You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and inserts advertising. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members, respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features without post based advertising banners. Registration is simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

Old 17-03-2008, 09:43 AM   #1
AC
Saving for a Jet Car

Default HMAS Sydney - Found

Well its been one of Australia's biggest mysteries for a long time.
Now, we have some closure coming.

Cant wait to see the pics as they come through.

http://news.ninemsn.com.au/article.aspx?id=73056
The wreckage of HMAS Sydney, sunk off the West Australian coast in 1941, has been found, ABC Radio has reported.

The Sydney's entire crew of 645 went down with the ship in the Indian Ocean and its location has been a mystery for 66 years.

The wreckage of a German ship - the merchant raider Kormoran - believed to have sunk the Australian warship was found on Sunday in waters about 800km north of Perth.
This has a special link for my family.
My Great Grand Father knew the Captain and hosted a Medal Presentation and luncheon in their honor the February before they were lost. Apparently it greatly effect him.

Lest we Forget.

Some photos.

AC is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 17-03-2008, 11:02 AM   #2
DJR David

This is fantastic news for those who lost fathers and sons on that day.

Fair winds and smooth seas.
DJR David is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 17-03-2008, 11:11 AM   #3

Wow, thats an awesome find.

Old 17-03-2008, 11:56 AM   #4
1970galaxie
Fat 460

Been hearing reports since I got up this mornig. Yes, great news!
Lets hope the Govt pitch in with some funds.
2003 BA XR8 Ute. Blood Orange. 5.4/5 speed.
2006 Territory Turbo. Silhouette. 4.0/6 speed auto.
1970galaxie is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 17-03-2008, 12:00 PM   #5
jcxr
Tribal Elder

Genuine "Barn"acle find.
jcxr is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 17-03-2008, 02:38 PM   #6
TadKa
Wait? What?

Originally Posted by jcxr
Genuine "Barn"acle find.
haha gotta pay that one.

I don't think they should disturb the site too much. It is a war gravesite after all.
TadKa is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 17-03-2008, 03:03 PM   #7
james22
With da Warlords

Whoa, who would of thought, after all this time.... Thats absolutely awesome. I love boats but my mrs keeps sinking them in the bath lol

For Sale: Parachute. Only used once, never opened, small stain.

Windsor Warlords
AU III XR-8220
300+ rwhp of Manual fun

XR50T Ute - 300rwkw (give or take depending on the day)
james22 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 17-03-2008, 03:26 PM   #8
Bax
Projecting

Just heard on the radio that it doesn't seem as though they're going to bring it to the surface.
Bax is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 17-03-2008, 04:38 PM   #9
broken_suave

Originally Posted by Bax
Just heard on the radio that it doesn't seem as though they're going to bring it to the surface.
I'd certainly hope not. Its tremendous news that it has been found, but I think it'd be a bit foolhardy to try to re-float a vessel that has spent the last 66 years of the floor of the Indian Ocean.

I too have some connections in a few places with the HMAS Sydney. My Great Grandfather was a Naval Engineer, responsible for maintaining the directional appetures along the inside of the hull. (The linkages for the rudders) Or at least thats what was explained to me. Didnt go out to sea, but worked on the vessel when it was docked.

We have a very old faded photograph of the HMAS Sydney, with its crew on deck.

Beautiful ship, and its brilliant news hearing its been found.

Previously:
98 AU Futura 4.0 - Wildcat Extractors, 200cpsi Stainless Cat, Custom 2.5" Mandrel Bent Exhaust, Tickford Snorkel, Fram 'Airhog' Panel Filter - Daily

79 P6 LTD Silver Monarch - Project
broken_suave is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 17-03-2008, 05:33 PM   #10
HenryV8

Press release and Finding Sydney blog here:

Finding Sydney - HMAS Sydney Discovered
HenryV8 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 17-03-2008, 05:53 PM   #11
SB076

That is great news for all involved and hopefully we can find some answers as to what happened and how it sunk and no one survived.

with Sunroof and tinted windows
with out all the go fast bits I actually need :
SB076 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 17-03-2008, 07:06 PM   #12
bob^
LPS

Just seen this on Channel 7 news. A footy player ****ing on a window of a bar was more important than the HMAS Sydney (They spent the first 5 mins about the footy player).
bob^ is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 17-03-2008, 07:17 PM   #13
perthxr6t
PERTHXR6T

Great news to hear and lets hope the mongrels leave her be so she can rest in piece with all those men that served our country till the end.

The first that try's to salvage her should have there boat blown out of the water and have his balls fed to the sharks

Panther Black XR5T Mondeo
Sunroof
BlueTooth
Mods So Far

Air Box Mod
Lowered Eibach Springs 25mm
Alloy foot Pedals
Waiting for the Edit to come
Custom Cat Back Zorst
perthxr6t is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 17-03-2008, 08:01 PM   #14
AC
Saving for a Jet Car

Originally Posted by Bax
They wont raise it up, its too far down... About 2400mt
All as all others have said, its a war grave, so it wont be disturbed.

If anything, they might bring up a bell or anchor, something small.

Great news is, that Sydney is sitting upright, will be good for the imagery.
AC is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 17-03-2008, 10:39 PM   #15
Scone
Tool

My fathers father was amongst those lost on the Sydney. My Dad was 8 at the time. He is sort of happy to know it has been found but cannot believe the fact that all hands were lost.
Scone is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 17-03-2008, 11:49 PM   #16
JG66ME

Technical Contributor: For members who share their technical expertise. - Issue reason: Great tech articles and assistance to all in the Classics arena. 

Its the team that found her are the same guys who found HMS Hood. I hope they place a White Ensign on her (the old style one) just like they do on HMS Repulse and HMS Prince of Wales off the coast of Malaya.

This is a great day for the Royal Australian Navy.

Lest We Forget.

Last edited by JG66ME; 17-03-2008 at 11:58 PM.
JG66ME is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 18-03-2008, 12:59 AM   #17
stitty
Stunt Driver

They showed some of the families of the sailors on the late news. At least they now have some closure, and a place to grieve. Even after all these years, it still must be emotional for them.
Old 05-04-2008, 03:52 PM   #18
Falcon_Crazy
PX3 WildTrak & RTV

Just saw some of the first pitcures from its resting place. In remarkable condition considering the length of time it has been on the ocean floor. Appears there are now cracks in the stories of survivors of the Kormoran.

Can't wait to see more pics - was over the 12 months ago at one of the memorials - remebering looking out to the horiizon over the Indian and contemplating such a massive loss of life.
BA Falcon RTV - Project Ute 265,000km
Sold PXII Ranger XLT Cool White. 105,000
Sold PX Ranger XLT in cool white, 151,700km on clock.
Sold FGII XR6T Ute LTD Edition in Kinetic.
Sold FG XR6 Ute
Sold BA Falcon RTV. 251,300km.Was a great mate for last 7 years

Sold AUII XLS Ute
Sold '85 XF & Crashed 84 XF
Falcon_Crazy is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post