You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and inserts advertising. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members, respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features without post based advertising banners. Registration is simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

Old 02-05-2012, 07:46 PM   #1
My32Doors

Default ceva

Just wondering whether anyone has used CEVA for vehicle transport and your opinion on their (lack of) service. Been waiting 2 months for a car to be transported from Brisbane to Darwin. Finally received a booking number and then confirmation that the car had finally arrived in Darwin (via track & trace). Because the car is unregistered I went to their office in Winnellie to pay for them to deliver to my place. They accepted my $165 and all was good for a delivery this afternoon. Received phone call late this arvo to say car is still in Brisbane. This company tells LIES.

My32Doors is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 02-05-2012, 07:51 PM   #2

Valued Contributor: For members whose non technical contributions are worthy of recognition. - Issue reason: DASH/bfiipursuit has been alot of help over the years I have frequented this forum, lots of thoughtful and informed posts, very much a valued contributor. 
Default Re: ceva

So they have had the car for 2 months???

Something is wrong here...
Old 02-05-2012, 07:54 PM   #3
kevino

Nearly all transport companies use subcontractor owner drivers. They dont have to pay super, overtime, holidays, public holidays, protective clothing, steel capped boots and training. Some use a lot of owner drivers some use a few.

What I know about Ceva is that their whole fleet is owner drivers. this model can be good for profits but sometimes service slips.

Most road transport companies provide hit and miss service, its a deregulated industry with low margins and stiff competeition, accordingly service to customers is sometimes not the best.
kevino is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 02-05-2012, 07:59 PM   #4
My32Doors

This was what I was told back on Apr12,"Turns out the reason it wasn’t moving is that somehow the car’s ID number on the paperwork had been taken down incorrectly so every time they went to move it, the car with the ID number they were looking for “wasn’t there”." My point is how can the car be included in the manifest of the load at both ends of the transport when clearly it was not there.
Old 02-05-2012, 08:06 PM   #5
BHDOGS

Get a refund demand satisfaction
BHDOGS is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 02-05-2012, 08:09 PM   #6
rvsm

ive currently used them to transport my coupe from geelong to nsw. takes a week though.
rvsm is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 02-05-2012, 08:24 PM   #7
AU Mont

used them before.

5 days melbourne to brisbane, no dramas, other than any scratches or dents that are on the car "were already there" according to the seemingly editable portable electronic condition report

id probably use them again though
AU Mont is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 02-05-2012, 08:26 PM   #8
rvsm

ive used toll and they seemed better imho.
rvsm is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 02-05-2012, 09:03 PM   #9
Mickxr8

Used them a few yrs ago to transport an ltd from qld>pth , took a few weeks to get here , main prob seemed to be holdups in depots etc but car arrived without a scratch.
Old 02-05-2012, 09:51 PM   #10
Cabbage

I used them in 2008 to transport my ute from Brisbane to Melbourne, reasonably priced but took a week or so. Hadn't inspected the ute prior to transporting so couldn't tell you if they did any damage to the ute, nothing major anyway.
Cabbage is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 02-05-2012, 10:14 PM   #11
Pedro

Buy me a cheap flight Darwin - Gold Coast, and I'll drive it up for you.
Pedro is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 02-05-2012, 11:01 PM   #12

Workmate had his drag car brought up from SA to Sydney by them, and it was damaged during transit. They tried denying it, but he had photos.
Blueprint, manual, 4490's, Redback 2.5" dual exhaust, BA Typhoon rims, tint, fog light covers, BF tailights, blue illuminated window switches, Ghia bootlid carpet, lower grille, FPV door spears, steering wheel & interior bits, XR6T + F6 intake, K&N filter, Typhoon spoiler, tuned, sway bars, custom angel eyes & plates..YUM!

Old 02-05-2012, 11:03 PM   #13
anto
Za Dom spremni

theyre all useless if you ask me. I went with a highly recomended specialty carrier to bring my GT over from Perth and the driver was a complete tool... dumped my car out on the road about 100 meters away from my house and gave me an ear full because he couldnt find my place ...all for the bargain price of 3k.
I complained but yeah,..nothing they could do !
AU III XR8 red ute
anto is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 03-05-2012, 12:31 AM   #14
cosworthfreak

I've used them before and was very pleased with the service and had no dramas. With anything though, there will be times when things don't go to plan and it sounds like you've hit one of those times.
cosworthfreak is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 03-05-2012, 11:28 AM   #15
barra240t

I only have great things to say about CEVA, I always use them as this is a big part of my job. Much cheaper then Toll for long trips.

It is true sometimes moves can take ages, it just depends on a lot fo things. I bought my XM Falcon from NT and it took quite a while to get to me, I just had to wait. If it is a remote area trucks only got through them when it can suit.
Old 03-05-2012, 11:46 AM   #16

I have used " door 2 door transport" four times and have been very happy with them. QLD based company.
gcg2503 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 03-05-2012, 01:59 PM   #17

lot`s of things can go wrong during the process of car carrying, even with all care taken, if in doubt pay extra and send it via an enclosed tray truck carrier, be there when it`s loaded, be there when it gets to the other end, take photo`s before it leaves..
Old 03-05-2012, 09:22 PM   #18
My32Doors

Angry Re: ceva

lot`s of things can go wrong during the process of car carrying, even with all care taken, if in doubt pay extra and send it via an enclosed tray truck carrier, be there when it`s loaded, be there when it gets to the other end, take photo`s before it leaves..
If I could be there I would have got a permit and driven it myself. The fact that the manifest said it was on the carrier at both ends (regardless of who owns, drives or washes the truck) means that at least two people have lied.
Old 03-05-2012, 09:45 PM   #19

sounds plain and simple like they lost it and then tried to cover their own butt.
Old 03-05-2012, 10:39 PM   #20

I employed this organisation to transport my commericial van from Adelaide to Newcastle. I took 1 week, the driver was late but rang early in the day to state his intentions. I was actually suprised that the vehicle arrived in exactly the same condition as it was when it left adelaide. Same minor road grime etc. No additional dust, dirt etc. It was as if the van was still in adelaide.
duaned is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 03-05-2012, 10:43 PM   #21
FPV414

I've used them on 2 occasions. On one occasion they damaged the front bumper bar of the car, but were up-front about it then payed more than enough to cover the damage. The next time, they got the car to me in less than half the time promised. Very easy to use service, and well priced. I've payed more to have engines shipped interstate.
FPV414 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 10-05-2012, 05:54 PM   #22
My32Doors

Well, now for the second week running I have been lied to. Phonecall on Tuesday arvo to say car would be delivered to my place Thursday afternoon. So for the second week in a row I take time off work to be there. Phonecall 10 minutes ago - sorry your car did not arrive. WARNING DO NOT USE THIS COMPANY.
Old 11-05-2012, 07:50 AM   #23
MrsLow006

I will never have a car transported again. Mine dissappeared for 3 weeks, no one knew where it was. I payed for door to door and on a hunch went for a drive into town and found my girl on the side of the road out front of a car wholesalers unlocked with keys in it. I promptly got my mate with a tow truck and had her loaded and on the way home.
When I called the company to discuss my situation they told me the car was still in Brisbane WTF - Car trailer and road trip next time
It was not CEVA but I have since heard many stories about different Car transport companies.
PS TAKE PHOTO's BEFORE if you can. Mine was damaged and I had no pics

XB - ENVY

XB WAGON - Dark Angel
MrsLow006 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 11-05-2012, 11:09 AM   #24

All I can say with car transport is - you get what you pay for.

If you're looking for the cheapest way of moving a car - don't complain when something goes wrong - because you'll get nowhere.

Bit like buying a car really - there is a reason that similar cars are for sale at different prices - and it's not always because the seller with the higher prices is trying to 'make money'.
Old 11-05-2012, 02:39 PM   #25
MrsLow006

Originally Posted by loftie
All I can say with car transport is - you get what you pay for.

If you're looking for the cheapest way of moving a car - don't complain when something goes wrong - because you'll get nowhere.

Bit like buying a car really - there is a reason that similar cars are for sale at different prices - and it's not always because the seller with the higher prices is trying to 'make money'.

I paid top dollar - most expensive quote - get what you pay for ?????? hmmm that little piece of wisdom doesnt work for me

XB - ENVY

XB WAGON - Dark Angel
Old 11-05-2012, 03:21 PM   #26

Originally Posted by MrsLow006
I paid top dollar - most expensive quote - get what you pay for ?????? hmmm that little piece of wisdom doesnt work for me
Did you go with Alan's Unique Car Transport? or VIP Automotive Solutions? Or another specialist transporter?
Old 11-05-2012, 04:57 PM   #27
MrsLow006

Did you go with Alan's Unique Car Transport? or VIP Automotive Solutions? Or another specialist transporter?

I didn't go with the cheapest thinking I would get top service. I did contact VIP but they were fully booked for weeks. (it was over the Nov, Dec Jan period) Oh well once bitten twice shy.

XB - ENVY

XB WAGON - Dark Angel
Old 11-05-2012, 09:14 PM   #28
My32Doors

Excuse me, I wouldn't call $2025 cheap! Try getting la de dah southern transporters to come up here. Doesn't work!!
Old 12-05-2012, 09:12 AM   #29
MrsLow006

So have you got your car yet?

XB - ENVY

XB WAGON - Dark Angel
Old 12-05-2012, 08:20 PM   #30
My32Doors

Arrived in the dark last night. Convenient!! That would be 72+ days.