You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and inserts advertising. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members, respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features without post based advertising banners. Registration is simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

Old 26-11-2006, 02:21 AM   #1
mutanti
Turbo

Default Spring nats Shepparton

Picked up a few Ol married mates and headed of to shep late this arvo to check out the hoons Chucking laps around shepp.

How times have changed.
Years ago it would take over half an hour to chuck a lap of the main drag in town.
Now its just like a normal sat night (As It was many years ago ) As I dont get out much anymore.
Police were everywhere pulling cars over and getting them to follow them somewhere around the back blocks.
Saw a few canaries getting around.
We just parked the BA in the main drag and watched all the hoons lap around.
Was a few nice cars getting around and some others that required burning LOL

Gone are the days when the lake was chocka block with people and cars parked there.
Lake is now a tow away zone.

Glad I diddnt have to drive over an hour to get there.
Me and my mates had a good laugh anyway.

Old 26-11-2006, 06:36 PM   #2

You're right mate. I just posted this in the thread in the events and meets forum.

I don't know what the numbers were like for the actual event, but Shepparton and more specifically the caravan park where we stayed were very quiet this year. I guess people are too afraid to take their cars because they know that anything slightly modified will be pulled over and most likely defected. I mean last year we saw a HSV GTS-R get defected for the STOCK rear wing FFS! Unfortunately I doubt we'll be going back next year.

It's suave, more subtle, and yet no less stirring. In fact, the boosted Ford is more polished than any big sedan Australia has ever produced. It's just so damn good, it makes the SS feel crude... Ignore the WRX. Forget the E49. Falcon XR6 Turbo is king.
Old 26-11-2006, 07:40 PM   #3
T_Terror
The Guy You Love To Hate

Maybe someone knows someone in the force and can find out the answer to this question.

Why are car enthusiasts who are doing the right thing and taking their cars to a racetrack to stretch their muscles being actively targeted and discouraged from coming back.
All the cops up in Shepparton are missing is the "And dont come back here again!" slogans.
Old 26-11-2006, 08:46 PM   #4

Valued Contributor: For members whose non technical contributions are worthy of recognition. - Issue reason: Shares his in-depth tuning knowledge with the forum, very helpful. Contributor: For members who make a contribution worthy of recognition. - Issue reason: For his indepth tutorial on adding borders to photographs 

Originally Posted by T_Terror
Maybe someone knows someone in the force and can find out the answer to this question.

Why are car enthusiasts who are doing the right thing and taking their cars to a racetrack to stretch their muscles being actively targeted and discouraged from coming back.
All the cops up in Shepparton are missing is the "And dont come back here again!" slogans.
The trouble is normally caused by the idiots that follow the good cars to different events, the people that don't have a good car themselves or think their death trap is as good as the well built cars and try to prove it by dropping burnouts in crowded areas or just careless driving antics. We all end up getting tainted with the same results by the non motoring publice and coppers.

The cops should be encouraging that the motor events take place, and give a little leeway for a modded car to be driven around while the event is in progress, not book everything that is a little low and has nice wheels

Old 27-11-2006, 09:43 AM   #5
MOTIV8
Just cruizin' around.....

You cant be serious, DECA is not a real race track it is a Driver Education Center hence the name.............. a real racetrack is Winton, Sandown, Calder or Phillip Island for example not somewhere where you go "to stretch the muscles" of your car on a skid pan or burn out pad......

This type of event IMO does not in my mind attract the car enthusiasts who really want to "stretch the muscles' of their cars in a controlled environment on a RACE TRACK
Old 27-11-2006, 09:56 AM   #6
T_Terror
The Guy You Love To Hate

Originally Posted by MOTIV8
You cant be serious, DECA is not a real race track it is a Driver Education Center hence the name.............. a real racetrack is Winton, Sandown, Calder or Phillip Island for example not somewhere where you go "to stretch the muscles" of your car on a skid pan or burn out pad......

This type of event IMO does not in my mind attract the car enthusiasts who really want to "stretch the muscles' of their cars in a controlled environment on a RACE TRACK

Youve missed the whole point entirely.

Enjoy your "racetrack" lol.
Old 27-11-2006, 09:58 AM   #7
GXL078

Originally Posted by Kenaz
I mean last year we saw a HSV GTS-R get defected for the STOCK rear wing FFS! Unfortunately I doubt we'll be going back next year.
Visual pollution?
Old 27-11-2006, 10:07 AM   #8
Sledgehammer

Yes its a shame that the police dont attempt to assist with the event, it gets the folk off the road and would add money to the local community by way of accomodation, food sales etc.....

Events like this need to be promoted and run professionally, its only then that they will be supported, I suppose the 'hoon' element is the only thing that we 'car folk' are seem to represent, which is a real shame, and incorrect.

I dont know if the local police were involved in the show, but this has been going on for a long time, I remember the show 5 or so years ago and it was tough then not to get pulled over for simply driving to the show.

The Bendigo Swap meet weekend is the same, cars were being defected whilst being parked.....

It about time that we stood up to this and promote these events to the local councils and police as being good for the community. (Held in safe enviroments etc).

We had the local Hwy Patrol involved with our Gold Coast All Ford Day, they displayed their car and talked to folk all day, great for all and we had no problems by way of hooning at all.....
Old 27-11-2006, 10:10 AM   #9

Originally Posted by MOTIV8

Yep i would have to agree with you here. I have been to all the Shep events and have to say most of the time the people who get booked don't deserve it but having said that we were kept pretty busy this year more so the in previous years and most of the ones i looked at were the local shiit heaps. Bj
Old 27-11-2006, 10:33 AM   #10
Go baby Go
Like no other..........

Originally Posted by Sledgehammer

We had the local Hwy Patrol involved with our Gold Coast All Ford Day, they displayed their car and talked to folk all day, great for all and we had no problems by way of hooning at all.....
This is what should happen... and sledgehammer - very nice work with the AFD.....

Having been to the Springnats in the past, every single time there are a bunch of shall we say... "wally's" who are doing the burnouts/drags/abusing people etc.... and these guys -albeit a small bunch- are the ones that make trouble for everyone else and for future events....
It's a shame because it's a great event, but all it takes is a couple of bad eggs...........

I've done a number of events at DECA and Winton this year alone, and whenever you stay in shep on the Saturday nights, there they all are again.... so whist I am definitely not agreeing with what the police do, I guess they can only go by what happens every other sat night there............

A recent study found the average Australian walks about 900 miles a year.
Another study found Australians drink, on average, 22 gallons of alcohol a year.
That means, on average, Australians get about 41 miles to the gallon.

Kind of makes you proud to be an aussie.
Old 27-11-2006, 03:09 PM   #11
[Tonko]

I feel it is mostly the locals that let us down, eg.
Driving around on saturday night, in a red VZ that looked exactly like an undercover a bloke knocked on the window and held up a bucket..."mmk random" i thought as we went around the U-turn the car got sideways and the one behind us did a full heli...this dikhead dropped 5 litres of oil across both lanes.
5 cars were confiscated, 3 were locals.
But there is nothing we can do about the feral locals unfortunatly, all of the tourists i talked to were good value...

EF XR8 - Koni's - Cam and Headwork -3.9s - Ex VIC TMU -

1982 Nissan Patrol - 460 ci Big Block soon - Semi Gloss Black - Dark Tint - 4x 6" Infinity Kappa Perfect Splits - 5" Kappa 2 ways - Kappa 6x9's - 2x12" Kappa perfect subs - 2x4 Channel and 2x Mono Kappa amps-

Old 27-11-2006, 07:04 PM   #12
peak revs

Not wanting to make mischief but Winton run a similar event to the Nationals events that are held here in Victoria and elsewhere.

The Perfomance Car Mania was run last October and will be run again next year at Winton, whilst in its infancy, it is generally believed that it will grow into a significant event for the North - North East. They have a web page you can visit, just whack performance car mania in google AU and it will give you the link.
Old 27-11-2006, 11:22 PM   #13
JACK250

I have been going to springnats for a few years now and think this year was a complete letdown. There were hardly any cars in the show and shine and most of the entrants were P platers in commodores. The newspapers and TV were saying what a great success it was but just from the lack of cars on saturday night it was obvious the event was a flop. The Shepp news claimed that there were 48,000 go through the gates, and in an article next to it it was saying that it attracted 52,000 people to the town. How do you justify this? For one most of the people are locals. I doubt I will be going back next year.
Old 28-11-2006, 07:21 AM   #14
peak revs

I think they count the same person every time they walk through the gate, that way if someone goes in 3 times that is 3 visitors/spectators. I have seen this practice used before.

Correction:

PERFORMANCE CAR MANIA 2007 - SEPTEMBER 21-23

Last edited by peak revs; 28-11-2006 at 07:35 AM.
Old 28-11-2006, 09:52 AM   #15
mutanti
Turbo

Well this weekend the Numurkah "Showusyour wheels" is on so Ill be heading over to it.
As far as im concerned its much classier than spring nats and a reasonable price to get in.
Anybody else heading there.. ?

more info here http://www.showusyawheels.com/
Old 28-11-2006, 03:03 PM   #16
GRNKPR
DPC PERFORMANCE Race prep

Springnats is a joke and i wouldnt waste my time as the last time i went there with a stock 67 XR falcon and was hassled no end by the copsbut they couldnt book me for anything.I agree they have a job but it is overkill ,I hope the town of Shepparton ,Organisers and the reatilers get together and meet with the council and POLICE and nut this one out as it has been ruined and i think it could go alright if the cops backed off a bit

in saying all this that is why i have a circuit car and race at real race tracks as the cops havnt pulled me over yet for going well over 200 KMH !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

FPV & XR Owners Club of Victoria FPV & XR Owners Club of Victoria FPV & XR Owners Club of Victoria FPV & XR Owners Club of Victoria

Ford Performance Car ClubFord Performance Car ClubFord Performance Car ClubFord Performance Car Club
Old 28-11-2006, 05:04 PM   #17
T_Terror
The Guy You Love To Hate

Originally Posted by GRNKPR
Springnats is a joke and i wouldnt waste my time as the last time i went there with a stock 67 XR falcon and was hassled no end by the copsbut they couldnt book me for anything.I agree they have a job but it is overkill ,I hope the town of Shepparton ,Organisers and the reatilers get together and meet with the council and POLICE and nut this one out as it has been ruined and i think it could go alright if the cops backed off a bit

in saying all this that is why i have a circuit car and race at real race tracks as the cops havnt pulled me over yet for going well over 200 KMH !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Yeah im surprised there hasnt been an organised effort to change police attitidues, i mean its pretty obvious that some desk jockey has decided to "shut down the hoons" and has organised a major operation to bring down heaps of cops and discourage people from ever coming back.
Old 28-11-2006, 11:21 PM   #18
bluovl

The police have put in a fair effort to kill this event. They would be rapt with themselves.

I went a couple of years back. I got into the Top ten show cars and won a couple of other trophies so obviously the car cant be in that bad of a condition.
I got pinged for being 1/2 an inch too low. Got treated like an absolute criminal. Car was searched and checked for burnt rubber under the rear guards. I asked the cop what he was doing and he replied I would be busted for perfoming burnouts, even though there is the legit burnout comp held at Deca.
I was on my way home to Bendigo on a warm, dry sunday night. The arrogant ***** of a cop told me that he "owned the road". Thats great coming from a public servant.

10 minutes after that episode getting near Elmore I passed two more of them on the side of the road. It was like a very shitty welcome home party.
Both cars chased me with lights & sirens going. After pulling me over they asked me to lift the bonnet. As we stood looking at the engine, one asked "V8 is it?". I said yes. Great coming from trained specialists.

People can defend police behaviour all they like but targetting a particluar group is plain harassment. They will also say "yes, but your car is unroadworthy, its half an inch too low". Big deal. Its been rebuilt from top to bottom and I know every inch. I wouldn't drive a car that risked my life or that of others. I'd be more concerned about the drunk drivers and druggies that fly past me while I'm being harassed by cops on the side of the road.

Dale
69 Mustang Convertible
XA 351 Coupe
1965 Galaxie Convertible
2005 GT-P
AU XR6 Ute
Old 29-11-2006, 12:52 AM   #19

The organizers as some have said should try and get the local TMU on side. The vast majority of car enthusiasts do the right thing. It only takes a few to spoil an event. I do believe a young male was killed in Shepp going back a few years. This wouldn't have helped. I have been to the event a few times, noticed the numbers each year dwindling. Never had any issues with the locals though.
Old 29-11-2006, 12:53 AM   #20

Originally Posted by mutanti
Well this weekend the Numurkah "Showusyour wheels" is on so Ill be heading over to it.
As far as im concerned its much classier than spring nats and a reasonable price to get in.
Anybody else heading there.. ?

more info here http://www.showusyawheels.com/
ORSM Ford Cruises will be there!! :
Old 29-11-2006, 08:49 PM   #21
T_Terror
The Guy You Love To Hate

Everyone says that its a minority ruining it for most enthusiasts.

If the police were serious about tackling any real problem they would target that minority.

Everyone knows the best part of going to car events is cruising up in your own pride and joy and checking out other peoples rides.

A more aggressive approach is need from the organisers and other interested parties. The AAAA comes to mind.
Old 29-11-2006, 08:52 PM   #22
CaRtZ
Aspiring mr efxr

article in the Shepparton News 27/11/06

Out-of-town police cop criticism

Shepparton’s Spring Car Nationals crowd numbers stayed steady again this year, with about 48 000 people attending the three-day event at the weekend.
The annual car extravaganza held it’s regular attractions such as Go-to-Whoa, Spear a Spud and Show and Shine, which event promotions organizer Les Adams said was a hit among SpringNats crowds.
“We had all our usual events – the numbers were down from last year on Saturday but up on Sunday,” he said.
Although Spring Car Nationals organizers were pleased with crowd numbers, Mr Adams said they had dropped significantly from previous years when the event attracted about 52 000 to the city.
“We’re always absolutely rapt with the support from local police, city authorities, business and the community but we’re disgusted with the police that have been coming from out of the area and who are driving people away,” he said.
“They are costing the Goulburn Valley millions of dollors in revenue.”
Mr. Adams said 816 people had entered the event this year compared with more than 1 000 in 2001, which he said shows was evidence of how over-policing had taken it’s toll.
“We used to grow by an average of 32 per cent per year until the over-policing by out-of-town police … they drive participants and visitors away,” he said.
While Mr. Adams was confident the Spring Car Nationals would run in Shepparton next year , he also said the event would be moved if the harsh policing continued.
“The last thing we want to do is move it as it’s great for the town and is always supported by the local police who I have nothing but praise for,” He said.

Standard = 99.6rwkw <!> 2.5" SuperCat cat back exhaust, Wade 1636 cam, K&N boxed pod (new dyno required
Sony headunit, splits, 6.5"s and 2 x 12" with response precision amp = 135.5 dB

Daily = Ae82 '85 corolla Fwd :togo: , 5 speed, 12" sub, 6x9's, green LED's

the course i am studying: http://www.wodonga.tafe.edu.au/01_courses/course.jsp?id=AUR30905NANA
Old 12-01-2008, 09:48 AM   #23
peak revs

Originally Posted by CaRtZ
article in the Shepparton News 27/11/06

Out-of-town police cop criticism

Shepparton’s Spring Car Nationals crowd numbers stayed steady again this year, with about 48 000 people attending the three-day event at the weekend.
The annual car extravaganza held it’s regular attractions such as Go-to-Whoa, Spear a Spud and Show and Shine, which event promotions organizer Les Adams said was a hit among SpringNats crowds.
“We had all our usual events – the numbers were down from last year on Saturday but up on Sunday,” he said.
Although Spring Car Nationals organizers were pleased with crowd numbers, Mr Adams said they had dropped significantly from previous years when the event attracted about 52 000 to the city.
“We’re always absolutely rapt with the support from local police, city authorities, business and the community but we’re disgusted with the police that have been coming from out of the area and who are driving people away,” he said.
“They are costing the Goulburn Valley millions of dollors in revenue.”
Mr. Adams said 816 people had entered the event this year compared with more than 1 000 in 2001, which he said shows was evidence of how over-policing had taken it’s toll.
“We used to grow by an average of 32 per cent per year until the over-policing by out-of-town police … they drive participants and visitors away,” he said.
While Mr. Adams was confident the Spring Car Nationals would run in Shepparton next year , he also said the event would be moved if the harsh policing continued.
“The last thing we want to do is move it as it’s great for the town and is always supported by the local police who I have nothing but praise for,” He said.
Every year Les threatens to move it on, he has the local council over a barrell, they will do anything to keep it, it is Sheppartons biggest event.

Les won't let it move or die, it is too much of a money spinner for him. Just a bit of bluff is all it is.
Old 12-01-2008, 02:31 PM   #24
Shaggzy
"BMX_datto"

What is it with everyone bringing back threads froms years ago??