View Poll Results: Should these things be allowed in built up areas, such as cities & suburbs? | |||
Yes. | 57 | 32.95% | |
No. | 68 | 39.31% | |
If prime movers, tractors, etc. are allowed, so can these. | 25 | 14.45% | |
Suburbs only. | 3 | 1.73% | |
Who cares. | 20 | 11.56% | |
Voters: 173. You may not vote on this poll |
22-12-2005, 10:14 PM | #121 | ||
I got the privelege of parking next to one at a set of lights and the exhaust was coming straight into my window. Ban them all if they have no legitimate purpose as they are way more dangerous than modded cars that get more defects. Just my 2 cents.
22-12-2005, 10:19 PM | #122 | |||
Xranmobile
22-12-2005, 10:23 PM | #123 | ||
SiX_iN_a_RoW
Well I own both a lowered Falcon and a Raised Jackaroo...The falcon is lowered purely for looks and the Jackaroo is raised to assist clearance on tough tracks. Should I put my stock springs back in the falcon because its not a legitimate purpose?
Not having a go by the way mate...
22-12-2005, 10:32 PM | #124 | ||
123 posts of mostly bs, this thread was going nowhere from the start, where is the padlock.
22-12-2005, 10:39 PM | #125 | |||
22-12-2005, 10:40 PM | #126 | |||
Also never said 4WDs aren't more dangerous than family sedans. Because I know that's not true. Never made a comment about how any vehicle performs in an accident, let alone 4WDs. I have a fair idea of the different types of vehicle construction, but I fail to see how you conclude I don't, because I never said anything about it. Yes 4WDs are more dangerous than family sedans. I'm not even going to try to dispute that, I know they are. I just fail to see how you can claim that 4WDs are to blame for your mate's accident (even though it may come across differently, I'm sorry to hear about). Yes the 4WD may of played a role in it, however if the driver had stuck to the law it wouldn't of happened, plain and simple. Sorry if I came across as harsh, but I just get sick to death of knee jerk reactions to problems. Yes 4WDs are dangerous. Yes they take a bit more skill to drive. But that doesn't mean they should be taken off the road. There is clearly a problem with the licencing system, which is constantly avoided in favour of banning something. Sadly, banning things that are unpopular with the majority always wins votes over long term solutions. |
22-12-2005, 10:45 PM | #127 | |||
I really don't understand some of you guys. A legitimate question was asked, answer the question or SHUT UP. Haven't even given my point of view and I get attacked by people to lazy to give reasons for their view on the subject. This is a public forum, a Pub at that, people should be able to ask reasonable questions and expect reasonable answers and not get chased away by statements like; You need a hobby. Like seriously there a so many things that a potentially dangerous, lets all just stay indoors and not leave the house at all What a load of horse manure!!!!!!!!!!!! This thread is discriminatory and reeks of envy Come on guys, give a sensible reason to why you think jacked up 4WD's have the same right to the roads as other vehicles If the Government asked the same question which answers do you think they would take on board?
The true danger only occurs when you take a potentially dangerous piece of machinery and place it in the hands of the most unpredictable species on the planet. Human behaviour, as history has catalogued, cannot account for what any persons actions may be, especially concerning their love of the motor vehicle. http://www.fireservicecollege.ac.uk |
22-12-2005, 10:45 PM | #128 | |||
Last edited by jabba; 22-12-2005 at 10:53 PM. |
22-12-2005, 10:51 PM | #129 | ||
[QUOTE=johnydep
Come on guys, give a sensible reason to why you think jacked up 4WD's have the same right to the roads as other vehicles [/QUOTE] Jacked up cars still have rules binding the modifications, as long as they are legal, no one has a right to knock them, they are not breaking the law. Edit: btw, I do not own or particularly like jacked up 4wd's. |
23-12-2005, 12:15 AM | #130 | ||
Formerly au^ute
i certainly wouldn't like riding a motorcycle near one of these big things. car drivers think they can't see motorcycles, what hope in hell has a driver of one of these vehicles have?
cars like the patrol are big enough for the road in my opinion, unless drivers can become more aware of other road users. Seeing the amount of big 4wd's not indicating and not even looking when changing lanes or cornering, i dont think this is going to happen any time soon. as long as the drivers are "safe" they dont care about any other road users. it seems the "i didn't see you" excuse works wonders in getting out of trouble with the law. just my 2c |
23-12-2005, 04:02 AM | #131 | ||
It comes down to this, "driver Awareness", a responsible drive regardless of age, male or female, be it a 4WD, high performance, or small car, will know there own capabilities, as well as the car’s & will drive accordingly, it is only a minority, the ones that think they know what they are doing, that make it look bad for the rest.
I'm from the west & there is a lot of 4WD’s here, we have a very small city & a lot of open road, & I would say that 99% of the drivers of 4x4 are very good, even the women in the shopping centre car parks are ok, but I do agree that these SUV’s are too big for inner-city driving, & built up area’s, most major city’s in Oz just don’t have the capabilities to handle them, I’ve seen a lot of the east coast & you guys over there seem to have narrower roads due to population build up so I can see that it would be one hell of a problem. Kev. |
23-12-2005, 06:30 AM | #132 | ||
End of the day, it comes down to the person behind the car, put an idiot behind a ford sedan, then anyone is at risk... put an idiot behind a 4WD and again, anyone is at risk.... 4WD will do more damage to a ford sedan(for example) then a ford sedan would do to the 4WD.... shouldn't ban any cars from driving in certain areas.... too many stupid laws in place at the moment, we're not going to be free to do what we want anymore!
Why not try get rid of those massive trucks that are 10x bigger then a 4WD from driving down streets just to get home.... |
23-12-2005, 08:11 AM | #133 | |||
Ok, you win, Ive got an open mind and when people put things into a perspective so that I can see both sides of the argument, and both sides have at least some reason, I accept both sides. So yes I agree that they shouldnt be not around because the modifications are for no legit pourpose but I also disagree as to confuse myself and everyone else. : On another note, I think police should have a major crackdown on pushbike riders (the racing type ones). Like I said before, just my 10 cents. :
23-12-2005, 08:48 AM | #134 | ||
If you ban them then you are going to have to ban trucks, buses etc etc. Remember a gun can kill but it is the person using it that does it .These things have as much right on the road as other vehicles, it is the person behind the wheel that causes the problem.
23-12-2005, 09:27 AM | #135 | ||||
I would like the incentives to buy them over a normal vehicle removed, because sadly they are getting into the wrong hands. What I would also like, is for drivers of 4wd vehicles, particularly the 3pm school mum brigades, to be tested and taught to drive them specifically. Just the same as how you now need a seperate endorsement for a manual if you have only been taught on an auto. Of course I do not say that all 4wd drivers are bad - the large number of which are serious enthusiasts do take into account their vehicles dynamics and drive them accordingly. I do however see the problem with arrogant drivers who use them in the city yet never take them off road. To me, that kind of 4wd ownership is unnecessary - and they should be banned from Versace wannabe Yuppies.
23-12-2005, 11:50 AM | #136 | |||
ORDER FORD AUSTRALIA PART NO: AM6U7J19G329AA. This is a European-UN/AS3790B Spec safety-warning triangle used to give advanced warning to approaching traffic of a vehicle breakdown, or crash scene (to prevent secondary). Stow in the boot area. See your Ford dealer for this $35.95 safety item & when you buy a new Ford, please insist on it! See Page 83, part 4.4.1 http://www.transport.wa.gov.au/media...eSafePart4.pdf |
23-12-2005, 12:03 PM | #137 | ||
To those who are saying that if 4WD's were banned then they would have to ban trucks and buses too:
Trucks have a specific purpose and are essential for the transportation of goods. Have you ever seen the little signs on the back of trucks which say "Without trucks Australia stops". Same with buses - they are an essential part of public transport. Soccer mums in their 4WD's however, could transport their kids to school in a normal sedan just as well as they can in their 4WD's. It is not essential for them to have a 4WD. That's the difference. |
23-12-2005, 12:07 PM | #138 | |||
FURTHER, for the first time in Australian driving history, the Commonwealth kicked off last year a pilot National Driver Training Scheme, this initially includes VIC, NSW and Commonwealth sharing the cost burden, after three years the results will be examined thoroughly. The first lot of pupils will be chosen in early 2006 from NSW and VIC. The program will weed out those with certain behavioural traits, loopies and the like who will be targetted for additional behavioural correction. This Course will include some required on-road tuition, our then Federal Transport Minster (Anderson) insisted on this, the emphasis throughout the program will be DEFENSIVE DRIVING. Advanced driving will be left completely outside the program, to those involved in motorsport and certain security industries and individuals so requiring or desiring. It is a start. My view is the NSW system is the nations best, IS being improved. Noticable change however does take time and costs money, the program MUST be able to be implemented on an affordable basis from Broome to Taree. GMHDriver wrote: "Soccer mums in their 4WD's however, could transport their kids to school in a normal sedan just as well as they can in their 4WD's. It is not essential for them to have a 4WD. That's the difference". What is a soccer mum? Sounds kinda Yank speak. Is this a Westie or Bogan?? Regardless, my sister in law lives at Balgowlah Heights in Sydney, she owns a current Nissan Patrol, bears two kids. By Scuby definition she is evil. My question is - when she drives away up to her Wollombi property, should she stop using the 4WD and call for help each time the family Falcon bogs on approach to the front of the property? As soon as you folk accept it is not the vehicle at fault the better.
ORDER FORD AUSTRALIA PART NO: AM6U7J19G329AA. This is a European-UN/AS3790B Spec safety-warning triangle used to give advanced warning to approaching traffic of a vehicle breakdown, or crash scene (to prevent secondary). Stow in the boot area. See your Ford dealer for this $35.95 safety item & when you buy a new Ford, please insist on it! See Page 83, part 4.4.1 http://www.transport.wa.gov.au/media...eSafePart4.pdf Last edited by Keepleft; 23-12-2005 at 12:14 PM. |
23-12-2005, 12:34 PM | #139 | |||
23-12-2005, 12:34 PM | #140 | |||
I dont care when there is no cycle path, but when there is and they still insist on using the road, it just makes me want to run over some spandex!! On another note - Men should not wear spandex!! : : |
23-12-2005, 12:55 PM | #141 | |||
Last edited by gmhdriver; 23-12-2005 at 01:05 PM. |
23-12-2005, 01:21 PM | #142 | |||
The discussion is suposed to be focusing on jacked up 4WD's, designed for rock climbing, being driven as a daily commuter in built up areas.
The true danger only occurs when you take a potentially dangerous piece of machinery and place it in the hands of the most unpredictable species on the planet. Human behaviour, as history has catalogued, cannot account for what any persons actions may be, especially concerning their love of the motor vehicle. http://www.fireservicecollege.ac.uk |
23-12-2005, 01:43 PM | #143 | |||
The only difference is that the raised version would probably be more susceptible to rollovers. |
23-12-2005, 01:46 PM | #144 | |||
Okay, thanks dad - when she's out driving in suburbia in it - I'll call her a ****er and drop my pants in expectation, though my brother would probably kill me! My serious point being, folk should not assume that in sighting a 4WD in the city areas that they are not ever used outside them, or later sold so. One thing is certain, I reside north of the horrible and disgusting place known as Sydney, our land prices skyrocket yearly - as Sydney buyers both purchase holiday homes and land, immigration is an issue in this boom too, but that is another thread.
ORDER FORD AUSTRALIA PART NO: AM6U7J19G329AA. This is a European-UN/AS3790B Spec safety-warning triangle used to give advanced warning to approaching traffic of a vehicle breakdown, or crash scene (to prevent secondary). Stow in the boot area. See your Ford dealer for this $35.95 safety item & when you buy a new Ford, please insist on it! See Page 83, part 4.4.1 http://www.transport.wa.gov.au/media...eSafePart4.pdf |
23-12-2005, 01:51 PM | #145 | |||
23-12-2005, 02:26 PM | #146 | |||
Just Kidding In all seriousness.........I think they're Ok but it is the drivers that need to be better informed. I guess it's just because 4x4's are seen as nothing more than a big car when in fact, they are a small truck. (and) yes there IS a difference. Fourbies have poor visiblility, poor braking charachteristics, top heavy, understeering and underbraking just like a small truck. Cheers |
23-12-2005, 03:18 PM | #147 | ||||
Seriously, the proliferation of the tossers that never go off road is because investment advisors over the last 5-10 years have been advising these very people of the merits financially for a 4wd over a sedan. GMHDriver, your posts have been very insightful and rational, and as such, display a high level of intelligence and maturity. Are you sure you don't really drive a ford?
23-12-2005, 03:40 PM | #148 | |||
23-12-2005, 04:22 PM | #149 | |||||