You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and inserts advertising. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members, respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features without post based advertising banners. Registration is simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

Old 24-02-2007, 05:49 PM   #1
Ford_Crazy

Default Fined for airfilter

Boys,

My cousin drives a nissan skyline (lame i know) the other day he was fined for having a k&n airfilter (unboxed) and a blow off valve. Is this right? He wasn't defected but just fined, what's the go with the law regarding these items? We are in Sydney so any advice would help.

Thanks

Ford_Crazy is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 24-02-2007, 05:53 PM   #2
King Nothing
He has, the Knack..

It's illegal to have an exposed filter, and unless it has air blowing directly onto it its a waste of time due to heat in the engine bay (skyline drivers, but anyway).

Not sure on the BOV but if he has fined him it must be illegal

Workhorse, stock as a rock

2004 BA MKI Futura - Now the wife's

For Show: 18" Kaotic Shadow Chrome, King SL all round, Cadence Amp, Kenwood 12" Sub, JL Audio 5x7's, Scuff Plates, MP3 Connector

For Go: SVI LPG, K&N Filter, F6 CAI, XR6T snorkle, XR8 catback, Magnaflow metal cat, Pacemaker headers, Underdrive, Thermostat, Custom tune, DBA4000

Now with baby seat and toys

175.6 rwkw

www.bseries.com.au/King_Nothing
King Nothing is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 24-02-2007, 06:00 PM   #3
blueline
ambitious but rubbish

ay ay ay depends on what skyline it is. most r33 drivers i know can be stupid at times but dont put us all in the same basket. us r31 drivers have a bit more of a clue. anyway the air filter has to be 'boxed' or separated from the engine bay or it is a defect. plus you can have a blowoff valve but it cant be vented to atmosphere. thats means it cant go 'woooo-chhh'(lame blowoff impression i know) it has to be plumbed back into the engine.
blueline is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 24-02-2007, 06:06 PM   #4
King Nothing
He has, the Knack..

: ok fair enough, didnt realise it wasnt an r33. r31/32 drivers can be ok :nutsycuck

Workhorse, stock as a rock

2004 BA MKI Futura - Now the wife's

For Show: 18" Kaotic Shadow Chrome, King SL all round, Cadence Amp, Kenwood 12" Sub, JL Audio 5x7's, Scuff Plates, MP3 Connector

For Go: SVI LPG, K&N Filter, F6 CAI, XR6T snorkle, XR8 catback, Magnaflow metal cat, Pacemaker headers, Underdrive, Thermostat, Custom tune, DBA4000

Now with baby seat and toys

175.6 rwkw

www.bseries.com.au/King_Nothing
King Nothing is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 24-02-2007, 06:08 PM   #5
blueline
ambitious but rubbish

i was more aiming at the all out 'bag the skyline drivers' thing. i was just assuming it was a r33. am i right ford crazy?
blueline is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 24-02-2007, 06:13 PM   #6
Outbackjack
Central to all beach's

Next thing you know, you will be able to be fined for having a ugly girlfreind!!
Old 24-02-2007, 06:19 PM   #7

Way back when cars had carbys I used to reverse (turn upside down) the 'lid' of the air filter on my 351. This exposed the air filter element (and more air went into the engine.) Back then I was told by a very friendly HP officer that they used to do that to their HP cars but if the engine backfired they caught fire.

This could be the reason for banning exposed air filters?
Old 24-02-2007, 06:28 PM   #8
EL XR8

I think the exposed air filter rule, is because, if the motor was to backfire, fuel can travel down and exit via the filter, or blow the filter off, and spray fuel in the engine bay.
Thats what i've heard anyway. Don't know how much truth there is to that though.
EL XR8 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 24-02-2007, 06:32 PM   #9
Harro
5l Fury

Exposed Air Filter - Illegal

Blow Of Valve - illegal As it Vents Pure Exhaust Gasses into the atmosphere
Cat Back Exhaust
Tickford Springs
EL Ghia Interior pieces
Harro is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 24-02-2007, 06:54 PM   #10
xagsjoe
Patience is a virtue

Originally Posted by Harro
Exposed Air Filter - Illegal

Blow Of Valve - illegal As it Vents Pure Exhaust Gasses into the atmosphere
Dunno bout your second point there Harro its the INTAKE charge under pressure not the exhaust.

And as for the exposed filter dont tell my local RTA inspection centre as twice they have passed cars for me with exposed filters! One was my XY and the other my old XD
xagsjoe is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 24-02-2007, 06:17 PM   #11
*rayman*
454 Power

They should put that law in place Outbackjack....

TOY - 68 SS 454 Camaro
*rayman* is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 24-02-2007, 06:40 PM   #12
Ford_Crazy

Thanks for the info guys, im not sure what engine the skyline has, it is a 01-02 model i think? So no bof and no exposed airfilter, bloody hell, there isnt much freedom when it comes to modifying cars these days is there?
Old 24-02-2007, 06:44 PM   #13

Originally Posted by Ford_Crazy
My cousin drives a nissan skyline (lame i know) the other day he was fined for having a k&n airfilter (unboxed) and a blow off valve. Is this right? He wasn't defected but just fined, what's the go with the law regarding these items? We are in Sydney so any advice would help.

Thanks
Of course we should ask what cousin was doing to attract the attention of Mr Plod that caused the under bonnet inspection.
Old 26-02-2007, 09:28 PM   #14
Ford_Crazy

Originally Posted by GasOLane
Of course we should ask what cousin was doing to attract the attention of Mr Plod that caused the under bonnet inspection.

The poor bloke went to the shops, jumped back into the car when he was done and the copper heard the blow off valve, he wasn't fined for reckless driving or riot and affray, mate. It was an ******** cop who was probably having a bad day and thought he would save the world by fining a guy whos car was too loud for his liking.
Old 24-02-2007, 06:57 PM   #15
T_Terror
The Guy You Love To Hate

Thats pretty unlucky.

I dont know in NSW but in Vic you are allwoed to have 1 intake mod so its either a pod filter or an intercooler but not both.

Tell your cousin to look into it cause heaps of people drive around with pod filters and while it may be a defect i dont think its a fineable offence.
T_Terror is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 25-02-2007, 12:31 AM   #16
xr6donut

hey guys,info,pics etc on fitting trans oil cooler to my ba mk2 xr6 auto.also looking for a xr8 hood in perth,thanks
xr6donut is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 25-02-2007, 01:01 AM   #17

Originally Posted by Ford_Crazy
Boys,

Thanks
Unboxed filters are illegal and a time waste , pop offs which vent to air are illegal , cop it .
Old 26-02-2007, 09:30 PM   #18
Ford_Crazy

Originally Posted by atec77
Unboxed filters are illegal and a time waste , pop offs which vent to air are illegal , cop it .
Lol?? I was just asking if it was right as I was not aware that it was illegal, gee what is with the attitude with some of you blokes? FFS.
Old 27-02-2007, 03:03 PM   #19
INDEEP
CHEV owner

Ford_Crazy, if you only take on one piece of advice from the users of this forum; please let it be mine. Have your cousin get onto Vic Roads (or whoever the governing body is in his state), and get the vehicle standards emailed/posted to him. Eliminates all confusion straight off the bat.

Let's face it, if 90% of forum users knew as much as they think they did, they probably wouldn't be on them in the first place... I signed up because I needed to find out something (not related to rego or vehicle standards however), and I'm sure many other users did as well...

Rus.
Old 25-02-2007, 01:24 AM   #20
Piotr
Non-Regular Member

Guys to clear the air only oiled exposed filters are illegal. As long as the filter isn't oiled its legal.
Air venting blow off valves are illegal.

You get defected because the cop thinks your car doesn't pass certain ADR's not because it 100% doesn't comply.
Piotr is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 25-02-2007, 12:25 PM   #21
Piotr
Non-Regular Member

A BOV is fitted for one reason and one reason only onto standard car. To reduce noise, becuase without own you get flutter noise.

F1 Cars never had BOV's
Indy Cars - No BOV
Le Mans petrol - No BOV
Piotr is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 25-02-2007, 05:02 PM   #22
Wally
XP Coupe

Originally Posted by Piotr
A BOV is fitted for one reason and one reason only onto standard car. To reduce noise, becuase without own you get flutter noise.

F1 Cars never had BOV's
Indy Cars - No BOV
Le Mans petrol - No BOV
If you are comfortable with that, then power to you.
Wally is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 25-02-2007, 05:22 PM   #23

F1 Cars never had BOV's
Indy Cars - No BOV
Le Mans petrol - No BOV
F1 cars dont have turbos so they probably dont need a BOV

As a matter of interest do cars, like Ford, Holden, Saab, have these things (BOV's) factory fitted.?
Old 25-02-2007, 05:23 PM   #24
brendo83

Talking

Originally Posted by GasOLane
F1 cars dont have turbos so they probably dont need a BOV
They used to in the 80's, hence "never had BOV's"
brendo83 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 25-02-2007, 07:10 PM   #25
kooky
WRX terrorist

F1 Cars never had BOV's
Indy Cars - No BOV
Le Mans petrol - No BOV
Ummm, I would have thought that with them junking the engines after each race it was probably weight and plumbing that was not needed, but I will leave you to have your opinion.
Old 25-02-2007, 06:58 PM   #26
GXL078

Is this type of "open" air filter illegal too? I had a cop look at it once and say "I don't think that air cleaner is legal". It is a genuine Ford air cleaner, lol.

http://gallery.fordforums.com//showp...sort/1/cat/500
GXL078 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 25-02-2007, 07:32 PM   #27
paulie0735

Originally Posted by xcgxl
Is this type of "open" air filter illegal too? I had a cop look at it once and say "I don't think that air cleaner is legal". It is a genuine Ford air cleaner, lol.

http://gallery.fordforums.com//showp...sort/1/cat/500
simple answer = yes it is ‘illegal‘. That’s not the original cleaner assembly so while its a nice shiny engine bay, I wouldn't be writing a RWC for it. It needs to be remembered that the air cleaner assembly is also engineered as a silencer to suppress induction noise and the car must meet certain ADR's pertaining to drive by noise levels. An open or pod filter has little silencing effect so would render the car un-roadworthy and or the mods could be deemed illegal if they interfere with the engines original emission control systems. Don’t ask your local coper, 99% of them don’t actually know the rules (nor do they need to) if they have doubt they will issue the cannery and than its up to you to prove that its legal...... nice car BTW
paulie0735 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 25-02-2007, 08:36 PM   #28
3vXT

Originally Posted by paulie0735
nice car BTW
yeah, looks tough.
3vXT is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 26-02-2007, 01:12 PM   #29
DivHunter

Originally Posted by paulie0735
Don’t ask your local coper, 99% of them don’t actually know the rules (nor do they need to) if they have doubt they will issue the cannery and than its up to you to prove that its legal...... nice car BTW
Agree with the 99% of the police don't have a clue but guilty until proven innocent? Isn't it supposed to be the other way around? You can also recieve fines, demerit points and be sent to the EPA on a hunch of someone in uniform who doesn't know what a turbo is let alone if a vehicle has one.
Speed cameras have changed the things we pay attention to and the things we regard as important. Instead of focusing on the dangers ahead, motorists feel that they have been relieved of responsibility for managing their own driving, and have ceded it instead to the mechanical intervention of the camera and other traffic signals.
DivHunter is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 25-02-2007, 07:26 PM   #30
Monkey
XM FALCON

like wally said
Atmos BOVs the noisy ones are rice on most cars and vent the metered air charge into the atmosphere. which the factory computer thinks is still being fed to the engine.
plumb back BOV's like factory recirculation valves return the intake charge back into the intake before the turbo keeping the precisely metered air charge correct.
Monkey is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post