Welcome to the Australian Ford Forums forum. You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and inserts advertising. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members, respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features without post based advertising banners. Registration is simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today! If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us. Please Note: All new registrations go through a manual approval queue to keep spammers out. This is checked twice each day so there will be a delay before your registration is activated. |
View Poll Results: Should these things be allowed in built up areas, such as cities & suburbs? | |||
Yes. |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
57 | 32.95% |
No. |
68 | 39.31% |
If prime movers, tractors, etc. are allowed, so can these. |
25 | 14.45% |
Suburbs only. |
3 | 1.73% |
Who cares. |
20 | 11.56% |
Voters: 173. You may not vote on this poll |
#91 | |||
1966 Ford Mustang coupe. 347 stroker, PA reverse manual C4, TCE high stall converter, B&M Pro Ratchet, Edelbrock alum heads, Edelbrock intake manifold, MSD ignition, Holley Street HP 750 CFM carb, gilmer drive, wrapped Hooker Super Comp Headers, dual 3" straight through exhaust, Bilstein shocks, custom springs, full poly suspension, American Racing rims, Open Tracker roller spring saddles and shelby drop. Still to go - Holley Sniper EFI with integrated fuel cell. |
#92 | |||
V8 Rock'n'Roll....
Location: You got me Rootin' like a Hog, Barkin' like a Dog, Climbing trees and Jumping logs....
The crash incombatibility of differing vehicles will always be an issue unless every vehicle on the road were exactly the same (including how their maintained). This will never happen. My Falcon would punch a sizeable hole through any car in a side impact at speeds over 50 km/h. Should it be banned? I should add here that I have no problems with 4x4's (legally modified or stock).
1 owner 03 BA XR8 Manual Sedan 208.8 rwkw stock, update soon 20x8.5 fr 20x10 rr Rumble thanks to: Sureflo Exhaust - Stainless Cat's & 3.5in single catback system "Tell 'em the guy with the Blue Mohawk sent Ya" |
#93 | |||
![]() ![]() Join Date: Feb 2005
But as I mentioned before ... someone can have a tiny box trailer ... and still can handle that. Not really a new licence ... but definitely extra training is needed.
The Current Stable 2016 SZII TS Territory RWD Petrol The Evolution of the EGA54D utes AU Workshop Build thread of EGA54D B-Series Workshop Build thread of EGA54D 2004 SX TX Territory AWD - Gone but not forgotten 2010 FG XT "The ex-rental" - Moved onto a new home Mechan1k's Flickr Page |
#94 | |||
#95 | |||
But yes, as that saying goes, guns don't kill people, people do. Same sh1t different example here. |
#96 | |||
Boss power
#97 | |||
Classic example; cornering. Last weekend I had misfortune of being tailgated by an idiot in a Prado, he was trying to force me to go faster than 60 (the speed limit). I was in the left hand lane and had to turn, so I took the turn with out braking (quite safely) and I watched in the rear vision mirror os the driver of the Prado attempted the same thing; an interesting moment. The thing had massive understeer and I could see the drivers panicked face has he attempted to bring the Prado under control, he kept of my butt after that. Some 4WD's are just trucks with car comforts and they need to be driven lioke trucks, maybe the manufacturer snould point this out.
The true danger only occurs when you take a potentially dangerous piece of machinery and place it in the hands of the most unpredictable species on the planet. Human behaviour, as history has catalogued, cannot account for what any persons actions may be, especially concerning their love of the motor vehicle. http://www.fireservicecollege.ac.uk ![]() |
#98 | ||
and a Falcon will never keep up with me in the Celica when going on the windy roads in the hills, ban them too hey! There are a lot of people who like pushing cars they dont own, that is true when car drivers get in a four wheel drive for their first time, it is them who like to tailgate a lot more than people who drive 4 wheel drives all the time. So let's ban those people from the roads! By the way, i have rented the latest 4L Prado, and i disagree with it's cornering capabilities you described - perhaps there are drivers out there who are just bleedin incompetant (more so than I realized) I never had to go slower than any other car that was doing the speed limit, i can promise you that, i even pushed it a little just for a bit of fun to see what it could do. I think there are just people who will hate 4x4s no matter what, they dont drive them to ever really know, and no matter what you tell them, they will only believe what they want to believe
Last edited by chevypower; 22-12-2005 at 12:06 PM. |
#99 | ||
V8 Rock'n'Roll....
Location: You got me Rootin' like a Hog, Barkin' like a Dog, Climbing trees and Jumping logs....
Shall I put it this way?
"Ban the idiots, not the vehicles!"
1 owner 03 BA XR8 Manual Sedan 208.8 rwkw stock, update soon 20x8.5 fr 20x10 rr Rumble thanks to: Sureflo Exhaust - Stainless Cat's & 3.5in single catback system "Tell 'em the guy with the Blue Mohawk sent Ya" |
#100 | |||
WHEELS ACTIVE SAFETY PROGRAM...... dial-up UNfriendly shows the Prado coming 13 in a pack of 15 vehicles. A van came last, but most people don't expect a van to handle like a car and so drive accordingly, hopefully people of truck based 4WD's do the same.
The true danger only occurs when you take a potentially dangerous piece of machinery and place it in the hands of the most unpredictable species on the planet. Human behaviour, as history has catalogued, cannot account for what any persons actions may be, especially concerning their love of the motor vehicle. http://www.fireservicecollege.ac.uk ![]() |
#101 | |||
#102 | ||
i would agree it sounds like the driver not being accustomed to it, the vehicle can handle being "driven" if you get what I mean, but that's not because the vehicle is under-performing, more than likely just different to drive. Hey if somebody jumps in to a vehicle they are not comfortable with before they even get in it, then no matter how good the vehicle is, they are not going to feel comfortable about driving it for a while. One of the scariest things that happened to me was in an EF Falcon, driving along the wet windy road, the tail slid out and the car came to a halt across the middle of both lanes - it was my fault, i just got my license, the car had lousy grip and traction. People gotta take responsibility for themselves, I did. Having said that, i am also pointing out these cars such as the EF are not that great (Futura fitted with crappy tyres, no LSD and a live axle) I wouldnt expect the Prado to have done that in the same situation.
#103 | |||
![]() Join Date: Dec 2004
#104 | |||
X-Series Club Moderator
![]()
#105 | |||
Do the 4wd owners tell you what to drive? Why should anyone have the right to tell someone what they should or shouldn't drive?
![]()
FORD EA SERIES 11, 3.9L CFI, DUAL FUEL, 5 SPEED, LSD, WADE CAM, EXTRACTORS, SPORTS EXHAUST - Daily Driver ![]() Last edited by Falcon; 22-12-2005 at 01:59 PM. |
#106 | ||||
In my experience I have seen many more 4x4’s roll than sedans. I blame both the vehicle and driver for this. Also I see daily the 4x4 driver staying to close to the vehicle in front. I have to assume that is because the aluminium bull bar will protect the driver of the 4x4. As a winch can not be bolted to an aluminium bull bar, I fail to see a use for these. I didn’t ever suggest that sedan drivers are better. Quote:
Don’t get me wrong, I’m anti 4x4 as I drive one myself and go off road frequently. I am however anti SUV. I classify SUV as any 4x4 that doesn’t go off road.
1992 DC LTDHO 360rwkw built by me Tuned by CVE Performance Going of the rails on a crazy train Other cars include Dynamic ED Sprint, Dynamic DL LTD, Sparkling Burgundy DL LTD, Yellow, Red & Blue XB sedan & Black XB Coupe
#107 | ||||
I am not implying that unskilled people buy 4wd's at all. What I am implying is that these vehicles through design have a higher propensity to seriously injure people than a normal sedan due to their impact points being higher, as well as their centre of gravity being higher.
#108 | |||
![]() ![]() Join Date: Feb 2005
Doesn't take much ... and before I jumped in and started towing ... I watched others first ... and asked questions ... pretty simple stuff. Also tried it and tested it myself at home in the driveway before going out on the road with one connected. I know box trailers can be harder to maneouvre than larger trailers .. some boat trailers can be a pain as well. But for someone who looked like he had been driving for quite some time (guy was in his late-50s) ... I would have expected a better effort than that anyway.
The Current Stable 2016 SZII TS Territory RWD Petrol The Evolution of the EGA54D utes AU Workshop Build thread of EGA54D B-Series Workshop Build thread of EGA54D 2004 SX TX Territory AWD - Gone but not forgotten 2010 FG XT "The ex-rental" - Moved onto a new home Mechan1k's Flickr Page |
#109 | |||
Boss power
#110 | ||
![]() Join Date: Dec 2004
I couldn't care less what people choose to own and modify, as long as it remains legal and they can drive the thing properly. Personally, I have absolutely no desire what-so-ever to own a 4wd of any description, but respect the rights of those who want to. I have quite a few friends who have modded 4wd's and they drive them responsibly, quite aware of their vehicles capabilities, in both modded and unmodded states. Most of them spend their weekends with clubs at organised events. The only exception to the rule is the idiot wife of one associate who has the worst mentality of any vehicle owner I've ever experienced. She honestly believes that because she has a larger vehicle ( heavily modded Landcruiser), she has the right to use both lanes as she see's fit, does not have slow or give way to anyone at roundabouts, has the right to sit up someones **** if she thinks they're going to slow or they just irritate her. Any speed below the speed limit is unacceptable and she needs at least 3 spots to park. The point is, the arrogant fat pig would have the same mentality in a Falcon or Commodore, following a Corolla. It's the attitiude of a few idiots like her, that give the rest a bad name.
#111 | |||
Mate, get a clue. First off, your post is so full of stereotyping dribble it's not funny. If I ranted about saying you were obviously a hoon because you're on a Ford site and you only own a performance car to make up for a small dick and erection problems you'd tell me to **** off, and rightly so. Secondly, the fact it was a 4WD had nothing to do with it. Sure they can be more dangerous in a side impact, but are you going to tell me a Falcon has never killed someone in a side impact? Mini Mokes are dangerous to motorbike riders, let's ban those. And third, the guy RAN A RED LIGHT! Last time I checked, that's illegal. How can you possibly blame the 4WD for that? The driver was clearly to blame, what he was driving had nothing to do with it. If he flew through the red in an Excel would you be calling for a ban on them? Didn't think so. Ban low performace drivers, not high performance cars. That phrase gets thrown around a lot here when ACA or Today Tonight kick up a fuss. Yet everyone is quick to bash 4WDs, stereotype the owners and ignore the real cause of the problems. You're all no better than the 80 year old Volvo driving whingers who call Neil Mitchell up every morning to about hoons. |
#112 | |||
Broken
(I do agree with u by the way !)
#113 | |||
![]() Join Date: Mar 2005
![]() As for the question, anything is safe in the city if driven properly.
#114 | |||
#115 | ||||
Thirdly, if you naively believe that 4wd vehicles are no more dangerous than a normal sedan then you have typified the very problems that the rest of us motorists face. Your arguement about how vehicles perform in an impact is so flawed that quite frankly everyone who has read your post is now dumber for having done so. It is this type of unadulterated ignorance that has made the 4wd issue such a big problem in the first place. As for getting a clue mate, I put it to you that I have a clue and in fact you don't; by the fact that you obviously have no concept of different types of vehicle construction and the resultant concentration of forces, let alone the actual metallurgy of the materials used and their respective tensile strength. If you would like a clue, perhaps you could spend a night with the local fire brigade and attend some accidents involving 4wd. Or better yet, perhaps you can check with the bureau of statistics and check what average percentage of either sedans or 4wd's have caused the most fatalities. Simply burying ones head in the sand does not make the problem go away, and denial that a problem exists is just fanciful.
#116 | ||
Rider on the storm
There's a natural element of Darwinism in action on the roads, take a look at the U.S.. People figured out ten/twenty years ago, that the bigger the car, the safer their kids would be, so manufacturers built bigger and heavier cars and people bought them. And because everyone had a big SUV, you needed a bigger one to keep your kids safe, snowballing into what it is today.
As for raised 4x4s, if people want to go offroad --- or simply want to look like they do --- it's their own prerogative. If you're worried about your own vehicle's safety, get Ford to reinforce the Falcon. As for a seperate license, the dynamics of your driver instructor's car was probably different than your first car anyway. The last thing we need is a family car license, a SUV license, a sportscar license, a Skyline/WRX license, a small-car license, a ute license, etc. They all handle differently, but not car vs. plane/boat/helicopter different. Besides, Falcon vs. Raised Hilux = one Hilux with a wheel torn off (or at least bent) and it's passengers' head through the side windows after its subsequent roll-over. |
#117 | ||
Car parks are the worst places, as the spots are too narrow which causes pain chips when they open their doors.
#118 | ||
SiX_iN_a_RoW
I stick by my motto - Take it offroad or take it OFF the road.
Im a regular 4x4er and plan on building a short wheel base Nissan patrol with a sensible sized lift kit. This will NOT be used as a daily driver and only ever be driven on the tarmac when absolutely necessary. The danger is NOT the height of the vehicle AT ALL. Someone who drives a 4x4 like that, KNOWS how to drive it. Its the soccor mums in big arsed Landcruisers who cant see over the dashboard who are dangerous!!!
#119 | |||
SiX_iN_a_RoW
I have answered below, have a read ;)
![]()
#120 | |||
SiX_iN_a_RoW
and..what about the driver of a bus or semi trailor?