Welcome to the Australian Ford Forums forum. You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and inserts advertising. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members, respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features without post based advertising banners. Registration is simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today! If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us. Please Note: All new registrations go through a manual approval queue to keep spammers out. This is checked twice each day so there will be a delay before your registration is activated. |
#61 | ||
![]() ![]() Join Date: Feb 2005
I'd love one of the old 560SECs .... very nice vehicle ... and still looks expensive/classy.
I do have a soft spot for a BMW 635CSi though ... one of the later ones that came out with Projector headlights. Electrics wouldn't probably by dodgy ... and finding a manual on carsales was not easy. JPS 635 ... droooooooool ![]()
The Current Stable 2016 SZII TS Territory RWD Petrol The Evolution of the EGA54D utes AU Workshop Build thread of EGA54D B-Series Workshop Build thread of EGA54D 2004 SX TX Territory AWD - Gone but not forgotten 2010 FG XT "The ex-rental" - Moved onto a new home Mechan1k's Flickr Page |
#62 | |||
#63 | |||
Perspective.
Regards Bobby Current Cars: 2000 AU2 Fairmont (2019-current) 2003 BA1 Falcon Divvy Van (2017-current) 2009 VW Mk6 Golf 118TSi (2020-current) Previous Cars: 2003 MCX10R Avalon VXi (2017-2020) 1995 EF1 Falcon GLi (2016-2019) 1997 XH2 Falcon Van OPT20 (2016-2019) 2006 BF Fairlane Ghia (2013-2018) 2001 AU3 Futura (2010-2013) 1996 EL Fairmont (2008-2010) 2004 BA XR6 (2005-2008) 2001 AU2 Forte (2005-2006) 1988 EA Fairmont Ghia (2003-2005) 1984 AR Telstar TX5 Ghia (2001-2005) |
#64 | ||
The BEST Falcon is the AU
yes the porsche 911 964 Turbo 3.6 in badboys is so uncool
![]() ![]() comon who wouldnt want the car will smith drives ![]() |
#65 | ||
A car from europe that really stands out for me though is the Jaguar E-Type Convertible
#66 | |||
560SEC is a modern classic, still to this day a special car, looked better than anything Mercedes produced in the early/mid90's (when all Mercs became boxes), almost everyone here has had good things to say about the pic I posted of the car. You're still wrong, wrong, wrong.. |
#67 | |||
What makes you think a doctor is on a level above anyone else?....Just because he is a doctor?. There's good and bad in every profession mate - even yours. I also don't believe you can judge a persons values by the type of car he drives either. You'll probably find the guy with the older Merc was an enthusiast who happens to know a lot more about the brand than the doctor who probably drives a Merc because he can afford it and otherwise has no interest in cars.
2005 BA MK2 FPV GT - 6 SPEED MANUAL , SILHOUETTE, SWISSVAX, SUNROOF, BILSTEIN AND LOVELLS, FACTORY GENUINE 19'S, X-FORCE STAINLESS QUAD CATBACK, ADVANCE HEADERS, 200 CPSI CATS, BLUEPOWER CAI, HERROD BREATHER KIT, 4:11 DIFF RATIO, MAL WOOD OPT 3+ CLUTCH, BILLET SHIFTER, MELLINGS 10227, NOW WITH REVERSE CAMERA/SENSORS, ALPINE SPEAKERS & SUB - CUSTOM TUNED TO 275 RWKW NOW WITH A NEW ADDITION - 2017 MUSTANG V8 GT FASTBACK - , 6 SPEED AUTO IN PLATINUM WHITE, |
#68 | ||||
#69 | ||
I'm happy to be "lame" in my 10yr old Porsche. I bought the car a few years ago for performance not pose. Maybe that's the difference between auto fashionistas and auto enthusiasts.
#70 | ||
G'day Gents,
My Brother has a 1986 XJ6, it was his first car at 17, he drove it all through uni and never got anything other than positive comments. It cost $70k new in 1986, cost him $13k. Drives very nicely. Cheers Stewart
1930 Dodge Roadster 220 Straight Eight 3 Speed Crash box - Project 1974 Ford Transit 115 Bus 250 Six, Turbo 700 - Polar White 1974 XB GT 351 CHI 2V Cleveland, Tremec TKO - Polar White 1985 Porsche 911 Carrera 3.2 Coupe - Iris Blue 1989 Suzuki GSX-R 750 2007 Toyota Land Cruiser Prado -4.0L V6 Manual JTG Liquid LPG Injected |
#71 | |||
Yeah baby. To this day, it's the only (affordable) Merc I'd be seen in. If I could get one today, I would. They are totally cool. I think, with the exception of the very high end Mercs & BMWs, that the Germans are taking the **** with their current designs, seeing how ugly they have to make their cars before the brand snobs stop buying them. Case in point - the current CLK that looks like a squashed AU Falcon, and the Porsche Cayenne. They both make my eyes bleed from theri horridness. Worse than Susan Boyle does. Not sure if they are as cool as XB Coupes, but one day I'll have both and do a roadside stare test. Suspect the XB will win that though, but probably more because of the colour and offensive V8 burble.
#72 | ||
A ten year old car isn't really that old, isn't the average age of the Aussie car 11 years old?
But it's all open to opinion, I copped heaps of crap from mates when I was drving my e46 330Ci, most didn't realise it was a 2001 built car as the shape didn't change for many years and they also didn't realise some of their cars were far more expensive, slightly newer but with significantly less gadgets and safety items.
#73 | ||
Petro-sexual
Car 'love' is tough thing to describe to anyone that doesnt share your exact view. But then everyone doesnt get married to the same person either do they.
I still look at old photos of my XF and it still stirs something inside me. Do I think people should look at me differently because my current car was worth ~$50k in 1997? (equivalent of $67k today) Hell no. Do I enjoy driving my car, and do I tend to look back at it nearly everytime I walk away from it? Definitely. Do I feel the same passion for a current model Falcon worth $67k? no. It's a totally irrational response, but the only person that needs to care is you. In response to your doctor vs enthusiast conversation. I bet there's a high chance the guy with the old box drove off laughing at how much the doctor didnt know about his 'social status symbol'. |
#74 | |||
you must be a lower standard of person to the average FG owner. ![]() fully aware of just how non-stock it is
#75 | ||
a ten year old car with this logo un cool??
![]()
#76 | |||
Petro-sexual
Anyone that thinks they are above anyone else due to the price tag of the car they drive is a down right flog no matter the age of their car. A lot of this doesnt directly carry over to the general public anyway, as car enthusiasts see things very differently. |
#77 | |||
So do I and the same thing happens... Ahhh, the good ol days! Can't wait for the current crop of C63's to become a little more affordable ![]()
#78 | ||
HULK, if someone says M5 this is what I think of.
![]() Probably doesn't make me very cool but I'd love one of these things. And I'll join MAD and TZENU in missing my old XF. ![]() |
#79 | ||
I think ignorance plays a massive part when it comes to appreciating another person's car for what it is, not the price tag or badge.
"Everybody was KungFu fighting..." 2022 Mazda CX5 GTSP Turbo 2024 Ford Everest Trend 1967 Ford XR FALCON 500 Cars previously owned: 2018 Hyundai Santa Fe Highlander 2021 Subaru Outback Sport 2018 Subaru XV-S 2012 Subaru Forester X 2007 Subaru Liberty GT 2001 AU2 75th Anniversary Futura 2001 Subaru GX wagon 1991 EB XR8 1977 XC Fairmont 1990 EA S Pak 1984 XE S Pak 1982 ZJ Fairlane 1983 XE Fairmont 1989 EA Falcon 1984 Datsun Bluebird Wagon 1975 Honda Civic |
#80 | |||
I love Old mercs, especially a 60's 600.
#81 | ||
I own a used ford and some may say I'm no better than an old merc driver. But I can confidently say that my car is one of the best cars available for sale in that price range. You can't say that about many of the old mercs or bmws (mainly due to extortionate imminant repair costs). People who buy these cars could have bought a new ford/holden/toyota with good warranty and good cars. But they are trying to buy a brand to be better than they are. Essentially trying on a shoe that doesn't really fit properly.
The doctor in my example was talking about a relevant modern machine, out of the grasps of many (untill its 10 yrs old). But the other guy tried to talk like he was on equal standing with the doctor and above other people who had a comparably valued but much newer ford/holden/toyota etc. For the amount of money I want to spend ill always buy the best car available to meet my needs. But others buy to get maximum show off for their buck. Ie buy a old merc instead of new ford or buy a clapped out xr6t instead of a mint xt |
#82 | ||||
#83 | |||
![]() Join Date: Jul 2005
This trolling is below par. |
#84 | |||||
Petro-sexual
How do you know that every older bmw/merc owner is doing it for status? Maybe they dont want to drive around in a boring house appliance of a car. Quote:
How does being a doctor change the level at which the conversation must occur? If they were both merc enthusiasts, having a conversation about mercedes young and old, I dare say they would have been on the same level as each other, and everyone that wasnt a merc enthusiast wouldn't have had a clue what they were on about. The only ones that would feel that they were conversing on a 'higher' level would be the insecure ones that felt left out. Quote:
![]() Wendy down the street who needs a new car and buys a 1998 toyota camry, is obviously doing it just to show off. Last edited by MAD; 26-08-2011 at 01:02 PM. |
|||||
#85 | ||||
![]() Join Date: Jan 2005
repeat after me. "Calm blue ocean"
#86 | |||
![]() ![]() Join Date: Jan 2005
#87 | ||
Petro-sexual
Let's have alittle recap here...
The thread title is "are old cars cool", then at the end of the OP he asks, "are these people better" Old Falcons are awesome, but it's only old blokes reliving the early years. There's an argument in there somewhere about warranty and cost of repairs. Then there's a claim his car is the best out there. Hulk's got it all wrong, he thinks a car makes the person. And sounds like he is trying to get himself some internet rep points to prove to his mates that drive older cars that he is better than them. But it's totally opposite to the truth. It's the person that makes the car. Not in the sense that a delightful person makes a bad car good, but in the sense that if the person driving it likes it, then it's a good car. The big question, to you Hulk, is.... Do you think the doctor is better because he is driving a new Mercedes? And, do you think the other guy is beneath the doctor for driving an old one? |
#88 | ||
I think that was obvious given he laughed at the guy in the older one.
#89 | ||
Hulk - Looking at your ramblings in this thread it is clear you're suffering from an inferiority complex and maybe a tad of tall poppy syndrome . This, along with your thread on "looking after your pride and joy" in which you declare that you would (and in fact have) replaced ALL 4 wheels on your car if you happen to scratch one of them also suggests you suffer from Obsessive Compulsive Disorder. Get some help !
2005 BA MK2 FPV GT - 6 SPEED MANUAL , SILHOUETTE, SWISSVAX, SUNROOF, BILSTEIN AND LOVELLS, FACTORY GENUINE 19'S, X-FORCE STAINLESS QUAD CATBACK, ADVANCE HEADERS, 200 CPSI CATS, BLUEPOWER CAI, HERROD BREATHER KIT, 4:11 DIFF RATIO, MAL WOOD OPT 3+ CLUTCH, BILLET SHIFTER, MELLINGS 10227, NOW WITH REVERSE CAMERA/SENSORS, ALPINE SPEAKERS & SUB - CUSTOM TUNED TO 275 RWKW NOW WITH A NEW ADDITION - 2017 MUSTANG V8 GT FASTBACK - , 6 SPEED AUTO IN PLATINUM WHITE, |
#90 | |||
Now tell me I am not cool if I rocked up in this............
![]()