You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and inserts advertising. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members, respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features without post based advertising banners. Registration is simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

Go Back   Australian Ford Forums > Ford Australia Vehicles > Small and Mid Sized Cars > Fiesta, Festiva and Ka

Old 15-08-2007, 12:16 PM   #1
Nappa
Impressive...

Default Just purchased an XR4

Yesterday i signed up on a XR4, have decided to hand in my demo and go on car allowance, i've gone for Performance Blue with the white stripes, also got tint and mats. Cant wait to pick it up, i was really impressed with the way it drove, far better then the Prius i've steering for work. I have missed fast manual cars soooo much.

Just got to wait till monday to pick it up

Old 15-08-2007, 12:31 PM   #2
photn
AFF Post NAZI

Congradulations mate. Glad to see your happy with the car.

hehe i bet you cant wait till monday. i can just imagine sunday night.. you tossing and turning in bed hehehehehehe

what state you in mate?

photn is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 15-08-2007, 12:47 PM   #3
Nappa
Impressive...

yeah i'm counting down the days, they are swapping it into stock, so i hope it all runs on time, im located in Vic. Went back to the dealer i used to work for and they looked after me.

See you on the XR4 Forums
Old 15-08-2007, 06:11 PM   #4
Ives

Congrats for buying an XR4! The performance blue is a popular colour.
Ives is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 24-08-2007, 02:23 AM   #5
digiozz
1979 RS2000 Escort

be interesting to know what evryone paid drive away for their cars...i am hoping to pay 24k on the road (selling the RS and maybe buying a XR4)
Old 24-08-2007, 10:10 AM   #6
Nappa
Impressive...

i paid 26 with tint mats paint and stripes
Old 24-08-2007, 11:45 AM   #7
photn
AFF Post NAZI

NIOCE!

so how is the car going so far?

Old 25-08-2007, 09:25 AM   #8
Nappa
Impressive...

its going fantastic so far, have clocked up 500kms since tuesday, im really happy with the car and everytime i drive it it brings a smile to my face, i took on a long freeway run last night and i found the seats really great, no lower back pain that i used to experiance in the othe models.
Also took on a few windy roads and its outsanding to drive. Cant wait to get a few more k's on it so i can really give it a good go.
Old 25-08-2007, 10:16 AM   #9
PKITUP

you only really need to run in the brakes for the first 200kms and thats all from what i heard, man i dropped my clutch coming outta the dealership lol, ohh but im talking bout a normal fez.....
PKITUP is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 25-08-2007, 10:48 AM   #10
mitch_lx
Candy White GTI

Its suprising how many people drive like nobs in a new car
Candy White, Anthracite heated Sports leather seats w/ Red stitching.Tinted Windows, Eibach Pro-Kit springs,Whiteline Front/Rear adjustable sway bars,Cupra R intake, Forge Turbo Inlet pipe,BMC panel filter, APR stage one flash,
Dunlop SP sport MAXX, Forge Polished upper front strut brace. 3'' downpipe and highflow cat

Loads of fun :
mitch_lx is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 25-08-2007, 11:53 AM   #11
photn
AFF Post NAZI

Originally Posted by PKITUP
you only really need to run in the brakes for the first 200kms and thats all from what i heard, man i dropped my clutch coming outta the dealership lol, ohh but im talking bout a normal fez.....
Your car wont last long at all.. i hope you dont think a brand new clutch will last very long.

With the XR4 the engine isnt run in until 5000km.

the normal fiesta its run in at about 1000km, But what you are doing is pure madness. You are destroying a perfectly good car.

Fordel, are you allowed to ban ppl for stupidity? Please say yes.

Old 25-08-2007, 09:23 PM   #12
jweb
radio off =save petrol :P

you lucky bastard lol,absolute ripper of a car.nice work mate
Old 26-08-2007, 12:26 AM   #13
mitch_lx
Candy White GTI

photn. why is it that the focus/xr4 engine takes 5x longer to be run in?
Candy White, Anthracite heated Sports leather seats w/ Red stitching.Tinted Windows, Eibach Pro-Kit springs,Whiteline Front/Rear adjustable sway bars,Cupra R intake, Forge Turbo Inlet pipe,BMC panel filter, APR stage one flash,
Dunlop SP sport MAXX, Forge Polished upper front strut brace. 3'' downpipe and highflow cat

Loads of fun :
Old 26-08-2007, 02:15 AM   #14
goop

so, uh... why did 'pkitup' get banned?

If we're just banning dopey buggers, can I suggest a couple more?

Big grats Nappa
goop is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 26-08-2007, 03:15 PM   #15

Originally Posted by mitch_lx
photn. why is it that the focus/xr4 engine takes 5x longer to be run in?
It doesn't.

Old 26-08-2007, 04:02 PM   #16
mitch_lx
Candy White GTI

^^^ yeah i realise lol.

I was pulling a weird face when i asked that question.. a WTF face

Loads of fun :
Old 26-08-2007, 11:00 PM   #17
photn
AFF Post NAZI

well that dont take 5x as much time to wear in ideally, but they dont really LOOSEN up till about 5000km. so i was told from ST owners on FiestaSTOC.com website.

And mitch, its a Mondeo engine, not a focus engine dispite popular beliefs.

Old 26-08-2007, 11:23 PM   #18
andrewr

Originally Posted by photn
And mitch, its a Mondeo engine, not a focus engine dispite popular beliefs.
The focus, mondeo and xr4 all use the same engine 2.0, the duratec. They used to use Zetecs in some models, and rebadge them as duratec but the easy way to tell is if it has an alloy block its a duratec. Ford don't have any all alloy 4 cyl except the duratec, and in fact the duratec is now the standard engine used in 1.6, 2.0 and 2.3 for all focuss, mondeos and fiestas.

The xr5 on the other hand is badged as a duratec even though it isn't, Duratecs only come in 4 cyl the xr5 engine is a volvo engine I think..

andrew
andrewr is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 26-08-2007, 11:46 PM   #19
photn
AFF Post NAZI

Originally Posted by andrewr
The focus, mondeo and xr4 all use the same engine 2.0, the duratec. They used to use Zetecs in some models, and rebadge them as duratec but the easy way to tell is if it has an alloy block its a duratec. Ford don't have any all alloy 4 cyl except the duratec, and in fact the duratec is now the standard engine used in 1.6, 2.0 and 2.3 for all focuss, mondeos and fiestas.

The xr5 on the other hand is badged as a duratec even though it isn't, Duratecs only come in 4 cyl the xr5 engine is a volvo engine I think..

andrew
Correct on most!

But the engine came from the Mondeo, it was then used in the Focus, then in the Fiesta. And The only real thing they share are the blocks,heads, the intake and exhaust on each are different, hence why you cannot put an XR4 tune on the Focus, also

The engine has undergone performance enhancements which see it develop 110kW at 6000 rpm, compared with the 107kW at 6000 rpm when installed in the Focus. The increased output is the result of an all-new, low-loss intake system and new sports exhaust system developed specifically for the Fiesta XR4.

Maximum torque of 190Nm is increased from 185Nm in the Focus and the torque delivery is of an exceptionally wide spread, with 80 per cent of peak torque available from as low as 1500 rpm and more than 90 per cent from 2200 rpm all the way to 6150 rpm.
As you stated there where Zetecs dubbed DURATEC's, and same done with the Fiesta Engines.

But Duratecs come in 4cl and 6cl form.

The Duratec 1.6 in the fiesta is in fact actually a ZETEC-SE engine developed in cohersion with YAMAHA, with a Compression ratio of 11.0:1, where as the Focus Zetec-E are 10.4 (or there abouts).

Old 26-08-2007, 11:57 PM   #20
andrewr

Originally Posted by photn
But Duratecs come in 4cl and 6cl form.
Thanks for clarifying.. The 6 cyl is a V6 right? Is it actually a duratec or something else rebadged?

Honestly i find it all so confusing, why ford feel the need to use one name for everything is beyond me..

andrew
andrewr is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 27-08-2007, 12:01 AM   #21
photn
AFF Post NAZI

Here you go mate,

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Duratec

Old 27-08-2007, 02:09 AM   #22
Piotr
Non-Regular Member

Originally Posted by andrewr
The 2L and 2.3L Duratec are Mazda engines, the XR5 engine is a Volov engine, the 1.6L in the Fiesta is a Ford engine that was co-developed my Yamaha.
Piotr is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 27-08-2007, 05:11 PM   #23
Nappa
Impressive...

i reckon i will be taking it easy to atleast 2-3000kms, but its hard not to give it a bit of stick every now and then, like the 1.6ltr the 2.0 loves t rev,
I'm trying to limit the k's im doing but its hard not to just go for a drive for fun.
Old 27-08-2007, 05:18 PM   #24
zetec
Zoom Zoom

Very nice choice of colour. Going from a Prius to an XR4 is like going from a slow, diwitted, big bummed and very ugly Hippy girlfriend to a young, perky and fun hot girlfriend who hugs you all the time but is ultimately almost as good for the environment anyway and better on your wallet!
Old 27-08-2007, 07:35 PM   #25
photn
AFF Post NAZI

Very nice choice of colour. Going from a Prius to an XR4 is like going from a slow, diwitted, big bummed and very ugly Hippy girlfriend to a young, perky and fun hot girlfriend who hugs you all the time but is ultimately almost as good for the environment anyway and better on your wallet!
Dont forget this Girlfriend has Big Bulging headlights with what can be called erect nipples hehehehe

Now getting huged by that would be AWESUM!