Old 14-11-2007, 11:30 PM   #1

Default AUXR6 queries

Hil folks,

Looking at buying an AUXR6 and getting rid of my S3 XR8 and S2 Forte.

Researching on Redbook I notice there is an AUII XR6 VCT and an AUII XR6 VCT AW17. Both 2001 build. Anyone shed any light on on AW17? The only difference I can spot is one has the 6 stacker standard and other doesn't.

The two cars in the picture at the moment are a series 2 VCT with 115000kms and a series 1 VCT with 85000kms. Any reason not to bother with the series 1? Anything in particular to look out for with the series 1? The low kms caught my attention to begin with. Don't know much about VCT but is there much advantage to it over the HP?

Any comments/suggestions would be much appreciated.

85987 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 14-11-2007, 11:40 PM   #2
I ♥ EDM

g'day mate, i own an au2 xr6 vct, and contrary to some opinions i prefer it over the HP. basically pull the same times even tho the VCT has more power, its IRS weighs it down. series 1 will give you more brake hassles since they are simply too underdone. having said all this, why in God's name would you get rid of a s3 XR8 for one of these.....?? :
SSD-85 is online now   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 15-11-2007, 11:23 AM   #3
NARCEA
5/00 AUII Forte

Thanks mate. I need the cash difference for future accommodation purposes.

Old 15-11-2007, 11:27 AM   #4
NARCEA
5/00 AUII Forte

In case you're wondering, was having problems with my old account here. Seems to be back up and running now. We are the same people.

Cheers!
Old 15-11-2007, 09:11 PM   #5
Dark Horse
_Oo===oO_

AUII XR6 VCT and AUII XR6 VCT AW17.

This is what I interpret that to mean as listed in Redbook:

In the AUII, there was a changeover in equipment levels from April/May 2001 onwards, which became known as the "Late Edition AUII". This was commensurate with the upgrade of the AUII XR8 from the 200 kW Windsor to 220 kW and the release of the limited edition AUII XR8 Rebel. What this meant for all XR's from this point forward was that they gained colour coded mirror scalps. More specifically the 17x8 5 spoke XR8 wheels became standard for the Late Edition AUII XR6 VCT, hence the AW17 suffix.

There is sufficient information posted already on the relative merits and pitfalls of going with the HP v VCT, a search will yield numerous results in this area. Objectively neither car is in competition with each other, it's all personal preference, something we can't sway you towards. I will forewarn you this. The operating costs of an XR6 VCT are not much different to the XR8, something you'll need to be aware of. Not a criticism of the VCT by any means but something that's going to play on your mind in terms of questioning yourself in letting the XR8 go.
Old 16-11-2007, 01:48 AM   #6
NARCEA
5/00 AUII Forte

Thanks for your comments. Day to day operating costs aren't a problem. I just need the cash difference from selling both of my current cars, plus the XR8 isn't really practical for my daily driving habits. I do however love it's handling on the road.. hence the decision to source an XR6. Is there any reason besides the brakes to avoid a series 1?
Old 16-11-2007, 02:22 AM   #7
BFD83

Originally Posted by NARCEA
Thanks for your comments. Day to day operating costs aren't a problem. I just need the cash difference from selling both of my current cars, plus the XR8 isn't really practical for my daily driving habits. I do however love it's handling on the road.. hence the decision to source an XR6. Is there any reason besides the brakes to avoid a series 1?
The series 1's got the hideous looking grey center dash! Also, the center front's were different to when they upgraded the front bar's in the series 2 models. The series 2 front bar's are way better lookin haha!
BFD83 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 16-11-2007, 02:37 PM   #8
NARCEA
5/00 AUII Forte

Yeah I've noticed that yesterday. The grey centre looks shocking! I don't mind the front bar but I do agree the series 2 are much better. How about mechanically? I'm aware of it being under braked.
Old 16-11-2007, 09:45 PM   #9
waggaclint

overall the auII is better all round quieter etc better on fuel (has a ecu upgrade) a better heater control set-up...i think they look better...and of cause better braking system... basically all the problems from the auI have been fixed like with and model model car series II/III ETC are always better....there fix all the bugs...and 115000km is stiil bugger all for a falcon just run in hey....
waggaclint is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 17-11-2007, 03:03 AM   #10
I ♥ EDM

well the au2 gained an aluminium radiator core, a laminated firewall (which reduces noise a little bit), plus a host of little tidbits (new sound system for instance), mainly with styling. overall build quality seems a lot better too. you get more value for money with an au2. the VCT will drink nearly as much as your XR8 would. still flogs 5.7L SS crumpledoors though, which puts a smile on my face everytime :hihi:
SSD-85 is online now   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 17-11-2007, 10:45 PM   #11

Originally Posted by WeHaveIgnition
well the au2 gained an aluminium radiator core, a laminated firewall (which reduces noise a little bit), plus a host of little tidbits (new sound system for instance), mainly with styling. overall build quality seems a lot better too. you get more value for money with an au2. the VCT will drink nearly as much as your XR8 would. still flogs 5.7L SS crumpledoors though, which puts a smile on my face everytime :hihi:
I agree with everything you say....up until this point: "still flogs 5.7L SS crumpledoors though, ". Just because you get in front of them, doesn't mean they're trying. Just on base stats, the 5.7s are AT LEAST 1 sec faster to both 100km/h and over the 400 than the XR8, which is in turn faster than any of the XR6s.

As most have already said, go the series 2 - the interior won't make much difference, as the XRs got the black interior anyway in series 1, and IMO it looks OK. If the price difference is more than $2k, then get the AU1, and put the saving into upgrading front brakes, as that is THE biggest difference betwen an AU1 XR6 VCT and an AU2 XR6 VCT.

Old 18-11-2007, 12:40 AM   #12
NARCEA
5/00 AUII Forte

Thanks all for your input. The dealer wanted 16999 for the AU1 and the AU2 is down in carsales for 13000. Had a look at the AU2 today and it's very straight and not leaking all the oil the AU1 is. The choice seems pretty easy at the moment.

Old 19-11-2007, 12:12 AM   #13

The dealer probably paid no more than $8k for the AU1 - if you can, wait until it's been on the lot for around 70 days - the price will drop drastically. Somewhere around $10k would be OK from a dealer.

Old 19-11-2007, 12:54 AM   #14
TwistedEL

Is the XR8 for sale? Or do you want to trade it in?
TwistedEL is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 19-11-2007, 01:50 AM   #15
NARCEA
5/00 AUII Forte

I wouldn't touch the AU1 with the amount of oil weeping from it at the moment. Dealer said he wasn't aware of the oil leak and it was going in to be workshop tested, so the mechanical report would be available if I was keen

TwistedEL, XR8 is for sale to the right person. Not keen to part with it as a trade in.