Welcome to the Australian Ford Forums forum. You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and inserts advertising. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members, respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features without post based advertising banners. Registration is simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today! If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us. Please Note: All new registrations go through a manual approval queue to keep spammers out. This is checked twice each day so there will be a delay before your registration is activated. |
#31 | |||
#32 | |||
![]() Join Date: Aug 2006
![]() Real estate is not an issue in this coupe.... |
#33 | |||
#34 | ||
![]() Join Date: Jan 2005
Just to add. I have only had my little Alfa for 4 months now. Not on the road yet but I got a temp reg to get soem work done to it.
Anyway, I have not smiled so hard just driving in ages. Everyone gives the thumbs up and you really feel the connection with the car and road. Its something that modern cars have no clue about, which you can argue is good, but for learners Ill argue that its something you should understand. "Driving" is just to easy now, hence IMO why we have so many issues. Damo you need to come to an AFF meet and go cruising. I had an EL Ghia too once, really really nice car but still very modern.
#35 | |||
just like the best washing machine, Tele, fridge from 40 years ago - all crap when compared with modern equipment |
#36 | |||
i like to drive buddy.. steering wheel attendant not for me...... |
#37 | |||
I like to drive too . I've had historic open wheeler race cars, old Fiats, old Alfas etc etc but my best daily was my Range Rover. High seating with front armrests, auto, cruise, sunroof and easy power steering. Even my BMW 3 series convertible was a pain as a daily compared to the Rangie |
#38 | |||
I wouldn't mind a classic car, but i'd do it "pro-street" style, old body, modern everything else, digital guages, power steering, 4 wheel power assisted discs, EFI engine etc. While I'm at it: http://www.efisupply.com/fast_ez_efi.htm Has had me interested for a while when I first come across it, would be a good addition to cars with old V8s like Clevos etc, its a basic center point injection style system though. |
#39 | |||
Dont go & ruin the experience mate. Analog, carburetted & man-steering. Be the envy of yuppies everywhere ![]() You wont regret it. |
#40 | ||
My daily driver is an xb ute. It has a full GS interior, power steering, 5 speed gearbox and a 250 2V. I drive it anywhere and everywhere. I prefer to drive it than a lot of new cars. For the last fortnight ive had to drive to Toowoomba and back each day for tafe, about 40 kays each way. The fuel economy was actually pretty good. The only things about it which were annoying was the fact that it isnt a auto, which would have been great for heavy traffic, and the exhaust scrapes on speed bumps. Apart from that, its great.
#41 | |||
#42 | ||
Ok so these are currently in the US but seriously, for the price of a mid sizer you could have...
http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/1970-...6e8ff6b2#v4-38 http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/1972-...#ht_894wt_1064 http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/PANTH...t_25300wt_1002 http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/440-S...#ht_814wt_1064 How much? http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/1973-...#ht_758wt_1064 Sure in the cbd maybe not a flash idea. Give a greeny the bird while you cruise past in one of those babies!
#43 | |||
the $$ is still reaonably strong, standard cars arnt overly difficult to get import approval for and try getting a roughy of this type of stature over here for that sort of money
#44 | |||
#45 | ||
Ploppy pants
My old Landau used to be a daily. Drove it anywhere and everywhere.
#46 | ||
The Daily Driver : '98 EL Falcon, 5 Speed , 3.45 lsd The Week End Bruiser : FPV BF GT 40th Anniversary, 6 Speed Manual, 6/4 Brembo and lots of Herrod goodies Project 1 : '75 XB GS 351 Ute, Toploader, 9" with 3.5's Project 2 : '74 XB GS Big Block Coupe, Toploader, 9" with 4.11's In Storage : '74 XB GS 351 Fairmont Sedan XB Falcon Owners Group Mike's Man Cave |
#47 | |||
#48 | ||
I'd have no dramas driving an XF as a daily.
My first car was an XF ute on LPG back in 2004. No air con, no rear demister, no power steering, and 3 on the tree! Served me extremely well for the 4 years and over 100000km of driving I did in here. Yeah the car was using a bit of oil and coolant at the end of my reign of driving here, but so long as I had cash in the pocket to fill her with LPG, and a bottle of water & oil on hand, I'd wouldn't give it a second thought of jumping in her and driving 1000km+, whether it be in the freezing cold or 40c. Curious fact: I did a quick rego check to see if the old girl is still running, and what do you know, she registered until 2013! I left here with 517000km on the clock back in the end of 08....wonder how many kays she's done now... |
#49 | |||
#50 | |||
#51 | ||||
![]() And here is the kicker, could you argue by not buying a new car that you are saving the earth materials? One less order? These cars are already here. Recycling maaaaan ![]() Also from a personal POV Id wager you would be making money on these things, not ****ing it into the wind with new car depreciation. (or atleast break even) Quote:
#52 | |||
#53 | |||
#54 | |||
The zh had been sitting for 10 years but was in good condition. I spent about $5k getting it to a roadworthy condition. Brakes, suspension and powersteering the main things. The things that let me down were things like rubber hoses, brass heater ends, overheating in heavy traffic, trouble restarting it when hot, wiring on the lpg system working it's way loose and the ac not working in summer. Had to be a bit careful when I drove it, had to avoid peak hour where possible. Parking wasn't too bad. Got a lot of comments from people who loved these old cars. On the highway driving from Sydney to melbourne it was a dream and pretty comfortable. Because I tended to fix things as they went wrong it did feel a bit unreliable. I should have gone right through it from the start, get the mechanicals in tip top shape, replaced things like hoses, and addressed the overheating issue and it would have been right. A lot of the things that went wrong were things that weren't factory on the zh, lpg system, alarm system etc. Good thing with these classics is you can fix most issue yourself with a decent toolkit. Finding a decent mechanic who can work on them and not charge the earth is an issue in Sydney. Definitely do it, just do all the preventative maintenance to get it reliable from the start. Cheers Clinton |
#55 | |||
BTW shovels are still used.
#56 | |||
Ron Wicks is good no question but theres cheaper options
#57 | |||
In reply to PB who, as opposed to some of the dreamers in this thread, actually HAS driven these cars as daily drivers, the world changes and technology advances. I was using a metaphor with which he was familiar. While classic cars can be fun they are more dangerous to both passengers and other road users use more resourses and are a finite quantity. |
#58 | ||||
and who needs power steering i dont have it i hate it unless parking and i only steer with 1 hand as the other is working the brakes and accelerator it just means you got to learn to drive not just screw the steering on the spot like most do Quote:
#59 | |||
Dreamers, do you go out of your way to offend people? Many in this thread have and are driving older cars. More dangerous and use more resources? That sounds like a paragraph Mr Harold Scruby and Sen Bob Green would conger up. Would the CO2 difference really outweigh the environmental costs of a new car being manufactured? I dont think either of us would know the real answer but the fact that the car was already built, has been used by previous owners etc would surely make up for it. Classics as dailies can be done, it all depends on the type of commute you have. In saying that up your way I wouldnt be over fond of doing big drives during the wet season, other than that no worries. Would make the Peak Downs hwy alot more enjoyable.
#60 | |||
![]() Join Date: Mar 2005
![]()