Go Back   Australian Ford Forums > Club and Speciality Forums > Forum Community Car Clubs > AU Falcon.com.au

Old 24-08-2011, 04:00 PM   #1
prn31

Default Rear Anti-Roll Bar on a Wagon

Hi guys, I'm a newbie on this forum.

Just purchased a stock 2000 AUII Fairmont wagon to tow my race car and I want to make the thing handle.

It has 261K on the clock and it needs new shocks - I intend to put Monroe GT Gas on in due course.

I was thinking of putting a 20mm non-adjustable rear anti-roll bar on. Is this overkill? Should I just leave as is? I do drive it on a twisty road on my commute to work and I would like it a bit more responsive than it is.

Or, given that I will be towing, just put a set of Polyair springs in the back to firm things up a tad, in the knowledge that when I'm towing I would be pumping them up to level the car with a trailer on.

What about a Nolanthane link and bush kit for the standard front anti-roll bar. Will that liven things up or just make the car harsher.

Finally I've bought a set of AUI Tickford 17 inch wheels to put on the car. What tyres should I put on that will give me durability - are the OE Dunlop SP Sport 3000A (as used on XR6) the way to go?

prn31 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 24-08-2011, 09:17 PM   #2
GK
Walking with God

Tech Writer: Recognition for the technical writers of AFF - Issue reason: Writing tech articles 
Default Re: Rear Anti-Roll Bar on a Wagon

Quote:
Originally Posted by prn31
Finally I've bought a set of AUI Tickford 17 inch wheels to put on the car. What tyres should I put on that will give me durability - are the OE Dunlop SP Sport 3000A (as used on XR6) the way to go?
Fo tyres, go for something like Nexen N5000s. Great tyre for the price and good all round.

GK

2015 Kia Sorento Platinum - Snow White Pearl

2001 Ducati Monster 900Sie - Red

Now gone!
1999 AU1 Futura Wagon - Sparkling Burgundy
On LPG

Want a Full Life? John 10:10