Welcome to the Australian Ford Forums forum. You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and inserts advertising. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members, respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features without post based advertising banners. Registration is simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today! If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us. Please Note: All new registrations go through a manual approval queue to keep spammers out. This is checked twice each day so there will be a delay before your registration is activated. |
05-05-2005, 08:51 PM | #1 | ||
hey guys
im thinkin of supercharging my 88 fairmont, im not talkin huge blower outa the bonnet tyre shreddin stuff here, im thinkin one of those jap import supercharges that runs off a clutch and can be switched on and off, ive seen them for sale for 300 or so bucks and im thinkin with the right piping and stuff im set. im really after it for abit of lower end torque and maybe a increase of power of about 20 kw. i wanna know if anyone has thought of doin this or has done it before. thoughts, ideas, and information would be great, cheers Last edited by EAalltheway; 05-05-2005 at 08:52 PM. Reason: im an idiot |
05-05-2005, 08:56 PM | #2 | |||
im not the best when it come to blowers and all that, but if you only want 20kw gain, why not get an exhaust/extractors package, and maybe some decent diff gears.
(im not sure if you have these things done) p.s - welcome to fordforums.com.au
T3 TE50 #146 Quote:
Last edited by AdzT3-146; 05-05-2005 at 08:57 PM. |
05-05-2005, 09:04 PM | #3 | ||
yeah ive been thinkin these options aswell but as i have completly rebuilt and recoed my diff i dont wanna get rid of it, right now im tossin up between the supercharger and headers, ive had a chat to some mechanics though and they have said that headers are better for middle range torque, middle range and top end torque are really good but im after some more lower end.
Last edited by EAalltheway; 05-05-2005 at 09:08 PM. |
05-05-2005, 09:07 PM | #4 | ||
basically a small supercharger is going to end up strangling the engine up high.
it won't be able to feed enough air to make a substantial difference.
05-05-2005, 09:09 PM | #5 | ||
those blowers arent big enough for a 3.9 / 4litre
they're barely big enough for the 3.8 commo that hadfield makes a kit for.... they are designed for a 2.5 - 3 litre engine in japan. that said, tehy may well get you your 20kw with a good set of extractors and exhaust, and a cam |
05-05-2005, 09:21 PM | #6 | ||
dont waste ur money on those jap superchargers, Ive been in cars with them on, hell the toyota's that use em in there 4 cylinders and 6 cylinders bearly see a differnce. but when it comes to forced induction thing start get pretty expensive, standard engine components really cant work with boost to a degree. if you wanna supercharger ur car and not wanna spend heaps and make it a drag car then capa makes a good powerdyne kit 9Psi and round 250 killowats. for round 6 grand. but please dont dissapoint ur self by getting one of those shit jap chargers
05-05-2005, 09:22 PM | #7 | ||
~~~
oh god curtis is reading this thread
05-05-2005, 09:25 PM | #8 | ||
whats that supposed to mean?
05-05-2005, 09:30 PM | #9 | ||
My guess is your interesting ideas back in the day (assuming its the same Curtis)
that is it..
05-05-2005, 09:35 PM | #10 | ||
ya my ideas, lets not talk about that.
05-05-2005, 09:38 PM | #11 | ||
hahaha, no need, 13 psi will do the job now ;)
05-05-2005, 09:40 PM | #12 | ||
damn right!
05-05-2005, 09:42 PM | #13 | ||
What power is it making? Have you raced it yet?
What took you so long to get here?
05-05-2005, 09:44 PM | #14 | ||
ummm power 320 rear wheel horsepower, raced it umm legally no, what took me so long to get there well i ask my self that, i dunno how i drove a N/A car before...
05-05-2005, 09:54 PM | #15 | ||
Custom user title
man use 3 of these super charges and u might get some where :>
05-05-2005, 10:55 PM | #16 | ||
Curtis is a legend guys, just cause he had some wild ideas, hey Karl why don't ya get a V8 and run slower than a decent 5 speed EA, oh....jk. How many of you have built a motor from scratch.
anyways, this thread is crap, apart from Curtis posting in it. Your a champ! and I think Curtis summed it up nicely, he is a mechanic at Ford. Damo |
06-05-2005, 01:08 AM | #17 | ||
Those superchargers would be next to useless on a big Falcon six.
They were designed for a 2.0L six (if they're the SC14 blowers, on the 1G-GZE engine), they're not going to work all that well on an engine of double the size. 20kw should be easily gained while keeping it NA, while keeping it still close to stock (could you get that kind of increase without taking the head off?). |
06-05-2005, 05:53 AM | #18 | ||
~~~
yeah sorry curtis, i just seen your name in the Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread box and i instanly had images of your car with several of these like 1 per cyl or something with a few cans of compressed carbon dioxide for good measure.
keep up the good work. maybe put up some pics of your engine bay?
06-05-2005, 09:40 AM | #19 | ||
Former E-Series Member
Yeah Curtis we'd love to see some updated pics. You used to update us about every week.
As for superchargers, the powerdyne package (or similar) is the only convincing option I've seen. A lot of the cheap stuff is just gimmicky. |
06-05-2005, 04:35 PM | #20 | ||
There was an XG (??) ute that had good results but used two (2) of these toyota superchargers. That makes one expensive manifold to mate them to the inlet.
06-05-2005, 04:57 PM | #21 | |||
I think those blower kits get 2psi boost on 3.8L which apparently is good for a 25-30% power increase :
http://www.rodshop.com.au/superchargerholdv6.htm
07-05-2005, 02:26 PM | #22 | ||
Formerly eawags
The powerdyne look the go for low boost (9psi) setup with water injection. Ive seen a few mags with the kits on cars doing the 1/4 in under 14 secs. One xr6 did 0-100 in 5.8 (wheelspin) and 13.4@105mph. Not bad for 6grand.
The vortechs are meant to be better for bigger hp and intercooled as the powerdynes internal belts start snapping at 12psi. Pete |
08-05-2005, 03:09 PM | #23 | ||
Here are those pictures you asked for. Im polishing up a manifold in the garage at the moment as well as welding up a polished coolant resavuor tank and oil catch can.
09-05-2005, 08:57 AM | #24 | |||
TL40 Wagon?
You can get an extra 20rwkw no problems N/A as I have but its not low down power or torque its mostly mid to high end. Nice to have a Falcon six that likes to rev all the same. The CAPA supercharger kits are the best bet. The Powerdyne is not a great unit but for the price fo a street car with no BIG aspirations would be perfect. Cost wise though these kits aren't cheap $6k if you can do it yourself and if your budget is Jap import stuff just don't bother do a cam and extractors N/A setup |
09-05-2005, 06:27 PM | #25 | |||
09-05-2005, 06:47 PM | #26 | ||
Former E-Series Member
Great stuff Curtis, thanks for the pics.
jonbays, in terms of refinement etc I think the Powerdyne is one of the best out there - it is considered a more modern design than the Vortech, but you do hit a brick wall if you try and get too much out of them. |