Old 25-10-2012, 12:43 AM   #1
walter351

Default major service whats needed

g'day all, after getting my falcon running crisp and clean my brother has decided that his neglected AU ford falcon xr6 on duel fuel (converted no factory gas) is in need of a service, now what im about to say here isnt for the light hearted soo dont continue on reading if your an AU fan.

He has not serviced the car once since owning it and its been nearly 5 years and counting, when the oils, he tops it up, when the coolants low, he tops it up, no idea if hes ever checked brake fluid, so now sitting on 230,000k's he decided is running like poo so what can be done, i dont know much about the AU's, im thinking brakes bled and flushed, oil change, filters, do the AU's have pcv valves and o2 sensors????, might also change the drive belt since he has had one in his boot for a year. He keeps saying the timing chain is due but i thought with the timing chains dont touch them unless there broken. What else can be done to get this car running well again? fuel economys bad, running on gas it runs like dogs balls, real bad idle ect so hes mainly running it on petrol, i took it for a test drive and on gas the engine seems to have pretty noisy lifters as apose to when its on petrol....

So yeah just after a full service guide to hopefully restore some life back into it but i will add that since hes had it the only problem to date is a worn wheel bearing.

walter351 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 25-10-2012, 02:31 AM   #2
BHDOGS

Default Re: major service whats needed

It has a PVC valve and o2 sensor and since it's gas change the plugs and leads aswell
BHDOGS is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 25-10-2012, 01:31 PM   #3
2002au
Define definitive

-Change engine oil + filter, flush with liqui moly engine detox before hand.
-Coolant flush and change.
-Replace brake fluid.
-Replace transmission oil.
-Replace diff oil.
-Check out brake pads and discs for wear, same with wheel bearings and ball joints etc
-New serpentine belt is a good idea, easy to change.
-check condition of suspension bushes etc

New PVC from ford cost me about $7, o2 sensor about $50 from eBay.

That's what I consider a major service I guess. Maybe more I've forgotten lol
BF F6 TYPHOON in NEO #718 ~ 356rwkw :
BF XR6 TURBO in SILHOUETTE
2002au is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 25-10-2012, 01:51 PM   #4
STINKY NINJA

I agree with what 2002au said but i would also get a few cans of ford intake and combustion cleaner and smash that through the intake and also give the t/b a good clean.
And run some decent fuel system cleaner as well, and change the fuel filter because that would be full of crap.
STINKY NINJA is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 25-10-2012, 02:34 PM   #5
4ford

Funny.....
I've been driving and servicing my own cars for some 47 years and counting, but you know, have never ever changed my diff or manual gearbox oil!

And I've owned some of those cars for quite some time/miles, it's something that I was taught that was not only not needed, but in the case of the diff, could be quite detremental.
Ooooh yes....of course, I've checked and topped up both of those gearboxes a thousand times, but never, ever actually drained and replaced the oil!

Ooooh....I've told you a hundred million, trillion times, don't exaggerate!

4ford is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 25-10-2012, 07:18 PM   #6
2002au
Define definitive

Every car, work ute and truck etc of ours gets all fluids replaced at a certain interval.

Eg I change my gearbox and diff oil every 30,000kms. The stuff that come out of my diff when I brought the car with (110,000kms on it, now at almost 150,000) looked like it hadnt been changed ever. And smelt absolutely horrid. Not keen on that being in the car forever.
BF F6 TYPHOON in NEO #718 ~ 356rwkw :
BF XR6 TURBO in SILHOUETTE
2002au is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 26-10-2012, 12:14 AM   #7
walter351

good stuff lads thanks heaps..... wonder how it will after the service
Old 26-10-2012, 12:17 PM   #8

you're right about the timing chain, you don't replace chains in AUs.
Old 27-10-2012, 01:34 AM   #9
walter351

Originally Posted by Mr Hardware
you're right about the timing chain, you don't replace chains in AUs.
cheers thanks for confirming that, i was honestly dreading the idea of how the heck i would of had to change it :s