Found this while searching through Ebay. Looks very well done and would be a great cruiser. Old style with power and comfort to boot. Be a great buy all engineered!
http://http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/19...item1c21b0da2f
xt 500 P plater
i dont think the link worked well it didnt for me is it yellow ?
would have been heaps better if they went BA instead of AU dont hate it tho !
#3 | ||
#4 | ||
Oh man.... if only there was space in the garage. Right colour and everything!
#5 | ||
Luxojet
Oh dear 20 minutes away.
The thing is a work of art, but is it an actual Mustang anymore, and worth that amount? Damn, if only I won the lottery hahaa
#6 | ||
![]() Join Date: Mar 2005
Nah, it wouldn't feel the same. Back in '67 all V8's had a lumpy feel that would shake the car at idle.
A modern V8 would be way too smooth and just wouldn't seem the same ![]()
#7 | |||
#8 | ||
Luxojet
Yea, but I'd still have this one
![]() I was just wondering what you are paying for, it isn't an original Mustang, but it is very unique. Does that make sense? I mean now it is a custom car, but is it worth $19g with only XR8 parts? Now I'm confused at the point I'm getting at. I love it. If it drops in price to $15,000 I'm buying it!
#9 | |||
#10 | ||
Its an abortion, the old mustang interior is nicer than the AUgly
#11 | ||
Get in the van!
If it were a fastback body I could forgive the AU interior. The fact that it's fully engineered is a big plus though.
I'm sure it's an angry cam away from sounding like a Mustang of yore though.
#12 | ||
that a 10min drive from my place.
![]() I don't mind it. The color isnt what I would consider attractive, but it's different yet kinda cool. The engineering part is a big plus
"Everybody was KungFu fighting..." 2022 Mazda CX5 GTSP Turbo 2024 Ford Everest Trend 1967 Ford XR FALCON 500 Cars previously owned: 2018 Hyundai Santa Fe Highlander 2021 Subaru Outback Sport 2018 Subaru XV-S 2012 Subaru Forester X 2007 Subaru Liberty GT 2001 AU2 75th Anniversary Futura 2001 Subaru GX wagon 1991 EB XR8 1977 XC Fairmont 1990 EA S Pak 1984 XE S Pak 1982 ZJ Fairlane 1983 XE Fairmont 1989 EA Falcon 1984 Datsun Bluebird Wagon 1975 Honda Civic |
#13 | ||
tuff
i couldnt think of anything worse than having an ugly AU interior and those wheels on a mustang of that vintage!
what a waste of car!
#14 | |||
The Experience...
![]()
#15 | ||
not 4 me
#16 | ||
be a good daily
#17 | ||
Not too sure about the colour and the dash would look much nicer from a BA or even an EL but stick a nice lumpy cam in that a nice set of dished rims and paint it black or red and away ya go
#18 | ||
Must have had a LOT of time on his hands to go through the headaches of making all that come together. Can't see the value in it as it's neither one nor the other.
#19 | ||
Luxojet
It didn't sell, so he has put back up, but now at $17,000. Still too high in my books.
What would you guys pay for this?
#20 | ||
Not really a fan... i think the modern-isation of the mustang ruins it.
#21 | ||
Seeing as how underneath they're just an old Falcon anyway, they've always been a big plus for interchangeability of bits and pieces...nice RRS front ends and suspension, better rear ends and suspension, drop-in engine choices right up to late model six and eight engines from Ford...and old Mustang is a great choice for mods, while still retaining the old look.
That and the fact they are hardly rare and have dropped way back in price, makes them eminently suitable as a project starter. I've seen LHD imported ones, a bit tired but all there, for under $20,000. |
#22 | ||
Not sure about the interior, but the workmanship is awesome...
Begs the question though... If 1 guy can interchange parts between Mustang and Falcon in his backyard, why can't Ford do it from Dearborn???? ;-) |
#23 | ||
Anyone who's had a classic knows that half the joy of driving them is the old school interior, the thin rimmed steering wheel, the old school speedo etc...
If he'd left a bit of the mustang dash in there then it would be a lot cooler. Never a fan of big modern alloys on old cars either. Aside from that tho - it's awesome! I'd pay 10 grand for it.
Previous rides: R32 Skyline gtst - drift weapon 67 VC Val - Cruiser A4 1.8t MTM 286 - Euro Evo AU2 XR8 Ute - rumbly drift weapon. BA2 Futura Wagon - boom box. Suzuki Swift Sport - thrash me! Ford Kuga 1.6T AWD - work car, hoping to replace it with a new weapon soon... |
#24 | ||
It looks to be very well done but with that said I would never own it....I'd much prefer it if they had of left it original.
#25 | ||
Luxojet
Thats what I was thinking, $10,000 for something a little unique.
#26 | ||
the dash looks crap at the edges where the aircon vents should be..
i wonder if it has air con and all the other mod cons an xr8 would have |
#27 | ||
When in doubt, GAS IT!!
Would have been a whole lot nicer with the Fairmont dash IMO. Swap the wheels out for something a little more flattering to the style of the times and lower it a bit and it'd be a very nice cruiser I reacon.
Bushbasher
. HERS- BFIII Wagon Gold, alloys, dual fuel, bullbar, big tow pack, trans cooler, fully rebuilt HD suspension, Clarion, alarmed, full 2 1/2" sports system, mint body MINE- AUII Forte Meteorite, dual fuel but otherwise bog stock. MINE- AUII Fairlane Sportsman Liquid Silver over meteorite,HIDs', Airhog, Eagle Leads, dual fuel, custom rear springs, BA slotted discs + a second one for spares . |
#28 | ||
Retro-tech? i could live with it as daily,but definatly change the poxy wheels!
#29 | ||
Needs a bit of work to get it looking the part, i dont think it's too far away from being a really nice weekend cruised.
I would lowball him 12500 pick up this arvo/tomorrow if I was local... you'd probably get it.
#30 | ||
The driveline I'd keep as is, and just P off the interior and return the interior back to stock with a few digital dashes in place to keep it to this century. Im only around the corner from this bloke. If I had the space and spare 15k to throw about, I would be seriously tempted.
"Everybody was KungFu fighting..." 2022 Mazda CX5 GTSP Turbo 2024 Ford Everest Trend 1967 Ford XR FALCON 500 Cars previously owned: 2018 Hyundai Santa Fe Highlander 2021 Subaru Outback Sport 2018 Subaru XV-S 2012 Subaru Forester X 2007 Subaru Liberty GT 2001 AU2 75th Anniversary Futura 2001 Subaru GX wagon 1991 EB XR8 1977 XC Fairmont 1990 EA S Pak 1984 XE S Pak 1982 ZJ Fairlane 1983 XE Fairmont 1989 EA Falcon 1984 Datsun Bluebird Wagon 1975 Honda Civic |