Go Back   Australian Ford Forums > MotorSport > Drag Racing

Drag Racing Discuss Drag Racing here be it dirt or tarmac. Sponsored by Sydney Dragway.

Old 29-12-2006, 01:03 PM   #1
Doogstar
B-Series Moderator

Question Brendon Mock's best time in a BA I6 n/a?

Could someone please verify the best time that Brendon Mock has acheived in a BA I6 n/a.

I was under the impression that the best time for a BA N/A set by Brendon Mock was 13.8@100mph. Another forum and a thread in here state it as being 14.24?
http://www.fordforums.com.au/showthr...t=brendon+mock

Could someone clear this up for me and if possible, provide timeslips and car details.

380rwkw - 11.68 @ 120.94mph 60ft=1.97
Custom Tune, Exhaust. injectors.1.2K Plazmaman 1.2K Plenum kit

Now with bigger turbo and 426rwkw.

Last edited by Doogstar; 29-12-2006 at 01:25 PM.
Doogstar is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 29-12-2006, 02:32 PM   #2
Dauphin
Irregular member

Valued Contributor: For members whose non technical contributions are worthy of recognition. - Issue reason: Endless work keeping the AU.com.au web site happening 

Originally Posted by Doogstar
Could someone please verify the best time that Brendon Mock has acheived in a BA I6 n/a.

I was under the impression that the best time for a BA N/A set by Brendon Mock was 13.8@100mph. Another forum and a thread in here state it as being 14.24?
http://www.fordforums.com.au/showthr...t=brendon+mock

Could someone clear this up for me and if possible, provide timeslips and car details.
Hi mate, they have a website at www.jimmockmotorsport.com and you might have better luck getting this amount of comprehensive data straight from them.

My hovercraft is full of eels!

Movie Car Chase of the Week: Gene Hackman driving a 1971 Pontiac LeMans to chase an elevated train in The French Connection (1971).
Dauphin is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 29-12-2006, 02:38 PM   #3
Doogstar
B-Series Moderator

Thanks, I have looked there but there is no mention of their times in a BA.

I might try and email them and see if I get a response.

Old 29-12-2006, 03:46 PM   #4
XRchic
Hello

The 14.24 was the first attempt with the XT. I was there. The 13.8 was a subsequent attempt, some time later. I am fairly sure there is a thread on it, I will try and find it.

Here it is:

http://www.fordforums.com.au/showthread.php?t=52234

: Cobra :
XRchic is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 29-12-2006, 03:53 PM   #5
Doogstar
B-Series Moderator

Thanks Jac,

I will read up on it.

Doug

Old 29-12-2006, 03:56 PM   #6
XRchic
Hello

Thanks Jac,

I will read up on it.

Doug
No worries, Im fairly sure some people who posted in that thread were there for the 13.8 as well. Either that or Brenden would be more than happy to verify over the phone I would have thought. He is a nice bloke, very helpful.

: Cobra :
XRchic is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 29-12-2006, 04:30 PM   #7
Doogstar
B-Series Moderator

Very interesting thread that one. No doubt it's 13.8 @ 100mph, 14.2 was the previous best.

I would love to know what was done to the car to get it there.
Seems to be a mystery wrapped in an enigma, perhaps we will never know.

I have emailed JMM, I will see what happens.

Old 29-12-2006, 04:37 PM   #8
Bluehoon
Hoon On The Rise

Very interesting thread that one. No doubt it's 13.8 @ 100mph, 14.2 was the previous best.

I would love to know what was done to the car to get it there.
Seems to be a mystery wrapped in an enigma, perhaps we will never know.

I have emailed JMM, I will see what happens.

Wasn't that the thread with the white XT with the nitto plenum and cams??

Or am i thinking of aother one??? I remember Ruger and me went hammer and tong of **** intake manifolds and he was wearing aps t shirts....

FGX-XR8 Manual, BFII E-Gas, '11 GSXR 1000 - Love 'em!
FPV Tickford Club of NSW - www.fpvclub.com
Bluehoon is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 29-12-2006, 04:41 PM   #9
Doogstar
B-Series Moderator

Originally Posted by Bluehoon
Wasn't that the thread with the white XT with the nitto plenum and cams??

Or am i thinking of aother one??? I remember Ruger and me went hammer and tong of **** intake manifolds and he was wearing aps t shirts....
No that was a different thread about more recent JMM developments. AFAIK that hasn't been raced yet.

Old 30-12-2006, 01:54 AM   #10

Chairman's Award: Chairman's Award - Issue reason: The exceptional contribution made to AFF events and sponsorship. Valued Contributor: For members whose non technical contributions are worthy of recognition. - Issue reason: Everything you do to help this place run smoothly! Technical Contributor: For members who share their technical expertise. - Issue reason: The awesome Technical and Service how to's in the FPV /XR6 /G6ET turbo threads..  and his own build threads that inspire people to have a go... enabling people to save money and realise the dream of working on their own cars as well. 

Doug done some thread mining I think this is the thread your looking for
http://www.fordforums.com.au/showthr...4&page=1&pp=25

Old 30-12-2006, 02:36 AM   #11
Doogstar
B-Series Moderator

Thanks Mark, but Jac already posted that link. It confirms the time, but not what was done to the car, diff gears, cams, suspension etc. Was it opened or un-opened?

It appears though that that time was never backed up, correct me if I am wrong? But it seems strange that they stopped there, you would think JMM would want to confirm that awesome time.

Old 30-12-2006, 02:45 AM   #12

Chairman's Award: Chairman's Award - Issue reason: The exceptional contribution made to AFF events and sponsorship. Valued Contributor: For members whose non technical contributions are worthy of recognition. - Issue reason: Everything you do to help this place run smoothly! Technical Contributor: For members who share their technical expertise. - Issue reason: The awesome Technical and Service how to's in the FPV /XR6 /G6ET turbo threads..  and his own build threads that inspire people to have a go... enabling people to save money and realise the dream of working on their own cars as well. 

I was there that night and they ran more than one 13 sec pass.
it was a manual he could launch it very hard...

Old 30-12-2006, 03:07 AM   #13
Doogstar
B-Series Moderator

Ok, that's cool, it was just that Brendon didn't say that in his post.
Do you remember what his 60ft times were?

Old 30-12-2006, 03:13 AM   #14

send him a email bmock@bigpond.net.au
60 foot I don't know...

Old 30-12-2006, 03:38 PM   #15
Stav

Valued Contributor: For members whose non technical contributions are worthy of recognition. - Issue reason: Always ready to help others over the years on AFF with advice and tips along the way 

Brendan was doing developmental work on his packages when he ran those times. Seeing it is his livelihood I think he has a right to keep his mod secrets to himself for business.

Single din radio fascias for fg to fgx fords Australia wide .

FG 1 2 and 3 gauge holder in stock now! https://stingraycar.com.au/shop/
Site Sponsor See Sponsor Stingray Car Security 😍👌✌

AU wagon 6 14.241@96.75 1/4 mile sold.Octane fg xr6 turbo!! 12.312 112.21 mph home tune f6 injectors gone ..now in nitro fgxr6t ready to go again
Stav is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 30-12-2006, 03:41 PM   #16
Doogstar
B-Series Moderator

Originally Posted by useless
Brendan was doing developmental work on his packages when he ran those times. Seeing it is his livelihood I think he has a right to keep his mod secrets to himself for business.
Fair enough. Just curious that's all.

Old 03-01-2007, 06:19 PM   #17
Doogstar
B-Series Moderator

Default Update

I sent an email to Jim Mock and he has kindly replied with the information I requested. Very impressive times they have set on street tyres. I post his emails with his permission, it should clear up any misunderstandings on his times.

Hi Doug,

I have found a time-slip from Calder back in June with 13.8 seconds, when we were testing our DEV3 kit with a completely stock vehicle

If you have a look it has 18” Factory Ford wheels and useless 235x40-18 tyres. The car had to be feathered off the line to get any traction at all.

Times would have been far better with a better choice of wheels & tyres.
There are probably better times but this is all I could find on short notice.

I hope this will help you.

Best regards,
Jim Mock

Old 03-01-2007, 06:30 PM   #18
Doogstar
B-Series Moderator

For the record, he also sent me some info about his Red EB. Here it is.
I have seen this car run, it's awesome.

Hi Doug,

I have found some more info that might be worth mentioning.

This is with our Falcon EB 4.0 registered sedan, with our DEV5 Performance Kit fitted and running naturally aspirated.
I found a time slip from 29/10/04 when it had a T5 manual gearbox, at Calder.
The other is with an auto gearbox on 26/12./06 at Heathcote Park during the Xmas Challenge.

There is a picture for Heathcote as well.

Best regards,
Jim Mock

Old 03-01-2007, 06:33 PM   #19
Melz

Brenden's EB was running super consistent at Heathcote on the XMAS Challenge, and now is sporting a C10, that was built by a forum member who shall remain anonymous heheheh
Melz is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 04-01-2007, 08:50 AM   #20
347_XR8
Slide Baby Slide

Heres a pic of it an action at the Xmas Challenge

Mr Super Skid-Man
347_XR8 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 05-01-2007, 11:15 AM   #21
Stav

Valued Contributor: For members whose non technical contributions are worthy of recognition. - Issue reason: Always ready to help others over the years on AFF with advice and tips along the way 

Gosh Brendan is too slow heeh

Single din radio fascias for fg to fgx fords Australia wide .

FG 1 2 and 3 gauge holder in stock now! https://stingraycar.com.au/shop/
Site Sponsor See Sponsor Stingray Car Security 😍👌✌

AU wagon 6 14.241@96.75 1/4 mile sold.Octane fg xr6 turbo!! 12.312 112.21 mph home tune f6 injectors gone ..now in nitro fgxr6t ready to go again
Stav is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 08-01-2007, 06:59 PM   #22
snortingboost
XF Ghia. All snorted out

I noticed he mentioned it didn't hook up because of the crap tyres, how is that so when a 1.9 60ft is leaving pretty well. For example the EB hooks up well off the line using soft front end and slicks, it runs 1.9 60's and hooks up as good as one ever will. If only i could turn my daily into a drag and drop my 60ft, i'd probably have a twelve second runner.
snortingboost is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 08-01-2007, 08:24 PM   #23

Originally Posted by snortingboost
I noticed he mentioned it didn't hook up because of the crap tyres, how is that so when a 1.9 60ft is leaving pretty well. For example the EB hooks up well off the line using soft front end and slicks, it runs 1.9 60's and hooks up as good as one ever will.
I was thinking the same thing. 1.9 60ft is very impressive for 'feathering' it off the line.

It's suave, more subtle, and yet no less stirring. In fact, the boosted Ford is more polished than any big sedan Australia has ever produced. It's just so damn good, it makes the SS feel crude... Ignore the WRX. Forget the E49. Falcon XR6 Turbo is king.
Old 08-01-2007, 11:04 PM   #24
xr8ute
Back on the road

I dont think a 1.9 is that impressive at that performance level....it is OK, but hardly "very impressive".

You should see the sort of 60' the Mustang guys run in their street-tyred 5 speed 5.0L fox body Mustangs... ;)

AU XR8 Ute 13.90 @ 100mph - http://www.aufalcon.com/xr8ute
5L Windsor, GT40X heads, Crane 2030, Pacey 4-1s, Lukey 3", 3.91:1, auto. Tuned by me w/Quarterhorse and BinaryEditor.

Coming Soon: Ported lower intake, Tickford "Premium" Brakes, and a good wash.
xr8ute is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 09-01-2007, 04:45 PM   #25
Melz

Originally Posted by xr8ute
You should see the sort of 60' the Mustang guys run in their street-tyred 5 speed 5.0L fox body Mustangs... ;)
That's like comparing chalk and cheese..... :
Melz is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 09-01-2007, 04:57 PM   #26

Originally Posted by xr8ute
I dont think a 1.9 is that impressive at that performance level....it is OK, but hardly "very impressive".

I agree... 1.9 60' times is nothing flash these days. Certainly not when you have a manual running modified suspension. I dont doubt he was feathering it off the line a little.

Old 12-01-2007, 08:49 PM   #27
FS5

dose brendon run his car in street trim or dose he strip the interior for drag racing?

i agree with casper and xr8ute ,with the mods and mph he's runnin 1.9 60ty's on slicks is nothing outstanding .but if he has to feather it of the line he must have some serious mumbo .but still ,spining slicks in an i6......
i wonder what rpm he was launching at?
Old 24-01-2007, 12:27 AM   #28
XDSLIDER
BIG LUKE

The Red EB when running N/A with auto and slicks, 60ft's slower than when it was run with Sportsman Pros and a 5 speed.

When it runs with the Nitrous on, it picks up a full 10th in the 60ft when compared to the old setup. It also lifts a wheel of the ground.

LUKE

XR6BBQ.......... Just when you thought I had given up!!!
XDSLIDER is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post