Welcome to the Australian Ford Forums forum. You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and inserts advertising. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members, respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features without post based advertising banners. Registration is simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today! If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us. Please Note: All new registrations go through a manual approval queue to keep spammers out. This is checked twice each day so there will be a delay before your registration is activated. |
A Ford engine plant closure in Canada has forced Ford Australia to end production of the V8-powered Fairmont Ghia, Fairlane and LTD, reports GLENN BUTLER.
Ford Fairlane G8 Ford Australia has announced it will no longer offer a V8 engine option in any locally built sedans, wagons or utes outside its sports-oriented XR range. The decision to drop the three-valve 5.4-litre V8 engine from the Fairmont Ghia, the Fairlane G220/G8 and the LTD was not a hard one, says Ford boss Tom Gorman. "We were selling 10 a month. We're not talking big numbers here." Ford has referred to this engine as the Barra 220 and the Barra 230 in recent years. The move to drop V8-powered Falcons will no doubt have some Ford fans on edge, given the negative publicity Ford endured throughout much of the 1980s by not offering a V8 across its range. However, Ford points out that this time around the V8 shake-up is very different, because it will still offer some V8s on its sports-oriented models. The four-valve 5.4-litre engine offered in the XR8 is not affected. It makes the Falcon XR8 sedan and ute the only V8 models in Ford's entire line-up. FPV models are not affected. Ford Australia's hand was forced by the closure of Ford's Essex engine plant in Windsor where the three-valve 5.4-litre V8 was produced. Gorman says Ford Australia has stockpiled the engine to ensure it has enough to meet demand up until the arrival or Orion in the first-quarter of 2008. In addition to this, Gorman announced that Ford would replace the full-size spare tyre in Falcon sedans with a temporary space saver. Buyers who wish to have a full-size spare in their Falcon will be forced to pay between $100 - $250 for the option, depending on the model. Gorman said the move would not result in a reduction of the Falcon's retail price, and nor would it free up more space in the boot because the wheel well would remain capable of accommodating a full-size spare. Indeed, the Falcon boot is one of the biggest in the large car segment, and space has never been an issue. He said the move was more about aligning itself with the competition. Holden fitted space-saver spare tyres to all Commodore models since the VE launched in August 2006. Gorman also hinted that the space saver spare would free up a packaging alternative on the new Falcon – codenamed Orion – due in 2008. He hinted that those opting for a full-size spare on the Orion would miss out on a new packaging system – most likely a 'wet-storage' area under the boot floor similar to that fitted to the Ford Territory wagon. Drive blog Ford Australia has announced it will no longer offer a V8 engine option in any locally built sedans, wagons or utes outside its sports-oriented XR range. Have your say now |
Well, just means it's time for Ford to drop the Boss 260 into the Fairmont Ghia engine bay.
Weekender 1964 US Falcon Futura convertible - Rangoon Red 260 Windsor V8, 4 speed manual, LHD, Electronic ignition, Mustang wheels https://fordforums.com.au/showthread.php?t=11470868 Daily 2014 SZII Territory diesel - basic runabout Previous Cars 1990 EAII Fairmont Ghia - Tickford engine, 5 speed, SVO wheels, bodykit, much more 2000 AUII Fairmont - XR wheels, Ghia interior 2010 FG XR50T ute - XR8 bonnet, Streetfighter intake |
#3 | |||
#4 | |||
cross breeder
#5 | ||
Rossi's view of Stoner!
Location: In the shed. XTGT on 1 side, 66 Mustang on the other...
to clear up any confusion here...
the only cars in that list that are in production are the V8 Fairmont and Ute. the Fairlane/LTD was dumped altogether months ago due to crap sales. that was well documented on here and other places. and Ford have NEVER offered a V8 B-series Wagon. i know, coz i tried to buy one 3 years ago, and was told they werent offered. Ford arent interested in the Wagon market at all either, and tried to drop the Wagon when the Territory came out. Fleet buyers (like Telstra for 1) arked up about it, so Ford brought them back, but only as a base XT or Futura, with cloth trim (no leather), no V8, no LSD, no turbo, no premium sound, none of the good options really, and only in 3 colours (white, red and silver from memory). basicly, they have limited the Wagon range severly to push buyers into the Territory hoping that sales will drop enough to kill it too. i mean, you cant even get a Falcon Wagon sales brochure. Only Sedans, Utes and Territory ones now, so that should say somthing...
Casey Stoner #27.
![]() Valentino Rossi's worst nightmare... ![]() ![]() |
#6 | |||
![]() Join Date: Jan 2005
#7 | |||
#8 | |||
Professional Mouse Jockey
![]() I dont think the 3V will be missed all that much now that the 6spd auto exists. It gives the atmo 6 more than enough acceleration for the plebs and anyone with performance aspirations buys XRs or FPVs anyway.
#9 | ||
White Car Driver
"We were selling 10 a month. We're not talking big numbers here." <-- I am sure they will be missed... Not.
The Barra 190 with the 6 speed is a winning combination; power, economy, smoothness... I can't see the big, inefficient dead weight of a V8 being missed in these models, especially not if a turbo is introduced. |
#10 | ||
#11 | ||
This is a good decision based on numbers.
Good to see Ford respond to the market rather than keep it a minute section alive for a handful of enthusiasts. When Orion is released, would love to see Ford skyrocket and dump big sloppy borries on the media who hopefully, may have to realise that Ford have actually made a good car.
#12 | |||
Can't go around corners
Makes sence, I mean V8 wagons, are now about as rare if not rarer than GT's
#13 | ||
old skool
the thing that sh!ts me about the changes that ford are bringing in is that there is no consumer consultation. they are telling the buyer what he wants not asking . i understand that there are monitary influences at work but quite simply i bought a ba not because it had a blue badge on the front but because it had a barra 180 ,4 litre ,INLINE 6 and a blue badge on the front. if i wanted a v6 i would have bought one of the other big 3. and as for the space saver wheels, i have on principle boycotted models of cars because of them. i do a hell of a lot of miles and i'll be damned if im going to travel a couple of hundred k's on crap roads using a wheel thats not even worthy of being on a motorbike [ so that the car maker can make a few extra bucks].whats next front wheel drive ?. a lot of people have opinions about these changes some for, some against but just remember what we have now is a brilliant car and no one knows what the orion will be like [ some think they do ]. it might be the greatest ford ever built or it might be a total dud only time will tell. gorman and his lackey's had better start listening to his customers and addressing their concerns or ford may go the way of chrysler australia because loyalty only can only go so far.
#14 | |||
May I also recommend the use of paragraphs. Your current ramblings are hardly coherent due to a poor lack of structure. Regarding the bolded text, the consumer told Ford what they wanted. Selling 10 non-XR/FPV V8s a month states what the market wants. People don't want V8s in their standard Falcon...sales have stated that. Therefore, I believe your statement is redundant. Regarding the Inline 6, it was no longer economical to keep upgrading the engine. You can sit here all day and cry for your bottle, or you can accept the fact that the demand for large cars is not as big as it used to be and Ford don't have the market share to continually support having the Inline 6. Holden scrapped their blue engine and tried a Nissan engine, then tried a Buick and have continued to use boat anchors to power their vehicles since. If Australia exported large numbers overseas and sold a bucketload more, maybe it would have been economical. Australia has a population of 20 million and only a minute number would buy a car powered by the I6. They could not keep up with it. You need to move with the times because time won't move with you.
#15 | |||
old skool
as i said everyone has an opinion about the changes but unfortunately some sad little hero's think that their opinions are more valid than everyone elses and find it necessary to personally attack anyone who disagrees. if you are not capable of making an opposing argument without name calling then you should shut your mouth because nobody is impressed by an idiot. |
#16 | |||
The mojor problem with a V8 Falcon is that the XR8 and GT of now and in the past is a lame duck. They are nothing to right home about really. Die hard fans will defend that statement till they are literally Ford blue in the face. But the fact is its an average V8. The Generals options are awesome, and Ford need something with the same characteristics. The flip side is Ford has the BEST six cylinder engine you could ask for, and the Turbo charged version puts BOTH the Ford and Holden V8s in their place. Holden have a brand image and a heritage that has been built year after year, model after model. Ford has chopped and changed its V8 options nearly every year and model since its inception in the 1960s. How would anyone know or be able to link all the performance Ford V8s in Falcons over the last 30 years all together to understand why we have the current BOSS V8 in the engine bay? It would be a different strory if the Cleveland was re-engineered 20 years ago to be polution compliant, than EFI, then redesigned as a modern Alloyblock OHC V8 in the 90s than stroked and bored for the 2000's to be in its 3rd or 4th generation. It would have history and image and it would mean something to the people. |
#17 | ||
Hoon (I wish!)
I spose the T would be a better option, but what about those who want a cheap V8? Probably go and buy an SS. 10 Buyers a month gone
![]() ![]()
#18 | |||
Two Wheels Good
#19 | |||
Its only that Ford US decided to go more modern high tech and created the 4.6 modular design, probably for some sort of fuel economy or emissions reasons. This then bore the 5.4 3V for the F series which was then played with by Fords performance arms creating the Boss and US quad cam designs. Whether this was a mistake I guess time will tell. And as far as the latest 6 litre Chev being a development of previous Chevs you are dead right. But it's not a development of Holden's V8. Remember Holden developed it's own 5 litre derivative that was used up until the introduction of the 5.7 GenIII in the VTII. The GenIII being a development of previous fuel injected chev 5 (304ci not Holden's 308ci) and 5.7 litre engines which Holden did not use, ever! Holden stopped using the 350 chev back in the 70's. Just a bit of a history lesson there. I'm sure someone will poke holes in it. ![]()
#20 | ||
maybe if Ford tried something a little different, say like MARKETING the fact that there was a bloody V8 option on these ranges, then perhaps they would have sold a lot more.
the average joe wouldnt even know that V8's existed outside of the XR range.Ford have just dug themselves the final hole. i dont care what anyone else wants to say, but this is NOT a good thing for the company. send the (w)yank home and get someone else that gives a stuff. |
#21 | |||
Sales results spoke for themselves.. 10 a month wont be missed.
#22 | ||
A) No name calling
B) No offence intended C) Tried to remain factual, even if I am a fcknut. Don't get angry at the flick of a switch. If you don't like what I say, PM me and we'll sort it out, provided it is done constructively. Cheers Mate.
#23 | ||
old skool
fair enough. i respect yours and everyone elses opinions as i expect mine to be respected aswell.
one thing that sets me off and this isn't directed at you is that a lot of members of this forum personally attack other members because they don't agree with them and that is pretty childish. opinions are like @ssholes, everyones got one and most are full of sh!t. lol. no hard feelings. |
#24 | ||
Bring on the Turbo option.
#25 | ||
Two Wheels Good
Uranium Death's posts are on the money regarding why the V8 had to go. I would not have bought one in a non-FPV car, and I'm definitely looking at cars in that pricerange.
But I'd certainly buy a specced up wagon, and I'm disappointed that they don't offer anything above XT. I had an EL XR6 wagon for a while and it was great, and I've been sorely tempted to track one down again now that I've got kids, but SWMBO refuses to have a car 'that old' (mind you she was restoring an EH sedan when we met, go figure). I've nearly gone (back) to the red side in fact - was offered a very good deal on an SS wagon when Holden ceased production. Black, with 5.7 - and manual to boot. But if I'd bought it I'd have been pilloried by the 16 year olds on this site, so of course I didn't go ahead with it : ) It looks like a Territory for me, and I'm certainly not unhappy about the prospect of that (I'm loving the AWD of my 3.0R Outback every time it rains) - so looks like Ford might be making some good decisions when it comes down to the actual paying punters, as opposed to the 'would-be's', no? (and just quietly, once the Terri is in the driveway I think I can persuade the missus that I need an FPV to replace the VT Berlina, and as much as the F6 is calling my name, I'm not that fast a driver - that's what my bike is for - so I think I'll enjoy the sound and feel of a V8 again - it's been a long time ; )
#26 | ||||
Unfortunately the dropping of the I6 is a purely financial decision that had to be made. It's either drop the expensive to develop purely aussie designed and used I6, since there is no global help in it's development. Or drop the entire Falcon range as it becomes too expensive a proposition for Ford Global to keep propping up the little Australian arm developing there own car for their own tiny market. I have to agree with you regarding the space saver. They save what, $100 per car suppling a space saver vs a standard steel wheel. I'd pay the extra couple of hundred it takes to keep the spare and so would a lot of other people, but I guess the consensus is most drivers don't think about this issue and don't care.
#27 | ||
13.96 @ 101.65
not really to do with the topic but does anyone else have a problem with no manual territories?
#28 | |||
Two Wheels Good
Most of the market for Territorys would be quite happy with autos, and those drivers looking for a 'drivers' car are probably not even considering them.
#29 | ||
as much as i hate to say it this could be the right decision. I only hope that the Barra inline engine will continue instead of being replaced by a whiny gutless V6. Twin Turbocharging or just a more agressive tune could provide 400+ KW on the 4.0 Turbo and blow alway V8s in both torque and power. Holdens Stone age Pushrod engines would have no hope against a Twinturbo F6 Typhoon. They just need to make the Boss 290 engine standard on the Fairmont Ghia and Force 8 as a midrange perofrmance enigne and a new golden age of Ford could begin.
#30 | ||
Carsguide in the Herald Sun today has an article stating that Ford Oz wil be using the new all alloy 5.0 litre Jaguar V8 for the XF model from 2010 on. Supercharged too and base 365kw now that sounds promising!