Old 06-05-2012, 10:39 PM   #91
bullfrog

Default Re: So who is up for hosting a family ?

Originally Posted by ltd_on20s
i apologise for my rudeness before as well.
my father came from lebanon in 68, took a loan to get here, and could not speak a word of english.

he now owns his properties outright, speaks english and has never taken a dime from the government.

and yes, we are muslims. i play football (afl), coach under 14's, my wife does not wear any hijab or niqab, and runs a successful hairdressing salon. i don't drink, and really don't care if others do or not, and i'm happy to have public holidays off....i was actually born here too.
Thanks for the update, now I see why you have some concerns about the current immigration problems. But I still feel that if you immigrate you should at least integrate into the society that has taken you in, (as your family has).
Old 06-05-2012, 10:53 PM   #92
Maka
Au Falcon = Mr Reliable

Valued Contributor: For members whose non technical contributions are worthy of recognition. - Issue reason: Embodiment of the AFF spirit in his efforts with ACP. 

Originally Posted by ltd_on20s
that comes down to pc breakdown of law and order, not immigration.

the immigration policy has not failed. successive garbage governments have.

check our history.

we had the same crazy false fear factors when

-greek/ italian immigration came in. most worked their way into society, some ended up in gangs and deep criminal activity.

then we had the asian "tsunami", again, most worked their way into society, some became criminals, thats why we have an asian crime squad.

then we had the lebanese during the civil war. some became criminals, some from the muslim background but also many from the christian background, the phalange, which was ran out of lebanon and many settled in sydney, and thats why you have an ME crime squad.

just remember though, many of those from other backgrounds caught by police, the tipoff comes from their own communities.

Good post ltd_on20's, i was old enough to see for myself the immigration waves in Sydney and what affect they had on communities where they settled, do you notice the common thread running through your post? In the end they needed special anti crime squads to deal with all the crime that were perpetrated by SOME elements of their community ie: Cabramatta heroin gangs is one example. With respect to the other communities you mentioned, back in the 60's & 70's when the Greeks, Italian'os and Lebanese arrived, how many participated in gun crime in the scale of what it is today in Sydney? I say bugger all. Even Cabramatta was no where near as bad as what its like today. Can you tell me/us what the cost both in lives lost and monetary terms in setting up these specialised crime squads are? - i reckon theres a fail just there. My mum & dad tell me they've heard gunshots consistently near where they live for the last couple of years and they live 15km away from Merrylands. This never happend back a couple decades before.

ps, i love molaquaya,rice and chicken,and my best mate in primary school was a Christian Syrian.At home 5 or 6 languages are spoken and Arabic is one of them.

cheers,Maka

Proud owner of a optioned keeper S1 Tickford Falcon AU XR6 VCT - "it's actually a better-balanced car than the XR8, goes almost as hard and uses about two-thirds of the fuel" (Drive.com 2007)
Old 06-05-2012, 11:40 PM   #93
ltd_on20s

Originally Posted by Maka
Good post ltd_on20's, i was old enough to see for myself the immigration waves in Sydney and what affect they had on communities where they settled, do you notice the common thread running through your post? In the end they needed special anti crime squads to deal with all the crime that were perpetrated by SOME elements of their community ie: Cabramatta heroin gangs is one example. With respect to the other communities you mentioned, back in the 60's & 70's when the Greeks, Italian'os and Lebanese arrived, how many participated in gun crime in the scale of what it is today in Sydney? I say bugger all. Even Cabramatta was no where near as bad as what its like today. Can you tell me/us what the cost both in lives lost and monetary terms in setting up these specialised crime squads are? - i reckon theres a fail just there. My mum & dad tell me they've heard gunshots consistently near where they live for the last couple of years and they live 15km away from Merrylands. This never happend back a couple decades before.

ps, i love molaquaya,rice and chicken,and my best mate in primary school was a Christian Syrian.At home 5 or 6 languages are spoken and Arabic is one of them.

cheers,Maka
understand what your saying about the gun crime, that ones a bit more complicated.

with regards to the crime squads, that was always going to happen when you build a nation based on immigration.....
Old 07-05-2012, 12:08 AM   #94

i would like to apoligise for being harsh . i hate the hurt that goes on around the world . as long as people want our way of life i have no problem with them , but unfortunately some dont want our life , they just want to live here and change us , others have no trouble wheeling and dealing in crime . its those people who should be sent back , but once they are in , it kind of gets difficult , and i have a real problem with anyone who pushes any religion , beyond good deeds and nice words . some people are very strong with thier beliefs , thats fine but we are not anything other than australian fit in with us or go home < thats the part that doesnt happen .
some of them if not most of them get more rights and privelidges then australian citizens . there is a lot wrong with our country . it isnt divided and spread around accordingly . this is why most dont want more rorts going around .
Old 07-05-2012, 12:26 AM   #95
GreenMachine
Mopar/No Car

Tech Writer: Recognition for the technical writers of AFF - Issue reason: Sensational write up about drum brakes. 

What a fun thread!

'72 Plymouth Scamp
'80 Courier
'13 Kawasaki ZX14-R
'13 Berlina
'92 Suzuki DR650

If you don't fight - You lose
Old 07-05-2012, 12:39 AM   #96
mcnews
Trev

Technical Contributor: For members who share their technical expertise. - Issue reason: Trev has owned several boosted fords and has really contributed a lot of info on them. His posts in the bike section are also very helpful. I think he should be recognised as a technical contributor. 

Originally Posted by cs123
I can understand the sentiment of people objecting to boat people as they have bypassed other places to arrive here. Go look at those places and see what existence they would have there, living in a refugee camp with 10,000 of others. They rolled the dice and tried to make to here. I can understand that..
Exactly. If you were dragging your family out of some hellhole via any means possible seeking a better life you would naturally try to get to the best place not necessarily the first place. Otherwise you have failed your family.
Old 07-05-2012, 12:49 AM   #97
Work Horse
Budget Racer

Wow, we are all getting off our chest and having a good vent! Well for better or worse, unless you are an Australian Aboriginal, we are all immigrants to this country in the last 200 odd years. In spite, (or because), of that we have made ourselves one dam fine country IMHO
Originally Posted by bullfrog
As an Immigrant myself (albeit at 4 mths of age)
You are not special and do not have a unique perspective bullfrog
I agree with this following thought from Holland. If you want to come to Australia, speak Australian and want to be an Australian!
This is relevant to all immigrants not just Muslims.

"The Netherlands, where six per cent of the population is now Muslim,
is scrapping multiculturalism:
The Dutch government says it will abandon the long-standing model of
multiculturalism that has encouraged Muslim immigrants to create a
parallel society within the Netherlands.
A new integration bill, which Dutch Interior Minister Piet Hein
Donner presented to parliament on June 16, reads:
"The government shares the social dissatisfaction over the
multicultural society model and plans to shift priority to the values
of the Dutch people.
In the new integration system, the values of the Dutch society play a
central role.
With this change, the government steps away from the model of a
multicultural society.
The letter continues:
"A more obligatory integration is justified because the government
also demands that from its own citizens. It is necessary because
otherwise the society gradually grows apart and eventually no one
feels at home anymore in the Netherlands...
The new integration policy will place more demands on immigrants. For
example, immigrants will be required to learn the Dutch language, and
the government will take a tougher approach to immigrants who ignore
Dutch values or disobey Dutch law.
The government will also stop offering special subsidies for Muslim
immigrants because, according to Donner;
"It is not the government's job to integrate immigrants." (How bloody
true).
The government will introduce new legislation that outlaws forced
marriages and will also impose tougher measures against Muslim
immigrants who lower their chances of employment by the way they dress.
More specifically, the government will impose a ban on face-covering,
Islamic burqas as of January 1, 2013.(Why wait 15 months?)
Holland has done that whole liberal thing, and realised - maybe too
late - that creating a nation of tribes will kill the nation itself."
You need to do a little research before regurgitating BS you receive in your email inbox bullfrog! The legislation this email refers to was brought before the Dutch parliament, (in June 2011) by a far Right anti-Muslim politician. He got a voice because he was in a three way coalition with the then government. It was never made law and that coalition has collapsed. So it is not the words of the Dutch government or people, just the ramblings of a far right politician trying to drum up support with the usually racist bile.

READERS NOTE:
Muslim immigrants leave their countries of birth because of civil and
political unrest "CREATED BY THE VERY NATURE OF THEIR CULTURE."

Countries like Holland and Australia have an established way of life
that actually works, so why embrace the unworkable?

If Muslims do not wish to accept another culture, the answer is
simple; "STAY WHERE YOU ARE!!"

Unfortunately Australian politicians don't have the ... guts to do
the same.

There's a whole lot of truth here!!!!

ELECTION 2013 IS COMING

A Nation of Sheep, Breeds a Government of Wolves!

I'M 100% for PASSING THIS ON!!!

Let's Take a Stand!!!

Borders: Closed!

Language: English!

Law: Obey Australian Law

Culture: Australian Constitution, is the Bill of Rights!

Drug Free: Mandatory Drug Screening before Welfare!

NO freebies to: Non-Citizens!
Feel free in our democratic country to form your own political party on the above platform and see how you go...
Old 07-05-2012, 12:56 AM   #98

Wow...the views in this thread....and so much misinformation...

It is indeed a hot topic and one that I have discussed with many people, on many levels.

In the grand scheme of things, I have a very different outlook on these matters and it always comes down to how I have been raised...Treat others as you would like to be treated. It is a basic rule and one I try and live by. No matter where you come from, no matter your religious beliefs, colour, sexual preference etc...to me, people are just that...PEOPLE. We all bleed the same colour.

Compassion and understanding is becoming rarer and rarer in this day and age..and THAT is a very sad reality.

And in answer to the OP...Yes! I would host a family if circumstances allowed.

Col
Old 07-05-2012, 12:58 AM   #99
GreenMachine
Mopar/No Car

Tech Writer: Recognition for the technical writers of AFF - Issue reason: Sensational write up about drum brakes. 

They tried that one, WorkHorse - she was a redhead that everyone hated as well, but she went to jail rather than The Lodge. Good riddance.

'72 Plymouth Scamp
'80 Courier
'13 Kawasaki ZX14-R
'13 Berlina
'92 Suzuki DR650

If you don't fight - You lose
Old 07-05-2012, 01:04 AM   #100
raised by monkeys

I have a couple of thoughts on this. I think it is a great idea, one which is out of the box and challenges already established values. However, i do not feel it would be successful, and i think criteria should be kept to those who have experience, knowledge and or skills in the social sciences and this is purely due to the segregation that not only the refugees but also the host families are likely to experience from the communities they live in and the amount of after hours work that will be required by those host families. This would be a 24/7 job for host families, one that will take away a lot of time from their own families and friends, as well as energy interupt their routines and lifestyle. Maybe it would be good for older couples with independent children Although i see that a support service is on offer 24/7, but thats not always as black and white as they are intended.

Just spitballing, but would it be considered unethical to look at placing refugee families in more regional areas such as industry townships or farming communities? The thought behind this is not to seperate them from us but to slowly introduce refugees to communities in small doses and offer work opportunites where they are not intimidated by corporate and rigid city lifestyle. Regional areas may offer more flexibility.

SY FPV F6X Territory #214
Previous
FG MkII G6E Turbo built by Heinrichs Performance and Tuning
BFII FPV TORNADO #0021 351rwkw - Heinrich Performance and Tuning

"Milk is for babies. When you grow up you have to drink beer" - Arnold Schwarzenegger
Old 07-05-2012, 01:07 AM   #101
Work Horse
Budget Racer

Originally Posted by GreenMachine
They tried that one, WorkHorse - she was a redhead that everyone hated as well, but she went to jail rather than The Lodge. Good riddance.
I'm all for people with opinions standing up and having a say.

And comedians got a heap of material from that Red head....
Old 07-05-2012, 01:15 AM   #102

Enough.