You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and inserts advertising. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members, respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features without post based advertising banners. Registration is simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

View Poll Results: Best Sounding Injected V8
BOSS 5.4L 215 37.13%
Ford 5.0L 202 34.89%
LS1 5.7L 25 4.32%
Holden 5.0L 120 20.73%
LS2 6.0L 17 2.94%
Voters: 579. You may not vote on this poll

Old 16-07-2006, 01:10 PM   #151
Ryan

I reckon the new 6.0L VE SS, with quad exhausts, will sound awesome. :Reverend:
Ryan is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 27-08-2006, 07:22 PM   #152
FORDEBV8
E-Series

i love the sound of an 347 stroker
Old 27-08-2006, 07:25 PM   #153
jimmy_c

Originally Posted by MADNC_8
chalk up another for the 304, my mates VS Stato sounds awesome,

I agree the 304/308 injected 5ltr sounds tops.
jimmy_c is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 27-08-2006, 07:52 PM   #154
Full Spectrum
Only a matter of time.

I might like to change my answer now.
Herd a TT Soarer can't spell it, Up my street just remembered it took off and rumbled the windows and the guy stopped and showed me the engine i has seen it many years ago. Didn't know they had TT in there V8's great engine.
Old 27-08-2006, 08:04 PM   #155
Wezza

The Holden 5.0L is certainly a great sounding engine, i'd have that as my number 1, the Ford 5.0L probably second, it sounds great also. Can't say i like the sound of the BOSS engine, i haven't really heard an LS2 with a decent system on it yet either.
Wezza is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 27-08-2006, 10:43 PM   #156
deankdx

Originally Posted by SlickHolden
Herd a TT Soarer can't spell it, Up my street just remembered it took off and rumbled the windows and the guy stopped and showed me the engine i has seen it many years ago. Didn't know they had TT in there V8's great engine.
are you sure its a V8 and twin turbo? = not stock
the 6s were twin turbo factory
deankdx is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 27-08-2006, 10:48 PM   #157
XAGSV8
Member 178

Sorry to say but the LS1 is the best one out there followed by the Windsor. Boss is dissapointing.

1963 Morris Mini

1999 NU Fairlane Ghia
XAGSV8 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 28-08-2006, 08:19 AM   #158
Full Spectrum
Only a matter of time.

Originally Posted by deankdx
are you sure its a V8 and twin turbo? = not stock
the 6s were twin turbo factory
100% i seen it it was amazing the idle itself was herd in doors rumbling the windows.
When he left it was I honestly can't describe the sound it made as he tapped the limiter and changed Something special it was.
But even a stock v8 lexus engine sounds great.
Old 28-08-2006, 05:00 PM   #159
jimmy_c

Its not standard I6-TT Factory , V8 NA factory the TT job was aftermarket.

Dont know of any twin turbo factory soarers. just the V8s or Twin Turbs 6s
jimmy_c is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 28-08-2006, 05:38 PM   #160

Originally Posted by jimmy_c

this information is definatley correct......
never been a TT V8 soarer
Old 28-08-2006, 05:50 PM   #161
macca_779
Turbine Power

I've driven a VE SS and they still cound crap. The Holden 5L is one of the best sounding V8's in the world.
macca_779 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 28-08-2006, 06:11 PM   #162
Full Spectrum
Only a matter of time.

Originally Posted by jimmy_c

Your probably right aftermarket but it was fantastic to here it run.
I was told Lexus make a great V8 engine.
Old 28-08-2006, 07:06 PM   #163
EBFalcs

i traded the EB wagon in the other week for a 5L VP calais, and yes it sounds awesome. i think it's 3inch system with headers, but the ford 5.0L are nice too, my mates EF XR8 sounds absolutely nuts. and sorry for being a traitor but the VN/VP 5L are weapons,
EBFalcs is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 29-08-2006, 12:21 AM   #164
Des
V8 Rock'n'Roll....

Location: You got me Rootin' like a Hog, Barkin' like a Dog, Climbing trees and Jumping logs....

Originally Posted by xr8gn3
Geez its been a year and a half since I posted this thread and i still think LS1s sound crap. :
I agree. You need to spend up a full (decent) exhaust, decent CAI and wring it's neck before they even get close to sounding decent....
2 mates - 1 a BA GT-P, 2 a VYII SS ute
Mate #2 has spent more trying to get the sound and power right than mate #1, and the GT-P blows it away on both from idle to redline!

208.8 rwkw stock, update soon

20x8.5 fr 20x10 rr
Rumble thanks to:
Sureflo Exhaust - Stainless Cat's & 3.5in single catback system

"Tell 'em the guy with the Blue Mohawk sent Ya"
Des is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 29-08-2006, 01:44 PM   #165
Full Spectrum
Only a matter of time.

Originally Posted by EBFalcs
i traded the EB wagon in the other week for a 5L VP calais, and yes it sounds awesome. i think it's 3inch system with headers, but the ford 5.0L are nice too, my mates EF XR8 sounds absolutely nuts. and sorry for being a traitor but the VN/VP 5L are weapons,
In tune the VP 5lt is a weapon, Out of tune it's lamb to the slaughter. I know a guy that has a R spec memcal he calls it he made himself, Done a 5.95 0-100 in his VP Exec 5lt, Just the memcal.
Old 29-08-2006, 01:54 PM   #166
turboute
turboute

My pics
Any AMG V8, they have the best sounding exhausts ever...
Audi RS4 4.2L V8, again a perfect little V8, 100hp/L - lets see if Ford/Holden ever come close to that. (600hp LS2? LOL)
BMW M5 V8
Nissan VH45 with decent extractors.
More Euro V8's(& lexus)
Ford Holden & other US engines...
turboute is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 29-08-2006, 01:57 PM   #167
turboute
turboute

Forgot to mention Brabus...(Damn)
turboute is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 29-08-2006, 02:47 PM   #168
Jeeepers
Merry Xmas To All

Where's the 3V option? :dr_Evil:
Jeeepers is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 29-08-2006, 04:34 PM   #169
EBFalcs

In tune the VP 5lt is a weapon, Out of tune it's lamb to the slaughter. I know a guy that has a R spec memcal he calls it he made himself, Done a 5.95 0-100 in his VP Exec 5lt, Just the memcal.
well i want one, tell me how i can get one of these, also a calais is a bit heavier than an excecutive and is his manual or auto. a the moment the calais does 7.0-7.2sec 0-100
Old 29-08-2006, 06:30 PM   #170
ondori
Addicted User

Audi 4.2L The sound is great, I now want to hear the 4.2 TDI engine
Old 31-08-2006, 09:11 PM   #171
EBFalcs

why don't some people post up some sound files and we'll have a vote
Old 01-09-2006, 12:03 AM   #172
XAGSV8
Member 178

why don't some people post up some sound files and we'll have a vote
Here is a good start. _2:
http://www.fordforums.com.au/showthr...811#post918811

1963 Morris Mini

1999 NU Fairlane Ghia
XAGSV8 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 01-09-2006, 12:31 AM   #173
FRDPWR
416w 10.5@127mph

his a clip of my xe, personly i luv the sound. its a injected 416windsor

FRDPWR is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 01-09-2006, 12:39 AM   #174
Full Spectrum
Only a matter of time.

well i want one, tell me how i can get one of these, also a calais is a bit heavier than an excecutive and is his manual or auto. a the moment the calais does 7.0-7.2sec 0-100
Auto, If you log into www.justcommodores.com.au go into the VN-VP section and look for greenfoam, If he is in a good mood j/k's:d he will help you, I hope he still does them.
Old 01-09-2006, 09:45 AM   #175

/late on the scene

The Boss is unreal for a modern engine, most these days sound like vacum cleaners.

But the one that owns them all is that Maserati 3200GT. I was in Mleb yesterday and some old guy ws doing laps (lol true story, I would too) and my god, when he gave it a boot full it shook the ground. I know its a Ferrari engine but whatever, its the best street V8 Ive heard.
Old 01-09-2006, 04:39 PM   #176
Matty4
Banana

Originally Posted by turboute
My pics
Any AMG V8, they have the best sounding exhausts ever...
Audi RS4 4.2L V8, again a perfect little V8, 100hp/L - lets see if Ford/Holden ever come close to that. (600hp LS2? LOL)
BMW M5 V8
Nissan VH45 with decent extractors.
More Euro V8's(& lexus)
Ford Holden & other US engines...
Totally agree there....
I've been for a spin in an SL55 AMG and on full song this thing is just horn.
Anyone who's been to an F1 GP will understand when the safety car comes out and does its thing......woohoo!!!

Matty
Old 26-11-2006, 02:07 AM   #177

LS1 for me. Love those engines.
Old 26-11-2006, 02:30 AM   #178
Toxic Beast
. . T U R B O . .

http://carline.com.au/default.asp?pa...SOUND&catid=19

play the 2nd one down. i think thaats best v8 sound to my ears

i wish the boss can sound like that
Toxic Beast is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 26-11-2006, 10:22 AM   #179
snypereb
[EBGLT]

AdzELXR's 5L has the best street V8 note I have ever heard.

Become an E-Series Owners Club Member Today!
http://eseries.com.au/index.php/membership/
snypereb is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 26-11-2006, 11:37 AM   #180

The 5 litre for me. Although I dont like them, they just sound so good.