Welcome to the Australian Ford Forums forum. You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and inserts advertising. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members, respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features without post based advertising banners. Registration is simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today! If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us. Please Note: All new registrations go through a manual approval queue to keep spammers out. This is checked twice each day so there will be a delay before your registration is activated. |
black wheels, blue walls.
i have to freshen up my 17's while im running the stockie/whitewall combo. and was going to do a proper job, and fix the rash, and do a 2 tone metallic combo thing, dark inners, light faces. but i just cant seem to find the time or effort. so after remembering what [5L] 'shopped on his car once, i thought, black wheels would look alright, so i bust out photoshop, then remembered the blue wall too. now i reckon it looks sick. should i go for it, or am i wasting precious tickford rims? and fix em up legit. ![]()
05 BA MkII XR8
do it, looks tough
#3 | ||
All Bran = Regular Member
Yeah, why not?
I'm thinking of painting a set of mags body colour (with polished alloy dish). Actually, you're the ps guy... when you get a chance do you mind ps'ing that up fro me? |
#4 | ||
Sales Representative
lol... atleast i'm not the only one who is looking at modding factory rims into something custom...
I already have lined up getting my rims repaired and repainted in body colour, plus pin striping in a blue rather similar to my calipers... As for the original topic... i think a polished face would look heaps cleaner...
#5 | ||
What ever you do, aslong as you get rid of those stockies with the white wall's, they look hideous, sorry to say.
#6 | ||
Walking with God
Nooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo ooo! LOL!
GK
2009 Mondeo Zetec TDCi - Moondust Silver 2015 Kia Sorento Platinum - Snow White Pearl 2001 Ducati Monster 900Sie - Red Now gone! 1999 AU1 Futura Wagon - Sparkling Burgundy On LPG Want a Full Life? John 10:10 |
#7 | ||
No from me. Stockos FTMFW!!!!
#8 | |||
![]()
#9 | ||
and with painting the wheels, what sort of prep work is best?
ill sand back all the clear, and ill probably just stuff some body filler in the bad gashes, then just hit it with black? did you clear coat yours 5L? im thinking just satin black, with clear coat to make them easier to clean???
#10 | ||
that looks freakin awesome with the dark blue paint
Current Blueprint 03 xr8 ![]() 5 speed manual, Difilippo Quad Big Boy system, BPR CAI, BPR Custom tune, Underdrives 256rwkw ![]() ![]() BA manual Typhoon Fully optioned, 340rwkw@16psi (thanks Bluepower)! The old ride.... AU Fairmont, cammed beast, R.I.P you made my p plate years bearable! 150.8rwkw courtesy BPR |
#11 | ||
Sales Representative
I never liked the look of the stockies in the first place to be honest... i prefer this look... but each to their own and its not my car...
#12 | ||
![]() Join Date: Jan 2005
The black with blue walls looks good. I had gold series 2 Tickfords on my Au XR8 (a bit subaru-ish, but looked good to me) - ended up having to paint the wheels back to silver to sell them though!
The Hammer: FG GTE | 376rwkw | 1/4 mile 11.793 @ 119.75mph 1.733 60' (4408lb) 1 of 60 FG MK1 335 GTEs (1 of 118 FG Mk 1 & 2 335 GTEs). Mods: Tune, HSD/ShockWorks, black GT335 19” staggered replicas with 245 & 275/35/19 Michelin Pilot sport 5s Daily: BF2 Fairmont Ghia I6 ZF, machine face GT335 19” staggered Replicas with 245s and 275s, Bilsteins & Kings FPV 335 build stats: <click here> Ford Performance Club ACT |
#13 | ||
Budding Revhead
As I was reading the post before the pic came up I was horrified by the idea, but......seeing them actually looks alright. If you like it go for it!
#14 | ||
[ 5L ]
do it ;)
suits your car well. they are easily enough to get a second set if you want to keep a set original. i never got around to getting the blue walls, but ive had the black tickford rims for 2years maybe a bit longer. over that time ive got good and bad compliments about them. but the end of the day its your car, you need to drive it so do what you want.
[ 5L ] 2001 AU series 2 xr8, 220kw, 5speed, leather interior, premium sound, narooma blue, cat back exhaust, k&n filter,willall edit,MSD coil packs, MSD leads, monroe gt gas shocks, superlow kingsprings 187rwkw (mainline) www.ignitionimages.com
#15 | ||
[ 5L ]
sand them back till you happy with the amount of gutter rash. i removed all gutter rash from the spokes, wasnt really worried with the outside of the rim.
prep them in a single etch primer, this sticks to the alloy really well. from what i have seen with friends wheels they have just used normal spray paint and it starts flaking off. where with the single etch primer i have had little flaking (only around the wheel nut areas) that is as far as i got, the etch primer i used is black anyway. i do have a second set of au2 wheels in the shed, and they will get powder coated black when i get around to it. i would say that powder coating is the best option.
[ 5L ] 2001 AU series 2 xr8, 220kw, 5speed, leather interior, premium sound, narooma blue, cat back exhaust, k&n filter,willall edit,MSD coil packs, MSD leads, monroe gt gas shocks, superlow kingsprings 187rwkw (mainline) www.ignitionimages.com
#16 | ||
Its Resonating!
Yeah powdercoating them is the go Henri.
I dont know whether you saw my holden ute on the ford cruise, Greg organise to Montys lol But mine are just sanded back, wiped with degreasing where and there, primer and paint. All VHT stuff from autobarn.. Mine have lasted a year now, no problems. The finish is abit iffy up close, but looking at the car and wheels, super hottt!! ![]() |
#17 | |||
#18 | |||
Its Resonating!
#19 | |||
Me AU's cheap and clean.
I'd paint them henri cause their's a bit of gutter rash on them isnt there and itll cover it up a bit. Would you paint your rotors in a brighter colour once the rims are painted?
#20 | |||
I'll probably just give the calipers a fresh coat of silver. But you never know I might go bright lol
#21 | ||
The Origional, The Best
Henri, i reckon that looks mint on your car
Current Mods 2.5" Red Back Exhaust | C2R Grill | Brumby Front Bar & Driving Lights | 18" Optic Blacks | Tickford Intake | Blue Momo Shifter Knob & Wheel | BA Scuff Plates with Ford Metal Inserts Future Mods Lowerage on KingSprings Lows | Engine...Period | Sounds System I Use And Recommend F1 Tyres And Wheels On The Gold Coast Proud Supporter of Beat The Heat (NT)
#22 | ||
Resident AFF detailer
I reckon go for it Henri....IMO it will go better than what you have now...looks tough without being too in-your-face....
#23 | |||
Next upgraded Mk1 Leopard
![]() Join Date: Jan 2005
![]() I assume the blue would be Monsoon Blue Henri. Podwer coarting would look bets but $$$$$ to do. (Or you could go for a bullet hole effect, use that six shooter of yours for the effect ![]() UK
Plastic Surgery 1 AUII Monsoon Blue How 2's: Change rear view mirror, Install backfire valve, Change foam front seats, Install auto transmission cooler, Replace Trans Shift Globe, Remove front door Trim, Paint AU headlights, install door spears, Premium Rear Parcel Shelf, go here...
#24 | ||
Powder coating is about $90 PER RIM if you need Pm and I will send you guys details.
Au Falcon Ute S2 2001 Lowered on Kings with Bilistien Shocks all round 2.5inch cat back K&N Panel Filter FG XR6 17" Rims 245/45-17 tyres XR6T Snorkle BA front Caliper Conversion 300mm With Bendix Heavy Duty Pads Tow bar Transmission Cooler |
#26 | |||
#27 | ||
so to alleviate my boredom, and feeling of being broke, ive knocked up a couple more. i reckon the whitewalls look hektik. like mad contrasting!
original. ![]() black and blue. ![]() black and white. ![]() black and blue with white. ![]() closeup. ![]()
#28 | ||
[ 5L ]
id go with just the blue walls, keep it dark looking. that is the best thing i like about mine is at nighttime it makes the car very dull and doesnt stand out.
#29 | ||
ROCKING THE EL FUTURA
nooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo
BA MK11 XR8 ENFORCER NOW SADLY GONE My build that was http://www.fordforums.com.au/showthread.php?t=11267696 ENVI BA XR6T BUILD THREAD..http://www.fordforums.com.au/showthread.php?t=11345961 TAKEN BY THE EX NOW A EL FUTURA EB MONTY NOW IN THE SHED BACK IN THE E-SERIES THREAD DIGGEr |
#30 | |||
... Fear it!
Black with the Whitewalls Henri =D .. Come on brother, don't disapoint =P