You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and inserts advertising. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members, respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features without post based advertising banners. Registration is simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

Old 17-10-2020, 02:49 PM   #2521
.:4:.
Kicking back

Default Re: What made you feel good today?

Originally Posted by leesa View Post
I planted some cherry tomato seeds a couple months ago, they've grown into little tomato plants and are now growing little baby TOMATOES.

If you're feeling some pandemic blues, consider growing some plants. Watching things grow over time is really therapeutic and you can do it even on a balcony with some pots.
Randomly, I'm growing a pineapple plant for lack of anything better to do.
.:4:. is online now   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 17-10-2020, 03:42 PM   #2522
leesa

Originally Posted by .:4:. View Post
Randomly, I'm growing a pineapple plant for lack of anything better to do.
Cripes! Are you expecting to have nothing to do for the next couple years? Did you plant anything else? Something that fruits a little earlier so you see the rewards a bit sooner?
Old 17-10-2020, 04:37 PM   #2523
Kicking back

Originally Posted by leesa View Post
Cripes! Are you expecting to have nothing to do for the next couple years? Did you plant anything else? Something that fruits a little earlier so you see the rewards a bit sooner?
I know they only fruit every 2 years or so. My kid and i bought my mum a pineapple plant for christmas a few years back just because it was different. It had a developing pineapple on it. It turned out to be quite the conversation peice for when my mum has guests over. On her balcony her planter boxes go lettuce, capsicum, eggplant , spinach then pineapple, and theres a cpuple small citrus trees. On that balcony, its the main balcony with the outdoor setting. She has 2 other smaller balconies which are mainly lined with varios potted colour. The upstairs balcony has the tomatoes. My kid is allergic to tomatoes, and he has no reason to go upstairs to the balcony thats off my mums room. My mum lives in a flashy waterfront penthouse thats bigger then my house and she has 2 half floors. The lift goes to level 3, then she has internal stairs to level 4. Shes a green thumb, but that means in a unit, the balcony drains constantly get blocked with organic matter.
My garden beds in my yard ive kept low maintenance. Pretty much yukkas and succulents. Stuff thats 90% water. And i have my bottle brush trees. The biggest weed/high maintenance thing i have is the lawns. Im not much of a gardener. Lawns are annoying but easy. I have a side lawn, a back lawn, up a set of steps an elevated back back lawn, a grassy bit between my house and carhold and a 55m driveway with grass down the centre and on both sides. So its not a 15 minute job every 2 weeks in the warmer months. And the times i whipper snip the edges, that adds probably another hour to garden maintenance. And its only a 750² block, but on a hill. But thats all part of owning a house.
Old 17-10-2020, 06:16 PM   #2524
CoupeKing

Got my hands on a cologne by Maison Margiela called By The Fireplace.

Literally smells like being around a campfire roasting marshmallows - smoke/vanilla.
CoupeKing is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 20-10-2020, 09:14 PM   #2525
DFB FGXR6

Valued Contributor: For members whose non technical contributions are worthy of recognition. - Issue reason: For the excellent car-care guide 

My annual spring cold meant I needed to have a Covid test last night.

Thankfully my results came through negative.
Mustang GT

T3 TS50 - gone but not forgotten
DFB FGXR6 is online now   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 21-10-2020, 02:52 PM   #2526
Kicking back

Im still laughing about this. When i told my mum last night at dinner, i havent seen her laugh that hard in a while. She was a primary school teacher. And i havent seen kids pull this move since my day. So, as i was picking up my son from after school care, all the girls got sat down in the quad. One of them had locked each stall in the girls toilets and crawled under the gap. I didnt think kids these days were turds like my generation 25 years ago. Still, i find it funny.
Old 21-10-2020, 02:56 PM   #2527

Had a hit at the range with my new golf clubs together with my eldest son on his BDay.
Had a great morning together that we don't make the time enough doing so.
Thanks son luv him heaps.
FTE217 is online now   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 21-10-2020, 10:27 PM   #2528
XR.1967
XR 1967

Putting 12 months rego on the Fairmont..
What will make me feel better is driving it more times then I did last year..
XR.1967 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 22-10-2020, 02:31 AM   #2529

Chairman's Award: Chairman's Award - Issue reason: Your outstanding contributions to this community have not gone unnoticed. IN my view you are a worthy recipient of the (rarely used) Chairman's Award. 

…Seeing night works putting what must be nearly the final touches on NorthConnex tonight.
Citroënbender is online now   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 22-10-2020, 11:04 AM   #2530

Chairman's Award: Chairman's Award - Issue reason: Your outstanding contributions to this community have not gone unnoticed. IN my view you are a worthy recipient of the (rarely used) Chairman's Award. 

The bees were swarming, pointy-arsed little terrorists last Saturday, so Sunday saw us reach out for the apiarist.

Result, both current hives now divided with Snelgrove boards, and two little starters added. Have still been warned they will swarm again soon - it’s an ideal nexus of weather and timing.

The Nandina is hanging in there - just!
Old 22-10-2020, 03:22 PM   #2531
Tonz

The bees were swarming, pointy-arsed little terrorists last Saturday, so Sunday saw us reach out for the apiarist.

Result, both current hives now divided with Snelgrove boards, and two little starters added. Have still been warned they will swarm again soon - it’s an ideal nexus of weather and timing.
The Nandina is hanging in there - just!
yourve got more belief in miracles than I have
Old 22-10-2020, 09:33 PM   #2532

Originally Posted by Moi View Post
…Seeing night works putting what must be nearly the final touches on NorthConnex tonight.
We should see how many Falcons can go nose-to-tail on an inaugural run Saturday night. Anyone in?
Old 23-10-2020, 08:34 PM   #2533

Back in BAU mode after going flat out the last couple of months on a project. It's been a nice fortnight rolling off that project so have managed to put in some training which I've not done for a while.
Old 23-10-2020, 09:42 PM   #2534
Work Horse
Budget Racer

5 year old dishwasher stopped cleaning dishes, this is going to be expensive I thought.

Check the filter first...

A seal from a piece of Tupperware had somehow stopped the bottom spray bar from rotating

Cheap fix!
Old 23-10-2020, 09:44 PM   #2535

It rained.
Old 23-10-2020, 10:12 PM   #2536
Beastie
The Terrain Tamer

Community Builder: In recognition of those who have helped build the AFF community. - Issue reason: Catering services for a bunch of layabouts and for being an all-round good guy whose sense of community goes above and beyond. 

Originally Posted by GasoLane View Post
It rained.
You'll be complaining next week...
Old 23-10-2020, 10:15 PM   #2537

Originally Posted by Beastie View Post
You'll be complaining next week...
Only because it'll mean more mowing!
Old 23-10-2020, 11:13 PM   #2538
Kicking back

I wasnt happy yesterday tidying up some tree waste. Gave up quick because my chainsaw was just friction burning through wood. So i bought a new chain for my chainsaw. Slapped it on last night, also cleaned all the hard to reach places. Surprisingly my local bunnings had the correct chain in stock. Not sure if they sell out because heaps of people buy them, or they dont stock them typically because no one buys them.
But anyrate, at a reasonble time today i tidied up what i wanted to. It took no time flat. Chains go dull over use, the time it takes, unless you hit nails or whatever, you dont really notice untill its that bad. But a new chain makes it feel like a new machine. Plus its nice having it cleaned up. And it still starts 1st time every time. Not one of the good old 70% of the time it starts dealys. Dunno if thats due to good fuel and mix, or the fact i disregard the starting procedure thats in the book. Its the easier of the 2 2 stroke things i own to start. And the other one is easy to start.
But a new chain, a clean machine, fresh tank of 98 pre mix and fresh bar lube. It just offed everything it needed to like nothing. 12500rpm of 37cc efficiency.
I like cheapskate gardening equipment.
Old 24-10-2020, 08:39 AM   #2539

Originally Posted by GasoLane View Post
It rained.
Did it ever. 50mm here.

Old 24-10-2020, 09:26 AM   #2540

Forecast is 30 to 60mm here. Already had 18mm overnight which far exceeded the forecast
Old 24-10-2020, 10:07 AM   #2541

Originally Posted by MITCHAY View Post
Forecast is 30 to 60mm here. Already had 18mm overnight which far exceeded the forecast
Yep they forecast 30mm here.... but..... Looks like its heading your way.

Was talking to a water bombing logistics guy at Albury airport who runs the Summer fire weather numbers here based on La Nina and El Nino movements.
He reckons we are in for a wet summer which could be good or bad depending on what grows and whether it dries out quickly based on temps.

Old 24-10-2020, 10:54 AM   #2542
roddy1960

Went fishing again on a rainy wet cold Saturday last week..Everything wrong , tide , wind , crappy bait and caught six lovely estuary bream averaging a kilo each .Only recently started fishing again after a few years hiatus .

Lost more fish because my old gear was pretty outdated to be honest . In town a lovely couple have just 'emigrated' from Roma in Queensland to buy and run our little hardware , gifts and fishing store so I popped in to look at updating my stuff as I plan on doing a lot more fishing this summer .

Being new to the game Darren and Helen were just getting started and the generic stuff they had was okay but not ideal . "Leave it with me and I'll see if I can get you the stuff you're looking for soon " he said on Monday afternoon .

Yesterday after work I decided I'd spent this Saturday fishing again and went back into the store to get some prawns and whitebait . He was happy to inform me that he'd secured a couple of rods I might be interested in and he'd managed to get a Shimano Catana / and Cazna 2500 reel combo kit as part of his procurements in the few days since I'd looked . He sold it for $120 complete . He'd also organised new landing nets which I bought one of to replace my very tired old one and updated soft plastics and tackle stands .

The really scary thing is that they informed me he was going to be the Makita supplier for the area in the near future and I love Makita gear .

The previous owners did a great job but to see someone go to listen and take notice of requests and inquiries like mine means a lot .
I truly was feeling good as I walked out of the store with new fishing equipment yesterday . Who said customer service was a thing of the past .

Not just fishing gear, plumbing fittings , fixings etc that they stock but I guess a few desired Makita skins and one or two more LXT batteries might leave the store over time in my possession ...
roddy1960 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 24-10-2020, 12:18 PM   #2543
Junkyard-Dog
*barks incessantly

Yesterday donated a guitar to a man with mental health issues... Today he got it. Apparently it's really helping with his treatment.
Junkyard-Dog is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
8 users like this post:
Old 24-10-2020, 12:29 PM   #2544
Romulus

Excellent trading day yesterday. This sucker is getting closer and closer each day

Old 24-10-2020, 12:39 PM   #2545
Syndrome
Ford screwed the Falcon

I got a haircut which is a BIG deal for us living in the Socialist State of Victoria. Thank you Dear Leader Kim-jong Dan for allowing us this minor opportunity to indulge in your misguided benevolence.

CAN'T

My cars

Current ride
2016 FG X XR6 - 6 speed manual

Previous rides
2009 FG XR6 - 6 speed auto
2006 BF MkII XT ESP - 6 speed auto
2003 BA XT V8 - 5 speed manual
1999 AU Forte - 5 speed manual
1997 EL Fairmont - 4 speed auto
1990 EAII Fairmont Ghia - 4 speed auto
Syndrome is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 24-10-2020, 12:54 PM   #2546

Originally Posted by Junkyard-Dog View Post
Yesterday donated a guitar to a man with mental health issues... Today he got it. Apparently it's really helping with his treatment.
Good on you. J.D.

Old 24-10-2020, 02:21 PM   #2547
BLU-220
FG XR50 TURBO

Well it wasn't today but last Wednesday I went seen an old friend that I haven't seen in 12 mths
we started talking about what I have been up to I told him I wasn't happy working at my current job
so he turned around and told me do you want to work at ^#%! I said yeah I love to he called the owner as they were looking for someone I went seen the him on Thursday
after talking to him I start my new job on Monday and my new life as my old job was very misirable to work at and they are family owned I have never ever meet people like them unselfish Pr..

I am so happy now as I have known the owner of my new job for over 10 years and the area I am working in that was I what I was doing at my old job

happy days ahead

cheers Dean
BLU-220 is online now   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 24-10-2020, 03:12 PM   #2548
Kicking back

Ive been doing a bit of a garden tidy up lately. A few weeks back i dropped off a bag of cuttings to my mum. Her boyfriend has taken it upon himself to plant out the community garden in the retirement village he lives in. So he has to fund it. So, the small cuttings were appreciated. I have much larger stuff to thin out. But, just to save any double handling, i gifted a smaller established yukka. Reason being, i have more larger ones that need to go, but if they arent going anywhere, ill cut them up and bin them. Today my mum passed on the appreciation for the smaller plant. Apparently from a nursury, a yukka that size goes for around $80. So sweet, i had 2 larger ones sitting in buckets of water for the past couple weeks waiting to see if they were wanted. So i gifted those today. Atleast theyre appreciated and going somewhere.
Ive seen mums boyfriends efforts in that garden. Its currently a lot of seedlings and such from the $1 racks at flower power etc. In time it will flourish, but a few established plants will make it look more complete in the mean time.
Old 24-10-2020, 06:10 PM   #2549
TrVrPhiLpsiNdstrys

Thumbs up Re: What made you feel good today?

Cleaned off the dust collectors...

This made me feel good as i wont have to do them again for another 12 months

Old 24-10-2020, 06:30 PM   #2550

Originally Posted by TrVrPhiLpsiNdstrys View Post
Cleaned off the dust collectors...

This made me feel good as i wont have to do them again for another 12 months
See you made up the Aldi Revell special. Think I might build mine as a Smokey and the Bandit tribute version already shaved off the aerodyne sleeper and have a small 36in bunk for it.