Welcome to the Australian Ford Forums forum. You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and inserts advertising. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members, respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features without post based advertising banners. Registration is simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today! If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us. Please Note: All new registrations go through a manual approval queue to keep spammers out. This is checked twice each day so there will be a delay before your registration is activated. |
21-11-2005, 02:32 PM | #1 | ||
I saw a really cheap EB-ED XR6, dont really know if it was EB or ED as it looked like it was an EB, but then it had the ED quads (didnt see the year :S). its at a dealer and he told me he could get the price down to about $2000, to me this sounds a little too cheap, im just wondering if maybe something could be wrong with it. the body looks fine, no rust, no panel damage, the engine seems to work fine (still havent taken it for a test drive yet, should this weekend)...just wondering what anyone else thinks, should i go for it?
also i was thinkingof maybe putting my old engine into it (EF XR6), but still am thinking of maybe not as its an original EB-ED XR6 and am thinking maybe keep the original motor. also my motors only got about 120xxx ks on it and the other ones got over 250000 ks. can anyone help me make up my decision coz i have no idea what to do.lol |
21-11-2005, 02:35 PM | #2 | ||
Swap the motors, if its down to $2K its a bargain! Where is it at?
21-11-2005, 02:38 PM | #3 | ||
its in dandenong...might buy it this weekend as i got my money today finally, the only problem is the cost of swapping the motors, hope its not too much as i might have to either skip on insurance or the motor for now if its over $1000
21-11-2005, 02:42 PM | #4 | ||
If the motor is fine in the other car then leave it. Only swap it over if there is a problem with it.
I
21-11-2005, 02:43 PM | #5 | ||
pick it up asap mate cause its a bargain
as to the motor swap it def be worth while to do and im sure if you throw up a slab or two there'd be quite a few members ere willing to lend you a hand,its pretty easy seen ed's with ef xr motors etc ere in qld.. buy it asap before ppl catch on, n u lose a bargain.. |
21-11-2005, 02:47 PM | #6 | ||
Windsor Man!
I'd get a decent mechanic you trust to look over it. 2k is pretty cheap. It is obviously cheap for a reason. Whether it's because it's got high k's or because it has problems is hard to know. Just give it a good look over and see what you reckon. Follow your heart. If you want it, do it!
21-11-2005, 02:52 PM | #7 | ||
is it an auto if so the tranny mite be cactus
21-11-2005, 02:54 PM | #8 | ||
so would there be many people around my location who would want to lend a hand? might be a big job as mines manual and the others auto, also i want to change the windows too as mines got power windows.
21-11-2005, 02:55 PM | #9 | ||
Kurucu Performance
Watch out...may not be a genuine xr..could be a mock up...the quad light could be twinlights...if its a genuine set of xr quad light..they r not that cheap..and as for putting in the ef xr motor in it... ull also have to change ur ecu loom if ur going to run the right computer for it...its a bit of c**t of a job..i think you would have been better off putting in an ed or el engine into it... but yeah go wif ur heart...
21-11-2005, 03:40 PM | #10 | ||
I say go with your head not your heart. If a deal seems too good to be true then it is. Dealers sell cars for a living and wouldnt stay in the job long if the deals they cut didnt benefit them.
If you found a problem with the car that would justify the price then that would be one thing, but if you cant see what wrong then you would have to guess its mechanical. Its easy to do a quick patch job that will last until you drive out the yard. If you would be happy to buy the car and were prepared to sink a few thousand into it if the gearbox or engine packed up in a month, then go for it. Otherwise I would say pass. There are prenty of other falcons out there Also look for repairs to the chassis or recently painted panels. Might have been crashed and rebuild with a few xr parts. |
21-11-2005, 04:15 PM | #11 | ||
yeh, you got a good point there stockstandard. but since the kilometres are so high i was thinking of changing the motor over anyway, so that sort of rules out most mechanical problems anyway. im gonna try and find someone to go with me to have a look at the body and chassis for me to see if there is anything wrong with it. does anyone know of any good mechanics around the dandenong area they trust to go and have a look with me? because i dont really know too mechanics around here too well.
21-11-2005, 11:49 PM | #12 | ||
is there anyone else maybe interested in having a look at this car, or know anyone who would have a look for problems for me? coz i dont know what im looking for really and i dont know any mechanics around the area that much
22-11-2005, 09:12 AM | #13 | ||
Soul baby
Could also be a spac with a quadlight front end. Is the head stamped for Tickford? Has it got all the little extras that made the XR great? If not, then it's barely worth the $2K. Pays to know what your looking at, otherwise you may get burnt!
22-11-2005, 10:00 AM | #14 | ||
test drive it,get the numbers etc and check n see if its genuine if it isnt then i wouldnt bother with it..
but ppl's just cause its cheap doesnt mean its not genuine i nearly bought a 300k on the clock EB xr6 manual and on 18's for 3200bucks so he could of found a bargain anyways the motor swap does take some time but its do-able and def worth doing regardless of the eb engine condition.. good luck and yeah go with your heart.. |
23-11-2005, 12:32 AM | #15 | ||
hey thanks for the input guys, i ill take it for a test drive on saturday. i think i might also take the engine number down and check it with ford. what do i do exactly with checking it? can i do it over the internet, or do i call the manufacturer? it also has the falcon S XR6 badge at the back, on the sides its only 4.0 litres, did they have a tickford badge on any side? thats the only telltale signs i know really to tell an XR6, if theres any others tell me and ill have a look.
23-11-2005, 08:59 AM | #16 | ||
Former E-Series Member
The EB "S-XR6" had that badge on the back, whereas the ED had just "XR6". On the other hand, only the ED had the quad headlights like this one had. There is no question it is modified in some way. If you could get pics that would help us, including under the bonnet.
23-11-2005, 03:40 PM | #17 | ||
I took the car for a test drive today, it goes alright except it always had the "check abs" light on the whole way. I looked at the year and it is 92, so EB.
But now im wondering if it is an original XR6 and not restamped as it doesnt have tickford on the motor, does the EB have that? i know the EF does. Also i have now got the engine number so i might try checking that out with ford. What exactly do i have to do to check that? do i just call any ford dealer and get them to look it up, or is there any specific places to get it checked? |