You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and inserts advertising. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members, respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features without post based advertising banners. Registration is simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

Old 13-08-2006, 01:47 PM   #1
I6corp
Was V6corp

Talking I6's TS50 front bar

Gday,

Next weekend im headind to sydney to pick up a TS50 bar for the forte ;)
only setting me back $300 with a high series bonnet. (dw JC still buying the XR front for my dad)

Few Q's.

How hard is it to install? (After it gets painted)

Anything i should watch out for?

Will it look completely wrong if i install it without side skirts? :

Cheers falla's and gals.

Planned Engine Mods: ; Extractors; Tickford CAI; Twin Mufflers; Shift Kit; Hi-Stall; Cam; ECU Flash
Bling Mods: Tinted Windows; JVC CD/DVD HU
Planned Bling Mods: TS50 Front; High Series bonnet; Rebel Skirts and Rear Bar; SL Springs; Clear Side Indicators; Rear Spolier; Mags
I6corp is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 13-08-2006, 02:00 PM   #2

3rd question is a personal preference thing I guess, but if it were me, I would get the bar and put it in the shed until I had some matching skirts and rims to go with it. A TS front bar on an otherwise stock forte will get you some looks, but probably not the ones you're after.........
Old 13-08-2006, 02:06 PM   #3

That should look good, and great price too! Fitting is pretty easy - one 13mm nut each side of the bar, and a couple of plastic screws for the grill. Plus the plastic undertray, and those plastic clips that hold the plastic inner guards on. All up, allow 1 to 1.5 hours. Bonnet is even easier (4 bolts) but you will also need a series 2 bonnet latch - another 2 bolts and the undo the cable clip (and yes, the latches are different) - I happen to have one you can have for $30 (they are about $60 new).

I've got a set of galaxy blue AU2 SR side skirts that were on my AU1 XR8 - not the chunkiest around, but better than none. Yours for $100 and they won't need painting to fit yout car. Then you can save up for the TS skirts, and you should be able to sell the SR ones for the $100 again (or fit them to your dad's car).

Old 13-08-2006, 02:36 PM   #4
GlennBA

Sounds good. It'll look silly without the rest of the kit, but the beauty is you can buy bits as you go. Thats what i did, i bought the rear and side skirts one week and a few weeks later i bought the front.
GlennBA is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 13-08-2006, 02:50 PM   #5
I6corp
Was V6corp

Cheers JC, ill defiently take you up on the skirts. ill pick them up when i pick up ur XR front and the latch too.

B2tf, i totally agree... Im getting some 18" very soon, just wondering about the rest of the kit.

Cheers mate.
Planned Engine Mods: ; Extractors; Tickford CAI; Twin Mufflers; Shift Kit; Hi-Stall; Cam; ECU Flash
Planned Bling Mods: TS50 Front; High Series bonnet; Rebel Skirts and Rear Bar; SL Springs; Clear Side Indicators; Rear Spolier; Mags
Old 13-08-2006, 03:48 PM   #6
alpineau

Here is a photo of a ts50 bar on a AU with out side skirts or rear bar, I found this photo in the show n shine

Alpineau
CURRENT - 2009 FG G6E BLUE 6 SPEED AUTO
alpineau is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 13-08-2006, 04:27 PM   #7
Baboon_AU

it doesn't really looks that bad without the rear and sides

1981 XD Fairmont 351 - 351 Cleveland, ARP bolts, flat top pistons, Stage 3 Dynotec cam, ported 2V heads with 4V valves, Roller Rockers, Weiand manifold, Mighty Demon, 1/2" fuel lines with blue Holley fuel pump, Crane hi-6 ignition, B&M megashifter, C4, hi-stall, shift kit, 3.77 Ford 9" LSD.

Thanks to: EvilChief and SJW Performance
Baboon_AU is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 13-08-2006, 05:11 PM   #8
AU2PWR
Spin 'em Habib !

looks tough lol

AU2PWR is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 13-08-2006, 05:36 PM   #9
I6corp
Was V6corp

It doesnt look bad, but i still think ill go with the SR skirts as a min.
Old 13-08-2006, 06:02 PM   #10
Baboon_AU

yes, SR skirts are good loving

1981 XD Fairmont 351 - 351 Cleveland, ARP bolts, flat top pistons, Stage 3 Dynotec cam, ported 2V heads with 4V valves, Roller Rockers, Weiand manifold, Mighty Demon, 1/2" fuel lines with blue Holley fuel pump, Crane hi-6 ignition, B&M megashifter, C4, hi-stall, shift kit, 3.77 Ford 9" LSD.

Thanks to: EvilChief and SJW Performance
Baboon_AU is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 13-08-2006, 07:38 PM   #11

The car in the photo posted by alpineAU has SR side skirts on it. That's Janek's car and I've seen it in the flesh and it looks fine.

Old 11-02-2012, 09:43 PM   #12
Jay.Blanket

Default Re: I6's TS50 front bar

Any chance of somebody reposting this picture of the ts50 front with SR skirts? I'm quite interested to see the look of this as I'm considering the bar for my SR forte
Jay.Blanket is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 11-02-2012, 09:55 PM   #13

heres how mine looked with no skirts

and with them

if you were in brissy id sell you my whole kit for $100 more than your paying for just your front bar...
Old 12-02-2012, 01:47 AM   #14
T3man

They reckon you have to set your clock back 5 years when you go up to QLD - seems to be some truth to it LOL.
T3man is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 12-02-2012, 12:15 PM   #15

Originally Posted by T3man
They reckon you have to set your clock back 5 years when you go up to QLD - seems to be some truth to it LOL.
It's a fine balance between starting a new thread and being told there's an existing thread that answers the questions vs and using search, finding a 5 yo thread and posting. I think it's great he used search.

Old 12-02-2012, 12:26 PM   #16

Lol I didn't even notice the dates...

My price is still current though
Old 12-02-2012, 02:06 PM   #17
Jay.Blanket

haha yeah i stumbled accross is trying to find pictures and thought why not somebody might be able to help me out even if it is 5 years old! it doesnt look as bad as i thought without skirts although i still want to see it with the SR skirt!
Jay.Blanket is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post