You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and inserts advertising. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members, respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features without post based advertising banners. Registration is simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

Old 03-05-2015, 10:07 PM   #31
Lotte
YE-US! Wait. I don't know

Default Re: Cooking. . . .

Originally Posted by Big Damo View Post
If anyone here loves Chicken Kiev as much as I do and you live around Melbourne's northern suburbs, someone here on AFF put me onto Kent's Poultry in Sunbury around the corner from the post office.

He does the second best Kievs I've ever tasted, unfortunately a butcher in Broadmeadows shopping center called "Wishbone" no longer exists, which took 1st spot for years.

Went on a massive Kiev hunt in Melbourne's Northern burbs to find a suitable replacement and Kent's Poultry in Sunbury is the best replacement I could find.
Bertie's butcher in St Helena does pretty good kievs. The Alfredo duets from Inghams at woolies are pretty darn good too.

Used to go to the Mulgrave farmers market to get Pindarri chicken kievs. Best. Kievs. Ever. Bit of a drive these days. Found out one sunday after getting up at 6am to do the drive, the guy doesn't go there anymore. Was a might annoyed. I had a $100 set aside just for a bulk lot of kievs
The Weekender: '06 BF Pursuit, Toxic, lumpy af

Lotte is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 03-05-2015, 10:08 PM   #32
Uncle Niceguy

Damo, how many grams of mince do you use, and how many people is the spaghetti bolognaise made for?
Uncle Niceguy is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 03-05-2015, 10:29 PM   #33

Originally Posted by Uncle Niceguy View Post
Damo, how many grams of mince do you use, and how many people is the spaghetti bolognaise made for?
1KG of mince (topside), serves about 4 decent sized servings at the time of cooking with left overs for work for the next day
Old 03-05-2015, 10:47 PM   #34
Work Horse
Budget Racer

Originally Posted by Mowdit View Post
2 min noodles
In a bowl, add water and noodle packets, throw in some frozen veggies (peas &corn) put cheese over and nuke for 3-4min.

DONE !

Add egg if gourmet required

Single bloke survival food
Life is too short; learn to cook basic fresh food!

You will look back on what you used to survive on and wonder how you ate it.

Ask me how I know.
Old 03-05-2015, 11:00 PM   #35

Originally Posted by CoupeKing View Post
True true. An Uncle of mine that's passed, he was a Chef in the Italian Army during WW2, so I'm fairly certain he knew a thing or two when it comes to good food. He had a similar recipe and cooking process to yours. Never leave the lid off or completely on. If the steam can't escape, it won't thicken properly, and if you leave the lid off for too long, the house smells great, the street smells great, but when you go to eat it half the flavour is in the atmosphere,lol.

My recipe is almost the same as yours. Red wine, oregano and I fry up about 10 slices of hickory-smoked-bacon in a pan, slice it up into small pieces then bang it in the sauce. I put a tablespoon of the bacon oil in also, leaves a nice smoky flavour.
I've yet to come across anything that beats the home made pasta sauces passed down generations, you don't get stuff this good at restaurants but I guess they don't have the time to be able to do stuff like this they have to knock up something quick as they are always under immense pressure in the kitchen.

Originally Posted by Lotte View Post
Bertie's butcher in St Helena does pretty good kievs. The Alfredo duets from Inghams at woolies are pretty darn good too.

Used to go to the Mulgrave farmers market to get Pindarri chicken kievs. Best. Kievs. Ever. Bit of a drive these days. Found out one sunday after getting up at 6am to do the drive, the guy doesn't go there anymore. Was a might annoyed. I had a $100 set aside just for a bulk lot of kievs
I've got family in Mulgrave, wish I had of known about this before they also vanished off the face of the earth, its rather annoying when you find something good and they just disappear.
Old 03-05-2015, 11:08 PM   #36
Work Horse
Budget Racer

Originally Posted by CoupeKing View Post
True true. An Uncle of mine that's passed, he was a Chef in the Italian Army during WW2, so I'm fairly certain he knew a thing or two when it comes to good food. He had a similar recipe and cooking process to yours. Never leave the lid off or completely on. If the steam can't escape, it won't thicken properly, and if you leave the lid off for too long, the house smells great, the street smells great, but when you go to eat it half the flavour is in the atmosphere,lol.

My recipe is almost the same as yours. Red wine, oregano and I fry up about 10 slices of hickory-smoked-bacon in a pan, slice it up into small pieces then bang it in the sauce. I put a tablespoon of the bacon oil in also, leaves a nice smoky flavour.
It's difficult to think of any recipe that would not be improved by this addition!

OK the wife does make her own vanilla ice-cream, not sure how bacon would go in that.

Then again bacon ice cream....

Last edited by Work Horse; 03-05-2015 at 11:13 PM.
Work Horse is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 03-05-2015, 11:18 PM   #37
Uncle Niceguy

Originally Posted by Work Horse View Post
It's difficult to think of any recipe that would not be improved by this addition!

OK the wife does make her own vanilla ice-cream, not sure how bacon would go in that.

Then again bacon ice cream....
It'd go nicely just like a Canadian pancake stack bacon fried banana maple syrup and vanilla ice cream
Uncle Niceguy is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 04-05-2015, 01:32 AM   #38

Chicken schnitzel pub style !
chicken schitzel from the supermarket,
cooked in a pan 3 or 4 mins each side not too hot with a bit of canola oil or spray on the pan with canola spray.............when its cooked chuck a slice of ham on top and cheese throw it in the micro for 30 seconds to a minute, while all this is happening some steak sized chips in the fryer which you have timed to coincide perfectly with the schnitzel !!!
stick some of your favorite sauce and enjoy.
Old 04-05-2015, 10:55 PM   #39
hawkgirl
Aluminum Falcon pilot

buy some pulled pork from supermarket, mix with bbq sauce & heat, place on bun with cheese, coleslaw, & pepper mayo : the OH has just eaten 2 of these with a request to have again.

pan fry some chicken breast (or cheat & buy a bbq chook), shred & place on some puff pastry squares with some mayo, pepper, sweet chilli sauce & cheese, seal up the pastry & cook until puffed & brown (bout 15 min). Works well with canned crab meat too.

I'd give you my recipie for ginger golden syrup drumsticks, but well....then i'd have to kill you

The Fleet
2002 Kawasaki ZZR600 - Silver - Felix
1975 Fairlane ZG - Apollo Blue - Oberon
1999 Falcon AU Ute - Liquid Silver - The Aluminum Falcon - the Preciousss
2000 AUII Fairlane Ghia (vct)- Burgundy - Five / RedCar - round town clown
hawkgirl is online now   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 05-05-2015, 09:21 AM   #40
nuthin' fancy
Lyminge, Shepway, Kent

Saltimbocca:

Ingredients

1 chicken thigh per person. smashed to an even thickness
4 sage leaves per chicken thigh
1 slice proscuitto per chickent thigh
1 tbs butter
1 tbs olive oil
1/4 cup white wine
1 tsp dijon mustard

Method:

Preheat oven to 150C
Place 4 sage leaves on each thigh fillet
Place 1 slice prosciutto on each thigh fillet
Heat butter and oil in a frying pan
Cook 3-4 minutes each side
Place white wine in pan once the chicken is turned
Remove chicken to oven on a tray
Add mustard to pan, reduce until thickened

Place chicken on plate and pour gravy over.

Excellent with some mashed potatoes, carrots with honey and sesame and steamed kale.

If you like prepackaged curries, buy the paste, not the simmer sauce.

Easy to dress up with saffron (or tumeric) rice, naan and a spicy chutney.

My sister's advice to me when I left home was to look for food long on ingredients and short on method.

"Comedy is when you fall into an open sewer and die, tragedy is when I get a paper cut"
nuthin' fancy is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 05-05-2015, 09:25 AM   #41
nuthin' fancy
Lyminge, Shepway, Kent

There are not enough greens in the recipes suggested.

"Comedy is when you fall into an open sewer and die, tragedy is when I get a paper cut"
Old 05-05-2015, 12:09 PM   #42
99AUXR
Brad

Tech Writer: Recognition for the technical writers of AFF - Issue reason: Installing starter motor advice on ba / bf 6cyc Falcon. 

Greens can be easily cook on the side but like them with meal as possible.
Old 05-05-2015, 12:28 PM   #43
hawkgirl
Aluminum Falcon pilot

what are these "greens" of which you speak? They sound evil

The Fleet
2002 Kawasaki ZZR600 - Silver - Felix
1975 Fairlane ZG - Apollo Blue - Oberon
1999 Falcon AU Ute - Liquid Silver - The Aluminum Falcon - the Preciousss
2000 AUII Fairlane Ghia (vct)- Burgundy - Five / RedCar - round town clown
hawkgirl is online now   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 05-05-2015, 01:34 PM   #44
MercurySilver
Isn't it obvious?

bacon and egg rolls with cheese for brekie
spag bog is **** easy to make
make a salad and crank the bbq
beans on toast is easy pov food
buy some pre made ravioli (they have plenty of diff types of fillings) and make a creamy sauce
better still buy one pre made if you cant make a sauce (bacon onion garlic cheese cream milk etc)

make a potato bake..piece of ****
slice tatos, cut some bacon up small onions garlic lay tatos in a buttered pan spooning in bacon etc between layers
chuck some cheese on top and bake it in the oven, cook some snags to go with it

buy some pizza bases from coles etc
tomato paste or bbq sauce spread on a base
get some ham or whatever meat you like, chop up sprinkle on, with some small onion pieces some chopped mushies bacon cheese sundried toms etc etc
you can put anything on pizza and they take bugger all to cook in the oven, if you cant get pizza bases use muffins split in half
MercurySilver is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 05-05-2015, 06:15 PM   #45

Originally Posted by hawkgirl View Post
what are these "greens" of which you speak? They sound evil
Stuff that Rabbits eat... Not good for Humans.
Old 06-05-2015, 08:30 AM   #46
nuthin' fancy
Lyminge, Shepway, Kent

Originally Posted by GasOLane View Post
Stuff that Rabbits eat... Not good for Humans.
Have you seen the reproduction rate of rabbits???

Must be in the greens............