car!
dimka100 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 20-10-2011, 05:24 PM   #10
MAV50L

Yep. Sold our old EL Fairmont which was pretty close to mint. Bought it as a bog stocker and fited the wheels , lowered , good brakes etc etc over about a year.
It was time to move on so sold it and regretted it from the second it left the driveway. Kept seeing it getting around the local area over the next few years being flogged and going down hill fast , then it come back up for sale.
Thought about it for a bit and when the price was dropped down to next to nothing I bought it back in a heartbeat , didnt even look at it before handing over the coin.
Had a real bad dose of buyers remorse the next morning whne I looked it over in the daylight and found it was now totally rooted.
I stripped the good gear off it and sold it on within a fortnight as it just broke my heart with it being as shot as it was.
MAV50L is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 20-10-2011, 05:26 PM   #11
SLO247

I wish I'd kept the NF I had, lots of time and money in that car.

I doubt I'd buy it back though, I doubt the bloke who got it has looked after it...
SLO247 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 20-10-2011, 05:37 PM   #12
Grippy
Racing improves the breed

My old man bought our Mini Cooper S in 1970 brand new, enjoyed the car for 7-8 years and traded it in on a MK2 Escort. It was one of those cars he bonded really well with and had many happy memories in of doing stupid things in his youth. He managed to track the very same car down in South Australia with its original matching engine in 1995 and has owned it since. It won't ever leave the family again. So you never know guys, you may come across a previous car you loved again one day...

1964 Mini Cooper S Historic Group Nb Touring car

Victorian Hill Climb Championship
Grippy is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 20-10-2011, 05:50 PM   #13
Windsor342ci
The Experience...

Awesome Thread PE...

A few cars but never had the chance to buy them back..
Im sorry I didnt listen to my Mrs. and went through that massive water hole. Flooded my Patrol with a lumpy 350 Chev and miss it to today.

I miss aswel my VY SS. Admittedly it was a great car! Went awesome! Bog stock ran a 13.6 in a manual. Now as Im growing up and want more of a gentlman's car (Work Car), I look at that SS and think I should of just kept it.

Most of all my EF XR6. I was 17 yrs old when I had that car. It was unbreakable! Drove it like most 17 yr olds would, drove to QLD and back 11 times in about 8 months. Drags. Burnouts. And not a single thing went wrong with it at all! I was in love! When I got rid of that i was guttered for months! Even in my new SS I owned, Id still turn my head and eye out the EF/EL XR's.

Id like to think Ive hit jackpot now with my modded ELII XR.
Windsor342ci is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 20-10-2011, 05:51 PM   #14
Grippy
Racing improves the breed

Originally Posted by CRYHSV
Id like to think Ive hit jackpot now with my modded ELII XR.
Just make sure you don't ever sell it, especially after all of the work you have put into it!

1964 Mini Cooper S Historic Group Nb Touring car

Victorian Hill Climb Championship
Grippy is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 20-10-2011, 05:58 PM   #15
Windsor342ci
The Experience...

Originally Posted by Grippy
Just make sure you don't ever sell it, especially after all of the work you have put into it!
I’ve actually built this for my wedding which is soon approaching. I can honestly say, I will never get rid of this car... It would have to be an ugly unfortunate situation for me to be in to have to sell it!
Windsor342ci is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 20-10-2011, 06:01 PM   #16

Originally Posted by Grippy
+1. Too much work to mention there mate.

On a side note, usually we sell out of frustration, or usually our circumstances change which requires a sale.

I know a few people who buy a car, and sell it months later not realizing what they did or why they did it.

You don't know what you miss until its gone.

Old 20-10-2011, 06:04 PM   #17
HenryFordJr

Haha I haven't heard of anyone doing that before..

I regret selling my 82 ESP, was starting to break out in rust so I got rid of it, stupid move..

First Car: 1972 ZF Fairlane - 351 Cleveland, FMX Auto, 9"LSD 2:92
HenryFordJr is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 20-10-2011, 06:22 PM   #18

Even with the ridiculous problems I have had with my car, I don't think I would ever sell it, mainly because I always hear stories like these. When I'm in a position to retire the old junker I think I will just park it in the shed, drain everything out of it and leave it because I don't want anyone else to have it. I'm a bit of a hoarder.
Old 20-10-2011, 06:31 PM   #19

Originally Posted by HenryFordJr
I regret selling my 82 ESP, was starting to break out in rust so I got rid of it, stupid move..
Same here, mine was a 5.8L, I sold it to buy an F-100 4X4.

Burnout is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 20-10-2011, 06:49 PM   #20
HenryFordJr

Originally Posted by Burnout
Same here, mine was a 5.8L, I sold it to buy an F-100 4X4.
If only we knew how popular they were going to be back then

First Car: 1972 ZF Fairlane - 351 Cleveland, FMX Auto, 9"LSD 2:92
HenryFordJr is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 20-10-2011, 07:10 PM   #21
Chilliman

The last 2 days there has been a white EF XR6 parked outside my work that looks exactly like the one I sold to my brother a few years back - I thought selling it to my brother that it would stay in the family...alas he traded it in for a CV8 Monaro!

I've never 'bonded' with a car so much - I had done alot of work to it and it was in immaculate condition when I sold it after 13years of ownership. I don't think I'll ever feel the same way about a another car again.

"Torque is the new horsepower"
Chilliman is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 20-10-2011, 07:20 PM   #22
westoftown

Professor Evans, i recall you offering me your XR6 as a swap for my EF a few months back!
Fortunately for you, you were able to get yours back, i still kick myself everyday for selling the EF: had it for almost 3 years and it did everything i asked without ever batting an eyelid.

charcoal: one shade tuffer than gunmetal grey
westoftown is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 20-10-2011, 07:40 PM   #23
RHR

My ba mkII turbo. Shock wave blue sold it with 120ks and it was still running like a dream. If I hadn't sold it then I reckon I'd still have it now
RHR is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 20-10-2011, 08:02 PM   #24

Sold a mint '89 Ford Maverick to a 19yo P Plater for a good $ 3 years ago, he has trashed it big time, in fact I haven't seen it for a while so I am guessing he has written it off.

Should have sold it to family for less $, but would have known it was in good hands
Old 20-10-2011, 08:13 PM   #25

Cars I miss:
My first; HK Kingswood 161, went like snail with a sore foot, handled like a brick on marbles but got me everywhere through floods, mud, sand, across creeks and on the road occasionally.
HG GTS Monaro sold for $500 because I needed the money.
BA GT-P because it was just a great car to drive.
Old 20-10-2011, 08:21 PM   #26
GTP-03

Biggest regrets
1. XY GT replica paid 15k in 1997 sold it for 14k in 2001, saw the guy who bought it in 2005, he told me he still had it and every man and his dog wanted to buy it, prob worth 50k+ now.
2. After I sold my GT replica I bought a XA coupe with 460ci FMX 9 inch LSD, GT Trim, bonnet, guards, dash electric windows, all rust had been cut out and had been resprayed in corithian blue, It also had geniune centerline mags.
I sold it on in 2002 for 4k, Ive since heard the guy rebuilt the 460 with turbo, still resides in SA somewhere.
Old 20-10-2011, 08:48 PM   #27

Selling my XC Cobra in I think 1986 for $10k ........... And even though it was only a 302 Auto, it was a lovely car to drive..........
Old 20-10-2011, 08:49 PM   #28
Elks

Like may people here I have a list of regrets as long as your arm. Any of my Fairlanes ZA, ZC, ZG, ZH Marquis, VW Beetle 64 model, 53 F100, to name a few.

But most of all I sold my 65 F100. Now im scouring around trying to find it to buy it back. Does that count?
Old 20-10-2011, 10:01 PM   #29
V8falcons

Ive had quite a few cars, all makes and models but the 2 most missed cars for me is my EL xr6 manaul,factory kit,16" FTRs. I had the chance to buy it back not long ago,but had 4 other cars at the time and not enough excuses for the wife to justify a buy back.........
And my beloved RED AUII SR wagon on gas,I did 170,000ks in it over 5 years or so,it was the best most versatile family/work/tow car Ive owned and to think i traded it for $2500,i should just kept it and did a V8 conversion like i dreamt of the whole time I owned,which is what Im doing to my falcons Ive got in the shed now.
Im now considering selling my Xf s pack project car but for some reason,Ive grown attached to it(mainly because its monza red),always had a thing for red cars.
Having said all that I sold my RED RS2000 2 door after 13 years of owning it and didnt bother me half as much.
V8falcons is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 20-10-2011, 10:42 PM   #30

Regret selling:
61 Studebaker Lark
65 Dodge Phoenix
69 Dodge Phoenix
68 Chev Impala SS coupe
XB GS coupe
VH Charger 770
VG Valiant coupe
AU XL V8 ute

Bought the 69 Phoenix and the VG coupe back (and sold again!!!)

I miss the Impala the most .. Really nice car.

.. The rest I'm not too bothered letting go ..