You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and inserts advertising. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members, respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features without post based advertising banners. Registration is simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

Old 11-11-2005, 02:27 AM   #1
tommo74
zx TT

Default Im peed off

im so sorry but ive been noticding alot of half hearted threads going on here being such as"what mods can i do for 300 dollars and such"(slight exaggeration there prolly lol)
But what do fellahs expect to get from their cars for a few hundred....I know even my exhaust/header setup cost more than 2 gs
Its about time we stopped babying these peple(look i know its all good we help people and that )
but they come on here saying ok.....heres the thing
1.i have an ea sedan
2.i want more power.
3.i have a THOUSAND dollars to spend!
now ok we can say headers and exhaust...but you know what?since ive mooded my car to the extreme...i dont feel like helping any of the guys that just want stupid mods anymore...u know?
sorry to sound harsh ...but i reckon a website for the eseries with mods should be just that...people that are PASSIONATE about it...
sick of people coming on here saying ohhh 500 dollars for a 2 inch hmmm ill have to ask my father!
anyone else feel the same?it sure as hell s me

tommo74 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 11-11-2005, 02:38 AM   #2
Brent79

Mate, i reckon you are being extremely harsh! Not everyone has heaps of bucks to spend on a car and you DONt need to spend thousands to increase performance. These people are obviously new to car modding. Dont belittle them for showing an interest.

Brent
Brent79 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 11-11-2005, 02:45 AM   #3
DOC

Tommo74,
I have read very carefully what you have said, and yes i suppose one could agree, however it is public forum and lets face it there are lot of younger people on here or even oldies like myself who without the experience of people like yourself would be still out in the wilderness as far as the best options / mods to do with thier funds available.

I appreciate any advice given in making my ride better being it a 60c set of footwell lights or a 3K full stainless steel exhaust sytem.

Everyone starts at the begining in the car mod game, and good advice regardless of cost combined with an understanding approach is often regarded highly, i think that with your experience in modding a car all the way could make you a valuable and well respected member of the forums.

Just something to think about.

Pete
DOC is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 11-11-2005, 03:12 AM   #4
CruizinEB

and people like me who go to TAFE and get paid $80 from centerlink, but i do see your point
CruizinEB is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 11-11-2005, 03:22 AM   #5
tommo74
zx TT

sorry...i am ****ed again...and eb you are the last person i wanted to offend.....
Old 11-11-2005, 03:25 AM   #6
tommo74
zx TT

it just hits me right now ...what a ******** ive been(and i HATE dickeads!)
and...i was one.......please forgive me....the **** factor....
im so sorry.........if a young guy has saved for 6 mnths 5hundred bux then good on him!poor bugger is at uni or whatsit.....really i exract EVERYTHING i said...whatis WITH ME sometimes!????????i fully appologise
Old 11-11-2005, 03:26 AM   #7
CruizinEB

Originally Posted by tommo74
sorry...i am ****ed again...and eb you are the last person i wanted to offend.....
that's OK, i do see were your coming from big power=big $$$
Old 11-11-2005, 03:54 AM   #8
tommo74
zx TT

cruizin!i DO wanna cruise on the NEXT one man...i cannot make this one(my ebgt bodykit is goin on ..take a while...but christ you KNKOW irespect your mods buddy!ill help you out with anymore u want to fit ok?
Old 11-11-2005, 03:57 AM   #9
CruizinEB

so you do know the date of the cruise has changed to the 27th?
Old 11-11-2005, 04:07 AM   #10
tommo74
zx TT

ok ill be helpfull then (like u said)here we go...mods 1st to last ok?
ist headers and exhaust...preferrably 3 inch if u know whats coming.
2.depends if u wanna go n/a
3.n/a edelbrock performer heads or t/flow or afr(cost a fortune for 20 more h/p)
4.maniflold...VERY important(the ho is really restrictive)id recomend an edelbrock there too
MAF 70mm or bigger(throttle response)
throttle body(well i have a 70mm edelbrock and it s the bees knees)
32 lbs injectors(to take the crap thrown at it basically..but dave"ebony"will say something more professional)
top it of with a chip....
and then a vortech v1-2 s trim supercharger
Old 11-11-2005, 08:06 AM   #11

that! The first post was a good one. All these threads have been covered a millions times before, if you are new here you can use the search function and find what you are after easily.

I particulary hate the people who want to turbo their falcon 6 with a budget of $1500 and PM me asking for every little thing I did and what it cost. Its all been saidl before and if they do a search they can find it.

/rant
Old 11-11-2005, 08:28 AM   #12
TUFED6

Originally Posted by dansedgli
I particulary hate the people who want to turbo their falcon 6 with a budget of $1500 and PM me asking for every little thing I did and what it cost. Its all been saidl before and if they do a search they can find it.
Everyone wants a cheap turbo setup. Never heard of one!

- John
TUFED6 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 11-11-2005, 08:32 AM   #13

tommo74

do us all a favour and refrain from posting here unless you going to be constructive or sober..

Take some time to check your grammar and spelling as well
Laminge is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 11-11-2005, 09:10 AM   #14
NZ
~~~

I gained 19kw on my ea for a little over 150 so it can be done! neeeeeeerrr :p

What a weird thread
NZ is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 11-11-2005, 09:24 AM   #15
big_waity
Windsor Man!

I can see your point tommo, but, there are a lot of people who would like a little bit extra from their car and don't want to spend big dollars. I have been down that rd and accidently spent thousands and thousands. I personally fell that if you can't afford to go hardcore, don't bother, however, if you are the sort of person that wants minor mods and only has a few bob, I'll hapily suggest wheret to spend the money.
Old 11-11-2005, 09:25 AM   #16

Originally Posted by tommo74
sorry...i am ****ed again...
Sort of sums you up then doesn't it.
BJ is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 11-11-2005, 12:31 PM   #17
GenesiS
*Smart *** comment here*

I can kind of understand where your coming from and kind of can't.... I've read all the replys and you've been flammed for it, but I wanted to add this to it.

Argue for - mods don't come cheap, good quality mods, that cause more good than harm aren't cheap and take a lot of time.
It can get frustrating when someone is new and hasen't been around the scene before and is still getting ideas of price and mods and time involved. It can also be frustrating, when as someone who has had experience, you know that a cheap power mod can cause the rest of your car (engine) to crap itself if not treated correctly.

Argue Against - everyone starts somewhere, hell I started with an 89 magna and a monster tacho (*shudders at recolection) - but to me at the time, that car was the tops.
There are no such things as stupid questions, just stupid answers, sometimes bargins happen and cheap peroformance is possible, and as it is started you must start somewhere, and a start may be a $500 exhaust system, that can later be added to and increased.
And then there's the uni/tafe student scenario, which can blow, i know as i'm in that boat, and to be able to come accross cheap mods (the basics) is handy as it starts to build the ground work.

Anyways, I can think of more to say, but I cbf typing, had my last exm yesterday and the year has taken its toll, sleep is required :
Lowered all round on King Spring Super Lows
Tinted Windows, Pioneer MP3 Player and Audio System
K&N High Flow Air Filter Mounted in Original Air Box
Trip Computer
NGK Sports Performance Leads
NGK Sports Plugs
Autotecnica Oil Catch Can
GenesiS is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 11-11-2005, 01:10 PM   #18
K_Man
Whoa, this is heavy!

Alright, first off i'll take this opportunity to thank the people that have put up with all my constant questions about modding my ed, from memory the people i hassled most were John_XR, EFFalcon and InitialD. Thanks for putting up with all my stupid questions and actually taking a bit of time out to help me with stuff.

As a result of that, I've managed to get a 2.5" redback exhaust, extractors, have an EF cam put in and got my car lowered on XR springs for a LOT less than i would of expected to pay. I've learned a lot along the way also.

I think the best thing newer members who are after cheap mods can do is just trawl the forums for as much info as you can get, scour the for sale section of forums and ebay, and you'll pick yourself up a bargain.
Old 11-11-2005, 06:48 PM   #19
sphell

LOL tommo that post is a ****er! : I know what you mean. Dan's right, they should use the search function but the easiest thing to do is if you see a thread that says "Got some 14" hubcaps for EA...PICS!" just don't read it lol!

Everyone has to start somewhere ;)
sphell is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 12-11-2005, 04:15 PM   #20

Jeez, how the hell do you sleep at night Tommo? Must be hard.
Old 12-11-2005, 04:47 PM   #21
wilbur
EF Fairmont

Another way of looking at it might be if he only has a EA why would you spend 3 or 4 grand on a mod when the car is only worth a third of it.
Throwing money down the drain dont you think :
wilbur is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 12-11-2005, 06:40 PM   #22
BuuBox

I'd have to agree with Wilbur there. At this moment in time, I've got far better things to spend money on than making my large family sedan a slightly faster large family sedan. If I want to go fast, I’ll get something that I’m not inherently fighting against. That said, I wish I had Dan’s old EB turbo setup, just to see the look on some people’s faces…

Tommo74, you come across as a tool who wants to constantly tell us how much you've spent on your car. Personally, I don't really care... maybe you bank does?
BuuBox is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 12-11-2005, 11:31 PM   #23
naughtyfalcon

who really cares if a person only has $100 or $1000,,,and as buubox said i don't care how much others on here have spent on there cars and personally i think some go way to far and spend more than they really have to,,i mean whats the point inspending 10,000 on a car that you'll only get 5000 for,,,i've seen cars advertised that have 1000's spent on them but the owner only gets about a third to half what they spent,,no point in going backwards,,
naughtyfalcon is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 12-11-2005, 11:48 PM   #24
niko
likes falcon's

power does not =big money...

if ya want quik cheap fun from a falcon, buy a manual lol or put a bigger diff -must have atleast a 4speed
Old 13-11-2005, 08:17 AM   #25
Papa Smurf

I dont find the questions that are often asked too much? I sell parts daily and the VERY same questions are asked over and over. You get used to it and get very good at your answers.

I must say though I do get a little p***ed off at MECHANICS who ask stupid questions and also people who say when asked what model they have..... "they're all the same mate"
Papa Smurf is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 13-11-2005, 03:42 PM   #26
need psi
slow & low EA Ghia

Originally Posted by TUFED6
Everyone wants a cheap turbo setup. Never heard of one!

- John
john are u talking new or second hand? i picked mine up for $250 from the trader, just got to keep your eyes and ears open for things like this.

specs are

T3 turbo with .82 exhaust housing
external gate (35mm im pretty sure)
oil lines
sandwhich plate for oil filter
water lines
cast iron maniffold
dump pipe

as for the topic, search button isnt used as much as it shoudl be, but some times people have different ideas or opinions on such mods so its always good to hear of peoples thoughts at the time. my 2c worth.

Ehab

need psi is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 13-11-2005, 06:34 PM   #27
TUFED6

Originally Posted by need psi
john are u talking new or second hand? i picked mine up for $250 from the trader, just got to keep your eyes and ears open for things like this.

specs are

T3 turbo with .82 exhaust housing
external gate (35mm im pretty sure)
oil lines
sandwhich plate for oil filter
water lines
cast iron maniffold
dump pipe

as for the topic, search button isnt used as much as it shoudl be, but some times people have different ideas or opinions on such mods so its always good to hear of peoples thoughts at the time. my 2c worth.

Ehab
Either really, sounds like you got a bargain. When is it going on the car?!

- John
TUFED6 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 13-11-2005, 08:27 PM   #28
PULLY6

Cheap power = manual you say... hmmmmmm i say....
Old 17-11-2005, 09:53 PM   #29
dvk
running from explosions

Firstly, amount of passion is totally independent to amount of money. This is elementary, but everyone should take note. The younger ford fans, the students especially, are most likely going to be the fans with the big incomes and the big mods ten years from now. Therefore, the basic idea is that younger people learn from the learned, older ford fans. Makes sense to me.

As for mods costing money, the bottom line is if you want a professionally installed setup, with new retail-sourced parts, then yes, most likely that turbo/cam/exhaust is going to set you back a few.

However. There is plenty that can be done with a lower budget and some tools, assistance, a workshop manual, and a good look around wreckers/ebay for some second hand aftermarket parts. The difference is the individual has to put a whole lot more work in. But it's all fun, and you end up learning a heap if you go down this road.
Ok, you often end up stuffing up a heap as well, but its all good fun.
dvk is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post