Welcome to the Australian Ford Forums forum. You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and inserts advertising. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members, respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features without post based advertising banners. Registration is simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today! If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us. Please Note: All new registrations go through a manual approval queue to keep spammers out. This is checked twice each day so there will be a delay before your registration is activated. |
G'day All,
A few of us are slightly mechanically minded (just changed out self levelling suspension unit on 530i Wagon, and saved $1 -1.5k on dealer quote). The question is; can we service our late model Falcons? Are Workshop manuals readily available? Are many special tools required?
FG Falcon Ute Daily: E-Gas 4.0 I6, 3 seat 1 tonner, 2300kg Tow Pack, Carryboy, XR6 rims. 6 Stacker, Sat Nav, Reversing Camera, Sunnie Holder, XR dash & St Wheel - thanks Mr FPV! Jaguar XJ-S: Eaton S/C, I/Cooler, Haltech, DB7 rims, 1:15 Wakefield. Jaguar XJ6 Wife's daily :2006 Quartz Metallic, FORD Duratec 3.0 V6, ZF 6sp Previous relationships: FG GT, FG XR8 (+BA XT 5.4, BA AU, EF, EB, EA, EA & XF work cars) Jags XJ12 & XJ6, BMW E39 Wagon, BMW F11 M-Sport wagon, 20 of GMH FC-HQ |
you can do anything if you have enough money and determination
This user likes this post: |
#3 | ||
Servicing and replacing parts is the easy part, diagnosing electrical problems will be the big issue here unless you have access to a good scan tool.
Do Ford still do workshop manuals? AFAIK its all on computer now right? |
#4 | ||
Bugger! i knew there was a catch
![]() Good point - i shoulda been specific; FG W/Shop manuals anyone?
FG Falcon Ute Daily: E-Gas 4.0 I6, 3 seat 1 tonner, 2300kg Tow Pack, Carryboy, XR6 rims. 6 Stacker, Sat Nav, Reversing Camera, Sunnie Holder, XR dash & St Wheel - thanks Mr FPV! Jaguar XJ-S: Eaton S/C, I/Cooler, Haltech, DB7 rims, 1:15 Wakefield. Jaguar XJ6 Wife's daily :2006 Quartz Metallic, FORD Duratec 3.0 V6, ZF 6sp Previous relationships: FG GT, FG XR8 (+BA XT 5.4, BA AU, EF, EB, EA, EA & XF work cars) Jags XJ12 & XJ6, BMW E39 Wagon, BMW F11 M-Sport wagon, 20 of GMH FC-HQ |
#5 | ||
I dropped my car in for service yesterday. And a few hundred bucks is a little pricey for the oil change and check. But then they picked up a couple of "service campaign items which they are fixing at no cost as a prevent active measure. Items I wouldn't have even known to check.
My car has only a year to go on its warranty so I don't want to be a stranger to the local dealer just in case. I've had the TS serviced by by dealers most of its 13 years, and its never broken down. So that's worth something too. My 2c.
3 users like this post: |
#6 | ||
And this is why its best to use Ford Service, rather then do it your self.
#7 | ||
and Time. what's your time worth?
#8 | ||
your time becomes more precious as you near the end :(.
#9 | |||
Good point. By the way .. any body on here know what those "campaign items" might be?
#10 | ||
Skid Doerer
i have a 96 el fairmont which i bought in august 2006 with 230,000 k's on the clock, always changed the oil and filter myself and me and a mechanic mate did most of the other stuff and now it has 445,000 on the clock and still runs fine!
I bought an 08 G6E in april this year and took it for a service at Blacklocks ford wodonga. though it was a bit pricey $400 from memory it was a "b" service which costs more, im not sure if i want to service this one myself as it is out of warranty, and im worried i might break it lol |
#11 | ||
Basic servicing is easy. If i had the space and the tools I would do it myself and I would do it more often, but not having a big garage / workshop turns me off doing it, plus a way of getting rid of the old oil, its always messy stuff.
When I was a kid I always did the mid services at home myself, just oil & filter, always used genuine Ford parts so no one ever picked up on it. Now I just get my mechanic to do it, hes cheap! |
#12 | ||
Skid Doerer
a bloke at my work put the old oil into old oil bottles and puts them in the normal rubbish! tut tut tut
#13 | ||
#14 | ||
#15 | ||
Skid Doerer
No, i think not
#16 | ||
I had a good experience with the local ford dealers in Bathurst, Clancy Ford.
I do the basic service myself like oil & filters. when I went to top up the power steering fluid I found that the euro spec stuff for the Focus was something like $70 a bottle. I didnt want to fork out $70 for a little bit to top it up. So I asked them how much to just top it up thinking it may be cheaper to get them to do it than buy the bottle. They said that they could do it straight away & not worry about paying for it as it didnt need much. So for the pink slip I gave them the business & they found that there was a couple of recalls that the previous owner did nothing about (like rubbing brake lines that had nearly worn through by this stage). All of this was found & fixed up at the same price as alot of other mechanics charge just for the pink slip. So from now on I do the basic stuff to save some cash, but take it to the dealer when its rego time so they can make sure its all still ok. |
#17 | ||
There's pros and cons alright - especially the recall/service campaign stuff.
Mine's leased, but has just had it's last (105,000) fixed pricer. They found diff bushes, which got done fairly cheaply, but installed 'XR' mats over a dirty carpet, so probably just a Friday afternoon thing..... Probably helps the resale to say "Full Ford Service History", too.
#18 | |||
Mad Scientist!
Makes it heaps easier and environmentally friendly, for me, just to drop it off at this servo. |
#19 | |||
In the age of the internet it is hardly difficult for Ford to keep its customers directly informed, if it wanted to. |
Display Modes | |