You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and inserts advertising. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members, respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features without post based advertising banners. Registration is simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

Old 29-08-2009, 04:58 PM   #31

its not a teds

i will get a pic of a teds tonight at work

if i remember

Jason

Old 29-08-2009, 05:04 PM   #32
Ibrox90

Yep, it is illegal to have open containers of alcohol inside a vehicle.
Thats in the US australia there is no laws relating to this. the driver however is not allowed to drink while driving. As this makes his blood alcohol level variable meaning the police cant get a consisant reading. (given the alcohol still in the mouth throat etc)

HIS
THUNDER
2004 BA XR8
Blueprint

Mods:
Quad Exhaust, Hi-Flow Air filter, BFtiming chain tensioners, Billet Oil pump gears
stage 2 shift kit, riding on G6ET 18's

HERS
FLASH
BA MKII XR6 Turbo
Phantom Purple
Typhoon front end

Parking your ford after a long day of being Awesome
http://www.facebook.com/pages/Parkin...37774932974038
Ibrox90 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 29-08-2009, 05:12 PM   #33
Ibrox90

off topic just for giggles
Just for giggles I snapped this one on my trip to Melbourne across the road from Southern Cross station. There were 15+ coppers then on the way out more went in

HIS
THUNDER
2004 BA XR8
Blueprint

Mods:
Quad Exhaust, Hi-Flow Air filter, BFtiming chain tensioners, Billet Oil pump gears
stage 2 shift kit, riding on G6ET 18's

HERS
FLASH
BA MKII XR6 Turbo
Phantom Purple
Typhoon front end

Parking your ford after a long day of being Awesome
http://www.facebook.com/pages/Parkin...37774932974038
Ibrox90 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 29-08-2009, 05:29 PM   #34
Mont5.0

Originally Posted by Jason[98.EL]
its not a teds

i will get a pic of a teds tonight at work

if i remember

Jason
In NSW that my friend is an Extra Dry bottle! -no doubts about it!
Old 29-08-2009, 06:03 PM   #35
Bent8
Long live the GT !

If that is alcohol, it wouldn't surprise me one bit!

Police work is very stressful and if having a cold one helps them get through their shift, then why not?...

Would it affect their judgement (especially at night)?...probably, but then they're just human beings doing their job.

It's not their fault society has deteriorated so badly and they have to deal with it day in, day out.

And then they have to enforce all the new laws & restrictions which only make the average motorist even more agitated. They didn't come up with these laws, they just follow orders, simple as that.

Not to mention the crappy wage they get and the constant danger they face, it's amazing they get through the day without a few beers! (I'm joking )

Probably a confiscated bottle too!

"Whatya think of me car, XR Falcon, 351 Blown Cleveland running Motec injection and runnin' on methanol... goes pretty hard too, got heaps of torque for chucking burnouts, IT'S UNREAL !!" - Poida
Bent8 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 29-08-2009, 07:20 PM   #36
J_Tank
Bring on the Boss

Originally Posted by Ibrox90
Thats in the US australia there is no laws relating to this.
This is in fact the case in NSW. These laws are state not federal, what's ok in one state can vary quite markedly in other states.
J_Tank is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 29-08-2009, 07:39 PM   #37
BA Baracus
xls

I always thought was illegal for anyone to drink in a car and know of people who have copped fines for it in the past (as passengers) under the guise of drinking in a public place or having an open liquor container in public place, but I just searched pretty hard online liquor acts etc. and can't find anything saying it's illegal in any state. Anyone have evidence it is or isn't legal for passengers?

If it's classed as non-public that would even mean minors under your guardianship could legally drink in the car?

If non-public it also doesn't make sense that police can search a vehicle without the same law restrictions that apply to searching private property like a residence or business.
BA Baracus is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 29-08-2009, 08:01 PM   #38

I thought that was the case to we were RBT'D one night i was in the back with 2 other mates going to the pub. Driver gets one of those 'Talk in to' Alcohol testers and registers a positive reading they hold us for 10-15 and then tested him outside the car and it was fine. The alcohol smell from from us in the back seat.
Old 29-08-2009, 08:45 PM   #39

Here in SA it was recently revealed that it was legal to drink while driving provided you are not over the limit. Hope this clears some of that up ibrox90.

Old 29-08-2009, 09:14 PM   #40
Matt47569

Originally Posted by 76txcoupe
Here in SA it was recently revealed that it was legal to drink while driving provided you are not over the limit. Hope this clears some of that up ibrox90.
Yeah that is what I thought, then here the laws about not being able to have open containers of alcohol would be cancelled out
Old 29-08-2009, 09:21 PM   #41

Ohh Cop Thread

Nice., just posting so I have the warning system fired up!
Laminge is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 29-08-2009, 09:31 PM   #42

Valued Contributor: For members whose non technical contributions are worthy of recognition. - Issue reason: Long time member, loves Fords, sensible contributor and does some good and interesting posts. 

Mmm, thats a Extra Dry right there.

Old 29-08-2009, 10:05 PM   #43

Originally Posted by Ibrox90
off topic just for giggles
Just for giggles I snapped this one on my trip to Melbourne across the road from Southern Cross station. There were 15+ coppers then on the way out more went in

this pic almost went unnoticed but i reckon its better than the 'beer cop' pic.
prydey is online now   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 29-08-2009, 10:16 PM   #44
XA-Coupe

ah Internet Law experts ..... comedy gold.
XA-Coupe is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 29-08-2009, 10:54 PM   #45
GT014

Yep, it is illegal to have open containers of alcohol inside a vehicle.
Its not Illegal at all, nor is it illegal to drive and drink a beer, unless it is a By-Law where some council areas don't allow an open bottle of alcohol in certain areas.
GT014 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 30-08-2009, 11:16 AM   #46
fordOwner

Damn it!! wish I had my camera last week, I got pulled up and the passneger cop was slurping on a Macca's ice cream!

Click here to see my ute
fordOwner is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 30-08-2009, 12:33 PM   #47

Originally Posted by dazbug
Its not Illegal at all, nor is it illegal to drive and drink a beer, unless it is a By-Law where some council areas don't allow an open bottle of alcohol in certain areas.
Really. Cops in Geelong have been pulling over taxis when they spot passengers with alcohol bottles and fining the passengers. It was in the local paper. So it must be a law if they are doing it.
Old 30-08-2009, 12:44 PM   #48
hame

Really. Cops in Geelong have been pulling over taxis when they spot passengers with alcohol bottles and fining the passengers. It was in the local paper. So it must be a law if they are doing it.
What is the reasoning behind this law?

Here you have people doing the right thing and getting a cab when they are drinking and they still get pinged. :
hame is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 30-08-2009, 01:27 PM   #49

Originally Posted by hame
What is the reasoning behind this law?

Here you have people doing the right thing and getting a cab when they are drinking and they still get pinged. :
i believe that it is a law in the taxi industry ie gov law that in a taxi there is to be no open alcohol containers

see this link http://www.transport.vic.gov.au/DOI/...5?OpenDocument

at the very bottom of the page

i believe it has been around for years

Jason

Old 30-08-2009, 01:41 PM   #50
hame

Thanks for the info Jason.
hame is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 30-08-2009, 03:27 PM   #51
SLO AU XR8

If that is infact a TED, that cop could be in some serious trouble. In QLD, at least, It is illegal for anyone in the Emergency Services to have a BAC of over 0.00 whilst on duty.
Forced Performance Tuned
SLO AU XR8 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 30-08-2009, 04:02 PM   #52
TOM-CAT
F-14 TomCat

From what i've gathered through personal experience (western Australia) you can not have any open alcohol in public, which includes your car. Mate got fined a few weeks back for having half a bottle of jacks when i was driver and we were heading to a party =\ Hadn't started drinking it yet but the bottle was half done from the previous night..

Check your bible; it say’s - if thou is to fit forced induction via supercharging to a performance car, then it is right and good that this supercharger be heard.
TOM-CAT is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 30-08-2009, 04:22 PM   #53
Bobman

BAC is 0.00 for all emergency service personnel as well as taxi drivers in Victoria.

The picture in this thread is from Western Australia.

Current Cars:
2000 AU2 Fairmont (2019-current)
2003 BA1 Falcon Divvy Van (2017-current)
2009 VW Mk6 Golf 118TSi (2020-current)
2003 MCX10R Avalon VXi (2017-2020)
1995 EF1 Falcon GLi (2016-2019)
1997 XH2 Falcon Van OPT20 (2016-2019)
2006 BF Fairlane Ghia (2013-2018)
2001 AU3 Futura (2010-2013)
1996 EL Fairmont (2008-2010)
2004 BA XR6 (2005-2008)
2001 AU2 Forte (2005-2006)
1988 EA Fairmont Ghia (2003-2005)
1984 AR Telstar TX5 Ghia (2001-2005)
Bobman is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 30-08-2009, 04:26 PM   #54

Ohhh guys. Don't act like you've never knocked back a 'roadie'

Old 30-08-2009, 06:12 PM   #55
QIK006

Originally Posted by XR6_661
Ohhh guys. Don't act like you've never knocked back a 'roadie'
ahh, the roadie It is a great tradition Back in my younger days, we measured distances in beers, from the NSW/Qld Border to brissy was 8 to 10 beers, and if you did it quick, it was a 6 pack... :P
QIK006 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post