Welcome to the Australian Ford Forums forum. You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and inserts advertising. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members, respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features without post based advertising banners. Registration is simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today! If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us. Please Note: All new registrations go through a manual approval queue to keep spammers out. This is checked twice each day so there will be a delay before your registration is activated. |
BUILT FORD TUFF
I hate too say it but having been on the Ford US web site it appears to me that they are getting Better cars than we do here. Have a look at the new Ford Explorer http://www.ford.com/suvs/explorer/tr...erior_Features
They are getting heaps more options than we get, Things like power tailgate, Dual panel sunroof, Heated and cooled front seats, heated rear seats, HID lights , My Sync, Sony sound system, Blind spot information system, adaptive cruise control, Rain sensing wipers, keyless start, Remote start which auto sets the temp inside so the car is cool or warm in winter or summer, park assist, Auto dimming rear view mirror, 110v power outlet, Power fold up 3rd row seats, rear climate control, 20" wheels and heaps more just have a look for yourself The Explorer is a much better car than the new Jeep Grand Cherokee and how much you ask $38,000 for the top of the range but you have to pay for some of the above options. It makes our Territory look very poor by comparision. I think its time Ford Aus started importing these Cars to give General motors and the rest a fair old hiding. I know a few that have brought the new jeep over the new Territory but hell i would buy and explorer over both. The new F150 Platnium is an awesome truck as well with V6 ECO Boost power for $45,000 fully optioned in a dual cab. Times are changing and we need to move with the times.
Its the way its always been.
but, when it comes to Ford, I really wouldn't want all those "features" as its just more to go wrong. |
#3 | ||
Have to admit that I agree. Ford US have a range to be envious about. Ford Fusion Hybrid and Taurus AWD are the picks for me. They have the range and features that we can only dream of. Their Market size is what makes it possible. Economies of scale...
Last edited by BDA074; 13-12-2011 at 11:22 PM. Reason: Grammar |
#4 | |||
#5 | |||
Also if anyone thinks they would get American pricing on their vehicles here they would be very disappointed.
#6 | ||
![]() ![]() Join Date: Feb 2005
Plus the US market is much larger than our own little one ... so they have more R&D to throw at their vehicles compared to what we have hear.
as VZTRT mentioned ... US pricing of vehicles over there makes our vehicles look so over-priced for what you get.
The Current Stable 2016 SZII TS Territory RWD Petrol The Evolution of the EGA54D utes AU Workshop Build thread of EGA54D B-Series Workshop Build thread of EGA54D 2004 SX TX Territory AWD - Gone but not forgotten 2010 FG XT "The ex-rental" - Moved onto a new home Mechan1k's Flickr Page |
#7 | ||
eaturbo..my cousin in Canada has the new Explorer LTD and its a ripper!!! When I was there in October ,I was amazed at how far advanced it is over Holden and Ford cars, here. It shouldn't be too hard too add some of the features to our Territory. Even the Fiesta/Focus/Mondeo have features that our Falcon and Territory should have.
#8 | ||
I am over in the USA at the moment USA and must say I have been quite impressed with what I have seen from Ford. No, I haven't actually driven any US Fords, but they do have a great looking range.
The Explorer and the Edge SUVs look great as does the Fusion sedan. Even the much maligned (in Australia) Taurus really looks the goods. Te there are the monsters - the F150/250/350/450 range and the massive Expedition SUV. Even these big beasts have grown on me. Focus is everywhere, though I think I've only seen sedans. What seems to be missing over here is a toddler - a Fiesta type car, though I may just have missed seeing one. |
#9 | |||
I think some people need to understand economies of scale. The population of Australia is around 22-24million. I believe there are two or possibly more cities in America with a population of around that. City. Just a city. Not even the whole state. So really, when you think about it, we have it pretty damn good here. The fact our little country has even the range of cars that we get, is pretty amazing.
#10 | ||
What is interesting is to see the level of quality in Ford's US vehicles and see them having applications in our market .
What is not so pleasing is knowing full well that by the time they get here, you can add at least 50% to the US sticker price.. A lot of prices on Ford UK site align with Aussie pricing, one anomaly is the Titanium Mondeo for 21,000 pounds which would make it approx $35,000 landed here instead of Ford's price gouging $47,000 - makes you think hey..... |
#11 | |||
#12 | |||
I'd be far more impressed if they were mass producing cheap alternative energy vehicles with driving ranges and "refueling"(?) times similar to petrol-powered ones. [ Oh .. don't mistake me for being anti-American; I own two American Motors Corporation Javelins and a Plymouth Fury convertible .. two dead American manufacturers ] |
#13 | ||
From the Futura
To sell them here they need a RHD version. The conversion would be expensive.
#14 | |||
#15 | |||
#16 | ||
I visit family in the US every year and hire a mustang every year, the Fords there are a great range, the Stang has some great performance options and tech that FPV needs. Having said that, the Stang for example is full of plastic inside and is not quite as refined as a XR6 Turbo. The rest of the range you could probably compare to what Mazda or Hyundai offers in Australia.
All that aside, I don't see why Ford Aus can't have access to tech and parts out of the US and design the Falcon to suit. The Falcon center console could be replaced with the Mustang console for example and the dash. I still love getting back into a Falcon after spending 4 weeks in a Stang, although I could very easily live with a Boss Stang in Aus....hint hint Ford!!!!
#17 | ||
falcon convert..the Fiesta is in America..I saw a few when there in sept/oct.
Pricing is about $5k LESS than here....
#18 | ||
Ford Australia has had to compete with twice the amount of competition from the flood of imports and probably on a lesser budget, so it`s not a level playing field.
#19 | |||
#20 | |||
The BEST Falcon is the AU
#21 | ||
I think "One Ford" will really really help in this regards & bring our local products up to US & Europe spec Fords...
#22 | ||
Moving to global platforms and rationalising the overall number of platforms will mean that there will be more money to go around for product development. However this stuff takes time, it's no good saying "Ford should do this/import that" when products like the FG/E8 are half way through the lifecycle - they can't click the fingers and suddenly make things appear.
#23 | |||
BA2 XR8 Rapid M6 Ute - Lid - Tint -18s 226.8rwkW@178kmh/537Nm@140kmh 1/9/2013 14.2@163kmh 23/10/2013 Boss349 built. Not yet run. Waiting on a shell. Retrotech thread http://www.fordforums.com.au/showthr...1363569&page=6 |
#24 | |||
BA2 XR8 Rapid M6 Ute - Lid - Tint -18s 226.8rwkW@178kmh/537Nm@140kmh 1/9/2013 14.2@163kmh 23/10/2013 Boss349 built. Not yet run. Waiting on a shell. Retrotech thread http://www.fordforums.com.au/showthr...1363569&page=6 |
#25 | |||
#26 | |||
BUILT FORD TUFF
#27 | ||
You make it sound like Ford is offering a state service...
#28 | |||
Its good business sense, nothing more, nothing less.
#29 | ||
Ford US is now making motors that outlast the I6?
I don't think so tim.
#30 | |||
67 Galaxie Hardtop
And no, we don't want people driving around with LHD cars ![]() |