Welcome to the Australian Ford Forums forum. You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and inserts advertising. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members, respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features without post based advertising banners. Registration is simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today! If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us. Please Note: All new registrations go through a manual approval queue to keep spammers out. This is checked twice each day so there will be a delay before your registration is activated. |
16-12-2011, 05:26 PM | #151 | ||
The Experience...
Ive already posted in here earlier with my thoughts...
Reading through a few posts here Im kind of surprised people defending these officers in question though. Clearly they where out of line, this can not be denied.... Im a very facts and numbers man.. For me, the facts is the evidence. The evidence is the video. I didnt not see a lead up, nor did I see a burnout. To call these guys houseo's or whatever is wrong. Sure it may be true. But it also may not be true. I can only go off the evidence I see at hand, and at hand all I see is 3 officers standing over 2 males on the ground with 2 officers pounding away. Nothing else... This being said, officers are guilty as charged.
16-12-2011, 05:36 PM | #152 | |||
The issue is no one here really knows what happened before. Im really surprised they did it at that spot, surely you would have done it on the the side of the car. Perhaps not alot of IQ all around..but still, we do not know the facts.
16-12-2011, 07:00 PM | #153 | ||
We have no idea of what went on before hand or possibly what was being said by the guy on the ground.
Was he making threats?, was he taunting them? was he bragging about how the courts will give him a slap on the wrist and he'll be doing it again? who knows. For him to be doing burn outs in front of the cop shop shows his level of respect for the law, if he has no respect for the law maybe he should fear it! Did the cops do the wrong thing? by the letter of the law there is a good chance they did, but I think good on them, some people will not learn until they are hurt, seen it first hand, it's a shame these types of things have to happen but if the courts carried out correct sentencing then maybe there would be more respect and things like this may not occur
16-12-2011, 07:11 PM | #154 | |||
They're committing the crime so clearly the potential punishment isn't a deterrent. Were they clearly out of line? For a couple of guys just doing a burnout, I would wholeheartedly agree. There's more to it than that from what I can tell.. so it's not 'clearly' out of line and you don't have all of the evidence. How can you make such a clear cut call? Will they re-offend? I doubt it. One of them has apparently apologised. If he was the innocent victim in all this, why is he the one giving the apology?! |
16-12-2011, 09:37 PM | #155 | ||
At the end of the day all they did was a burnout, its not like they are rapists and pedos, but it seems like hoons are being held in the same regard today for some reason I can't understand.
If it was a pedo being bashed I really don't think anyone would care. |
16-12-2011, 09:41 PM | #156 | |||
16-12-2011, 09:50 PM | #157 | ||
it would have been interesting to see a poll on this. my vote lays with the "hoons". That behaviour is apalling from the police, but sadly I have come to expect it of our blue boys. they really need to settle down and take a look at their image.
16-12-2011, 09:50 PM | #158 | ||
I've had one dealing with police, when I totalled my new Focus, the copper was arrogant and condesending, when he told me the other guy was going to get charged for careless driving and i'll have to front up to court, I told him I didn't want to bother with pressing charges and just to let him go, as it was an unintentional accident and I was happy that we're both alive.
He went spastic, saying how because of him we're all standing in the middle of the freeway instead of being at home, and that I have no say in the matter because I'm the "victim". That guy needed to remove the stick that is jammed up his clacker, if he doesn't like standing in the middle of the road attending accident scenes, why did he become a highway patrol copper? The other policeman was much nicer. |
16-12-2011, 09:54 PM | #159 | |||
maybe he has and that is why he had no sympathy for the other driver. and no, you don't have a right to press charges in a standard traffic accident. you have a right to report it, but once reported, it is out of your hands |
16-12-2011, 09:56 PM | #160 | ||
off topic slightly, but anytime the police are called to an accident in Vic, somebody has to be charged, best of advice in an accident that no body has been hurt is not to call the police, handle yourself if possible
16-12-2011, 09:59 PM | #161 | ||
BF Ute...
Unless its a civil matter, you dont have a choice - common misconception brought about by movies and TV shows...
16-12-2011, 10:10 PM | #162 | ||
Formerly D3v[]
yes they are stupid for doing burnouts out the front of the cop shop, but i dont see why people are defending these police who used a weapon and intentionally beat the **** out of these two defenceless guys, who were cuffed and on the ground not fighting back? thats a dog act, and if a normal person did that they would get jail time, no questions asked... but the police get off with nothing, so i hope they get what they deserve... they give the rest of the police force a bad name, and not punnishing them for their actions is just plain ******...
16-12-2011, 10:20 PM | #163 | ||||
They knew what they where in for when they signed the contract, they made their bed so now they can lie in it. Quote:
16-12-2011, 10:37 PM | #164 | ||
Good to see these cops out of the job.
Sure these hoons were *********, but there is no need to beat them up while they are on the ground. |
16-12-2011, 10:40 PM | #165 | |||
you chose to move into another bed - lie in it and you didn't have a choice with the cops showing up to your accident, because yours was towed, wasn't it |
16-12-2011, 10:50 PM | #166 | |||||
You wanna do what??
Edit to include quote
Merging lanes- Cos its "rare sense". Used to be common, but not anymore Cleaning wheelie bins- Cats are good too. Fill to about 20cm with water, add soap and cat. Hold lid firmly closed for two minutes. Be sure to stand well clear when releasing cat. All Whirlpool gold. Last edited by PimpMyHubcap; 16-12-2011 at 11:00 PM. |
|||||
16-12-2011, 10:52 PM | #167 | |||
I was hit from the side and run off the road into a parked car, the other driver left the scene and the police didn't even bother writing a police report, despite the other driver crashing into me, leaving the scene without providing details etc, I even gave them the rego number and they didn't even bother to follow it up. Unless someone is hurt they don't bother anymore, the insurance company said it happens all the time. |
16-12-2011, 10:57 PM | #168 | |||
I didn't have a choice because the police saw the accident and yes both cars where towed away. http://g.co/maps/7t5n2 Thats where it happened, so if you can explain how I t-boned the passenger side of another car, please be my guest. |
16-12-2011, 10:59 PM | #169 | ||
Keep it civil and not personal guys.
16-12-2011, 11:06 PM | #170 | |||
regarding your accident, why do i need to explain anything more about it. the fact is, once the call went out to the tow trucks, the cops knew about it. once the cops knew about it, they decide whether they charge anyone or not. i personally do not even care about those 2 points, so the rest of it holds no interest to me at all . . . sorry |
17-12-2011, 07:19 AM | #171 | ||
There are some very valid points made on both sides of this argument. I think however, that no matter how 'civilised' or 'tolerant' society becomes, there are always deeply entrenched primeval instincts deep within our souls that cannot be repressed.
17-12-2011, 08:02 AM | #172 | ||
With regards of what might of happened before the incident - that is irrelevant - "hoons" were arrested and police dont administer the punishment in our justice system.
Police , teachers , medical profession , firemen all have written And unwritten duty of care and trust of public vested in them. Is it a valid excuse for a teacher to have relationship with their student even if it is voluntary and student initiated it ? NO Do police bash you while handcuffed and defencless for traffic offence or other? They should NOT. People who believe bashing is good as some people dont get it otherwise are wrong. You dont gain respect by bashing people . |
17-12-2011, 08:58 AM | #173 | |||
police are human too. whether they should or should not do certain stuff is irrelevant. more often than not, they meet up with idiots whose only purpose in life is to antagonise them to some point. sometimes even they get sick of it, and go beyond what is considered right. and that is the idiot's fault in my opinion. they know what will happen, they receive warnings beforehand and yet they still keep going. i do not know what happened in this situation, but depending on what happened before hand, i do not have a problem with it. i have never had the cops even touch me, so i don't understand why so many people minding their own business receive unprovoked attacks from police officers |
17-12-2011, 10:40 AM | #174 | |||
YE-US! Wait. I don't know
IF however in your eaxmple, person had been asked to leave, and refused, you are allowed to use reasonable force to remove them. how do I know? sadly I've had to check with the local cops a few times, to make sure my **** is covered when removing people from my house.... BUT. The point here is not, we are all human blah blah blah. When in uniform the police are there to uphold the law, not deliver justice and most certainly nto break the law. If they were in physical danger, yes, batons and beatings would be necessary, the point here is not that the guys were/weren't antagonising them, and "deserved it", the point is, they were cuffed and on the ground = No longer a threat. chuck em in the van, throw them in lock up (if necessary), and impound their vehicle. It's what the Police are lawfully MEANT to do. Sadly, as I've stated before in this thread, in small country towns, cops are often overstretched, moreso than what cops in the cities are, because there aren't enough people (****, I know one small town that has all of two cops, and need to borrow officers from the next biggest town to cover holidays). Also, in small country towns, like Mansfield, everyone knows everyone, who their friends are, who their parents are, when they eat, where they live, when their regular bowel movement is, you get the picture. It's a sad state of affairs, but there's no point in denying it, there will be cops who already despise certain members of the community for whatever reason, and even if it is a case of "you got off that charge I know you were guilty of, here's a beating when you're doing something less severe for good measure", it's not acceptable. Yes, Police know what they're in for when they sign up for the job. No, that doesn't mean that dealing with the crap they deal with is easy. Yes, often they're chucked back in the work force due to shortages way to early after suffering PTSD. No, that doesn't mean they get to take it out on the rest of us if they're having a **** day.
17-12-2011, 10:46 AM | #175 | |||
Irregardless of what happened in those prior moments, the evidence which has been shown indicates 'excessive force' on two people who are on the ground... At the end of the day, the assumption that they would be 'let off by the court' is not for the police men in question to decide. I'm in full agreeance with lotski on this one...
17-12-2011, 10:58 AM | #176 | ||
AKA "the other bloke"
with this, i'd highly suggest that the 2 individuals who copped the hiding are probably well know to the local constabulary, i'd even suggest that their actions initally were a dig at the local boys over some other matter & that although does not justify the outcome, probably indicates that there would have been some provocation....
do i agree with the hiding, no, do i understand it, yes... after all how many of us have done burnouts etc in the past? any of us think it's a great idea to do it out the front of a police station? |
17-12-2011, 11:04 AM | #177 | |||
17-12-2011, 11:11 AM | #178 | |||||
for some reason police are considered total mongrels, but are supposed to act like angels. they cannot win can they and yet again, i have never had a problem with a copper, from hooning around a car park, to dragging in the fog - got let off both times. but then i show respect to them and it is always shown back. 2 wrongs don't make a right, but if the first wrong never happened, then more often than not the 2nd would not either |
|||||
17-12-2011, 11:12 AM | #179 | ||
N/A BOSS 390+
Both parties in the wrong but the guys who are suppose to uphold the law should of known better they should be sacked.
17-12-2011, 11:19 AM | #180 | ||||
YE-US! Wait. I don't know
I don't consider all police to be total mongrels, nor do I expect them to act like angels (I don't think anyone really does, except the scumbags they put in prison). But I do expect them to uphold the law, show restraint, and be responsible citizens. Just like I expect anyone else to. Quote: