Welcome to the Australian Ford Forums forum. You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and inserts advertising. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members, respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features without post based advertising banners. Registration is simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today! If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us. Please Note: All new registrations go through a manual approval queue to keep spammers out. This is checked twice each day so there will be a delay before your registration is activated. |
FG Falcon fan
Hi all,
I fear the demise of the Falcon being replaced by the Taurus. The current taurus is bigger than a falcon, check these latest specs I got off the respective websites. The taurus is huge!!! Taurus (cm) 515 long 194 wide (exc mirrors) 154 tall Falcon (cm) 497 long 187 wide (exc mirrors) 143 tall I couldnt stomach a car larger than the falcon. Its already at the limit of parking or tight space viability. It will be very interesting to see what Ford does to replace the FG falcon. The car used to be a top 5 seller every month. If they fed us a Taurus then sales would disappear totally. |
The new TAURUS is a great car..tech is way above the Falcon....
#3 | ||
Tech is`nt everything!
#4 | ||
![]() ![]() Join Date: Jan 2005
It is in this market place IMO well not everything but it sure helps
#5 | |||
#6 | ||
So the new Taurus is almost the same size as the old Crown Victoria?
#7 | |||
![]() ![]() ![]()
#8 | |||
#9 | ||
Get EcoBoosted
In the event that the next Falcon is amalgamated with the Taurus, it would be on an all-new platform anyway (a stretched version of the upcoming Mondeo/Fusion platform), therefore rendering these figures irrelevant.
#10 | ||
It will probably happen. Mondeo is consolidating with the Fusion (therefore it will be a Mondeo/Fusion fusion!). It only makes sense that the Taurus and Falcon merge and becomes truly global.
#11 | |||
#12 | ||
The thing with Top Gear is that it's entertainment, not objective car evaluation most of the time...their main criterion for most cars is whether the you can hang the rear out in a corner, as you do every single day on the road going to work. They bitterly complain when a car has such good road manners and such a well setup chassis that it simply digs in and corners sweetly, instead of getting all loose and squirelly in the bends. I take what they say about car handling with a huge grain of salt...
The Taurus has an amazing amount of standard kit, but the comment about it being to big is probably right. We just got back from a couple of days in Rocky, and you really notice the extra size of a Falcon compared tothe average size of a car park spot nowadays... U.S fuel economy figures have to undergo some conversions first...not only the usual one of converting from miles per gallon to liters per hundred kilometers...but if you, like me, still mostly think in miles per gallon, you have to remember the fact that a US gallon is only 3.8 liters instead of an imperial 4.545 liters... |
#13 | |||
_Oo===oO_
#14 | |||
Oh and BTW the current Taurus is bigger on the outside than the Falcon but has no more interior space.
#15 | |||
Straight Eight
Falcon is a proper E segment car. Mondeo/Fusion and stretched for Tuarus wouldn't fit a Coyote under the hood. Falcon can take a four, six, and eight. Falcon is down but not out.
#16 | ||
"Flooded it mate?"
Apparently as I've read, the Taurus may be ahead of the Falcon in some respects, but in others, such as handling, ride, and engine and dynamics, the Falcon is km's ahead. FWD would be a dealbreaker for me too. AWD is good, but I'd miss RWD. And AWD is only available on the top spec SHO currently. I've read that the engine is coarse, and doesn't have the same punch.
And yes, if the Falcon were to be replaced, it wouldnt be with the current Taurus. I've read that the next all new Taurus is planned to be smaller, about current Falcon size. I reckon that the best things to do, would be to improve the Falcon with an all new model, and include many of the goodies from the Taurus, as well as more, and then replaces the Taurus with a car that is much much better. To drive the current Falcon is apparently already ahead of the Taurus. So why not just make the Falcon global and replace the Taurus with a great car. I like the Taurus for it's front and side styling, it looks pretty good. But I'm not a fan of the rear. I'm just going to wait and see what happens, and hope that whatever happens with the Falcon is a good thing. |
#17 | ||
falcon is almost confirmed until 2015/2016 so pointless looking at specs of current US models.
#18 | |||
"Flooded it mate?"
When I do get my licence, don't worry I'll be driving many different cars. If what I repeated is rubbish, then it is rubbish written by a Australian car tester who tested the Falcon and then visited the USA to test the Taurus. |
#19 | |||
Or Jeremy Clarkson? Before you discount FWD go for a drive in a Mazda 3 MPS or Focus RS or XR5. Better still go and play on a track in a similar power to weight ratio falcon against them and see just how hopeless they really are....... |
#20 | |||
The Experience...
I think your being a bit harsh Flap. Whether the kid has a lic or not. I tend to agree with him. Sure you want to bring up nice cars like the MPS, RS etc. but if tey where that good, why doesnt our top end companies run with this? Im not big on Euro cars so I dnt have all the facts. But last i checked BMWs & Mercs ade pretty much rwd. Same with alot of Lambos & Ferrari. Further more I cant remember the last time Ive seen a top fueler or funny car in FWD.... Do you???
#21 | |||
The comment was about handling and a Renult Megane did 8.08 on the Nürburgring Nordschleife recently which is quicker than most RWDs short of supercars. The points I am making are: 1) Just because something is RWD does not make it handle well or quick and just because something is FWD does not make it slow. 2) People tend to bias their opinions on cars with their favorites being perfect in every way and anything they don't personally like being hopeless, just ask anyone on street commodores how good a FG2 GT is. The vast majority of people on here have not even sat in let alone driven most of the vehicles they have strong opinions on so all they are doing is repeating other people's repeating of other people's made up stories. |
#22 | |||
Last edited by russellw; 07-01-2012 at 04:07 PM. Reason: Deleted post quoted |
#23 | ||
Luxojet
AWD is the winner for me. If I can get a Taurus, with similar power to the G6ET, but with AWD and more tech, I'm definitely in.
#24 | |||
Force 6
Force 6 #24 |
#25 | ||
"Flooded it mate?"
Yeah I agree it's pretty pointless... but it's interesting all the same?
#26 | ||
"Flooded it mate?"
So the Falcon is more space efficient too... the Taurus is pretty much Fairlane/Statesman/Caprice size externally.
#27 | ||
PX3 WildTrak & RTV
Adding more food for thought
Taurus (cm) 515 long 194 wide (exc mirrors) 154 tall Falcon (cm) 497 long 187 wide (exc mirrors) 143 tall Mondeo Hatch 477 Long 188 (Excl mir) 150 Tall
[COLOR=Red]I really am Falcon Crazy[/COLOR NextGen Ranger Wildtrak with loads of goodies Sold PX3 Ranger Wildtrak 2.0Ltr UHF, Long Range Tank, Bullbar, Snorkel - 104,000km BA Falcon RTV - Project Ute 265,000km Sold PXII Ranger XLT Cool White. 105,000 Sold PX Ranger XLT in cool white, 151,700km on clock. Sold FGII XR6T Ute LTD Edition in Kinetic. Sold FG XR6 Ute Sold BA Falcon RTV. 251,300km.Was a great mate for last 7 years Sold AUII XLS Ute Sold '85 XF & Crashed 84 XF |
#28 | ||
Next gen Taurus has been looked at for Australia and apparently dismissed...
#29 | |||
I still don't feel settled on the idea of seeing the day the Falcon nameplate goes onto a FWD-based vehicle. If the time does come when the Falcon will become no longer viable as a RWD vehicle, I think they should drop the Falcon name. That's just what I still feel at the moment, if the Falcon does end up finding itself based on the Taurus platform, the last RWD model would be the latest model Falcon I'd buy. |
#30 | ||
"Flooded it mate?"
Very interesting... I wouldn't buy a FWD car either, AWD, 4WD and RWD for me. If the Falcon ends up being FWD, Ford will lose me as a Falcon customer, I'm already unhappy about the loss of the wagon.