Welcome to the Australian Ford Forums forum. You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and inserts advertising. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members, respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features without post based advertising banners. Registration is simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today! If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us. Please Note: All new registrations go through a manual approval queue to keep spammers out. This is checked twice each day so there will be a delay before your registration is activated. |
The Bar For non Automotive Related Chat |
ok where do i start...
JCU, ups the price of parking permits..fair enough no upgrades, no new parking areas, some you have to swim through mud and dirt to park and on top they make up an infringment and double the price WTF so heres my view.. the free parking...for those without permits is couple hundred metres away from the actual buildings....(fair distance away 400-600m???), the other free parking is ALWAYS full, the permit parking of lucky 10 parks is ALWAYS full, theres more staff parks then students in some areas. and trees take the rest the free or permit, which is no different to the terrain 4wd's use is ALWAYS full in the mornings and usually double parked too. 4 or 5 parks taken by trees. across the road is permit parking but FULL after 9.30ish theres parking on the grass beside the designated area (even mowed) but sign says no standing... thats the only bloody parks free but 'illegal' to use permits are $30+, wheres the ***** parks, then theres a list of infringments on the tickets, it says JCU-03C $25...where the fug is that on the list they just made it up.... should i fight this or just take it and park in ingham and walk to townsville?
My Cars: 2002 Ford Falcon AU S3 SR 2006 BF MKI Falcon XR6 2008 Mazda BT50 SDX 2004 BA XR8 ute 2006 AUDI A4 B7 2013 FG II XR6 Ute 2006 Ford Territory TX 2003 Ford Falcon XR8 2009 Territory Turbo Ghia Current: 2012 Audi A4 B8 2.0T Quattro |
heres the pic of the ticket
![]()
My Cars: 2002 Ford Falcon AU S3 SR 2006 BF MKI Falcon XR6 2008 Mazda BT50 SDX 2004 BA XR8 ute 2006 AUDI A4 B7 2013 FG II XR6 Ute 2006 Ford Territory TX 2003 Ford Falcon XR8 2009 Territory Turbo Ghia Current: 2012 Audi A4 B8 2.0T Quattro |
#3 | ||
*meh* its just a warning, no $$$ spent... so i dont really see what you've got to fight (unless you plan on doing it again and copping a penalty lol).
Get a permit or park somewhere else.... pretty straightforward. This is a dilemma faces by millions of australians. Some of us dont even have the option to park for free. For me - $10/day or catch a bus to work. There is a school of thought which suggests someone who isnt council doesnt have the legal authority to issue parking fines... could play that angle...
#4 | ||
LMAO! If someone stuck a dodgy piece of paper like that on my window, I'd just bin it. As if anyone would take that seriously
#5 | ||
![]() Join Date: Dec 2004
At least he know your car's a Series III... You never know, he might even be a forum member!
#6 | ||
haha my bad i cant read......still not happy that i would get a fine for parking in the only vacant bit of land on uni....
#7 | ||
He has, the Knack..
As 4.9 EF Futura said I would question their authority to hand out fines. And secondly uni's suck for parking. I was at Sydney last year, and parking was $6 a day, not too bad for all day parking in redfern/camperdown. Then with no real justification, they ramp the price up to $24 a day!
![]() ![]()
2010 BF MKIII Falcon wagon "EGO" Workhorse, stock as a rock 2004 BA MKI Futura - Now the wife's For Show: 18" Kaotic Shadow Chrome, King SL all round, Cadence Amp, Kenwood 12" Sub, JL Audio 5x7's, Scuff Plates, MP3 Connector For Go: SVI LPG, K&N Filter, F6 CAI, XR6T snorkle, XR8 catback, Magnaflow metal cat, Pacemaker headers, Underdrive, Thermostat, Custom tune, DBA4000 Now with baby seat and toys 175.6 rwkw www.bseries.com.au/King_Nothing |
#8 | |||
![]()
#9 | ||
At my uni they upped the parking permits from 80 to $280 this year. What a load of BS. One of my mates made a copy of his permit to use on his other car and they fined him $70 for it. As if they expect us to buy a permit for each car. He hasnt payed the fine yet and i dont think he will.
#10 | ||
Yeah mate you need to watch out as they can withhold your Results if you have unpaid parking fines.
I Know UWA in Perth do, as one of my mates found out the hard way LOL. |
#11 | ||
yeah i no it says that on the paper u sign for the permit.....its not the $30+ for the permit its that, they have so many permits yet so little parks.....its just to pay their frigin bills ARGHHHH
if i had known, i wouldnt have registed any of my car details with them and just park where i want.....no that wont work either....theyd tow it away oh well i just have to get there early and remember to park close to the other car not the width of a car apart so more cars can fit.......hmmm spray paint some parking bays tonight
#12 | ||
Weezland
Rack up heaps and ignore em,when we did the new terminals at Kingsford Smith,the FAC decided to start booking us half way through in this lane we always parked in,the signs were only on the other side of the street,I elected to take it to court but they just kept sending the fine,I ignored it and racked up more,after a while they stopped sending the fines...
The uni cant fine you... |
#13 | |||
#14 | ||
Proud Ford Owner
Dude legally you don't have to pay it, its private property and the council don't care they get more revenue from their parking infringements placed on you and your speeding fines etc... what ever so they don't care and man thats cheap i got stung $38 at some random uni i left my car parked in while i was at the pub drinking here in brissy. pfft haven't payed it 2 yrs down the track
#15 | ||
Why would you contest a warning?
#16 | |||
Weezland
#17 | ||
Its a warning..I would be checking the legal's of if they can enforce a fine and if they can legally withold your results.
Perhaps once you have checked and it swings in your favour..see the vice chancellor and suggest that if they were to withold your marks or try to fine you you will place the matter in the hands of your QC. Think of the bad publicity for the uni!!
#18 | |||
#19 | ||
That parking fine doesn't look like it has any legal backing. At my Uni, they have authorised parking fines though - the same type issued by the council.
#20 | ||
They can only hold grades if you do not pay your fees. That's like saying I can fine anyone who parks on my driveway. That dodgy piece of paper doesn't even have a reference number on it. How the hell does that have any legal merit?
I can tell them to **** off but I can't make them pay money/fine |
#21 | ||
Now XR8TickfordBoy
My uni hands out fines for parking without a permit, after parking was free prior to this year and permits are like 80 bucks. In TAFE people were getting fined for parking up the gutters on the lawn but someone found out that it was the TAFE's responsibility to provide sufficient parking spaces, the TAFE was no longer allowed to fine anyone and the flood gates opened everyone was on the lawn! You should enquire along those lines.
EF XR8- Respray in Monza Red with Clear Coat, Custom Rear Bar, AU V8, EL GT MAF, Rebuilt and Strengthened Auto with Stage 2 Shift Kit, 2,500RPM Stallie and tranny cooler, Rebuilt Diff with 4.11 Gears, Custom Radiator, King Ultra Lows, Pedders Shocks, NL Concorde Rims. |
#22 | ||
Our uni has free parking
![]()
#23 | ||
Tricolore Tard
For god's sake its a warning, you have nothing to pay and nothing to contest.
Get over it and move on. You knew you parked in the wrong area, simple buy a proper permit and park in the designated places. Take responsibility for your actions, instead of sooking how someone gave you a warning. Sheesh Chris
#24 | |||
Burnin Rubber
Pffft, If your a Monash Student,you can ignore their infringements. They cant do anything about it.
#25 | |||
#26 | ||
Allergic to the Dutch
I got a fine from the council for parking out the front of where I worked and I contested it.
Typical token appeals process same as speeding fines so I had to fork out $50, so I sent them a letter containing a rubber glove, a small satchel of 4 seasons lubricant, a cheque for $50 and a letter explaining exactly what they could do with it.
#27 | ||
64Mk1 Cortina
as far as i'm aware, if it is a private company that handles the parking, then if u don't purchase a parking ticket out of the machine u have not entered into a contract with the company so if they try to fine you they cant. a mate of mine racked up over $2k worth of fines with 'ParkSafe' and it was thrown out of court because he hadn't entered into a contract. ie purchased a ticket off them.
this however doesnot apply if u purchase a ticket and it expires..
#28 | ||
I'm just impressed by a uni student who cant spell, has poor grammar and cant even read the wording of a parking warning well enough to realise its not a fine!
Getting all hot and bothered about a little slip of paper that just says "no fine, but dont park here in future." I hope F-SR is not studying law or teaching! |
#29 | |||
#30 | ||
FTF Club Moderator
At Club Mac (ie Maquarie University) the people doing the fines are rangers, not uni staff. The fine you get there is the same fine as if you parked in a no parking area on the street, $77 fine. You can contest it but had to go to court and pay costs. But that in Maquarie Uni.
I wouldn't be worrying to much about your warning.
Albert Einstein: Es ist schwieriger, eine vorgefaßte Meinung zu zertrümmern als ein Atom. (It is more difficult to alter a preconception than split an atom) Falcon Tickford FPV (FTF) Car Club of NSW Fords in the Park 2010 I use and recommend Stingray Car Security. http://www.stingraycar.com.au/ |
Display Modes | |