Welcome to the Australian Ford Forums forum. You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and inserts advertising. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members, respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features without post based advertising banners. Registration is simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today! If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us. Please Note: All new registrations go through a manual approval queue to keep spammers out. This is checked twice each day so there will be a delay before your registration is activated. |
View Poll Results: Best Sounding Injected V8 | |||
BOSS 5.4L |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
215 | 37.13% |
Ford 5.0L |
202 | 34.89% |
LS1 5.7L |
25 | 4.32% |
Holden 5.0L |
120 | 20.73% |
LS2 6.0L |
17 | 2.94% |
Voters: 579. You may not vote on this poll |
#31 | ||
bring it on
out of the engines int he poll i would have to say the 5.4 sounds bloody good followed by the Holden 5.0
#32 | |||
![]() Join Date: Jan 2005
I dont know, most of the holden 5.0's I hear or a bit boganish. The BOSS is horn, and a LS1 I have never heard with an exhaust (or atleast noticed). I had a statesman for a week and that was definatley nothing special in stock form.
#33 | ||
meow
i voted 5.0 litre ford... tho im biased
the early sounding 5.0 commies sound very nice, and i know of a few 253's that sound sweet but they're carbied... |
#34 | ||
BOSS is nice, i really like the GenIII, just has a great sound to it on acceleration. Havent heard an LS2 yet. Windsors are fantastic with the right set of pipes.
#35 | ||
Rocket Fuel Anyone?
I can't make up my mind between the 304ci and the 5.4L BOSS.
Here's a sample of the VR clubby I owned. Standard HSV extractors/exhaust minus rear muffler. HERE! And here is a sample of Brad's (XR8888) BA MkII XR8. DiFillipo extractors, dual 3" DiFillipo exhaust HERE! I reckon the clubby sounds a bit more raw, which is gooood! ![]() On the other hand, I love the muffled sound of brad's car. Cheers, Paul Last edited by Olympus; 01-04-2005 at 01:49 PM. |
#36 | ||
Rockett AU
I have a EF 5.0L and it has a full lukey 2.5inch stainless exhaust. And believe me, the sound out of my car is a beautiful sound. A majestic grumble. But my uncle used to own a series 3 AU XR8 Ute and he had a herrods 3.0inch stianless system fitted and this whopped my car, the sound out of that thing was unspeakable.....A FULL GROWL.
I like looking up sound files for V8's on the net, AC Cobras and other old carby V8's, and also newer engines....LS1, LS2, Boss, bring it on. Anyone want ot hear the best sound, go to the Herrods website and look up their QUAD FULL STAINLESS EXHAUST SYSTEM FOR BA XR8's, GT's & GT-P's, they have a sound file with it compared to a stock system..........Tell me what yous think. HOW SWEET IT IS |
#37 | ||
......Ford........
What about the 5.6 Windsor T3 ?
I love the sound of these, thats a reason why I bought mine. Sounds like old school V8 with a rock and rumble at idle. ![]()
T3 TE50 # P01 ![]() FG 315 Pursuit ute....#20 "Green is Nice" ![]() |
#38 | ||
ED Fairmont 4.0L
The good ole 5.0L Windsor V8 - sounds so good that for the 5.4L Boss Ford kept the same firing order to keep the sound as close as possible to the 5.0LW engine.
#39 | ||
![]() Join Date: Dec 2004
It was a toss up between the Ford and the Holden 5.0l, the rest are not even close.
In the end I chose the Ford based purely on Bludrivers AU, that thing is pure music.
#40 | |||
Boss 290 BA GT Goodness
Sorry guys, I thought we were talking factory exhaust. With that in mind I voted the LS1 5.7L, believe it or not.
As for the 5.0L Ford getting the most votes....I have one, and once you put a 3" single system (full length) and Pacemaker Competition extractors on they sound bloody fantastic, but that factory exhaust bites the big one.
#41 | ||
Definitely the Holden 5.0L, that tuned right is TOUGH! Gotta love the 5.0L Windsors too...
#42 | ||
turboute
Hmm no BMW, Toyota, Nissan Merc etc. options, bugger...
Out of that lot I dont really care for their sound, would rather hear something that can revv a bit more... |
#43 | ||
well if other options were there....
Merc SLR/SL55 supercharged 5.5 easly the best sounding engines arround followed by Audi A8 twin turbo
#44 | ||
Bear with a sore head
Anyone who's driven/owned a BOSS would know how nice they sound from behind the wheel. I reckon they sound better than a windsor inside the car, but windors sound better outside the car (if that makes sense). Unbiasedly I think LS1's stock sound sh*t. I've been in motomk's car and it definatly was the best sounding LS1, but I don't think it sounds as good as some 5.0L windsors or BOSS' I've heard with exhausts. As for the Holden 5 litre, most of them I hear sound like they were ripped out of a B&S ute. Havn't heard an LS2 either so I can't comment. What I have heard from o few people however, is that they sound better stock than an LS1. Not that it would be to hard to sound better than a stock LS1.
For the poll I chose the windsor by a bees dick over the BOSS. Holden motors don't come close IMO. |
#45 | |||
Paul that clubby certainly does sound raw! Music! You can tell how much faster Brads gets up in the revs and sounds brilliant too |
#46 | |||
Sorry
Carnt go past the minginator! But im biased of course!
#47 | ||
Had to go for the holden 304. A well worked windsor can sound pretty mad too. Then i'd go the boss then LS1. Havn't heard any LS2's spanking it.
If there was a 1UZ-FE (toyota V8) in there (with exhaust and manual or kitted auto. i.e. not a stock soarer/lexus) it'd be in the running for a win. Sounds really crisp. HERE'S a not-so-special example of the 1UZ-FE. There are better out there. -Stu ![]() Last edited by dogbreath_48; 01-04-2005 at 05:39 PM. |
#48 | ||
If we're talking factory exhaust the 304 wins hands down. They sound great at idle and all through the rev range.
But I still love the sound of an LS1 with decent exhaust at full throttle. Nothing comes close to a lumpy as hell Clevo with twin 2.5 exhaust! |
#49 | ||
Cruisin' When-ever I Can!
Sorry guys but im a sucker for the ol 304 v8 in the VN.
My aunt has a Black 5.0 VN Calais and it owns... :P Best distinctive sound ive heard.
#50 | ||
BOSS 5.4s with a catback or better are the first EFI V8's in years, from both camps, that dont sound like Dysons. :the_finge
#51 | |||
Well Guys I voted for the 5ltr ford, but I think T3 sound the best in stock form.
Haven't gone much on the 5.4, we don't seem to be able to get the same type of growl that the U.S guys makes for their mussies, the standard SVT cobra R SOUNDS AWESOME!!!
#52 | |||
Bear with a sore head
#53 | ||
The LS2 sounds fantastic, albeit with a factory exhaust, and about 50 clicks on it. Some customer of ours has a LS2 GTO, very fuggin nice.
Personal choice, Windsor V8. Followed by the Holden 5.0l.
#54 | ||
Fairmont Ghia
I have no idea what V8 is in one of those BMW X5 Urban Assault Vehicles, but the one that passed me today just sounded sweet as, I was expecting to turn around and see a classic and only saw plastic, but how!!
I was impressed. Tim |
#55 | ||
Well Im surprised to see so many Fordnatics liking the Holden 5.0L I thought I would be one of few and even more putting them a head of the newer V8s.
#56 | |||
#57 | ||
whats this, steffo not sure on his numbers....??? you feeling unwell mate :nutsycuck
#58 | |||
Detroit Locker Equiped TM
Have to say some injected V8s sound great and some sound some what average. The Injected Holden V8 sounds great witha nice set of pipes and mufflers. Then there are the standard LS1 Holdens.............
As for the Ford Injected V8s, I must say I was impressed with Laminges old Phantom XR8 with Herrod Pipes. It sounded like a reasonably standard Hydraulic Cammed 2V 351 Cleveland at idle! Loved it! Also having driven XA Coupes XR8, while it is very quite, the note is actaully quite good. It sounds like a nice V8 gong hard, but with the low Db, it sounds like a V8 going hard, somewhere over there in the distance. Bloody Noise Regulations!
#59 | ||
Awh...the BOSS is catching up.
Last edited by xr8gn3; 01-04-2005 at 09:10 PM. |
#60 | ||