Welcome to the Australian Ford Forums forum. You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and inserts advertising. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members, respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features without post based advertising banners. Registration is simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today! If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us. Please Note: All new registrations go through a manual approval queue to keep spammers out. This is checked twice each day so there will be a delay before your registration is activated. |
14-11-2005, 01:47 PM | #1 | ||
Hey guys,
Just got a bit of an update. Last week after going for a bit of a big test drive the car was still lightly pinging. So I gave Dynomotive a call and asked them what to do. They said move the pod and bring it back Friday morning, so thanks to Dan and Doug the battery was moved to the boot for $15.99, and as a added bonus I now have a Skyline stylez flutter...foochoocchoocchh shooooooooooooo. I changed the o2 sensor as well at this stage, because the car was surging badly on startup's. Took it back in, still no good. I decided to change the o2 sensor back again and check the plugs as an indication of what the fuel mixture was like, all good. Took it for a spin with Doug and was pinging, farting and doing all sorts of sh_t. Raced a Lancer and a R33 and I still managed to keep ahead : Opened the bonnet later on and found out the number 1 plug was loose! Put it back in and took it for a spin and everything is solved! Feels aight again, but I took it to Dynomotive anyways because it seems to slow down in a couple of spots in the rev band. So now I'm gonna do the following and take it back afterwards for a bit of a checkup, this is just all precautionary stuff to ward off pinging; -Put in colder range plugs (NGK R6B-11 Gap @ .030" or if they're in there already BP7ES @ same gap, so I'm moving to a colder range or whatever). -Getting a new air intake pipe (3") made up, and putting a new filter in (the old one has seen better days as some might know!) and, -Possibly getting a bigger pipe made up to go from cooler to the TB, 3", pending what you guys reckon? I'm confused. Exhaust Fix reckon it'll get laggy and Dynomotive think the pipe diameter is a big problem? Anyways, thought I'd write it all up in a post because a lot of stuff has been playing with my head this week. Sorry for the length! Sundeep |
14-11-2005, 01:52 PM | #2 | |||
You're getting there mate. It sounds like it's nearly all sorted. I reckon your car will be featured in a magazine by at least this time next year
14-11-2005, 01:57 PM | #3 | ||
sunny loving the work you have done on your car, keep it up man
14-11-2005, 02:00 PM | #4 | ||
I'd definately go to bigger diameter piping- 3in, definately put the colder plugs in and maybe close the plug gaps up a little bit more too.
- John |
14-11-2005, 02:15 PM | #5 | ||
Thanks for the nice comments guys and cheers for the advice John.
Sometimes you need an independent opinion, because when you're paying for work and have problems, they all want to blame each other if you know what I mean so they all don't have to fix their mistakes. Sundeep |
14-11-2005, 02:45 PM | #6 | ||
The size piping you have currently is a restriction. As dynomotive and others have said, increase the pipe size to 2.5" minium from turbo to TB. Going colder and closing the plug gap may also help your pinging, as the spark may be getting blown out.
14-11-2005, 02:59 PM | #7 | ||
slow & low EA Ghia
sundeep im going 2.5inch from turbo to cooler then 3inch from cooler to throttle body, you want to keep the air moving as quick as possible to the intercooler. dont know what size your piping is but if its smaller then 2.5inch then its too small and as dan said its a restriction.
Ehab
14-11-2005, 03:05 PM | #8 | ||
Does Steve have a car?
Looking good sunny. Mark at dynomotive knows what he's talking about. He instantly saw the various problems with my setup when i brought it over.
14-11-2005, 03:18 PM | #9 | ||
they call me Tibbo
the smaller pipe might get a better throttle response but 2" would have to restrict the power. Think of it this way, a N/A car has a 63mm throttle body for a reason, to get the air in. I don't see how a 50mm feed can possibly help the power now you have a whizzer on the side.
15-11-2005, 01:24 PM | #10 | |||
Thanks guys I'll probably get it all done on Thursday and then take it back in to Dynomotive for another checkup.
Sundeep |
15-11-2005, 01:32 PM | #11 | ||
Kaddis Customs
hey sunny your car is soundin like a real machine i sore it last night standing outside a mates place on savanna drive in mooroolbark. mark at dynomotive is good just look at the cars thats coming out of that place! have you seen there ute? my bro said he sore your car in again at work the other day...
15-11-2005, 05:45 PM | #12 | ||
I'd rather trust a guy that tunes cars for a living than a guy that welds exhaust pipes lol. Don't see why you couldn't get closer to 200kw with bigger pipes and 10psi. I've got a feeler gauge if you wanna gap your plugs.