19-11-2011, 10:32 PM | #1 | ||
Consistently Dusty
Hey all.
Been looking at hiring a car next year at the Gold Coast, for 3 weeks for my honeymoon. I expected the car to be expensive, but up to 50% of the cars cost is added on by the fact I will only be 24 when hiring. Is there any of the main companies that I should be looking for, as I am trying to get the car hire cost under $1000. Which means no XR6 Thanks in advance,
19-11-2011, 10:47 PM | #2 | ||
Rent a Bomb? You might get an ED XR6? :P
19-11-2011, 10:57 PM | #3 | |||
That made me LOL. I dont think that any big hire car company's, will hire anything bigger than a 4 cylinder to a person under 25 |
19-11-2011, 11:20 PM | #4 | ||
Cost me $197 to hire an i20 (auto ;)) in Melbourne from a friday night through to the sunday afternoon. I'm 23.
Good luck hiring a car for less then $1000 for three weeks. PS. I advise the manual. |
20-11-2011, 12:25 AM | #5 | ||
You should be able to scrape under $1500, but not $1k.
Try not picking it up from an airport location as theres usually a 15-18% fee to do so.
2016 FGX XR8 Sprint, 6speed manual, Kinetic Blue #170 2004 BA wagon RTV project. 1998 EL XR8, Auto, Hot Chilli Red 1993 ED XR6, 5speed, Polynesian Green. 1 of 329. Retired 1968 XT Falcon 500 wagon, 3 on the tree, 3.6L. Patina project. |
20-11-2011, 12:56 AM | #6 | ||
3 weeks?? for less then a grand?? You're dreaming! Last time I was in Sydney with full insurance it was 600 for the weekend (SV6 wagon).
If I were you I'd be driving up instead, between flights / hire car you will save yourself $2k plus if not more! I can do Melb to Bris or Bris to Melb in a day comfortibly, but having 3 weeks to do it would mean you could do it in 2 days, stop over somewhere and have a good you know what in a dodgy motel room!
20-11-2011, 09:22 AM | #7 | ||
When in doubt, GAS IT!!
Another vote for rent a wreck. $40 a day plus fuel is cheaper than your first taxi ride to somewhere and back.
Bushbasher
. HERS- BFIII Wagon Gold, alloys, dual fuel, bullbar, big tow pack, trans cooler, fully rebuilt HD suspension, Clarion, alarmed, full 2 1/2" sports system, mint body MINE- AUII Forte Meteorite, dual fuel but otherwise bog stock. MINE- AUII Fairlane Sportsman Liquid Silver over meteorite,HIDs', Airhog, Eagle Leads, dual fuel, custom rear springs, BA slotted discs + a second one for spares . |
20-11-2011, 10:33 AM | #8 | ||
If you want to save a bit rather than paying for the optional insurance, take out a domestic travel insurance policy. I use Worldcare. They pay the excess up to $3000 in the event of an incident. I believe the most you pay with Budget and Avis in the event of a bingle is $2750, so it works out just fine.
20-11-2011, 10:45 PM | #9 | |||
Drive over mate you have a big enough car for it.
21-11-2011, 07:26 AM | #10 | ||
Consistently Dusty
Thanks for all the info guys.
As much as I would be up for a road trip, can't say the other half would be appreciative. Cheapest I can find was a manual Getz, $798 for 3 weeks, + $17/day age surcharge. Roughly $1155 bucks. Will try looking at pickup in Surfers Paradise, and rent a bomb as a last resort. And PANUP, good idea, will make sure that is in place when I head away.
21-11-2011, 08:23 AM | #11 | |||
21-11-2011, 09:10 AM | #12 | ||
Consistently Dusty
Actually found a company that appears to be even better. East coast car rentals has courtesy bus from airport to their depot, and a Getz manual, including surcharge comes to $720.
Will have to ring up and confirm that is not a typo!
21-11-2011, 09:15 AM | #13 | ||||
There are plenty of places up there that will hire to you for a decent price and pick you up/drop you at the airport. Stay away from the big names and you'll be right.
21-11-2011, 09:23 AM | #14 | |||
21-11-2011, 09:28 AM | #15 | ||
Consistently Dusty
Thanks RG and Cul-Baire for that.
Looking up some of the reviews, they seem far from favourable. But considering how much cheaper they are, it may be worth the chance.
21-11-2011, 11:40 AM | #16 | ||
or send the missus up on the plane while you drive. just dont tell her its a one way ticket till after 3 excellent weeks!!
21-11-2011, 01:33 PM | #17 | ||
Luxojet
Maybe buy a car off of eBay that is around $1000 in the area you are headed. That would be a cool honeymoon story! haha
Possibly This?
21-11-2011, 02:13 PM | #18 | ||
A honeymoon on the Goldcoast is bogan enough, letalone getting around in a $1000 bucket....
2016 FGX XR8 Sprint, 6speed manual, Kinetic Blue #170 2004 BA wagon RTV project. 1998 EL XR8, Auto, Hot Chilli Red 1993 ED XR6, 5speed, Polynesian Green. 1 of 329. Retired 1968 XT Falcon 500 wagon, 3 on the tree, 3.6L. Patina project. |
21-11-2011, 02:19 PM | #19 | ||
Consistently Dusty
Kinksta, bonus points for going the extra mile, would never have found that.
21-11-2011, 02:23 PM | #20 | ||
Consistently Dusty
XR6 Martin - each to their own where you celebrate a honeymoon. Personally would rather put the money I save not going overseas, on the house than spend $10k + on a honeymoon.