Old 27-01-2006, 01:20 AM   #1
Group C

Default Your favourite Holden??

Firstly, I did a search on this subject, but came up empty handed.
Sorry if it's a re-post.

OK. I guess it's safe to say that 99% of us here are die-hard Ford heads, but...
personally, I don't write Holden's (or any other brand, for that matter) off just because off the badge it wears.
As the owner of a rare Japanese brand from the 60's, which I have 3 different variants of, I can appreciate the passion involved one has for particular brand, and if someone doesn't care for them in the future, then that brand will eventually disapear forvever.

Anyway, I was thinking today, "If I was to buy a Holden, just what would it be??", and was wondering what everyone would saying to the same Q.

BTW, I didn't put a poll on this, coz the list of models would fill the page!!

My fav's are:
VC Brock Commodore, in white.
1973 GTR XU-1 'Bathurst' model.

How 'bout yours??

Group C is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 27-01-2006, 01:22 AM   #2

I didn't mind the old Statesman DeVilles, the old square shaped looking things, but if I had to buy one, GTS Coupe.
Old 27-01-2006, 01:23 AM   #3
zetec
Zoom Zoom

New Vauxhall Astra VXR... technically an HSV...

If it had to be a holden, a Series One Monaro, in Delft Blue - CV6. It handled better, powerslides better (through experience on a skidpan) and has much better get-up-and-go that the CV8 which was a downright dog of a thing.
Old 27-01-2006, 01:27 AM   #4
SSBUB
SSuper SSpy

Brock VK in blue, xu1 and sandman panel van for older holdens

But i like the new Monaros, particularly devil yellow. GTS's are always nice too. Yep a coupe 4 will do me

I have the feeling this thread is gonna break out in wars or will have the popularity of being trapped in an elevator with someone who has gastro. But i hope im proven wrong.
SSBUB is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 27-01-2006, 01:28 AM   #5
SSBUB
SSuper SSpy

New Vauxhall Astra VXR... technically an HSV...

If it had to be a holden, a Series One Monaro, in Delft Blue - CV6. It handled better, powerslides better (through experience on a skidpan) and has much better get-up-and-go that the CV8 which was a downright dog of a thing.
nothin a tickle to the computer cant fix : Dare i say most gen 3's are doughy down low.
SSBUB is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 27-01-2006, 01:30 AM   #6
zetec
Zoom Zoom

Originally Posted by SSBUB
nothin a tickle to the computer cant fix : Dare i say most gen 3's are doughy down low.
Yeah I was just talking stock. For some reason I liked the supercharger, it sounded feral. Didn't like the sound or the performance of the original 220kw Gen III, although u can't argue with a Gen 3 nowadays!!!!
Old 27-01-2006, 01:31 AM   #7
apolloxbgt
cross breeder

Blue meanie vk brock,or an sv88(?) vl (stock looking calais with walkie running gear),there was only something like 90 made.
Old 27-01-2006, 01:31 AM   #8

If I had the money right now, I would buy a VY/VZ SS Wagon. If not that, then a 5.7 or 6.0 Berlina wagon (if they still do that option) with FE2 and 18s. Of course, I would trade the current AU2 XR-style wagon in on that, as it would be the family car, and keep the XR8 for everyday driving duties.

All time favourite though - A9X, but I wouldn't buy one - just like them.

Old 27-01-2006, 01:41 AM   #9
Group C

Originally Posted by SSBUB
I have the feeling this thread is gonna break out in wars or will have the popularity of being trapped in an elevator with someone who has gastro. But i hope im proven wrong.
HAHA!!
Just what I was thinking when I started it!!
Anyway, I hope that common sense prevails too.

I know I've been guilty of 'Holden bashing' too, as I'm sure most of us have, just like most Holden guys 'Ford bash' as well, but I try to go about things in a humourous way, not an over-bearing and stupid way. I guess having a harmless laugh or 2 is all part of the fun.

I remember Larry Perkins saying on the Dick Johnson True Blue video that..
'They are the 2 'sides' of the Australian car scene, and without 1, the other suffers', and I think he's spot on. Holden pushes Ford with it's decisions, and vice versa, so they really need each other to improve themselves.

Sorry, highjacking my own thread. LOL!!!!
Old 27-01-2006, 01:48 AM   #10

One of the older Monaros, VX SS 6-speed (or VY SS wagon), maybe a 1997 Stato in white over grey.

I wouldn't own one, but they're my "favourites."

Old 27-01-2006, 01:50 AM   #11
Group C

Originally Posted by JC
a VY/VZ SS Wagon. If not that, then a 5.7 or 6.0 Berlina wagon (if they still do that option) with FE2 and 18s.
You bring up a good point JC.
Those SS wagons look tough!! Wouldn't mind 1 myself, but there's something about post VK Commodores that I don't like. Just not my thing.

Ford is missing out a big market to the SS wagons.
Just think how good a XR6T or XR8 wagon would be, and how much quicker the misses would get the shopping done!!

Come on Ford, how 'bout it??
For God's sake, how bout a V8 Falcon XT or Futura wagon at least?? You don't even build a Fairmont wagon any more. What's going on??

I'd trade the ute for an XR8 wagon tomorrow...
Old 27-01-2006, 02:00 AM   #12
DOC

So many good ones to pick from.

HT monaro coupe
HK monaro coupe
HJ LE Monaroe coupe
SLR 5000
XU1
DOC is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 27-01-2006, 02:13 AM   #13

I've always been a fan of torries, I used to want an LJ as my 1st car

FX, FJ, EH, HZ's they were all great shapes and great cars, most older Holdens are. We've still got a HT that the old ladies had since new, without many major dramas

The newer cars arent bad either, although I prefer my fords there's really nothing wrong with the generals
Old 27-01-2006, 02:17 AM   #14

Id have the Monaro CV8Z in that burnt Metallic orange colour. Like the one in the ad. Beautiful.

Other than that, We used to have a one of 60 built 5th anniversary VP Clubbie that came out with 5 spoke colour coded 17"s and a 200kW Upgraded 5.0 V8 in 5 speed Manual. It was coloured that original faded walky metallic green as a commemoration to the original that started it all.It had leather and cloth buckets that was colour coded with 5th anniversary logos on them and everything.

My god that was one beautiful car in its time. Probably not much to look at now though (Although that is the worst photography I've ever seen in that pic!!). And I doubt there'd be 60 of them still left now that they're in reach of most bogans and ethnic Chapel St cruisers who'd cut the springs, and rid them of their colour coded special edition rims and put 19" ROH fury's on before running them into gutters.
Old 27-01-2006, 02:18 AM   #15
walkinshaw001
Sierra & GTR killer 1990

Originally Posted by apolloxbgt
Blue meanie vk brock,or an sv88(?) vl (stock looking calais with walkie running gear),there was only something like 90 made.
No no no, the SV88 was the old style carby V8 with an auto putting out a dismal 136kw which they made 150 of. There were however some Walkinshaw's that had the bodykits removed and calais lights put on them for a subtle look (this wasn't an HSV option, dealers had them done).

I'm lucky enough to own my favourite Holden (walkinshaw #001), but if I were to change, I reckon it'd be a GTS 300 coupe or VN SS Group A.

Those that like the SS wagon may even like to consider the HSV Senator Wagon in the VT range too.
walkinshaw001 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 27-01-2006, 02:19 AM   #16

I liked the VL's, not the riced up VX bodykit ones, the ones that came from Holden, that looked pleasant :

But other than that, i dont think they got any better than the VX SS & R8
Old 27-01-2006, 02:26 AM   #17
Bolt60

Love the VT's and VX's especially Clubby's , shame about the later models !!
Bolt60 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 27-01-2006, 02:26 AM   #18

We are all car enthusiasts ..
for me .... HJ Monaro, A9X and SLR5000 Yummmmm
06 Turbo Terri AWD 6 sp in Neo with stuff i didnt even need, side steps,15.2 inch roof mounted DVD,Pioneer $tezza,Selby 30/18mm swaybars,debunged,100 cpsi Ballistic cat,Plazmaman under battery Cai injectors 14/lb boost,ZF tuned,Xtreme's magic. :
svo347 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 27-01-2006, 02:35 AM   #19
tick5.0
Want some classic?

The yard I bought my XR8 from had a Walkinshaw for only five grand more. Insurance was a killer and I wanted an XR but I'd hate to think how much it would be worth now.

Other than a walkie I'd take a HK/HT Monaro GTS (327 or 350 of course) or an L34/A9X Torana.
EF II XR8, Supercharged manual *** FOR SALE ***
XC Falcon, waiting for the Clevo & C4 - Sold
AE101 Corolla, the daily - Sold
SII RX-7, original - Sold
BF II GT
Alfa Romeo 156 JTS, the new daily
Z31 300ZX Turbo
tick5.0 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 27-01-2006, 02:42 AM   #20
cre8havoc
miss tik4d

yep yep the walky for sure, damn sexy... :newangel: other than that the new 6lt gts.. would keep me very happy :
Old 27-01-2006, 03:32 AM   #21

VS Senators, VT/VX LS1 anything, WH Statesman International.
Dont mind the VS GTS-R either.

Old 27-01-2006, 06:21 AM   #22
qwigybo
hunting 300kw's

VT series 2 R8 clubsport (again..... damn that thing had some go)
qwigybo is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 27-01-2006, 06:28 AM   #23
KeeddleZ
Road Runner

A9X for shure :nutsycuck
KeeddleZ is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 27-01-2006, 07:04 AM   #24
Racecraft
they call me Tibbo

A9X or HT GTS 350

Racecraft is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 27-01-2006, 07:30 AM   #25

Theres so many to choose from. Much prefer the old holdens

HX Sandman, Statesman, LS Monaro, SLR5000, A9X, Brougham, HQ SS

If I had to choose 1 in particular, then it's gotta be the HX Sandman. I had one. Still miss it, wish I had never sold it
Old 27-01-2006, 07:31 AM   #26
I bleed ford
351 cubes of power

old school street machine...eh runnin a 186 with triple webbers...matt black paint and baby moon hubcaps
Old 27-01-2006, 07:58 AM   #27
347Stroker

I guess any Holden with a rear window heater would be fine......

Just so when I would have to push it for breaking down as per normal, the heater would keep my hands warm in winter.
347Stroker is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 27-01-2006, 08:04 AM   #28
Falcon_Phill
1967 XR Falcon

A red EH or EJ
Falcon_Phill is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 27-01-2006, 08:20 AM   #29
DOC

Here's a pic of an eh i owned for a while, it was white with deep blue crushed velvet inside / low and yep the triple carbs etc. At the time it used to whip my V8 monaro to shreads it was one tough car ( for back then )

DOC is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 27-01-2006, 08:37 AM   #30
Falcon_Phill
1967 XR Falcon

Did i use beer in my breakfast this morning or is that pic just blurry??
Falcon_Phill is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post